DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 1, claims 1-38 in the reply filed on July 14, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4, 19, 20, 23, 24, 26, 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cox et al. (US 2003/0086466).
Regarding claim 1, Cox et al. disclose: a gain medium (Nd:YAG gain medium 1) configured to amplify incident electromagnetic radiation; and, a nonlinear optical element (5) configured to convert electromagnetic radiation amplified by the gain medium to a shorter wavelength (Fig. 1, [0034]), wherein the laser system is configured to introduce mode competition and nonlinear effects such that the nonlinear optical element produces output electromagnetic radiation having a frequency spectrum comprising: a first peak (peaks of laser mode 7) formed of a first group of frequencies (laser mode 7 and 8 are different wavelength/frequencies); a second peak (peak of laser mode 8) formed of a second group of frequencies (laser mode 7 and 8 are different wavelength/frequencies); and a trough that separates the first and second peaks (trough separates peak of laser mode 7 and 8), wherein the first and second peaks are the only dominant peaks in the frequency spectrum (Fig. 2, [0046]-[0049]).
Figs. 1 and 2 of Cox
Regarding claim 3, Cox et al. disclose: wherein the laser system is a continuous wave laser system ([0003]).
Regarding claim 4, Cox et al. disclose: further comprising first (3) and second (4) end mirrors arranged to form an optical cavity containing the gain medium and the nonlinear optical element (Fig. 1, [0034]).
Regarding claim 19, Cox et al. disclose: wherein at least one of the first and second end mirrors comprises a concave reflective surface configured to reflect the electromagnetic radiation (Fig. 1, [0034]).
Regarding claim 20, Cox et al. disclose: wherein the gain medium comprises one of the following crystals: Nd:YVO4, Nd:GdVO4, Nd:YAG, Nd:YAP, Nd:YLF, Nd:KGW (Nd:YAG gain medium 1) (Fig. 1, [0034]).
Regarding claim 23, Cox et al. disclose: wherein the gain medium comprises one of the following dopants: Nd, Yb, Pr, Er (Nd:YAG gain medium 1) (Fig. 1, [0034]).
Regarding claim 24, the apparatus of claim 1 discloses the claimed method (see the rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 26, the apparatus of claim 3 discloses the claimed method (see the rejection of claim 3).
Regarding claim 27, the apparatus of claim 4 discloses the claimed method (see the rejection of claim 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7, 11, 21-22 and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cox et al. (US 2003/0086466).
Regarding claim 5, Cox et al. do not disclose: wherein the gain medium is positioned between the first end mirror and a centre of the optical cavity such that a gap between the gain medium and the first end mirror is smaller than a gap between the gain medium and the centre of the optical cavity.
However, In accordance with MPEP 2144.05 II, Optimization of Ranges: Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In the prior art the general conditions are disclosed, a laser system comprising end mirrors, a gain medium and a nonlinear crystal. The gain medium is placed at a distance from the first end mirror (3) ([0046]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to obtain a workable range of values for distance between the first end mirror and the gain medium by routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 6, Cox et al. do not disclose: wherein the gap between the gain medium and the first end mirror is about 0.8 mm or more.
However, In accordance with MPEP 2144.05 II, Optimization of Ranges: Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In the prior art the general conditions are disclosed, a laser system comprising end mirrors, a gain medium and a nonlinear crystal. The gain medium is placed at a distance from the first end mirror (3) ([0046]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to obtain a workable range of values for distance between the first end mirror and the gain medium by routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 7, Cox et al. do not disclose: wherein the gap between the gain medium and the first end mirror is about 1.4 mm or less.
However, In accordance with MPEP 2144.05 II, Optimization of Ranges: Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In the prior art the general conditions are disclosed, a laser system comprising end mirrors, a gain medium and a nonlinear crystal. The gain medium is placed at a distance from the first end mirror (3) ([0046]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to obtain a workable range of values for distance between the first end mirror and the gain medium by routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 11, Cox et al. do not disclose: wherein the gain medium is configured to absorb between about 2 W and about 7 W of the pumping electromagnetic radiation.
However, In accordance with MPEP 2144.05 II, Optimization of Ranges: Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In the prior art the general conditions are disclosed, a laser system comprising end mirrors, a gain medium and a nonlinear crystal. The gain medium is optically pumped and absorbs pumping electromagnetic radiation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to obtain a workable range of values for the amount of pumping electromagnetic radiation absorbed by the gain medium by routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 21, Cox et al. do not explicitly disclose: wherein the gain medium is elongate along its optical axis.
However, In accordance with MPEP 2144.04 [R-6], Legal Precedent as Source of Supporting Rationale: As discussed in MPEP § 2144, if the facts in a prior legal decision are sufficiently similar to those in an application under examination, the examiner may use the rationale used by the court. Examples directed to various common practices which the court has held normally require only ordinary skill in the art and hence are considered routine expedients are discussed below. If the applicant has demonstrated the criticality of a specific limitation, it would not be appropriate to rely solely on case law as the rationale to support an obviousness rejection.
MPEP 2144.04 [R-6] IV B, Changes in Shape: In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to change the shape of the gain medium to an elongated shape along the optical axis since the shape of the gain medium as claimed is a matter of design choice.
Regarding claim 22, Cox et al. do not disclose: wherein the gain medium has a length along its optical axis of between about 4 mm and about 7 mm.
However, In accordance with MPEP 2144.05 II, Optimization of Ranges: Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In the prior art the general conditions are disclosed, a laser system comprising end mirrors, a gain medium and a nonlinear crystal. The gain medium is having a length along its optical axis. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to obtain a workable range of values for the length of the gain medium along its optical axis by routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 28, the apparatus of claim 5 discloses the claimed method (see the rejection of claim 5).
Regarding claim 29, the apparatus of claim 6 discloses the claimed method (see the rejection of claim 6).
Regarding claim 30, the apparatus of claim 7 discloses the claimed method (see the rejection of claim 7).
Claims 8-10, 12-16 and 31-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cox et al. (US 2003/0086466) in view of Liu et al. (US PG Pub 2006/0056470).
Regarding claim 8, Cox et al. do not disclose: further comprising an actuator configured to adjust the position of the gain medium within the optical cavity.
Liu et al. disclose: further comprising an actuator configured to adjust the position of the gain medium within the optical cavity (Based on the collected information, the microprocessor 27 controls and adjusts the operating conditions of individual components in the laser head 10, including the drive current and temperature of the laser diode, the temperature of the gain crystal and nonlinear crystal, the drive current of the TECs, and the drive voltage of the micro-positioners) (Fig. 1, [0016], [0017]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Cox by adding a controller, temperature control elements and piezo-electric positioners coupled to the gain medium in order to control the optical modes and output wavelength of the device.
Regarding claim 9, Cox et al. do not disclose: further comprising a controller configured to control an operating parameter of the gain medium and/or the nonlinear optical element to at least partially determine a form of at least one of the first and second peaks.
Liu et al. disclose: a controller configured to control an operating parameter of the gain medium and/or the nonlinear optical element to at least partially determine a form of at least one of the first and second peaks (Based on the collected information, the microprocessor 27 controls and adjusts the operating conditions of individual components in the laser head 10, including the drive current and temperature of the laser diode, the temperature of the gain crystal and nonlinear crystal, the drive current of the TECs, and the drive voltage of the micro-positioners) (Fig. 1, [0016], [0017]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Cox by adding a controller, temperature control elements for the gain medium and nonlinear crystal and piezo-electric positioners in order to control the optical modes and output wavelength of the device.
Regarding claim 10, Cox as modified disclose: further comprising an optical pump source configured to provide pump electromagnetic radiation to the gain medium, wherein the controller is configured to control the optical pump source and wherein the operating parameter comprises a wavelength of the pump electromagnetic radiation (controller of Cox as modified controls the diode lasers used to pump gain medium 1) (see the rejection of claim 9).
Regarding claim 12, Cox as modified disclose: further comprising a heating system configured to adjust a temperature of the gain medium, wherein the controller is configured to control the heating system and wherein the operating parameter comprises the temperature of the gain medium (see the rejection of claim 9).
Regarding claim 13, Cox as modified do not disclose: wherein the controller is configured to set the temperature of the gain medium to between about 40° C. and about 80° C.
However, In accordance with MPEP 2144.05 II, Optimization of Ranges: Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In the prior art the general conditions are disclosed, a laser system comprising end mirrors, a gain medium, a nonlinear crystal, a controller and temperature control elements. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to obtain a workable range of values for the temperature of the gain medium by routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 14, Cox as modified disclose: further comprising a heater configured to adjust a temperature of the nonlinear optical element, wherein the controller is configured to control the heater and wherein the operating parameter comprises the temperature of the nonlinear optical element (see the rejection of claim 9).
Regarding claim 15, Cox as modified do not disclose: wherein the controller is configured to set the temperature of the nonlinear optical element to between about 35° C. and about 55° C.
However, In accordance with MPEP 2144.05 II, Optimization of Ranges: Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In the prior art the general conditions are disclosed, a laser system comprising end mirrors, a gain medium, a nonlinear crystal, a controller and temperature control elements. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to obtain a workable range of values for the temperature of the nonlinear crystal by routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 16, Cox as modified do not disclose: further comprising a spectrometer configured to measure a value that is indicative of a coherence of the output electromagnetic radiation, wherein the controller is configured to control the operating parameter such that the value is in a predetermined range.
Liu et al. disclose: a spectrometer (photo detector 25) configured to measure a value that is indicative of a coherence of the output electromagnetic radiation, wherein the controller is configured to control the operating parameter such that the value is in a predetermined range (Fig. 1, [0016], [0017]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Cox by adding spectrometer coupled to the controller in order to control the optical modes and output wavelength of the device.
Regarding claim 31, the apparatus of claim 8 discloses the claimed method (see the rejection of claim 8).
Regarding claim 32, the apparatus of claim 9 discloses the claimed method (see the rejection of claim 9).
Regarding claim 33, the apparatus of claim 10 discloses the claimed method (see the rejection of claim 10).
Regarding claim 34, the apparatus of claim 12 discloses the claimed method (see the rejection of claim 12).
Regarding claim 35, the apparatus of claim 14 discloses the claimed method (see the rejection of claim 14).
Regarding claim 36, the apparatus of claim 16 discloses the claimed method (see the rejection of claim 16).
Claims 17, 18, 37 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cox et al. (US 2003/0086466) in view of Esterowitz et al. (US 5,206,867).
Regarding claim 17, Cox et al. do not disclose: wherein an angle between an optical axis of the nonlinear optical element and a propagation axis of electromagnetic radiation incident on the nonlinear optical element is configured to at least partially determine a form of at least one of the first and second peaks.
Esterowitz et al. disclose: an actuation system configured to adjust the angle between the optical axis of the nonlinear optical element and the propagation axis of the electromagnetic radiation (Fig. 1, col. 9, line 65 to col. 10, line 8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Cox by adding a controller and actuation system coupled to the nonlinear crystal in order to maximize second harmonic generation at the desired wavelengths. The device as modified disclose: wherein an angle between an optical axis of the nonlinear optical element and a propagation axis of electromagnetic radiation incident on the nonlinear optical element is configured to at least partially determine a form of at least one of the first and second peaks.
Regarding claim 18, Cox as modified disclose: further comprising an actuation system configured to adjust the angle between the optical axis of the nonlinear optical element and the propagation axis of the electromagnetic radiation (see the rejection of claim 17)
Regarding claim 37, the apparatus of claim 17 discloses the claimed method (see the rejection of claim 17).
Regarding claim 38, the apparatus of claim 18 discloses the claimed method (see the rejection of claim 18).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 2 is allowable as the prior art fails to anticipate or render obvious the claimed limitations including “…further configured such that the nonlinear optical element produces output electromagnetic radiation having a coherence curve comprising a contrast ratio of less than about 0.1 at an optical path difference that is within the inclusive range of about 1.5 mm to about 2.5 mm.”
Claim 25 is allowable as the prior art fails to anticipate or render obvious the claimed limitations including “…further configuring the laser system such that the nonlinear optical element produces output electromagnetic radiation having a coherence curve comprising a contrast ratio of less than about 0.1 at an optical path difference that is within the inclusive range of about 1.5 mm to about 2.5 mm.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Dunn et al. (US PG Pub 2011/0116158) disclose: an intra-cavity optical parametric oscillator. The oscillator includes means for providing a non-linear loss for suppressing relaxation oscillations (Abstract). Zhou (US PG Pub 2011/0150015) discloses: the invention describes methods and apparatus for the generation of laser radiation with pre-selectable frequency, which could be bigger or smaller than its fundamental beam frequency, through a combination of two or more intracavity frequency conversion processes of two or more resonantly enhanced beams. These techniques are particularly useful for generating continuous wave tunable frequency radiation in uv, visible and infrared wavelength ranges. These processes can be a combination of an intracavity fundamental beam pumped optical parametric oscillation (OPO) and an intracavity sum- or difference-frequency-mixing of the fundamental laser beam with an OPO generated beam and an intracavity frequency doubling the optical parametrical generated signal or idler beam to desirable frequencies for continuous wave. These plural intracavity nonlinear processes can be a combination of an intracavity or resonantly cavity-build-up fundamental beam pumped OPO and another frequency conversion within this OPO and the fundamental cavity. These intracavity enhanced frequency conversion processes allow for minimizing the parent frequency beams' losses and increasing the final conversion and, particularly, highly efficient conversion for continuous waves (Abstract).
/XINNING(Tom) NIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828