DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to the Amendment filed on 4/6/2026.
In the Instant Amendment, Claim(s) 1 and 18 has/have been amended; Claim(s) 8 and 13 has/have been cancelled; Claim(s) 1 and 18 is/are independent claims. Claims 1-7, 9-12 and 14-20 have been examined and are pending in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) submitted on 5/13/2026 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/6/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, the Applicant is arguing in the remarks (pages 7-8) that Applicant contends that neither Shinohara nor Ogawa describes at least the claimed feature of deciding the second display position based on the signal output from the sensor in accordance with the distance which changes depending on whether or not the user wears glasses.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant. The Examiner respectfully submits that Shinohara or Ogawa does teach most features as claimed in claim 1. However, to address the cited feature argued above, Nakamichi (previously used to address claim 13) can be used in combination of Shinohara or Ogawa to teach the sensor outputs the signal corresponding to the distance which changes depending on whether or not the user wears glasses, the processor is configured to decide the second display position based on the signal output from the sensor (Figs. 10A-B; col. 1, lines 30-47; col. 9, line 45 – col. 10, line 20; “when a distance from the viewfinder to the eye increases (e.g., when the user looks into the viewfinder while wearing glasses, and the like), if the display area is too large, there will be a problem that a portion of the display area will be shielded, resulting in poorer visibility and making framing more difficult”; Fig. 10B show the display position of related information and displayed image based on the signal output from the sensor).
Moreover, newly applied reference Daisuke is also additionally introduced to address the cited features for compact prosecutions below.
The Examiner respectfully submits that the combinations of Shinohara/Ogawa and Daisuke/ Nakamichi do teach the features as claimed in claim 1 and also claim 18 for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 9-12, 14-16, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinohara et al (US 20050216862 A1) in view of Daisuke (JP 2016103680 A).
Regarding claim 1, Shinohara teaches An imaging apparatus (Figs. 1-11) comprising:
an imaging element (Fig. 1; CCD 3);
an observation unit including a display device and an observation optical system (Fig. 1; para. 0046; LCD 10 within an optical finder); and
a processor (CPU 13) configured to display a captured image based on an imaging signal read out from the imaging element and related information (icons 31-33, 31L-33L) related to generation of the captured image, on the display device (Fig. 2; para. 0033);
a sensor (sensor 24) that outputs a signal corresponding to a distance from a user to the observation unit (para. 0044),
wherein the processor is configured to display the related information at a first display position (icons 31-33 at an outer display position) and a second display position (icons 31L-33L at an inner display position) on the display device during imaging performed by the imaging element (Fig. 2),
the second display position is present on an inner side of the display device than the first display position (Fig. 2; enlarged display of icons 31L-33L at an inner display position),
types of the related information to be displayed at the second display position are set in advance before imaging (paras. 0051, 0079, 0080),
the processor is configured to switch between display and non-display of the related information at the second display position based on a specific operation of a user during imaging (paras. 0052-0057, 0062, 0068-0072; “the user starts the enlarged display of the icons by half depressing a release button, and then returns the button from the half-depressed state to the original state, or depresses another hard key, thereby ending the enlarged display of the icons”; “the operator depresses the release (shutter) button… starts the enlarged display of the icons. After a lapse of a predetermined time, the device automatically ends the enlarged display”), and
the processor is configured to decide the second display position based on the signal output from the sensor (Fig. 5; paras. 0044: “When the infrared sensor detects the operator, a detected signal is sent to the CPU 13 to make a setting so that the on-screen-display controller 22 can execute the OSD control function”; 0074-0076: “the size of the enlarged target icons is gradually decreased, and the icons are shifted to predetermined positions when the size of the icons is returned to the normal display size”; the enlarged target icons are changed within a design of each region of the captured image where the design is for the enlarged target icons to be shifted to predetermined positions within a designed area of the captured image),
but fails to teach
the sensor outputs the signal corresponding to the distance which changes depending on whether or not the user wears glasses, the processor is configured to decide the second display position based on the signal output from the sensor.
However, in the same field of endeavor Daisuke teaches
the sensor outputs the signal corresponding to the distance which changes depending on whether or not the user wears glasses, the processor is configured to decide the second display position based on the signal output from the sensor (page 2, lines 1-20: “FIG. 9 is a diagram showing each shooting state, where (a) -1, (b) -1, and (c) -1 are states in which a photographer who does not use glasses shoots using the finder, and (a) -2, (b) -2, and (c) -2 are diagrams illustrating a state in which a photographer wearing spectacles performs photographing using a finder, for example. A subject image 208 and a shooting information display 207 are displayed in the viewfinder. Thus, when a photographer wearing spectacles performs photographing using a finder, wearing the spectacles increases the distance from the finder eyepiece frame to the photographer's eye by the distance A indicated by 101. A situation occurs. As a result, there is a possibility that a phenomenon of so-called vignetting 104 (b) to (d) occurs when the eyepiece frame 102 blocks the optical path between the photographer's eye 105 and the finder display unit 103.”; page 5, line 49: “When it is determined in step S104 that the distance from the eyepiece frame to the photographer's eye is longer than the eye point of the imaging device 100, as described above, vignetting is likely to occur in a general imaging device. For this reason, in this embodiment, in order to avoid vignetting, the process proceeds to step S105 in which the subject image 208 and the shooting information display magnification are reduced. This makes it possible to perform comfortable shooting without vignetting of the subject image 208 and the shooting information display 207”; page 6, line 11: “FIG. 4A shows the subject image 208 displayed on the finder display unit 5 and the shooting information display magnification both reduced.”; page 7, line 30: “FIG. 6A shows the display after moving the captured image for the distance B from the finder center 206 shown in FIG. 10A-2 and moving the captured information display 207 for the distance C.”; page 7, line 49: “It is also possible to both reduce and move the magnification of the image and shooting information”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use the teachings as taught by Daisuke in Shinohara to have the sensor outputs the signal corresponding to the distance which changes depending on whether or not the user wears glasses, the processor is configured to decide the second display position based on the signal output from the sensor for making it possible to perform comfortable shooting without vignetting of subject image and shooting information display yielding a predicted result.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Shinohara and Daisuke teaches everything as claimed in claim 1. In addition, Shinohara teaches wherein the second display position is a position overlapping with the captured image (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Shinohara and Daisuke teaches everything as claimed in claim 1. In addition, Shinohara teaches wherein the related information to be displayed at the second display position is selectable by the user, and the processor is configured to, in a case where a plurality of pieces of the related information to be displayed at the second display position are selected, display the selected plurality of pieces of the related information together on the display device (Figs. 2, 6; paras. 0051, 0079, 0080).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Shinohara and Daisuke teaches everything as claimed in claim 1. In addition, Shinohara teaches wherein the related information to be displayed at the second display position includes at least one of information related to an imaging condition of the imaging element or information related to a correction condition of the imaging signal (Figs. 2, 6; para. 0079; "white balance", and "exposure correction").
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Shinohara and Daisuke teaches everything as claimed in claim 1. In addition, Shinohara teaches wherein the processor is configured to change the second display position in accordance with a setting of the user (Fig. 6; paras. 0079, 0080).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Shinohara and Daisuke teaches everything as claimed in claim 1. In addition, Shinohara teaches wherein the processor is configured to, in a case where the specific operation is performed or in a case where the specific operation is not performed during imaging, display the related information at the second display position (paras. 0052-0057, 0062, 0068-0072).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Shinohara and Daisuke teaches everything as claimed in claim 1. In addition, Shinohara teaches wherein the processor is configured to, in a case where the specific operation is performed during imaging, switch display of the related information at the second display position to non-display, after an elapsed time from when the specific operation is performed reaches a setting time (paras. 0052-0057, 0062, 0068-0072).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Shinohara and Daisuke teaches everything as claimed in claim 9. In addition, Shinohara teaches further comprising:
a release button pushed by the user,
wherein the release button is pushable in two steps by the user, and the specific operation is an operation of pushing the release button to a position of a first step (paras. 0053-0055, 0062).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Shinohara and Daisuke teaches everything as claimed in claim 1. In addition, Shinohara teaches wherein a mode in which the related information is displayed at the second display position includes a first mode in which the related information is displayed at the second display position in a case where the specific operation (half-press) is performed during imaging, and a second mode in which the related information is displayed at the second display position in a case where the specific operation is not performed (depress) during imaging, and the processor is configured to select one of the first mode and the second mode based on an instruction input (via the release button) of the user (paras. 0053-0055).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Shinohara and Daisuke teaches everything as claimed in claim 1. In addition, Shinohara teaches wherein the display device has a display region in which an image is displayed, and in a case where a distance from a center of the display region to an end of the display region in a longitudinal direction of the imaging element is 1, the second display position is a position at which a distance from the end of the display region is greater than or equal to 0.15 and less than or equal to 1.0 (Figs. 2, 4, 5, 8, 9).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Shinohara and Daisuke teaches everything as claimed in claim 1. In addition, Shinohara teaches wherein the second display position is a position at which a viewing angle of the display device is within 25 degrees (Figs. 8, 9; icons are displayed at a center display position; the center display position is at which a viewing angle of the display device is 25 degrees or less).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Shinohara and Daisuke teaches everything as claimed in claim 1. In addition, Shinohara teaches wherein the processor is configured to switch a display position of the related information from one of the first display position and the second display position to the other based on the specific operation (Figs. 9).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Shinohara and Daisuke teaches everything as claimed in claim 1. In addition, Shinohara teaches A non-transitory computer readable recording medium which includes program used in an imaging apparatus including an imaging element and an observation unit including a display device and an observation optical system (Fig. 1; para. 0034), (corresponding features as presented in claim 1).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Shinohara and Daisuke teaches everything as claimed in claim 2. In addition, Shinohara teaches wherein the related information to be displayed at the second display position is selectable by the user, and the processor is configured to, in a case where a plurality of pieces of the related information to be displayed at the second display position are selected, display the selected plurality of pieces of the related information together on the display device (Figs. 2, 6; paras. 0051, 0079, 0080).
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-7, 9, 11, 12, 14-16, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogawa (US 20180227480 A1) in view of Daisuke (JP 2016103680 A).
Regarding claim 1, Ogawa teaches An imaging apparatus (Figs. 1-6) comprising:
an imaging element (22);
an observation unit (25) including a display device and an observation optical system (Figs. 1-2; paras. 0024-0029); and
a processor (50) configured to display a captured image based on an imaging signal read out from the imaging element and related information related to generation of the captured image, on the display device (Figs. 1-2; paras. 0024-0029);
a sensor (eye approach sensor 77) that outputs a signal corresponding to a distance from a user to the observation unit (paras. 0024-0028),
wherein the processor is configured to display the related information (“exposure correction”) at a first display position (at 606) and a second display position (at 604) on the display device during imaging performed by the imaging element (Figs. 6C, 6D; paras. 0089, 0097; “By displaying the display item 604 in a larger size than the original display item 606, the user can easily ascertain that the touchpad function has been switched, and the visibility of the set value is also improved”),
the second display position (at 604) is present on an inner side of the display device than the first display position (at 606) (Fig. 6D),
types of the related information to be displayed at the second display position are set in advance before imaging (Figs. 3-5; paras. 0077-0081; fig. 4 shows “specific operation” [halfway] is selected for “exposure correction”; “exposure correction” setting item can be switched to different setting items shown in fig. 5B, e.g. ISO sensitivity, Aperture setting…; para. 0077: “Setting items that can be set as the touchpad function include, for example, a “single point AF setting function”, a “tracking AF setting function”, an “ISO sensitivity setting function”, an “HDR setting function”, a “contrast setting function”, an “aperture setting function”, an “exposure correction setting function”, and so on”), and
the processor is configured to switch between display and non-display of the related information at the second display position based on a specific operation of a user during imaging (Figs. 6C-6D; paras. 0089, 0097; display and non-display of display item 604a; figs. 6A-6C, paras. 0085-0091: display and non-display of display item AF frame 602/603 based on touch and face tracking before imaging a final image), and
the processor is configured to decide the second display position based on the signal output from the sensor (Figs. 6; paras. 0024-0028, 0113, 0117-0120; changing position of display item AF frame 602/603 to a tracked subject’s position automatically based on image data of the captured image),
but fails to teach
the sensor outputs the signal corresponding to the distance which changes depending on whether or not the user wears glasses, the processor is configured to decide the second display position based on the signal output from the sensor.
However, in the same field of endeavor Daisuke teaches
the sensor outputs the signal corresponding to the distance which changes depending on whether or not the user wears glasses, the processor is configured to decide the second display position based on the signal output from the sensor (page 2, lines 1-20: “FIG. 9 is a diagram showing each shooting state, where (a) -1, (b) -1, and (c) -1 are states in which a photographer who does not use glasses shoots using the finder, and (a) -2, (b) -2, and (c) -2 are diagrams illustrating a state in which a photographer wearing spectacles performs photographing using a finder, for example. A subject image 208 and a shooting information display 207 are displayed in the viewfinder. Thus, when a photographer wearing spectacles performs photographing using a finder, wearing the spectacles increases the distance from the finder eyepiece frame to the photographer's eye by the distance A indicated by 101. A situation occurs. As a result, there is a possibility that a phenomenon of so-called vignetting 104 (b) to (d) occurs when the eyepiece frame 102 blocks the optical path between the photographer's eye 105 and the finder display unit 103.”; page 5, line 49: “When it is determined in step S104 that the distance from the eyepiece frame to the photographer's eye is longer than the eye point of the imaging device 100, as described above, vignetting is likely to occur in a general imaging device. For this reason, in this embodiment, in order to avoid vignetting, the process proceeds to step S105 in which the subject image 208 and the shooting information display magnification are reduced. This makes it possible to perform comfortable shooting without vignetting of the subject image 208 and the shooting information display 207”; page 6, line 11: “FIG. 4A shows the subject image 208 displayed on the finder display unit 5 and the shooting information display magnification both reduced.”; page 7, line 30: “FIG. 6A shows the display after moving the captured image for the distance B from the finder center 206 shown in FIG. 10A-2 and moving the captured information display 207 for the distance C.”; page 7, line 49: “It is also possible to both reduce and move the magnification of the image and shooting information”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use the teachings as taught by Ogawa in Shinohara to have the sensor outputs the signal corresponding to the distance which changes depending on whether or not the user wears glasses, the processor is configured to decide the second display position based on the signal output from the sensor for making it possible to perform comfortable shooting without vignetting of subject image and shooting information display yielding a predicted result.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Ogawa and Daisuke teaches everything as claimed in claim 1. In addition, Ogawa teaches wherein the second display position is a position overlapping with the captured image (Fig. 6D).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Ogawa and Daisuke teaches everything as claimed in claim 1. In addition, Ogawa teaches wherein the related information to be displayed at the second display position is selectable by the user, and the processor is configured to, in a case where a plurality of pieces of the related information to be displayed (604, 605) at the second display position are selected, display the selected plurality of pieces of the related information together on the display device (Figs. 3-6).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Ogawa and Daisuke teaches everything as claimed in claim 1. In addition, Ogawa teaches wherein the related information (601, 604, 605) to be displayed at the second display position includes at least one of information related to an imaging condition of the imaging element or information related to a correction condition of the imaging signal (Figs. 4-6).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Ogawa and Daisuke teaches everything as claimed in claim 1. In addition, Ogawa teaches wherein the related information to be displayed at the second display position includes at least one of a shutter speed, sensitivity of the imaging element, or an F number of an imaging lens at a time of capturing (Figs. 3-5; paras. 0077-0081; fig. 4 shows “specific operation” is selected for “exposure correction”; “exposure correction” setting item can be switched to different setting items shown in fig. 5B, e.g. ISO sensitivity, Aperture setting…; para. 0130: “functions for changing the imaging magnification, the shutter speed, the F value, and the light measurement position in the viewfinder display unit 25”).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Ogawa and Daisuke teaches everything as claimed in claim 1. In addition, Ogawa teaches wherein the processor is configured to change the second display position in accordance with a setting of the user (Figs. 6A-6C; paras. 0029, 0134).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Ogawa and Daisuke teaches everything as claimed in claim 1. In addition, Ogawa teaches wherein the processor is configured to, in a case where the specific operation is performed or in a case where the specific operation is not performed during imaging, display the related information (602-604) at the second display position (Figs. 4, 6).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Ogawa and Daisuke teaches everything as claimed in claim 9. In addition, Ogawa teaches further comprising:
a release button pushed by the user,
wherein the release button is pushable in two steps by the user, and the specific operation is an operation of pushing the release button to a position of a first step (Fig. 6; para. 0097).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Ogawa and Daisuke teaches everything as claimed in claim 1. In addition, Ogawa teaches wherein a mode in which the related information is displayed at the second display position includes a first mode (“Normally”) in which the related information is displayed at the second display position in a case where the specific operation (touch) is performed during imaging, and a second mode (“When shutter button is pressed halfway”) in which the related information is displayed at the second display position in a case where the specific operation is not performed during imaging, and the processor is configured to select one of the first mode and the second mode based on an instruction input of the user (Figs. 3, 4; paras. 0077-0081).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Ogawa and Daisuke teaches everything as claimed in claim 1. In addition, Ogawa teaches wherein the display device has a display region in which an image is displayed, and in a case where a distance from a center of the display region to an end of the display region in a longitudinal direction of the imaging element is 1, the second display position (at 604a, 602) is a position at which a distance from the end of the display region is greater than or equal to 0.15 and less than or equal to 1.0 (Figs. 6B, 6D).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Ogawa and Daisuke teaches everything as claimed in claim 1. In addition, Ogawa teaches wherein the second display position (602) is a position at which a viewing angle of the display device is within 25 degrees (Fig. 6B).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Ogawa and Daisuke teaches everything as claimed in claim 1. In addition, Ogawa teaches wherein the processor is configured to switch a display position of the related information from one of the first display position and the second display position to the other based on the specific operation (Figs. 6; para. 0097; “Note that a display item 606 also indicates exposure correction, and the display item 606 may either continue to be displayed after the touchpad function is switched, or be deleted when the display item 604 is displayed”; switch display position of 602 to 603 from figs. 6B to fig 6C based on touch).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Ogawa and Daisuke teaches everything as claimed in claim 1. In addition, Ogawa teaches A non-transitory computer readable recording medium which includes program used in an imaging apparatus including an imaging element and an observation unit including a display device and an observation optical system (Fig. 1; para. 0034),
(corresponding features as presented in claim 1).
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 (depending from claim 2) reciting features corresponding to claim 4 is also rejected for the same reason above.
Claim(s) 3 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinohara et al (US 20050216862 A1) in view of Daisuke (JP 2016103680 A) as applied to claim 1 or 2 above and further in view of He (WO 2019079996 A1).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Shinohara and Daisuke teaches everything as claimed in claim 1, but fails to teach
wherein a horizontal viewing angle of the display device in a longitudinal direction of the imaging element is greater than or equal to 33 degrees.
However, in the same field of endeavor He teaches
wherein a horizontal viewing angle of the display device in a longitudinal direction of the imaging element is greater than or equal to 33 degrees (Figs. 1-2; page 6, line 47; page 7, lines 25-45; “the field of view of the eyepiece 10 is greater than 54 degrees. As such, this allows the eyepiece 10 to meet the market demand for a large field of view”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use the teachings as taught by He in the combination to have wherein a horizontal viewing angle of the display device in a longitudinal direction of the imaging element is greater than or equal to 33 degrees for obtaining larger field of view for easy viewing yielding a predicted result.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 reciting features corresponding to claim 3 is also rejected for the same reason above.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinohara et al (US 20050216862 A1) or Ogawa (US 20180227480 A1) in view of Daisuke (JP 2016103680 A) as applied in claim 1 above, and further in view of Official Notice (MPEP § 2144.03), Laroia et al (US 20180109722 A1) or Shibuya (JP-2006013677-A).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Shinohara/Ogawa and Daisuke teach everything as claimed in claim 1. In addition, Shinohara/Ogawa teaches
wherein the processor is configured to record data of the captured image
but fails to teach
“record data of the captured image to which data of the related information is added”.
However, the Examiner takes Official Notice of the fact that it was notoriously well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that “record data of the captured image to which data of the related information is added” for the advantages of storing related shooting information of the image together with the image (well-known EXIF data or metadata) for organizing Photos where EXIF data helps sort and categorize your photo library based on dates, locations, or camera settings.
In addition, for compact prosecutions, in the same field of endeavor Laroia teaches record data of the captured image to which data of the related information is added on a recording medium (paras. 0013-0015).
Moreover, for compact prosecutions, in the same field of endeavor Shibuya teaches record data of the captured image to which data of the related information is added on a recording medium (“In the Exif standard, shooting information and file information can be recorded in an information addition portion called “tag” in a file. The Exif standard image file is a header for identifying that the file is an Exif standard file, image additional information including tag information including various information related to the image data and thumbnail image data, and the original image data captured Consists of. Various information such as the number of pixels, compression mode, camera model name, aperture value, shutter speed, shooting date and time, and user information can be recorded in the tag information. In the present embodiment, “reproduction information” including the best shot type for identifying composition information used at the time of shooting, AF coordinates in the composition information, and a reproduction pattern is recorded in the user information area”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have “record data of the captured image to which data of the related information is added” as taught for the presented advantages above yielding a predicted result.
Additional/Alternative Rejections
Nakamichi (US 11971552 B2) also teaches the sensor outputs the signal corresponding to the distance which changes depending on whether or not the user wears glasses, the processor is configured to decide the second display position based on the signal output from the sensor (Figs. 10A-B; col. 1, lines 30-47; col. 9, line 45 – col. 10, line 20; “when a distance from the viewfinder to the eye increases (e.g., when the user looks into the viewfinder while wearing glasses, and the like), if the display area is too large, there will be a problem that a portion of the display area will be shielded, resulting in poorer visibility and making framing more difficult”; Fig. 10B show the display position of related information and displayed image based on the signal output from the sensor). Nakamichi also can be used in place of Daisuke (JP 2016103680 A) to teach the claims in the same manner as presented above.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use the teachings as taught by Nakamichi in Shinohara/ Ogawa to have wherein the processor is configured to change the second display position based on the signal output from the sensor for ensuring visibility of parameter and image displays at different distances away from the observation unit yielding a predicted result.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Quan Pham/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637