DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment, filed 12/02/2025, has been entered. The examiner notes claims 1-2 and 4-19 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks page 9, filed 12/02/2025, with respect to the objection to the specification have been fully considered and are persuasive. The applicant has amended the specification to resolve the objection. The objection to the specification has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks pages 9-10, filed 12/02/2025, with respect to the claim objection to claim 18 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The applicant has amended the claims to resolve the objection. The claim objection to claim 18 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments, see Remarks pages 10-13, filed 12/02/2025, with respect to the 35 USC 102 and 103 rejections to claims 1-2 and 4-18 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regards to the applicant’s argument that the range of thickness of the insulating layer is significant, the examiner respectfully disagrees. As mentioned in the previous office action, the examiner notes that adjusting the range of thickness to improve accuracy/comfort/etc. is merely optimizing the component that may be done through routine experimentation. The examiner relies upon primary reference, Teller, to teach the insulating layer between two sensors. Prior art reference, Dalvi, was brought in to teach the sensors being separated by a “thickness” of 4 mm. Thus, a modified Teller with the teachings of Dalvi teach the “insulating layer” (Fig. 26 Item 860), in which the first and second temperature sensor (Fig. 26 Items 890A and 890B) are disposed on opposite sides of the “insulating layer”, with the modification provided by Dalvi being that the “thickness” between the sensors (i.e., the “insulating layer”) is 4 mm.
By incorporating elements of claim 2 and canceled claim 3 into the independent claims, the 35 USC 102 rejections are now 35 USC 103 rejections.
Therefore, for the reasons provided above, the 35 USC 103 rejection of claims 1-2 and 4-18 is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7-11, 14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teller (US 20040133081 A1) in view of Dalvi (US 20200163597 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Teller teaches a wearable device comprising:
a first temperature sensor [Fig. 26 Item 890A] configured to measure a first voltage when the wearable device is in contact with a user [0160 “The heat flux off of the body of the wearer can be determined by measuring a first voltage VI with heat flux thermistor 890A and a second voltage V2 with heat flux thermistor 890B”];
a second temperature sensor [Fig. 26 Item 890B] disposed apart from the first temperature sensor in a thickness direction of the wearable device [see Fig. 26, the examiner notes that directionality is relative], and configured to measure a second voltage when the wearable device is in contact with the user [0160];
a thermally insulating material [Fig. 26 Item 860 “PCB”] between the first temperature sensor [Fig. 26 Item 890A] and the second temperature sensor [Fig. 26 Item 890B] in the thickness direction of the wearable device [See Fig. 26];
an amplifier [0160 “differential amplifier”] configured to amplify a voltage difference between the first voltage and the second voltage [0160 “These voltages are then electrically differenced, such as by using a differential amplifier, to provide a voltage value that, as is well known in the art, can be used to calculate the temperature difference (T2-T1)…”];
an analog-to-digital (A/D) converter [0163 “A/D converter”] configured to convert the amplified voltage difference in an analog format to a digital signal [this is the inherent function of an A/D converter]; and
at least one processor configured to estimate a body temperature of the user based on the digital signal representing the amplified voltage difference [0157 “…heat flux skin interface component 835 and skin temperature skin interface component 840 are adapted to be in contact with the wearer's skin when sensor device 800 is worn, and facilitate the measurement of GSR, heat flux from the body and skin temperature data”, 0163 “…heat flux thermistors 890A and 890B are coupled to A/D converter 915 and processing unit 900, where the heat flux calculations are performed…”].
Teller teaches a thickness of a thermally insulating material, but fails to specifically teach the thickness is in a range of 0.1 mm to 5 mm. Upon review of the disclosure, the range of 0.1 mm to 5mm is not stated as critical or important (see par. 0042).
However, Dalvi teaches a similar system in the same field of endeavor utilizing a distance 4 mm between the first and second sensor [0041].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the filing date of the invention to adjust the distance between sensors to an optimal range/value, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. See MPEP 2144.05.II. The Examiner notes that a particular parameter must be recognized as a result effective variable, in this case, that parameter is the distance between sensors which achieves the recognized result of optimizing measurement accuracy by avoiding “dead zones”, account for thermal gradients, reducing thermal lag, and preventing skewed readings from thermal interference, therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art at the filing date of the invention would have found the claimed range through routine experimentation. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). See also In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 7, Teller and Dalvi teach the wearable device of claim 1, wherein at least one of the first temperature sensor [Teller Fig. 26 Item 390A] and the second temperature sensor [Teller Fig. 26 Item 390B] is a thermistor [Teller 0160 “Provided on the bottom side of PCB 860 is a first heat flux thermistor 890A, and provided on the top side of PCB 860 is a second heat flux thermistor 890B”].
Regarding claim 8, Teller and Dalvi teach the wearable device of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to convert the amplified voltage difference into a corresponding temperature difference [Teller 0160 “These voltages are then electrically differenced, such as by using a differential amplifier, to provide a voltage value that, as is well known in the art, can be used to calculate the temperature difference (T2-T1)…”], 0163 “…heat flux thermistors 890A and 890B are coupled to A/D converter 915 and processing unit 900, where the heat flux calculations are performed, through low pass filter 935 and amplifier 940”], and to estimate the body temperature based on the corresponding temperature difference [Teller 0157 “…heat flux skin interface component 835 and skin temperature skin interface component 840 are adapted to be in contact with the wearer's skin when sensor device 800 is worn, and facilitate the measurement of GSR, heat flux from the body and skin temperature data”, 0163 “…heat flux thermistors 890A and 890B are coupled to A/D converter 915 and processing unit 900, where the heat flux calculations are performed, through low pass filter 935 and amplifier 940”].
Regarding claim 9, Teller and Dalvi teach the wearable device of claim 1, further comprising a display [Teller Fig. 28 Item 1025] configured to display the body temperature of the user [Teller 0176 “coupled to processing unit 900 on PCB 860 are LCDs and/or LEDs 1025 for outputting information to the wearer”, the information that is being output is inherent as the system disclosed in the embodiment is measuring heat flux, as well as other parameters, of a subject].
Regarding claim 10, Teller teaches a method of measuring a body temperature using a wearable device, the method comprising:
measuring a first voltage by a first temperature sensor [Fig. 26 Item 890A] when the wearable device is in contact with a user [0160 “The heat flux off of the body of the wearer can be determined by measuring a first voltage VI with heat flux thermistor 890A and a second voltage V2 with heat flux thermistor 890B”], wherein a thermally insulating material [Fig. 26 Item 860 “PCB”] is disposed between the first temperature sensor [Fig. 26 Item 890A] and the second temperature sensor [Fig. 26 Item 890B] in the thickness direction of the wearable device [see Fig. 26];
measuring a second voltage by a second temperature sensor [Fig. 26 Item 890B] that is disposed apart from the first temperature sensor in a thickness direction of the wearable device [see Fig. 26, the examiner notes that directionality is relative], when the wearable device is in contact with the user [0160];
amplifying a voltage difference between the first voltage and the second voltage [0160 “These voltages are then electrically differenced, such as by using a differential amplifier, to provide a voltage value that, as is well known in the art, can be used to calculate the temperature difference (T2-T1)…”];
converting the amplified voltage difference in an analog format to a digital signal [0163 “…heat flux thermistors 890A and 890B are coupled to A/D converter 915 and processing unit 900, where the heat flux calculations are performed, through low pass filter 935 and amplifier 940”]; and
estimating the body temperature of the user based on the digital signal representing the amplified voltage difference [0157 “…heat flux skin interface component 835 and skin temperature skin interface component 840 are adapted to be in contact with the wearer's skin when sensor device 800 is worn, and facilitate the measurement of GSR, heat flux from the body and skin temperature data”, 0163 “…heat flux thermistors 890A and 890B are coupled to A/D converter 915 and processing unit 900, where the heat flux calculations are performed…”].
Teller teaches a thickness of a thermally insulating material, but fails to specifically teach the thickness is in a range of 0.1 mm to 5 mm. Upon review of the disclosure, the range of 0.1 mm to 5mm is not stated as critical or important (see par. 0042).
However, Dalvi teaches a similar system in the same field of endeavor utilizing a distance 4 mm between the first and second sensor [0041].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the filing date of the invention to adjust the distance between sensors to an optimal range/value, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. See MPEP 2144.05.II. The Examiner notes that a particular parameter must be recognized as a result effective variable, in this case, that parameter is the distance between sensors which achieves the recognized result of optimizing measurement accuracy by avoiding “dead zones”, account for thermal gradients, reducing thermal lag, and preventing skewed readings from thermal interference, therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art at the filing date of the invention would have found the claimed range through routine experimentation. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). See also In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 11, Teller and Dalvi teach the method of claim 10, further comprising:
converting the amplified voltage difference into a temperature difference [Teller 0160 These voltages are then electrically differenced, such as by using a differential amplifier, to provide a voltage value that, as is well known in the art, can be used to calculate the temperature difference (T2-T1)…”]; and
estimating the body temperature based on the temperature difference corresponding to the amplified voltage difference [Teller 0157 “…heat flux skin interface component 835 and skin temperature skin interface component 840 are adapted to be in contact with the wearer's skin when sensor device 800 is worn, and facilitate the measurement of GSR, heat flux from the body and skin temperature data”, 0163 “…heat flux thermistors 890A and 890B are coupled to A/D converter 915 and processing unit 900, where the heat flux calculations are performed, through low pass filter 935 and amplifier 940”].
Regarding claim 14, Teller and Dalvi teach the method of claim 10, further comprising:
identifying a thermal coefficient of resistivity [Teller 0160 “K”] of the thermally insulating material [Teller Fig. 26 Item 360] disposed between the first temperature sensor [Teller Fig. 26 Item 390A] and the second temperature sensor [Teller Fig. 26 Item 390B] in the thickness direction [Teller 0160 “As is well-known in the art, PCB 860 is made of a rigid or flexible material, such as a fiberglass, having a preselected, known thermal resistance or resistivity K”]; and
estimating the body temperature of the user based on the amplified voltage difference and the thermal coefficient of resistivity of the thermally insulating material [Teller 0157 “…heat flux skin interface component 835 and skin temperature skin interface component 840 are adapted to be in contact with the wearer's skin when sensor device 800 is worn, and facilitate the measurement of GSR, heat flux from the body and skin temperature data”, 0163 “…heat flux thermistors 890A and 890B are coupled to A/D converter 915 and processing unit 900, where the heat flux calculations are performed…”].
Regarding claim 17, Teller teaches a sensor device comprising:
a first temperature sensor [Fig. 26 Item 390A] configured to measure a first voltage when the sensor device is in contact with a user [0160 “The heat flux off of the body of the wearer can be determined by measuring a first voltage VI with heat flux thermistor 890A and a second voltage V2 with heat flux thermistor 890B”];
a second temperature sensor [Fig. 26 Item 390B] disposed apart from the first temperature sensor in a thickness direction of the sensor device [see Fig. 26, the examiner notes that directionality is relative], and configured to measure a second voltage when the sensor device is in contact with the user [0160];
a thermally insulating material [Fig. 26 Item 860] between the first temperature sensor [Fig. 26 Item 890A] and the second temperature sensor [Fig. 26 Item 890B] in the thickness direction of the sensor device [see Fig. 26]; and
an amplifier [0160 “differential amplifier”] configured to amplify a voltage difference between the first voltage and the second voltage [0160 “These voltages are then electrically differenced, such as by using a differential amplifier, to provide a voltage value that, as is well known in the art, can be used to calculate the temperature difference (T2-T1)…”], and output the voltage difference as a value that represents a body temperature of the user [0157 “…heat flux skin interface component 835 and skin temperature skin interface component 840 are adapted to be in contact with the wearer's skin when sensor device 800 is worn, and facilitate the measurement of GSR, heat flux from the body and skin temperature data”, 0163 “…heat flux thermistors 890A and 890B are coupled to A/D converter 915 and processing unit 900, where the heat flux calculations are performed…”].
Teller teaches a thickness of a thermally insulating material, but fails to specifically teach the thickness is in a range of 0.1 mm to 5 mm. Upon review of the disclosure, the range of 0.1 mm to 5mm is not stated as critical or important (see par. 0042).
However, Dalvi teaches a similar system in the same field of endeavor utilizing a distance 4 mm between the first and second sensor [0041].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the filing date of the invention to adjust the distance between sensors to an optimal range/value, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. See MPEP 2144.05.II. The Examiner notes that a particular parameter must be recognized as a result effective variable, in this case, that parameter is the distance between sensors which achieves the recognized result of optimizing measurement accuracy by avoiding “dead zones”, account for thermal gradients, reducing thermal lag, and preventing skewed readings from thermal interference, therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art at the filing date of the invention would have found the claimed range through routine experimentation. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). See also In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claims 2 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teller and Dalvi as applied to claim 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Yarden (US 20120215113 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Teller and Dalvi teach the wearable device of claim 1, wherein the thermally insulating material has a thickness, but fails to teach the space or thickness is in a range from 0.4 mm to 1.3 mm. Upon review of the disclosure, the range of 0.4 mm to 1.3 mm is not stated as critical or important (see par. 0042).
However, Yarden teaches a similar system in the same field of endeavor utilizing a thickness range of 0.2 mm – 0.5 mm between the first and second sensor [0057].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the filing date of the invention to adjust the distance between sensors to an optimal range/value, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. See MPEP 2144.05.II. The Examiner notes that a particular parameter must be recognized as a result effective variable, in this case, that parameter is the distance between sensors which achieves the recognized result of optimizing measurement accuracy by avoiding “dead zones”, account for thermal gradients, reducing thermal lag, and preventing skewed readings from thermal interference, therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art at the filing date of the invention would have found the claimed range through routine experimentation. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). See also In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 19, Teller and Dalvi teach the method of claim 10, wherein the thermally insulating material has a thickness, but fails to teach the space or thickness is in a range from 0.4 mm to 1.3 mm. Upon review of the disclosure, the range of 0.4 mm to 1.3 mm is not stated as critical or important (see par. 0042).
However, Yarden teaches a similar system in the same field of endeavor utilizing a thickness range of 0.2 mm – 0.5 mm between the first and second sensor [0057].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the filing date of the invention to adjust the distance between sensors to an optimal range/value, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. See MPEP 2144.05.II. The Examiner notes that a particular parameter must be recognized as a result effective variable, in this case, that parameter is the distance between sensors which achieves the recognized result of optimizing measurement accuracy by avoiding “dead zones”, account for thermal gradients, reducing thermal lag, and preventing skewed readings from thermal interference, therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art at the filing date of the invention would have found the claimed range through routine experimentation. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). See also In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claims 4-5 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teller and Dalvi as applied to claim 1 and 14 above, and further in view of Zahner (US 20200085310 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Teller teaches the wearable device of claim 1, but fails to teach the thermally insulating material has a conductivity of 0.1 W/mK or less. Upon review of the disclosure, a conductivity of 0.1 W/mK or less is not stated as critical or important (see par. 0042).
However, Zahner teaches a similar system in the same field of endeavor utilizing a conductivity of the insulator being between 0.01 W/m/K and 0.1 W/m/K
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the filing date of the invention to adjust the conductivity of the insulator to an optimal range/value, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. See MPEP 2144.05.II. The Examiner notes that a particular parameter must be recognized as a result effective variable, in this case, that parameter is the conductivity which achieves the recognized result of optimizing thermal conductivity for the purpose of enhancing energy efficiency by improving insulation and cooling, leading to reduced costs and lower environmental impact, therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art at the filing date of the invention would have found the claimed range through routine experimentation. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). See also In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 5, Teller, Dalvi, and Zahner teach the wearable device of claim 4, wherein the thermally insulating material is air [Zahner 0049 “…a thermal insulator 23 is shown running within the cross-section of the printed circuit board 22, whereby this thermal insulator can be an insulating layer, for example an air pocket”].
Regarding claim 15, Teller and Dalvi teach the method of claim 14, but fails to teach the thermally insulating material has a conductivity of 0.1 W/mK or less. Upon review of the disclosure, a conductivity of 0.1 W/mK or less is not stated as critical or important (see par. 0042).
However, Zahner teaches a similar system in the same field of endeavor utilizing a conductivity of the insulator being between 0.01 W/m/K and 0.1 W/m/K
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the filing date of the invention to adjust the conductivity of the insulator to an optimal range/value, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. See MPEP 2144.05.II. The Examiner notes that a particular parameter must be recognized as a result effective variable, in this case, that parameter is the conductivity which achieves the recognized result of optimizing thermal conductivity for the purpose of enhancing energy efficiency by improving insulation and cooling, leading to reduced costs and lower environmental impact, therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art at the filing date of the invention would have found the claimed range through routine experimentation. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). See also In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 16, Teller, Dalvi, and Zahner teach the method of claim 15, wherein the thermally insulating material is air [Zahner 0049 “…a thermal insulator 23 is shown running within the cross-section of the printed circuit board 22, whereby this thermal insulator can be an insulating layer, for example an air pocket”].
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teller and Dalvi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Salahieh (US 20160051321 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Teller teaches the wearable device of claim 1, but fails to teach the first temperature sensor and the second temperature sensor are connected in a Wheatstone bridge configuration.
Salahieh teaches the first temperature sensor and the second temperature sensor are connected to have a Wheatstone bridge configuration [0199 “The pattern includes two flexible thermistors (flextors). The two flextors are used in a battery-powered Wheatstone bridge electrical circuit to measure the differential temperature of the two flextors”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the teachings of Teller and Dalvi and incorporate the teachings of Salahieh to include the first temperature sensor and the second temperature sensor are connected to have a Wheatstone bridge configuration. Doing so configures the system with a circuit configuration that is capable of measuring a temperature differential between to temperature sensors (thermistors) and using that temperature differential to analyze a patient’s condition, as recognized by Salahieh para. 0199.
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teller and Dalvi as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Kubo (US 20180140254 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Teller and Dalvi teach the method of claim 10, further comprising:
generating a conversion model based on a first temperature corresponding to the first voltage, the first voltage, [Teller 0160 “These voltages are then electrically differenced, such as by using a differential amplifier, to provide a voltage value that, as is well known in the art, can be used to calculate the temperature difference (T2-T1)…”];
converting the amplified voltage difference into a temperature difference via the conversion model [Teller 0160 “These voltages are then electrically differenced, such as by using a differential amplifier, to provide a voltage value that, as is well known in the art, can be used to calculate the temperature difference (T2-T1)…”]; and
estimating the body temperature based on the temperature difference corresponding to the amplified voltage difference [Teller 0157 “…heat flux skin interface component 835 and skin temperature skin interface component 840 are adapted to be in contact with the wearer's skin when sensor device 800 is worn, and facilitate the measurement of GSR, heat flux from the body and skin temperature data”, 0163 “…heat flux thermistors 890A and 890B are coupled to A/D converter 915 and processing unit 900, where the heat flux calculations are performed”].
Teller and Dalvi fail to teach the conversion model comprises an external supply voltage.
Kubo teaches the conversion model comprises an external supply voltage [0072 “…on the basis of the power supply voltage data and the temperature data that are obtained in Step S10 and on the basis of the information S2 stored in the storage 103, the processor 101 calculates a measurement error that occurs in the wearable sensor 10 with respect to body temperature, and generates correction data that indicates the calculated measurement error”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the teachings of Teller and Dalvi and incorporate the teachings of Kubo to include the conversion model includes an external supply voltage. Doing so configures the system to correct the measured data from external sources/noise to provide for a more accurate analysis of the acquired data.
Regarding claim 13, Teller and Dalvi teach the method of claim 10, further comprising:
generating a conversion model based on a second temperature corresponding to the second voltage, the second voltage [Teller 0160 “These voltages are then electrically differenced, such as by using a differential amplifier, to provide a voltage value that, as is well known in the art, can be used to calculate the temperature difference (T2-T1)…”];
converting the amplified voltage difference into a temperature difference via the conversion model [Teller 0160 “These voltages are then electrically differenced, such as by using a differential amplifier, to provide a voltage value that, as is well known in the art, can be used to calculate the temperature difference (T2-T1)…”]; and
estimating the body temperature based on the temperature difference corresponding to the amplified voltage difference [Teller 0157 “…heat flux skin interface component 835 and skin temperature skin interface component 840 are adapted to be in contact with the wearer's skin when sensor device 800 is worn, and facilitate the measurement of GSR, heat flux from the body and skin temperature data”, 0163 “…heat flux thermistors 890A and 890B are coupled to A/D converter 915 and processing unit 900, where the heat flux calculations are performed”].
Teller and Dalvi fail to teach the conversion model comprises an external supply voltage.
Kubo teaches the conversion model comprises an external supply voltage [0072 “…on the basis of the power supply voltage data and the temperature data that are obtained in Step S10 and on the basis of the information S2 stored in the storage 103, the processor 101 calculates a measurement error that occurs in the wearable sensor 10 with respect to body temperature, and generates correction data that indicates the calculated measurement error”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the teachings of Teller and Dalvi and incorporate the teachings of Kubo to include the conversion model includes an external supply voltage. Doing so configures the system to correct the measured data from external sources/noise to provide for a more accurate analysis of the acquired data.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teller and Dalvi as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Baxi (US 20190209028 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Teller and Dalvi teach the sensor device of claim 17, wherein the sensor device further comprises:
an analog-to-digital (A/D) converter configured to convert the amplified voltage difference in an analog format to a digital signal [Teller 0075 “analog-to-digital converter 18”]; and
at least one processor configured to determine the body temperature of the user based on the digital signal [Teller 0075 “microprocessor 20”].
Teller and Dalvi fail to teach the first temperature sensor, the second temperature sensor, and the amplifier are included in analog front-end of the sensor device.
Baxi teaches the first temperature sensor, the second temperature sensor, and the amplifier are comprised in an analog front-end of the sensor device [0066 “Each of the AFEs (e.g., the ECG AFE 1204, the stretch AFE 1205, the PPG AFE 1206, and the temperature AFE 1207) include circuitry specific to a sensing application, such as to sense, amplify, and/or condition the signals from the respective sensor (e.g., the electrodes 310, stretch sensor 316, photodiode 326, or thermistor 328). Such circuitry can include analog and/or digital circuitry, such as can include one or more transistors, resistors, capacitors, inductors, diodes, amplifiers, analog to digital converters (ADC), high-pass, low-pass, sensors or other circuitry for measuring motion, noise, other bio-signals, band pass filters, or the like”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the teachings of Teller and Dalvi and incorporate the teachings of Baxi to include the first temperature sensor, the second temperature sensor, and the amplifier are included in analog front-end of the sensor device. Doing so improves system performance by conditioning and filtering raw analog sensor signals, making them suitable for digital processing while also contributing to smaller, more portable devices by integrating multiple functions into a single component, enhancing overall system efficiency and reliability.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN M HANEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/JUSTIN XU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791