Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 15, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
NONSTATUTORY DOUBLE PATENTING REJECTION
In response to applicant’s Terminal Disclaimer filed on December 15, 2025, the double patenting rejections have been withdrawn.
REJECTIONs UNDER 35 U.S.C. § 102, AND 103
Applicant asserts that:
“Applicant respectfully submits that Negretti fails to disclose the specific geometric requirement that "each one of the back wall, rear wall, left side wall, and right side wall are angled upwardly from the floor to the top horizontal surface to define the truncated pyramid structure." Negretti's disclosure at the Abstract describes only simple "front and rear supports connected to and outwardly projecting from the base" that create "a cavity therebetween" for holding an electronic device. Each embodiment shown and described in Negretti depicts open sides, not an enclosed pyramid shape as claimed. Further, Negretti's alleged "opening 52" in Figures 22 and 25 also fails to satisfy the "compartment accessible by an opening in the top horizontal surface" requirement of amended Claims 19 and 20. First, opening 52 is not an opening providing access to an enclosed storage compartment, but merely a gap or split between Negretti's basic support walls. The opening 52 of Negretti cannot be understood as teaching the required "compartment within the truncated pyramid" that is "defined" by the structural integration of all six elements (back wall, rear wall, top horizontal surface, floor, left side wall, and right side wall) as required by amended Claims 19 and 20.”
Emphasis added by the examiner.
The examiner, however, disagrees.
First, in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., not an enclosed pyramid shape as claimed) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Second, Negretti's "opening 52" in Figures 22 and 25 does satisfy the "compartment accessible by an opening in the top horizontal surface" requirement of amended Claims 19 and 20. Opening 52 provides access to an attached cable 510 within a compartment (see paragraphs [0019], 0077]).
Third, the claimed "compartment within the truncated pyramid" in this instance reads on a cavity which extends from a top surface to the floor/bottom as shown in at least figures 22, 25 of Negretti. As shown in figures 14 and 22 in the rejection to claims 19 and 20 below, the required "compartment within the truncated pyramid" that is "defined" by the structural integration of all six elements (back wall, rear wall, top horizontal surface, floor, left side wall, and right side wall) as required by amended Claims 19 and 20.
For the foregoing reasons, the examiner contends that the rejections to claims are proper.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 3-7, 16-17, 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Negretti (US 2013/0134282).
As to claim 19, Negretti discloses a holder stand (see at least figures 14, 22) for a mobile electronic device 500 comprising: a truncated pyramid (see at least figure 22), the truncated pyramid including, a back wall 34 having a lower end and an upper end, a rear wall 26 having a lower end and an upper end, a top horizontal surface (see below) extending from the upper end of the back wall 34 to the upper end of the rear wall 26, a floor extending from the lower end of the back wall to the lower end of the rear wall, the floor spaced apart from the top horizontal surface, a left side wall (on the other side of the right side wall in figure 14) joined to the back wall 34, the rear wall 26, the top horizontal surface, and the floor, a right side wall (see below) joined to the back wall 34, the rear wall 26, the top horizontal surface, and the floor, wherein the each one of the back wall 34, rear wall 26, left side wall, and right side wall are angled upwardly from the floor to the top horizontal surface to define the truncated pyramid structure (see figure 14), and wherein the back wall 34, the rear wall 26, the top horizontal surface, the floor, the left side wall, and the right side wall define a compartment (see figure 22 below) within the truncated pyramid, the compartment accessible by an opening in the top horizontal surface (see figure 22 below); a base wall 38 (see at least figure 7) extending from the back wall of the truncated pyramid; and a front segment 24 (see figure 14) extending from the base wall 38, wherein the back wall 34, the base wall 38, and the front segment 24 form a trough to selectively hold the mobile electronic device 500.
As to claim 3, Negretti discloses that the front segment 24 further comprises a first segment 24A spaced apart from a second segment 24B (see at least figure 21).
As to claim 4, Negretti discloses that an opening 28 is provided into the trough (see at least figure 7).
As to claim 5, Negretti discloses that the front segment 24 is a flexible springy member to facilitate retaining the mobile device 500 in the trough 28 (see figure 14, paragraph [0062]).
As to claim 6, Negretti discloses a side block 48 (see at least figures 17-18) selectively disposed in the trough 28 to facilitate retaining the mobile device 500 in the trough 28.
As to claim 7, Negretti discloses a spacer 48 (see at least figures 17-18) selectively disposed in the trough 28 to facilitate retaining the mobile device 500 in the trough 28.
As to claim 16, Negretti discloses that the base wall 38 (see figure 7) is spaced apart from the lower end of the back wall 34 to position the base wall above the lower end of the back wall 34.
As to claim 17, Negretti discloses an inside channel 52 (see at least figures 22-23, and 25) extending between the back wall and the rear wall.
As to claim 20, it is rejected for similar reasons with respect to independent claim 19 as set forth above. Negretti further discloses the base wall 38 (see figure 7) spaced apart from the lower end of the back wall 34 to position the base wall 38 above the lower end of the back wall.
As to claim 21, it is rejected for similar reasons with respect to independent claim 19 as set forth above. Negretti further discloses the storage compartment having at least one open side 52 (see at least figures 22, providing access to the storage compartment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Negretti in view of Fine (US 10,865,935).
As to claim 18, Negretti fails to disclose that the base wall includes a hole. Fine discloses that a base wall 1130 (see figure 11) includes a hole (see the space between two parallel bars as disclosed at column 8 lines 33-35). Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Fine to Negretti, in order to yield predictable results such as reducing the weight and size of the base wall.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As to claims 10-15, the prior art of record fail to anticipate, or render obvious, a lid to selectively cover the opening in the top horizontal surface.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NGUYEN T VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646