DETAILED ACTION
Terminal Disclaimer
2. The terminal disclaimer filed on 5/7/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of USPN 12,263,257 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection. Upon further consideration and updated search, the previously indicated allowable limitations of claim 13 (now incorporated into claim 1) are taught by the prior art of Sikora (US 2008/0306454 A1). See rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 16, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Bonutti et al. (US 2015/0209457 A1) (hereafter “Bonutti”) in view of Randers-Pehrson et al. (US 2018/0169279 A1) (hereafter “Randers”) and Sikora (US 2008/0306454 A1).
Regarding claims 1-3, 16, and 21, Bonutti discloses (para [0048]-[0049] a UV-C sanitizing apparatus (401) comprising: (a) a main body (housing 402) defining an opening configured for receiving an item to be exposed to UV-C light emission (see figure 8); (b) one or more UV-C light emitting diodes (LEDs) (upper and lower UVC LEDs) configured to emit UV-C light to form a field for treatment, the LEDs positioned on lower and upper internal surfaces of the main body (see figure 8 – UVC LEDs 404 positioned above and below the treatment area); (c) a circuit board coupled to the LEDs and a power source (battery) operable to deliver power to the LED unit (see para [0028]-[0031]; figures 2-3; LEDs coupled to a circuit board and connected to a battery that supplies power); wherein the plurality of LEDs (404) emit UVC light in a wavelength between 100-400nm (see para [0027]). Bonutti does not explicitly disclose that the LEDs are configured to emit light at a wavelength between 205-230 nm, or 205nm-210nm.
However, Randers discloses a sterilization system that utilizes UV lamps emitting UVC light in a wavelength range of 205-210 nm in order to sterilize and kill viruses on surfaces of objects without damaging human skin or tissue (see para [0004]-[0009]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the apparatus of Bonutti and configure the UVC LEDs to emit UV light at a specific wavelength range of 205-210nm in order to sterilize objects and kill viruses on the surface of the objects such as a hands without harming human cells as taught by Randers.
Bonutti also does not explicitly disclose a sensor and a controller having a microprocessor configured to adjust dosing based on item size and time of exposure. However, Sikora discloses an apparatus and method for disinfecting objects using UV light wherein the time of exposure by UV light to the sterilize the object may vary depending upon factors including intensity of the light and the size of the object being treated (see para [0029]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify the apparatus of Bonutti and include a sensor and a controller having a microprocessor configured to adjust dosing based on item size and time of exposure, as taught by Sikora whom discloses that exposure time, size of the object, and intensity of the UV light are all result effective variables that affect the sterilization outcome of the object being treated.
Regarding claims 5, Bonutti discloses that the UVC light is configured to disinfect a surface of gloves (see para [0049]; figure 8).
Regarding claim 6, Bonutti discloses that the UVC light is sufficient to disinfect ocular tissue (see para [100]).
6. Claim(s) 4 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonutti in view of Randers and Sikora as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Ogiwara et al. (JP 2010024572 A – English translation).
Regarding claim 4, Bonutti in view of Randers and Sikora is set forth above with regards to claim 1, but Bonutti does not appear to disclose a power button positioned along the outside of the housing as claimed. Ogiwara et al. discloses a glove sterilization apparatus that utilizes UV lights to disinfect gloves that are inserted into the apparatus. The apparatus includes an on/off power switch as part of input unit (38b) wherein the switch enables power to be provided to the UV lights (see figures 8-9; English translation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify the apparatus of Bonutti to include an on/off power switch on the outside of the device for supplying power to the UV lights as taught by Ogiwara et al. in order to enable the user to physical control whether or not power is supplied to the UV LEDs.
Regarding claims 8-10, Bonutti in view of Randers and Sikora is set forth above with regards to claim 1 and further discloses UV light sources positioned on upper and lower surfaces of the main body (see figure 8 – UVC LEDs 404 positioned above and below the treatment area, but Bonutti does not appear to disclose a partition as claimed. Ogiwara et al. discloses a glove sterilization apparatus that includes a partition wall (32) that separates the chamber into 2 sections for a user to insert their gloves. The partition (32) helps prevent light leakage from the device (see English translation; figure 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify the apparatus of Bonutti to include a partition as arranged as claimed in order to prevent UV light leakage from the device as taught by Ogiwara et al. The UV LEDs (404) provided on the top and bottom are configured to sanitize the top and bottom sides of an item simultaneously.
7. Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonutti in view of Randers and Sikora as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Li et al. (CN 101366956 A – English translation) (hereafter “Li”).
Bonutti in view of Randers and Sikora is set forth above with regards to claim 1 but Bonutti does not appear to disclose one or more visible colored or fluorescent lights configured to activate when the apparatus turns on as an indication that the apparatus is emitting UV-C light.
Li discloses a UV disinfection device that includes an indicator lamp (56) located on the housing that when lit indicates that the UV lamp is in operation (see figure 5; English translation). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify the apparatus of Bonutti to include an indicator light on the surface of the apparatus that is configured to activate when the UV LEDs are operating thus providing an indication to the user that UVC light is being emitted as taught by Li.
8. Claim(s) 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonutti in view of Randers and Sikora as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jarvis et al. (US 2022/0080060 A1) (hereafter “Jarvis”).
Bonutti in view of Randers and Sikora is set forth above with regards to claim 1, but does not appear to disclose a user identification system as recited in claims 17-18.
Jarvis discloses a disinfection system (para [0015], [0138]-[0139]) that utilizes a user identification system for monitoring when a user is being disinfected by the system. The identification system uses biometric identification (para [0017], [0024]) to track compliance of a user and further includes a wireless communication module (para [0154]) that is used to track the identity of the user (see para [0017]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify the apparatus of Bonutti to include a user identification system as recited in the present claims in order to track the compliance of a user in a disinfection process as taught by Jarvis.
9. Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonutti in view of Randers and Sikora as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Flaherty et al. (US 2022/0062454 A1).
Bonuttti in view of Randers and Sikora is set forth above with regards to claim 1, however the combination does not teach a UV-C light element configured for output of UVC light at a wavelength of 222nm.
Flaherty disclose a UV hand sanitizer that includes UVC lights that emit light at a wavelength of 222 nm (see para [0011]). It is taught by UV light at a wavelength of 222nm prevents damage to human tissue (see para [0044] and [0050]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify the apparatus Bonutti and emit UVC light at a wavelength of 222nm in order to sterilize human skin and tissue without damaging the human tissue as taught by Flaherty et al.
10. Claim(s) 1-2 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IN (KR 20090096538 A – English translation) in view of Randers (US 2018/0169279 A1) and Sikora.
Regarding claims 1 and 2, IN discloses a UV-C sanitizing apparatus (figures 1-2) comprising:(a) a main body (housing 10) defining an opening (hand insertion holes 12) configured for receiving an item to be exposed to UV-C light emission; (b) one or more UV-C elements (disinfecting UV lamps 20) configured to emit UV-C light to form a field for treatment (UV lamps emit both long and short wavelengths – See translation), the UV-C elements (20) positioned within the main body; and(c) a circuit board coupled to the UV-C elements and a power source operable to deliver power to the UV-C elements (IN discloses that the device includes an electronic controller for operation of the UV lamps and includes a timer – thus inherently teaching a power source and a circuit board). IN does not explicitly disclose that the plurality of UV-C elements are configured to emit light at a wavelength between 205 and 230 nm.
However, Randers discloses a sterilization system that utilizes UV lamps emitting UVC light in a wavelength range of 205-210 nm in order to sterilize and kill viruses on surfaces of objects without damaging human skin or tissue (see para [0004]-[0009]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the apparatus of IN and configure the UVC LEDs to emit UV light at a specific wavelength range of 205-210nm in order to sterilize objects and kill viruses on the surface of the objects such as a hand without harming human cells as taught by Randers.
IN also does not explicitly disclose a sensor and a controller having a microprocessor configured to adjust dosing based on item size and time of exposure. However, Sikora discloses an apparatus and method for disinfecting objects using UV light wherein the time of exposure by UV light to the sterilize the object may vary depending upon factors including intensity of the light and the size of the object being treated (see para [0029]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify the apparatus of IN and include a sensor and a controller having a microprocessor configured to adjust dosing based on item size and time of exposure, as taught by Sikora whom discloses that exposure time, size of the object, and intensity of the UV light are all result effective variables that affect the sterilization outcome of the object being treated.
Regarding claims 11 and 12, IN discloses (see figure 1 and English translation) that the UV lamps (20) are cylindrical and emit light in all directions (360 degrees). IN further discloses that the device includes a rotating reflector (72) that directs the UV light to the hands being disinfected (see English translation).
Allowable Subject Matter
11. Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, as well as overcome the double patenting rejection.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art, alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in the claimed environment, an apparatus further comprising a tracking module configured for tracking of users by compiling report data including number of uses and identification of users by biometric identification.
12. Claim 19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, as well as overcome the double patenting rejection, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art, alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in the claimed environment, wherein the identification and authentication of a user determines dosing of time and exposure intensity of UV-C light and wherein the dosing determination is configured to analyze biometric, pathogen, and dosing data to determine a daily exposure threshold such that daily exposure will not exceed regulatory limits.
Conclusion
/SEAN E CONLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799