DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species I, FIG. 1, claims 1-8 and 14-20 in the reply filed on 12/19/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there would be no serious burden to search and examine the application in its entirety. This is not found persuasive because the withdrawn claims, which are directed to different species, require further search and consideration, which is a serious burden on the examiner. Applicant withdraws claims 9-13. Claim 14 depends on withdrawn claim 13. Therefore, claim 14 is further withdrawn. In this Office action, claims 1-8 and 15-20 are examined, and claims 9-14 are withdrawn from consideration.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/18/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings received on01/18/2023 are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 6, the phrase "especially" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the center portion" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chiyo et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2015/0145343 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Chiyo et al., hereinafter referred to as “Chiyo,” teaches a magnetic component for a wireless charging transformer (FIGs. 1-4B, FIG. 3 is provided below for convenience), comprising:
a magnetic core (combination of magnetic cores Ct, F1 Cca and Ccb, para. [0051]);
at least one flat pre-wound major electrical coil (spiral “flat” coil Wt) disposed on the magnetic core (coil Wt is wound on core center portion Ct), and
at least one minor electrical coil Wca and or Wcb wound around the magnetic core (coil Wca is wound on core leg Cca and coil Wcb is wound on core leg Ccb) (paras. [0042], [0044] and [0047]).
With respect to claim 2, Chiyo teaches the magnetic component according to claim 1, wherein the major electrical coil has a shape substantially corresponding to the shape of the magnetic core (para. [0044]).
With respect to claim 3, Chiyo teaches the magnetic component according to claim 2, wherein the magnetic core comprises a plurality of leg portions Cca and Ccb, and a plurality of the minor electrical coils Wca and or Wcb are respectively wound around the leg portions (paras. [0045] and [0047]).
With respect to claim 4, Chiyo teaches the magnetic component according to claim 3, wherein the magnetic core further comprises a center portion Ct, and wherein the major electrical coil is disposed so as to surround the center portion of the magnetic core and the plurality of leg portions Cca and Ccb project from the center portion (paras. [0045] and [0047]).
With respect to claim 5, Chiyo teaches the magnetic component according to claim 4, wherein the center portion, the major electrical coil and the minor electrical coil do not overlap in plain view (para. [0047]).
With respect to claim 15, Chiyo teaches the magnetic component according to claim 1, wherein the magnetic component serves as a primary magnetic component for transmission of electrical power (para. [0036]).
With respect to claim 16, Chiyo teaches a transformer for wireless charging, comprising at least one magnetic component (FIGs. 1-4B, FIG. 3), the magnetic component comprises:
a magnetic core (combination of magnetic cores Ct, F1 Cca and Ccb, para. [0051]);
at least one flat pre-wound major electrical coil (spiral “flat” coil Wt) disposed on the magnetic core, and
at least one minor electrical coil Wca and or Wcb wound around the magnetic core (coil Wca is wound on core leg Cca and coil Wcb is wound on core leg Ccb) (paras. [0042], [0044] and [0047]).
With respect to claim 17, Chiyo teaches the transformer according to claim 16, wherein the magnetic component serves as a primary magnetic component for transmission of electrical power (para. [0036]).
With respect to claim 18, Chiyo teaches the transformer according to claim 16, wherein the major electrical coil has a shape substantially corresponding to the shape of the magnetic core (para. [0044]).
With respect to claim 19, Chiyo teaches the transformer according to claim 18, wherein the magnetic core comprises a plurality of leg portions Cca and Ccb, and a plurality of the minor electrical coils Wca and Wcb are respectively wound around the leg portions (paras. [0045] and [0047]).
With respect to claim 20, Chiyo teaches the transformer according to claim 18, wherein the center portion Ct, the major electrical coil and the minor electrical coil do not overlap in plain view (paras. [0045] and [0047]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiyo, as applied to claim 4 above, in view of Sato (EP 2 966 655 A2).
With respect to claim 6, Chiyo teaches the magnetic component according to claim 4. Chiyo does not expressly teach the magnetic core has a cross-potent-shape with a plurality of T-shaped leg portions projecting from the center portion, wherein each T-shaped leg portion comprises a first portion connected to a side of the center portion and a second portion as a crossbar, especially at the end of the first portion, and wherein the minor electrical coils are especially respectively wound around the first portion of the T-shaped leg portions.
Best understood in view of 35 USC 112(b) rejection, Sato teaches a magnetic component (Fig. 1), wherein the magnetic core 2 has a cross-potent-shape with a plurality of T-shaped leg portions 21 projecting from the center portion 2s, wherein each T-shaped leg portion comprises a first portion 21a and 22a, connected to a side (outer side) of the center portion and a second portion 21b and 22b as a crossbar, especially at the end of the first portion, and wherein the minor electrical coils 5a are especially respectively wound around the first portion of the T-shaped leg portions (paras. [0023], [0027] and [0030]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the magnetic core and minor coils as taught by Sato to the magnetic component of Chiyo to provide additional minor coils to increase functionality.
With respect to claim 7, Chiyo in view of Sato teaches the magnetic component according to claim 6, wherein a combined top surface area of all second portions of the T-shaped leg portions is X and a top surface area of the center portion is Y (para. [0023]). Chiyo in view of Sato does not expressly teach a ratio of X/Y is between and including 0.8 and 1.2. However, it would be within the skill of a person with ordinary skill in the art to provide the claimed ratio to provide the desired magnetic characteristics. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the claimed ratio to provide the desired magnetic saturation characteristics to meet design requirements.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiyoin view of Sato, as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Mossay et al. (U.S. Patent No. 2,406,704.
With respect to claim 8, Chiyo in view of Sato teaches the magnetic component according to claim 6, wherein the minor electrical coils are wound around the T-shaped leg portions between the center portion of the magnetic core and a portion of the major electrical coil and between the portion of the major electrical coil and the second portion of the T-shaped leg portions.
Mossay et al., hereinafter referred to as “Mossay,” teaches a magnetic component (Fig. 1), wherein the minor electrical coils 8 are wound around the T-shaped leg portions 2 between the center portion 3 of the magnetic core and a portion of the major electrical coil 9 and between the portion of the major electrical coil and the second portion 1 of the T-shaped leg portions (col. 1, lines 41-53). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the minor and major coils structure as taught by Mossay to the magnetic component of Chiyo in view of Sato to provide the required magnetic coupling between the major and minor coils to meet design requirements.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. A list of pertinent prior art is attached in form PTO-892.
/MANG TIN BIK LIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837