DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, species b, claims 1-8, 10-11 and 13 in the reply filed on 11/12/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma (US 2015/0148479) in view of Wideman et al. (EP 279766) or Washizu et al. (EP 3070120).
In ¶’s 8-15, Ma teaches a rubber composition with a fillers such as silica, comprising a functionalized polymer product of a living elastomeric polymer and the polymerization terminator of formula I, exemplified by 3,7,10-trimethyl-1-(3-(oxiran-2-ylmethoxy)propyl)-2,8,9-trioxa-5-aza-1-silabicyclo[3.3.3]undecane or 1-(3-(oxiran-2-ylmethoxy)propyl)- 3,7,10-trimethylsilatrane (Table 1), wherein the functionalized elastomer comprises repeat units of a diene monomer, such as butadiene, and optionally a vinyl aromatic monomer (¶ 21), and the functionalized elastomer comprises at least 90 percent by weight of cis 1,4 microstructure content based on the weight of the polydiene content of the functionalized elastomer (¶ 35).
Ma differs from the claimed invention in that they do not disclosed the hydrogenation of the functionalized rubber polymers. However, it is known in the art to hydrogenate rubber polymers, for the purpose of improving resistance of the polymers to ozonolysis and solvents such as taught by Wideman et al., as well as achieving improved properties of the polymer in applications such as pneumatic tires, such as taught by Washizu et al.
In page 2, lines 5-20, Wideman et al. teach the selective hydrogenation of synthetic rubbers to improve the tensile strength and resistance of a rubber to various solvents as well as improve the resistance of such polymers to ozonolysis.
In ¶’s 56 to 59, Washizu et al. teach calculated hydrogenation of rubber polymers to improve the properties of pneumatic tires such as dry-grip performance, wherein the rate of hydrogenation is preferably 50 mol% or more.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to hydrogenate the functionalized rubber polymers of Ma, in order to obtain the advantages taught by Wideman et al. and/or Washizu et al., motivated by a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mazumdar et al. (USPN 9,090,730) in view of Wideman et al. (EP 279766) or Washizu et al. (EP 3070120).
In Col. 2, line 37 to Col. 4, line 12, Mazumdar et al. teach a rubber composition with a fillers such as silica, comprising a functionalized polymer product of a living elastomeric polymer and the polymerization terminator of formula I, exemplified by 3,7,10-trimethyl-1-(3-(oxiran-2-ylmethoxy)propyl)-2,8,9-trioxa-5-aza-1-silabicyclo[3.3.3]undecane or 1-(3-(oxiran-2-ylmethoxy)propyl)- 3,7,10-trimethylsilatrane (Table 1), wherein the functionalized elastomer comprises repeat units of a diene monomer, such as butadiene, and optionally a vinyl aromatic monomer (Col. 7, lines 21-44), and the functionalized elastomer comprises at least 90 percent by weight of cis 1,4 microstructure content based on the weight of the polydiene content of the functionalized elastomer (Col. 13, lines 4-8).
Mazumdar et al. differ from the claimed invention in that they do not disclosed the hydrogenation of the functionalized rubber polymers. However, it is known in the art to hydrogenate rubber polymers, for the purpose of improving resistance of the polymers to ozonolysis and solvents such as taught by Wideman et al., as well as achieving improved properties of the polymer in applications such as pneumatic tires, such as taught by Washizu et al.
In page 2, lines 5-20, Wideman et al. teach the selective hydrogenation of synthetic rubbers to improve the tensile strength and resistance of a rubber to various solvents as well as improve the resistance of such polymers to ozonolysis.
In ¶’s 56 to 59, Washizu et al. teach calculated hydrogenation of rubber polymers to improve the properties of pneumatic tires such as dry-grip performance, wherein the rate of hydrogenation is preferably 50 mol% or more.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to hydrogenate the functionalized rubber polymers of Mazumdar et al., in order to obtain the advantages taught by Wideman et al. and/or Washizu et al., motivated by a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al. (USPN 9,790,289) in view of Wideman et al. (EP 279766) or Washizu et al. (EP 3070120).
In Col. 2, line 1 to Col. 3, line 43, Ma et al. teach a rubber composition with a fillers such as silica, comprising a functionalized polymer product of a living elastomeric polymer and the polymerization terminator of formula I, exemplified by 3,7,10-trimethyl-1-(3-(oxiran-2-ylmethoxy)propyl)-2,8,9-trioxa-5-aza-1-silabicyclo[3.3.3]undecane or 1-(3-(oxiran-2-ylmethoxy)propyl)- 3,7,10-trimethylsilatrane (Table 1), wherein the functionalized elastomer comprises repeat units of a diene monomer, such as butadiene, and optionally a vinyl aromatic monomer (Col. 7, lines 44-61), and the functionalized elastomer comprises at least 92 percent by weight of cis 1,4 microstructure content based on the weight of the polydiene content of the functionalized elastomer.
Ma et al. differ from the claimed invention in that they do not disclosed the hydrogenation of the functionalized rubber polymers. However, it is known in the art to hydrogenate rubber polymers, for the purpose of improving resistance of the polymers to ozonolysis and solvents such as taught by Wideman et al., as well as achieving improved properties of the polymer in applications such as pneumatic tires, such as taught by Washizu et al.
In page 2, lines 5-20, Wideman et al. teach the selective hydrogenation of synthetic rubbers to improve the tensile strength and resistance of a rubber to various solvents as well as improve the resistance of such polymers to ozonolysis.
In ¶’s 56 to 59, Washizu et al. teach calculated hydrogenation of rubber polymers to improve the properties of pneumatic tires such as dry-grip performance, wherein the rate of hydrogenation is preferably 50 mol% or more.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to hydrogenate the functionalized rubber polymers of Ma et al., in order to obtain the advantages taught by Wideman et al. and/or Washizu et al., motivated by a reasonable expectation of success.
/KELECHI C EGWIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762
KCE