Status of Claims and Response to Amendments
The amendments filed July 27, 2026 have been acknowledged and entered. Claims 6 and 8 are pending.
Election/Restriction
The present examination is based on Applicant’s election of Group II, presently claims 6 and 8. Applicant has overcome the prior rejections. The search has been expanded to formula (I) wherein X and Y are each CH; R1 and R3 are H; R2 is unsubstituted C6 cycloalkyl; A is -C=O-; and R4 is unsubstituted C2 alkoxy. And new art was found.
Claim 8 (in full) and claim 6 (in part, other than the subgenus indicated above) are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species.
Withdrawn Rejections
Applicant is notified that any outstanding rejection or objection that is not expressly maintained in this Office Action has been withdrawn or rendered moot in view of Applicant’s amendments and/or
remarks.
Objections to Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code (see paragraph [424]). Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Rejections Necessitated by Applicant Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zilka et al. (ACS Cent. Sci. 2017, 3, 232-243)(hereinafter “Zilka”).
Zilka teaches Lip-1 which corresponds to a compound of formula
of the claims and Fer-1 which corresponds to a compound of instant formula (I) wherein X and Y are each CH; R1 and R3 are H; R2 is unsubstituted C6 cycloalkyl; A is -C=O-; and R4 is unsubstituted C2 alkoxy (see Abstract and Introduction, Lip-1 and Fer-1; pictured below for convenience). Zilka teaches Fer-1 and Lip-1 are potent inhibitors of ferroptosis (page 232, col 2) and that both compounds suppress the accumulation of LOOH (page 233, col 1). Zilka teaches that accumulation of lipid hydroperoxides (LOOH) has long been implicated in cell death and dysfunction, leading to aging, the onset and progression of degenerative disease and cancer (page 232, col 1). Zilka teaches that accumulation of LOOH occurs by two primary mechanisms and that compounds that inhibit either or both of these processes have the potential to inhibit ferroptosis and may provide important leads for preventive and/or therapeutic agents to combat degenerative disease (page 232, col 2).
The difference between Zilka and the instant claims is that the instant claims are drawn to a composition comprising Lip-1 and Fer-1. Zilka does not teach a composition. However, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to combine Lip-1 and Fer-1 into a composition as is claimed because both compounds were useful for the same purpose.
One would have been motivated as a matter of developing therapeutics for treating disease.
One would have expected that such a combination may be useful for treating disease since both compounds were known ferroptosis inhibitors and suppressed the accumulation of LOOH. The idea of combining the teachings of the reference flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art. In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
September 17, 2026
/K.S.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1624
/BRUCK KIFLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1624