DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 11 and 13-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nebhani et al. (US 2013/0131263) in view of Wideman et al. (EP 279766).
In ¶’s 6-8, Nebhani et al. teach a rubber composition with a fillers such as silica, comprising a functionalized polymer product of a living elastomeric polymer and the polymerization terminator of formula I, exemplified by S-benzyl-S'-triethoxysilylpropyltrithiocarbonate (See Ex. 1), wherein the functionalized elastomer comprises repeat units of a diene monomer, such as butadiene, and optionally a vinyl aromatic monomer (¶ 21), and the functionalized elastomer comprises at least 90 percent by weight of cis 1,4 microstructure content based on the weight of the polydiene content of the functionalized elastomer (¶ 34).
Nebhani et al. differ from the claimed invention in that they do not disclose the hydrogenation of the functionalized rubber polymers. However, it is known in the art to hydrogenate rubber polymers, for the purpose of improving resistance of the polymers to ozonolysis and solvents such as taught by Wideman et al.
In page 2, lines 5-20, Wideman et al. teach the selective hydrogenation of synthetic rubbers to improve the tensile strength and resistance of a rubber to various solvents as well as improving the resistance of such polymers to ozonolysis.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to hydrogenate the functionalized rubber polymers of Nebhani et al., in order to obtain the advantages taught by Wideman et al., motivated by a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 1-8, 11 and 13-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nebhani et al. (US 2013/0131263) in view of Washizu et al. (EP 3070120).
In ¶’s 6-8, Nebhani et al. teach a rubber composition with a fillers such as silica, comprising a functionalized polymer product of a living elastomeric polymer and the polymerization terminator of formula I, exemplified by S-benzyl-S'-triethoxysilylpropyltrithiocarbonate (See Ex. 1), wherein the functionalized elastomer comprises repeat units of a diene monomer, such as butadiene, and optionally a vinyl aromatic monomer (¶ 21), and the functionalized elastomer comprises at least 90 percent by weight of cis 1,4 microstructure content based on the weight of the polydiene content of the functionalized elastomer (¶ 34).
Nebhani et al. differ from the claimed invention in that they do not disclose the hydrogenation of the functionalized rubber polymers. However, it is known in the art to hydrogenate rubber polymers, for the purpose of achieving improved properties of the polymer in applications such as pneumatic tires, as taught by Washizu et al.
In ¶’s 56 to 59, Washizu et al. teach the calculated hydrogenation of rubber polymers to improve the properties of pneumatic tires such as dry-grip performance, wherein the rate of hydrogenation is preferably 50 mol% or more.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to hydrogenate the functionalized rubber polymers of Nebhani et al., in order to obtain the advantages taught by Washizu et al., motivated by a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 1-8, 11 and 13-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Du et al. (US 2015/0025184) in view of Wideman et al. (EP 279766).
In ¶’s 6-8, Du et al. teach a rubber composition with a fillers such as silica, comprising a functionalized polymer product of a living elastomeric polymer and the polymerization terminator of formula I, exemplified by S-benzyl-S'-triethoxysilylpropyltrithiocarbonate (¶ 25), wherein the functionalized elastomer comprises repeat units of a diene monomer, such as butadiene, and optionally a vinyl aromatic monomer (¶ 22), and the functionalized elastomer comprises at least 90 percent by weight of cis 1,4 microstructure content based on the weight of the polydiene content of the functionalized elastomer (¶ 39).
Du et al. differ from the claimed invention in that they do not disclose the hydrogenation of the functionalized rubber polymers. However, it is known in the art to hydrogenate rubber polymers, for the purpose of improving resistance of the polymers to ozonolysis and solvents such as taught by Wideman et al.
In page 2, lines 5-20, Wideman et al. teach the selective hydrogenation of synthetic rubbers to improve the tensile strength and resistance of a rubber to various solvents as well as improving the resistance of such polymers to ozonolysis.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to hydrogenate the functionalized rubber polymers of Du et al., in order to obtain the advantages taught by Wideman et al., motivated by a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 1-8, 11 and 13-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Du et al. (US 2015/0025184) in view of Washizu et al. (EP 3070120).
In ¶’s 6-8, Du et al. teach a rubber composition with a fillers such as silica, comprising a functionalized polymer product of a living elastomeric polymer and the polymerization terminator of formula I, exemplified by S-benzyl-S'-triethoxysilylpropyltrithiocarbonate (¶ 25), wherein the functionalized elastomer comprises repeat units of a diene monomer, such as butadiene, and optionally a vinyl aromatic monomer (¶ 22), and the functionalized elastomer comprises at least 90 percent by weight of cis 1,4 microstructure content based on the weight of the polydiene content of the functionalized elastomer (¶ 39).
Du et al. differ from the claimed invention in that they do not disclose the hydrogenation of the functionalized rubber polymers. However, it is known in the art to hydrogenate rubber polymers, for the purpose of achieving improved properties of the polymer in applications such as pneumatic tires, as taught by Washizu et al.
In ¶’s 56 to 59, Washizu et al. teach the calculated hydrogenation of rubber polymers to improve the properties of pneumatic tires such as dry-grip performance, wherein the rate of hydrogenation is preferably 50 mol% or more.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to hydrogenate the functionalized rubber polymers of Du et al., in order to obtain the advantages taught by Washizu et al., motivated by a reasonable expectation of success.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
It is known in the art to hydrogenate rubber polymers such as Nebhani et al., for the purpose of improving resistance of the polymers to ozonolysis and solvents such as taught by Wideman et al.
It is known in the art to hydrogenate rubber polymers such as Nebhani et al., for the purpose of achieving improved properties of the polymer in applications such as pneumatic tires, as taught by Washizu et al.
It is known in the art to hydrogenate rubber polymers such as Du et al., for the purpose of improving resistance of the polymers to ozonolysis and solvents such as taught by Wideman et al.
It is known in the art to hydrogenate rubber polymers such as Du et al.,, for the purpose of achieving improved properties of the polymer in applications such as pneumatic tires, as taught by Washizu et al.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to hydrogenate the functionalized rubber polymers of Nebhani et al. or Du et al., in order to obtain the advantages taught by Wideman et al. or Washizu et al., motivated by a reasonable expectation of success.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KELECHI C EGWIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762
KCE