DETAILED ACTION
The following is a final office action in response to the Amendments filed on January 21, 2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
35 U.S.C. 103 Rejections
Applicant’s arguments filed in the communications on 01/21/2026 have been fully considered but are persuasive.
1) In remarks applicant argues in substance that the cited references do not teach “provide special reuse classification information for the access point to determine whether to apply spatial use in a first PPDU sent from the access point to one of the second stations”.
Examiner response
Examiner respectfully disagree and would like to point to paragraph [0127] of the Huang reference which teaches encoding signaling in a mac header of the PPDU that indicate a spatial re-use restriction wherein the spatial reuse restriction restricts spatial reuse by stations.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 9, 12, and 18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-8, 10-11, 13-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al. (US PGPub 2017/0230837).
As per claim 1, Huang teaches a device (Huang, see paragraph [0101], an apparatus) comprising:
a transceiver, connecting the device to one or more first stations and an access point in a mesh network, wherein the access point is connected to one or more second stations (Huang, see paragraph [0057], a wireless local area network (WLAN) in accordance with some embodiments. The WLAN may comprise a basis service set (BSS) 500 that may include a master station 502, which may be an access point (AP), a plurality of high-efficiency wireless (HEW) (e.g., IEEE 802.11ax) STAs 504 and a plurality of legacy (e.g., IEEE 802.11n/ac) devices 506) and
a processor, coupled to the transceiver and configured to provide spatial reuse classification information for the access point to determine whether to apply spatial use in a first PPDU sent from the access point to one of the second stations (Huang, see paragraph [0127], communication by an access point (AP) operable in basic service set (BSS), comprising encoding a physical layer convergence procedure (PLCP) protocol data unit (PPDU) for transmission to stations operable in the BSS, wherein the PPDU comprises a media access control (MAC) header portion. The method further comprises encoding signaling in the MAC header portion of the PPDU that indicate a spatial reuse restriction, wherein the spatial reuse restriction restricts spatial reuse by stations operating in a BSS that is different from the BSS of the AP, and configuring the AP to transmit the PPDU).
As per claim 2, Huang teaches the device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the spatial reuse classification information is carried in a “spatial_reuse” field in a physical-layer (PHY) preamble of a second PPDU (physical layer protocol data unit) sent from the device to one of the first stations (Huang, see paragraph [0101], encode a physical layer convergence procedure (PLCP) protocol data unit (PPDU) for transmission to stations operable in the BSS, wherein the PPDU comprises a media access control (MAC) header portion).
As per claim 4, Huang teaches the device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the processor classifies the first stations into a plurality of BSS (basic service set) groups based on whether spatial reuse is allowed in each of the first stations, and obtains the spatial reuse classification information according to the classified BSS groups (Huang, see paragraph [0122], wherein the signal for spatial reuse restriction includes a restriction that is selected from one or more of the following group: an implicit signal wherein a specific spatial reuse restriction is defined in a specification; the signal for spatial reuse restriction includes a spatial reuse operation is allowed at least after the end of a frame; the signal for spatial reuse restriction includes the spatial reuse operation is limited by a duration of a current PPDU; the signal for spatial reuse restriction includes spatial reuse operation is not limited; and the signal for spatial reuse restriction includes spatial reuse operation is not allowed).
As per claim 5, Huang teaches the device as claimed in claim 4, wherein the processor duplicates a target BSS from one of a plurality of basic service sets of the first stations, and spatial reuse is allowed for the target basic service set, wherein after the processor steers one of the first stations to the target basic service set and transmits a second PPDU to the steered first station, the access point transmits the first PPDU to one of the second stations by applying spatial reuse on the second PPDU (Huang, see paragraph [0101], The processing circuitry may further encode signaling in the MAC header portion of the PPDU that indicate a spatial reuse restriction, wherein the spatial reuse restriction restricts spatial reuse by stations operating in a BSS that is different from the BSS of the AP, and configure the AP to transmit the PPDU).
As per claim 6, Huang teaches the device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the processor classifies the first stations into a plurality of band groups based on whether spatial reuse is allowed in each band currently used by the first stations, and obtains the spatial reuse classification information according to the classified band groups (Huang, see paragraph [0122], wherein the signal for spatial reuse restriction includes a restriction that is selected from one or more of the following group: an implicit signal wherein a specific spatial reuse restriction is defined in a specification; the signal for spatial reuse restriction includes a spatial reuse operation is allowed at least after the end of a frame; the signal for spatial reuse restriction includes the spatial reuse operation is limited by a duration of a current PPDU; the signal for spatial reuse restriction includes spatial reuse operation is not limited; and the signal for spatial reuse restriction includes spatial reuse operation is not allowed).
As per claim 7, Huang teaches the device as claimed in claim 6, wherein the processor selects a target band group from the band groups, and spatial reuse is allowed for the target band group, wherein after the processor steers one of the first stations to the target band group and transmits a second PPDU to the steered first station, the access point transmits the first PPDU to one of the second stations by applying spatial reuse on the second PPDU (Huang, see paragraph [0134], wherein the restrictions on spatial reuse comprises one or more of the following group: spatial reuse operation is allowed after an end of the non HE PPDU; spatial reuse operation is limited by a duration of the non-HE PPDU; spatial reuse operation is not limited; and spatial reuse operation is not allowed).
As per claim 8, Huang teaches the device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the spatial reuse classification information is carried in an associated identifier (AID) in a physical-layer (PHY) preamble of a second PPDU (physical layer protocol data unit) sent from the device to one of the first stations (Huang, see paragraph [0098], may encode a physical layer convergence procedure (PLCP) protocol data unit (PPDU) for transmission to stations operable in the BSS. The PPDU may comprise a media access control (MAC) header portion).
As per claim 10, Huang teaches a method, comprising:
forming a mesh network using a plurality of access points at least comprising a first access point and a second access point, and a plurality of stations at least comprising one or more first stations and one or more second stations, wherein the first access point is connected to the one or more first stations and the second access point, and the second access point is connected to the one or more second stations; (Huang, see paragraph [0057], a wireless local area network (WLAN) in accordance with some embodiments. The WLAN may comprise a basis service set (BSS) 500 that may include a master station 502, which may be an access point (AP), a plurality of high-efficiency wireless (HEW) (e.g., IEEE 802.11ax) STAs 504 and a plurality of legacy (e.g., IEEE 802.11n/ac) devices 506) and utilizing the first access point to provide spatial reuse classification information for the second access point to determine whether to apply spatial use in a first PPDU sent from the second access point to one of the second stations. (Huang, see paragraph [0127], communication by an access point (AP) operable in basic service set (BSS), comprising encoding a physical layer convergence procedure (PLCP) protocol data unit (PPDU) for transmission to stations operable in the BSS, wherein the PPDU comprises a media access control (MAC) header portion. The method further comprises encoding signaling in the MAC header portion of the PPDU that indicate a spatial reuse restriction, wherein the spatial reuse restriction restricts spatial reuse by stations operating in a BSS that is different from the BSS of the AP, and configuring the AP to transmit the PPDU).
As per claim 11, Huang teaches the method as claimed in claim 10, wherein the spatial reuse classification information is carried in a “spatial_reuse” field in a physical-layer (PHY) preamble of a second PPDU (physical layer protocol data unit) sent from the device to one of the first stations. (Huang, see paragraph [0101], encode a physical layer convergence procedure (PLCP) protocol data unit (PPDU) for transmission to stations operable in the BSS, wherein the PPDU comprises a media access control (MAC) header portion).
As per claim 13, Huang teaches the method as claimed in claim 10, further comprising: classifying the first stations into a plurality of BSS (basic service set) groups based on whether spatial reuse is allowed in each of the first stations; and obtaining the spatial reuse classification information according to the classified BSS groups (Huang, see paragraph [0122], wherein the signal for spatial reuse restriction includes a restriction that is selected from one or more of the following group: an implicit signal wherein a specific spatial reuse restriction is defined in a specification; the signal for spatial reuse restriction includes a spatial reuse operation is allowed at least after the end of a frame; the signal for spatial reuse restriction includes the spatial reuse operation is limited by a duration of a current PPDU; the signal for spatial reuse restriction includes spatial reuse operation is not limited; and the signal for spatial reuse restriction includes spatial reuse operation is not allowed).
As per claim 14, Huang teaches the method as claimed in claim 13, further comprising: utilizing the first access point to duplicate a target BSS from one of a plurality of basic service sets of the first stations, wherein spatial reuse is allowed for the target basic service set; and after the first access point steers one of the first stations to the target basic service set and transmits a second PPDU to the steered first station, utilizing the second access point to transmit the first PPDU to one of the second stations by applying spatial reuse on the second PPDU. (Huang, see paragraph [0101], The processing circuitry may further encode signaling in the MAC header portion of the PPDU that indicate a spatial reuse restriction, wherein the spatial reuse restriction restricts spatial reuse by stations operating in a BSS that is different from the BSS of the AP, and configure the AP to transmit the PPDU).
As per claim 15, Huang teaches the method as claimed in claim 10, further comprising: utilizing the first access point to classify the first stations into a plurality of band groups based on whether spatial reuse is allowed in each band currently used by the first stations, and to obtain the spatial reuse classification information according to the classified band groups. (Huang, see paragraph [0122], wherein the signal for spatial reuse restriction includes a restriction that is selected from one or more of the following group: an implicit signal wherein a specific spatial reuse restriction is defined in a specification; the signal for spatial reuse restriction includes a spatial reuse operation is allowed at least after the end of a frame; the signal for spatial reuse restriction includes the spatial reuse operation is limited by a duration of a current PPDU; the signal for spatial reuse restriction includes spatial reuse operation is not limited; and the signal for spatial reuse restriction includes spatial reuse operation is not allowed).
As per claim 16, Huang teaches the method as claimed in claim 15, further comprising: utilizing the first access point to select a target band group from the band groups, wherein spatial reuse is allowed for the target band group; and after the first access point steers one of the first stations to the target band group and transmits a second PPDU to the steered first station, the utilizing the second access point to transmit the first PPDU to one of the second stations by applying spatial reuse on the second PPDU. (Huang, see paragraph [0134], wherein the restrictions on spatial reuse comprises one or more of the following group: spatial reuse operation is allowed after an end of the non HE PPDU; spatial reuse operation is limited by a duration of the non-HE PPDU; spatial reuse operation is not limited; and spatial reuse operation is not allowed).
As per claim 17, Huang teaches the method as claimed in claim 10, wherein the spatial reuse classification information is carried in an associated identifier (AID) in a physical-layer (PHY) preamble of a second PPDU (physical layer protocol data unit) sent from the device to one of the first stations. (Huang, see paragraph [0098], may encode a physical layer convergence procedure (PLCP) protocol data unit (PPDU) for transmission to stations operable in the BSS. The PPDU may comprise a media access control (MAC) header portion).
As per lcaim 19, Huang teaches a device, (Huang, see paragraph [0101], an apparatus) comprising:
a transceiver, connecting the device to one or more first stations and an access point, wherein the access point is connected to one or more second stations; and a processor, coupled to the transceiver (Huang, see paragraph [0057], a wireless local area network (WLAN) in accordance with some embodiments. The WLAN may comprise a basis service set (BSS) 500 that may include a master station 502, which may be an access point (AP), a plurality of high-efficiency wireless (HEW) (e.g., IEEE 802.11ax) STAs 504 and a plurality of legacy (e.g., IEEE 802.11n/ac) devices 506) and configured to classify a data transmission between the device and one of the first stations to inform the access point whether spatial reuse is allowed in the data transmission (Huang, see paragraph [0127], communication by an access point (AP) operable in basic service set (BSS), comprising encoding a physical layer convergence procedure (PLCP) protocol data unit (PPDU) for transmission to stations operable in the BSS, wherein the PPDU comprises a media access control (MAC) header portion. The method further comprises encoding signaling in the MAC header portion of the PPDU that indicate a spatial reuse restriction, wherein the spatial reuse restriction restricts spatial reuse by stations operating in a BSS that is different from the BSS of the AP, and configuring the AP to transmit the PPDU).
As per claim 20, Huang teaches the device as claimed in claim 19, wherein the data transmission is classified using a particular field of a PPDU (physical layer protocol data unit), BSS (basic service set) color information reported by the device, band group classification information reported by the device, or AID (associated identifier) information reported by the device. (Huang, see paragraph [0098], may encode a physical layer convergence procedure (PLCP) protocol data unit (PPDU) for transmission to stations operable in the BSS. The PPDU may comprise a media access control (MAC) header portion).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HERMON ASRES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2449