DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, and 8-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 14, and 15 recite limitation steps without a conjunction between the penultimate and final steps, that is, “receiving . . .” and “transmitting . . . ,” respectively. For purposes of compact prosecution, the claimed limitation steps are interpreted as reciting the conjunction “and,” which renders the claims indefinite. Accordingly, appropriate correction is required.
Claims 1, 14, and 15 recite multiple instances of the term “another communication apparatus.” The Examiner finds an ambiguity exists as to whether these are references to a different communication apparatus or references to an antecedent, which renders the claims indefinite. Claims 2 and 19 are indefinite for the same reason. Accordingly, appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 recites the term “the Band ID field.” However, no antecedent basis exists in the claim, the base claim, or the intermediary claim, which renders the claim indefinite. Accordingly, appropriate correction is required.
Claims 1, 14, and 15 recite multiple instances and/or variations of the limitation “not including second fields that include information specific to the second link, and not including third fields that include information specific to the third link.” The Examiner finds that a discrepancy exists between these limitations and the portions of Applicant’s specification that may be cited as providing support the claim limitations. For example, paragraph 0040 of the published version of the specification describes a procedure for receiving a probe frame request which includes “excluding information about multi-link communication corresponding to a frequency channel that is supported by the AP 102 but is not supported by the STA 103.” Paragraph 0048 of the published version describes that “AP 102 includes only the capability information about the frequency band or channel supported by the STA 103 in the probe response frame,” and that “the probe response frame to be transmitted does not include capability information about the 6 GHz band.” Paragraph 0050 further describes that “the AP 102 may transmit the probe response frame including only the capability information about the frequency channel supported by the STA 103.”
The Examiner finds that the cited descriptions require the exclusion—from the multi-link element—of any capability information associated with links that are not supported. In distinction, the claim limitation “not including second fields that include information specific to the second link, and not including third fields that include information specific to the third link” leaves open the possibility that some link-specific information is contained in the multi-link element, which renders the claims indefinite. Accordingly, appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, and 8-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0232315 (hereinafter, “CHITRAKAR”) in view of US 2021/0314846 (hereinafter, “CHU”).
Regarding claim 1, claim 14, and claim 15, CHITRAKAR discloses:
A communication apparatus/control method/non-transitory computer-readable medium (communication apparatus 4600) comprising:
at least one memory (¶ 0011: storage medium) that stores a set of instructions (¶ 0011: computer program); and
at least one processing circuit; (circuitry 4614)
wherein the communication apparatus is caused, by the at least one processing circuit executing the instructions and/or the at least one processing circuit itself operating, to perform operations comprising:
forming a network . . . capable of being set up, (¶ 0004: [T]o enable multi-link operations between an access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) and a non-AP MLD, multi-link setup may be performed over one of the supported links to establish association for affiliated stations (STAs) in one or more links)
receiving a first probe request frame, transmitted by another communication apparatus, including a first Multi-Link element, the first Multi-Link element including first fields that include information specific to the first link (¶ 0136: A non-AP MLD can request full information about other links of an AP MLD by sending a Probe Request frame on any one link of the AP MLD. FIG. 26 depicts an illustration of a Probe Request frame 2600 transmitted by a non-AP MLD to VAP-1 1008 of the network 1000 [which includes] a Multi-link element 2606; ¶ 0138: [M]ultiple probe requests are received; ¶ 0109: FIG. 15 depicts an illustration of a Multi-link element 1500 configured for unified signalling in accordance with various embodiments. The Multi-link element 1500 comprises an Element ID field, a Length field, an Element ID extension field, a Type field 1502, a Common Information field 1504 and one or more Per-link information field 1506. Type field 1502 is set to Discovery when used by an AP MLD to advertise link information, or set to Multi-link Setup when used by a non-AP MLD during Multi-link Setup; ¶ 0110: Number of Per-link Information field 1512 indicates how many Per-link Information fields are present. 0 indicates none; ¶ 0111: Per-link information field 1506 comprises a Presence Bitmap field 1512, a Link ID field, a Capability Information field, a Listen Interval field, an AID field, SSID field, BSSID/MAC Address field, a Nontransmitted BSSID Information field 1514, an Operating Channel field 1516 and zero or more Optional Subelements field), . . .
transmitting a first probe response frame including a second Multi-Link element, the second Multi-Link element including first fields that include information specific to the first link corresponding to information specific to link included in the first Multi-Link element of the first probe request frame, (¶ 0137: In response to the Probe Request frame 2600, the AP MLD sends a unicast Probe Response frame 2700 that carry full information about the requested links i.e. Link IDs 1, 2 and 3 as shown in FIG. 27. Probe Response frame 2700 is sent is transmitted from VAP-1 1008 to the non-AP MLD that transmitted the Probe Request frame 2600. The Probe Response frame [includes] Multi-link element 2706)
not including second fields that include information specific to the second link, and not including third fields that include information specific to the third link not corresponding to information specific to link included in the first Multi-Link element of the first probe request frame in a case where the first probe request frame is received, (¶ 0143: [I]n Beacon/Probe Response frame 3100 of FIG. 31, Multi-link element 3104 carries minimal information of the other links (Link ID, BSSID); ¶ 0116: The ML element carries minimal information (Link ID) of links already included in the RNR/Neighbor Report elements, and carry full/complete information of the other links (Link ID, SSID, BSSID, Operating channel, TBTT (Target Beacon Transmission Time) etc.) except the host link; ¶ 0117: The ML element carries minimal information of the other links (Link ID, BSSID); ¶ 0139: [I]n Beacon/Probe Response frame 2800 of FIG. 28 , the Multi-link element 2802 carries minimal information of links already included in the RNR/Neighbor Report elements (Link ID), and carry basic/full information of the other links (Link ID, SSID, BSSID, Operating channel, TBTT etc.) except the host link; ¶ 0140: [T]he Multi-link element carry full information of VAP-3 1012 & minimal information of VAP-5 1016 [Under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim limitations, the Examiner finds that CHITRAKAR’s ML element carrying “minimal information”—in distinction to “full/complete information”—implicitly discloses the limitation, “not including [second/third fields] that include information specific to the [second/third] links.”])
receiving a second probe request frame, transmitted by another communication apparatus, including a third Multi-Link element, the third Multi-Link element including first fields that include information specific to the first link and second fields that include information specific to the second link (¶ 0136: A non-AP MLD can request full information about other links of an AP MLD by sending a Probe Request frame on any one link of the AP MLD. FIG. 26 depicts an illustration of a Probe Request frame 2600 transmitted by a non-AP MLD to VAP-1 1008 of the network 1000 [which includes] a Multi-link element 2606; ¶ 0138: [M]ultiple probe requests are received; ¶ 0109: FIG. 15 depicts an illustration of a Multi-link element 1500 configured for unified signalling in accordance with various embodiments. The Multi-link element 1500 comprises an Element ID field, a Length field, an Element ID extension field, a Type field 1502, a Common Information field 1504 and one or more Per-link information field 1506. Type field 1502 is set to Discovery when used by an AP MLD to advertise link information, or set to Multi-link Setup when used by a non-AP MLD during Multi-link Setup; ¶ 0110: Number of Per-link Information field 1512 indicates how many Per-link Information fields are present. 0 indicates none; ¶ 0111: Per-link information field 1506 comprises a Presence Bitmap field 1512, a Link ID field, a Capability Information field, a Listen Interval field, an AID field, SSID field, BSSID/MAC Address field, a Nontransmitted BSSID Information field 1514, an Operating Channel field 1516 and zero or more Optional Subelements field) and . . . ,
transmitting a second probe response frame including a fourth Multi-Link element, the fourth Multi-Link element including first fields that include information specific to the first link and second fields that include information specific to the second link corresponding to information specific to link included in the third Multi-Link element of the second probe request frame and (¶ 0137: In response to the Probe Request frame 2600, the AP MLD sends a unicast Probe Response frame 2700 that carry full information about the requested links i.e. Link IDs 1, 2 and 3 as shown in FIG. 27. Probe Response frame 2700 is sent is transmitted from VAP-1 1008 to the non-AP MLD that transmitted the Probe Request frame 2600. The Probe Response frame [includes] Multi-link element 2706)
not including third fields that include information specific to the third link not corresponding to information specific to link included in the third Multi-Link element of the second probe request frame in a case where the second probe request frame is received. (¶ 0143: [I]n Beacon/Probe Response frame 3100 of FIG. 31, Multi-link element 3104 carries minimal information of the other links (Link ID, BSSID); ¶ 0116: The ML element carries minimal information (Link ID) of links already included in the RNR/Neighbor Report elements, and carry full/complete information of the other links (Link ID, SSID, BSSID, Operating channel, TBTT (Target Beacon Transmission Time) etc.) except the host link; ¶ 0117: The ML element carries minimal information of the other links (Link ID, BSSID); ¶ 0139: [I]n Beacon/Probe Response frame 2800 of FIG. 28 , the Multi-link element 2802 carries minimal information of links already included in the RNR/Neighbor Report elements (Link ID), and carry basic/full information of the other links (Link ID, SSID, BSSID, Operating channel, TBTT etc.) except the host link; ¶ 0140: [T]he Multi-link element carry full information of VAP-3 1012 & minimal information of VAP-5 1016. [Under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim limitations, the Examiner finds that CHITRAKAR’s ML element carrying “minimal information”—in distinction to “full/complete information”—implicitly discloses the limitation, “not including [second/third fields] that include information specific to the [second/third] links.”])
CHITRAKAR does not explicitly disclose:
forming a network in which a first link in a first frequency band, a second link in a second frequency band, and a third link in a third frequency band are capable of being set up,
. . .
not including second fields that include information specific to the second link, and not including third fields that include information specific to the third link,
. . .
not including third fields that include information specific to the third link,
In the same field of endeavor, however, CHU teaches:
forming a network in which a first link in a first frequency band, a second link in a second frequency band, and a third link in a third frequency band are capable of being set up, (¶ 0002: In multi-link communications, an access point (AP) multi-link device, e.g., an AP multi-link logical device (MLD) or an AP multi-link logical entity (MLLE), can transmit data to a non-AP multi-link device through one or more communications links; ¶ 0050: Each of the APs 110-1, 110-2, 110-3 of the AP MLD may operate in a different frequency band. For example, the AP 110-1 may operate in 2.4 gigahertz (GHz) frequency band, the AP 110-2 may operate in 5 GHz frequency band, and the AP 110-3 may operate in 6 GHz frequency band; ¶ 0051: AP MLD 102 and/or the STA MLDs 104-1, 104-2, 104-3 identify which communications links support the multi-link operation during a multi-link operation setup phase and/or exchanges information regarding multi-link capabilities during the multi-link operation setup phase. Each of the STAs 120-1, 120-2, 120-3 of the STA MLD may operate in a different frequency band. For example, the STA 120-1 may operate in 2.4 GHz frequency band, the STA 120-2 may operate in 5 GHz frequency band, and the STA 120-3 may operate in 6 GHz frequency band. Each of the MLDs 104-2, 104-3 may be the same as or similar to the MLD 104-1. For example, the MLD 104-2 or 104-3 includes multiple non-AP STAs. . . . STA MLD 104-1, 104-2, or 104-3 communicates with the AP MLD 102 through multiple communications links 112-1, 112-2, 112-3. For example, each of the STAs 120-1, 120-2, 120-3 communicates with an AP 110-1, 110-2, or 110-3 through a corresponding communications link 112-1, 112-2, or 112-3)
not including second fields that include information specific to the second link, and not including third fields that include information specific to the third link, (¶ 0146: [A] management frame only includes the information of the reported link. For example, the Probe Request includes the information of the reported link through ML IE. In some embodiments, the elements of the reporting link are not carried. The fields in the Probe Request frame can be the reported link information except that the timestamp field carries the Timing synchronization function (TSF) time of the reporting link. Another option is that the frame does not include the fields in the frame body that do not belong to any element)
not including third fields that include information specific to the third link, (¶ 0146: [A] management frame only includes the information of the reported link. For example, the Probe Request includes the information of the reported link through ML IE. In some embodiments, the elements of the reporting link are not carried. The fields in the Probe Request frame can be the reported link information except that the timestamp field carries the Timing synchronization function (TSF) time of the reporting link. Another option is that the frame does not include the fields in the frame body that do not belong to any element)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CHITRAKAR’s multi-link setup procedure to provide multiple links associated with multiple frequency bands as taught by CHU to efficiently convey communications signaling information, for example, information related to data, communications links, and/or multi-link devices (e.g., operation and/or capability parameters of multi-link devices) within the multi-link communications system so as to facilitate the proper data transmission within a multi-link communications system. See CHU, at ¶ 0002.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of CHITRAKAR and CHU, as applied above, renders obvious the communication apparatus of claim 1.
the instructions further cause the communication apparatus to receive a third probe request frame, transmitted by another communication apparatus, . . . and (¶ 0137: In response to the Probe Request frame 2600, the AP MLD sends a unicast Probe Response frame 2700 that carry full information about the requested links i.e. Link IDs 1, 2 and 3 as shown in FIG. 27. Probe Response frame 2700 is sent is transmitted from VAP-1 1008 to the non-AP MLD that transmitted the Probe Request frame 2600. The Probe Response frame [includes] Multi-link element 2706)
to transmit a third probe response frame not including a Multi-Link element in a case where the third probe request frame is received. (¶ 0137: In response to the Probe Request frame 2600, the AP MLD sends a unicast Probe Response frame 2700 that carry full information about the requested links i.e. Link IDs 1, 2 and 3 as shown in FIG. 27. Probe Response frame 2700 is sent is transmitted from VAP-1 1008 to the non-AP MLD that transmitted the Probe Request frame 2600. The Probe Response frame [includes] Multi-link element 2706)
CHITRAKAR does not explicitly disclose:
not including a Multi-Link element,
In the same field of endeavor, however, CHU teaches:
not including a Multi-Link element, (¶ 0146: [A] management frame only includes the information of the reported link. For example, the Probe Request includes the information of the reported link through ML IE. In some embodiments, the elements of the reporting link are not carried. The fields in the Probe Request frame can be the reported link information except that the timestamp field carries the Timing synchronization function (TSF) time of the reporting link. Another option is that the frame does not include the fields in the frame body that do not belong to any element)
Regarding claim 5, the combination of CHITRAKAR and CHU, as applied above, renders obvious the communication apparatus of claim 1. CHITAKER further discloses:
the instructions further cause the communication apparatus to decide information specific to link included in the second Multi-Link element based on predetermined identification information included in the information specific to link included in the first Multi-Link element. (¶ 0137: Multi-link element 2706 also comprises 2 Per-link Information fields 2714 and 2716 that represent VAP-3 1012 and VAP-5 1016 respectively. Per-link Information field 2714 provides information for the represented VAP-3 1012 such as the Link ID (indicated as “2”), operating channel, BSSID, Operating Parameters and EDCA Parameter Set. Per-link Information field 2716 provides information for the represented VAP-5 1016 such as the Link ID (indicated as “3”), operating channel, BSSID, Operating Parameters and EDCA Parameter Set. In other words, the multi-link element 2706 includes the full information of the requested links)
Regarding claim 8, the combination of CHITRAKAR and CHU, as applied above, renders obvious the communication apparatus of claim 1. CHITRAKAR further discloses:
wherein the first probe response frame includes a high throughput (HT) capabilities element indicating capability information for communication compliant with the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 n standard. (¶ 0002: In the standardization of next generation wireless local area network (WLAN), a new radio access technology having backward compatibilities with IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n/ac/ax technologies has been discussed in the IEEE 802.11 Working Group and is named 802.11be Extremely High Throughput (EHT) WLAN; ¶ 0084: AP-3 508 (corresponding to BSSID-2 514) advertise SSID: Single-link and caters to legacy STAs and Single Link MLDs i.e. MLDs that are capable of switching between multiple links but can only operate on one link at any given time, such as single link non-AP MLD-2 518. Non-AP MLD-1 516 is associated with SSID: Multi-links while the single link non-AP MLD-2 518 is associated with SSID: Single-link; Fig. 27: Probe Response frame (VAP-1) – Capability Information [field])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a standard-compliant probe response frame with a high throughput (HT) capabilities element indicating capability information so as to provide backward compatibility with legacy radio access technology, i.e., non-multi-link communications. See CHITRAKAR, at ¶ 0002.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of CHITRAKAR and CHU, as applied above, renders obvious the communication apparatus of claim 1. CHITRAKAR further discloses:
wherein the first the probe response frame includes a Very High Throughput (VHT) capabilities element indicating capability information for communication compliant with the IEEE 802.11 ac standard. (¶ 0002: In the standardization of next generation wireless local area network (WLAN), a new radio access technology having backward compatibilities with IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n/ac/ax technologies has been discussed in the IEEE 802.11 Working Group and is named 802.11be Extremely High Throughput (EHT) WLAN; ¶ 0084: AP-3 508 (corresponding to BSSID-2 514) advertise SSID: Single-link and caters to legacy STAs and Single Link MLDs i.e. MLDs that are capable of switching between multiple links but can only operate on one link at any given time, such as single link non-AP MLD-2 518. Non-AP MLD-1 516 is associated with SSID: Multi-links while the single link non-AP MLD-2 518 is associated with SSID: Single-link; Fig. 7: Probe Response frame (VAP-1) – Capability Information [field])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a standard-compliant probe response frame with a very high throughput capabilities element indicating capability information so as to provide backward compatibility with legacy radio access technology, i.e., non-multi-link communications. See CHITRAKAR, at ¶ 0002.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of CHITRAKAR and CHU, as applied above, renders obvious the communication apparatus of claim 1. CHITRAKAR further discloses:
wherein the second Multi-Link element of the first probe response frame further includes a common info field. (FIG. 27, Multi-link element 2706; ¶ 0137: Under common information, Host Link ID 2710 is indicated as “1” and MLD MAC address 2712 is indicated as “0A-20”)
Regarding claim 11, the combination of CHITRAKAR and CHU, as applied above, renders obvious the communication apparatus of claim 1. CHITRAKAR further discloses:
wherein the second Multi-Link element of the first probe response frame includes a common info field carrying information that is common to all the links and a field carrying information specific to one or more links. (FIG. 27, Multi-link element 2706; ¶ 0137: Under common information, Host Link ID 2710 is indicated as “1” and MLD MAC address 2712 is indicated as “0A-20”. Multi-link element 2706 also comprises 2 Per- link Information fields 2714 and 2716 that represent VAP-3 1012 and VAP-5 1016 respectively; ¶ 0138: [I]n ML elements 2706 and 2720, the ML element format is the same as the ML element 1500 in FIG. 15; ¶ 0110: Common Information field 1504 carries information about the MLD that is common across all links e.g. MLD MAC Address, Multi-link capabilities, common SSID etc.)
Regarding claim 12, the combination of CHITRAKAR and CHU, as applied above, renders obvious the communication apparatus of claim 1. CHITRAKAR further discloses:
wherein the communication apparatus is capable of performing wireless communication compliant with the IEEE 802.11be standard. (¶ 0170: [C]ommunication apparatus 4600, when in operation, provides functions required for EHT virtualization; ¶ 0163: [T]he 11be specification may also enforce that the Data frames intended for EHT)
Regarding claim 13, the combination of CHITRAKAR and CHU, as applied above, anticipates the communication apparatus of claim 1. CHITRAKAR further discloses:
wherein the instructions cause the communication apparatus to transmit the first probe response frame on only one of the first, the second, and the third links. (¶ 0110: Host Link ID field 1508 indicates a Link ID assigned to the link in which the Multi-link element 1500 is transmitted (i.e. host link); ¶ 0115: ML element identifies the link ID assigned to the Host link. Information of the Host link may not be carried in the ML element. The ML element also carries basic information of the other links (Link ID, SSID, BSSID, Operating channel etc.) of the AP MLD with which the AP transmitting the frame is affiliated with; ¶ 0114: “Host link” may be called “transmitted link”; “Host Link ID” may also be called “Transmitted Link ID”; “Per-link Information” may be called “AP Information” or “Per-STA Information” etc.)
Regarding claim 16, the combination of CHITRAKAR and CHU, as applied above, renders obvious the communication apparatus of claim 1. CHITRAKAR further discloses:
wherein the probe response frame includes an Extremely High Throughput (EHT) capabilities element indicating capability information for communication compliant with the IEEE 802.11 be standard. (¶ 0002: In the standardization of next generation wireless local area network (WLAN), a new radio access technology having backward compatibilities with IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n/ac/ax technologies has been discussed in the IEEE 802.11 Working Group and is named 802.11be Extremely High Throughput (EHT) WLAN; ¶ 0084: AP-3 508 (corresponding to BSSID-2 514) advertise SSID: Single-link and caters to legacy STAs and Single Link MLDs i.e. MLDs that are capable of switching between multiple links but can only operate on one link at any given time, such as single link non-AP MLD-2 518. Non-AP MLD-1 516 is associated with SSID: Multi-links while the single link non-AP MLD-2 518 is associated with SSID: Single-link; Fig. 27: Probe Response frame (VAP-1) – Capability Information [field])
Regarding claim 17, the combination of CHITRAKAR and CHU, as applied above, renders obvious the communication apparatus of claim 1. CHITRAKAR further discloses:
wherein the first Multi-Link element includes a Link info field, and the Link info field includes the first fields that include the information specific to first link. (¶ 0137: Per-link Information field 2714 provides information for the represented VAP-3 1012 such as the Link ID (indicated as “2”), operating channel, BSSID, Operating Parameters and EDCA Parameter Set. Per-link Information field 2716 provides information for the represented VAP-5 1016 such as the Link ID (indicated as “3”), operating channel, BSSID, Operating Parameters and EDCA Parameter Set)
Regarding claim 18, the combination of CHITRAKAR and CHU, as applied above, renders obvious the communication apparatus of claim 1. CHITRAKAR further discloses:
wherein the information specific to link comprises information that is uniquely associated with each link on which the communication apparatus transmits a Beacon frame. (¶ 0135: Beacon frame 2500 indicates BSSID MAC address 2502 of VAP-6 1018 as “0D-31” and associated SSID 2504 as “IOT”. The Beacon frame 2500 also comprises a Multiple BSSID element 2506 providing information of nontransmitted BSSID VAP-5 1016 (since VAP-5 1016 & VAP-6 1018 form a VAP Set). The Multiple BSSID element 2506 includes a nontransmitted BSSID profile 1 for VAP-5 1016, comprising at least information of the SSID (indicated as “Staff”) and another Multi-link element 2508 that carries the MLD MAC address of the AP MLD1 1002 in its common information field; ¶ 0136: Per-link information fields indicate the additional links (i.e. other than the link on which the frame is transmitted) for which further information is desired)
Regarding claim 19, the combination of CHITRAKAR and CHU, as applied above, renders obvious the communication apparatus of claim 1. CHITRAKAR further discloses:
wherein the instructions further cause the communication apparatus
to receive a fourth probe request frame, transmitted by another communication apparatus, including a fifth Multi-Link element, the fifth Multi-Link element . . . , and (¶ 0136: A non-AP MLD can request full information about other links of an AP MLD by sending a Probe Request frame on any one link of the AP MLD. FIG. 26 depicts an illustration of a Probe Request frame 2600 transmitted by a non-AP MLD to VAP-1 1008 of the network 1000 [which includes] a Multi-link element 2606; ¶ 0138: [M]ultiple probe requests are received; ¶ 0109: FIG. 15 depicts an illustration of a Multi-link element 1500 configured for unified signalling in accordance with various embodiments. The Multi-link element 1500 comprises an Element ID field, a Length field, an Element ID extension field, a Type field 1502, a Common Information field 1504 and one or more Per-link information field 1506. Type field 1502 is set to Discovery when used by an AP MLD to advertise link information, or set to Multi-link Setup when used by a non-AP MLD during Multi-link Setup; ¶ 0110: Number of Per-link Information field 1512 indicates how many Per-link Information fields are present. 0 indicates none; ¶ 0111: Per-link information field 1506 comprises a Presence Bitmap field 1512, a Link ID field, a Capability Information field, a Listen Interval field, an AID field, SSID field, BSSID/MAC Address field, a Nontransmitted BSSID Information field 1514, an Operating Channel field 1516 and zero or more Optional Subelements field),
to transmit a fourth probe response frame including a sixth Multi-Link element, the sixth Multi-Link element including information specific to link corresponding to all the links supported by the communication apparatus. (¶ 0137: In response to the Probe Request frame 2600, the AP MLD sends a unicast Probe Response frame 2700 that carry full information about the requested links i.e. Link IDs 1, 2 and 3 as shown in FIG. 27. Probe Response frame 2700 is sent is transmitted from VAP-1 1008 to the non-AP MLD that transmitted the Probe Request frame 2600. The Probe Response frame [includes] Multi-link element 2706; ¶ 0152: The AP MLD will update its record of the non-AP MLD upon receiving the MAC Addresses and may proceed to communicate with the non-AP MLD on all links using the L2 MAC addresses)
CHITRAKAR does not explicitly disclose:
not including first fields that include information specific to the first link and second fields that include information specific to the second link and third fields that include information specific to the third link
In the same field of endeavor, however, CHU teaches:
not including first fields that include information specific to the first link and second fields that include information specific to the second link and third fields that include information specific to the third link (¶ 0146: [A] management frame only includes the information of the reported link. For example, the Probe Request includes the information of the reported link through ML IE. In some embodiments, the elements of the reporting link are not carried. The fields in the Probe Request frame can be the reported link information except that the timestamp field carries the Timing synchronization function (TSF) time of the reporting link. Another option is that the frame does not include the fields in the frame body that do not belong to any element)
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over CHITRAKAR in view of CHU, and further in view of US 2022/0132610, hereinafter, “GUO”).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of CHITRAKAR and CHU, as applied above, renders obvious the communication apparatus of claim 5. CHITRAKAR does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the predetermined identification information is included in [a] Band ID field.
In the same field of endeavor, however, GUO teaches:
wherein the predetermined identification information is included in [a] Band ID field. (¶ 0083: The multi-band element may include but is not limited to a band identifier (band ID) field; ¶ 0079: [T]he link indication information is a link information element, the link information element includes identification information of the link corresponding to the management frame, and the identification information of the link includes at least one of a band identifier)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CHITRAKAR’s multi-link setup procedure to provide a band ID field as taught by GUO, such that one radio frame carries at least two management frames generated by at least two stations on different links, so as to reduce delays and improve communication efficiency. See GUO, at ¶ 0005.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Kathy Wang-Hurst can be reached at 571-270-5371. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/GARTH D RICHMOND/ Examiner, Art Unit 2644
/KATHY W WANG-HURST/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2644