DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to communication filed on 01/27/2026. Claims 1-10 and 21-30 are pending. Claims 11-20 are cancelled. Claims 21-30 are new. Entry of this amendment is accepted and made of record.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-10 being drawn to a method for locating natural resources performing triangulation for the natural resources identified utilizing digital data and generating a report showing predictions for the natural resources triangulation data in the reply filed on 01/24/2026 is acknowledged. No grounds of traversal is on the ground(s) of traversal have been submitted. The examiner acknowledge cancellation of non-elected claims 11-20 without prejudice or disclaimer of the subject matter directed to the non-elected inventions.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 21 and 29 objected to because of the following informalities: the recitation “fast fourier transform” in the claims should be amended as --Fast Fourier Transform --. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-10 and 21-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. A subject matter eligibility analysis is set forth below. See MPEP 2106.
Step 1
Under Step 1 of the analysis, claim 1, belongs to a statutory category namely a method. Likely claims 21 and claim 29 , belongs to a statutory category, namely it is a method, reciting similar steps to those of independent claim 1.
Step 2A, Prong One
Under Step 2A, prong 1: This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim recites a judicial exception. As explained in MPEP 2106.04, subsection II, a claim “recites” a judicial exception when the judicial exception is “set forth” or “described” in the claim.
The claim(s) 1, 21 and 29 recite(s) concepts related to mathematical algorithms/concepts, and mental processes and concepts performed by pen and paper or in the human mind e.g. observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion for converting the sensor measurements into digital data; performing a fast Fourier transform on the digital data; identifying natural resources proximate the locations utilizing the digital data; performing triangulation for the natural resources that are identified (claim 1); “converting the sensor measurements into digital data; performing a fast Fourier transform on the digital data; identifying natural resources proximate the locations utilizing the digital data; performing triangulation for the natural resources that are identified to determine locations associated with the natural resources; generating a report showing predictions for the natural resources including types of natural resources and locations associated with the natural resources” (claim 21); and “converting the sensor measurements into digital data; performing a fast Fourier transform on the digital data; identifying natural resources proximate the locations utilizing the digital data; performing triangulation for the natural resources that are identified to determine locations associated with the natural resources” (claim 29).
The concepts discussed above can be considered to describe mental processes, namely concepts performed in the human mind or with pen and paper, and/or mathematical concepts, namely a series of calculations leading to one or more numerical results or answers. Although, the claim does not spell out any particular equation or formula being used, the lack of specific equations for individual steps merely points out that the claim would monopolize all possible calculations in performing the steps. These steps recited by the claims, therefore amount to a series of mental or mathematical steps, making these limitations amount to an abstract idea.
Step 2A, Prong Two
Step 2A, prong 2 of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim as a whole integrates the recited judicial exception(s) into a practical application of the exception. This evaluation is performed by (a) identifying whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception, and (b) evaluating those additional elements individually and in combination to determine whether the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the abstract idea is not performed by using any particular device and because the recitation of “the recitation “capturing sensor measurements at four or more locations utilizing sensor instruments including at least an accelerometer” recited by claim 1, “capturing sensor measurements at a plurality of locations associated with an exploration area utilizing sensor instruments including at least an accelerometer” recited by claim 21 and “capturing sensor measurements at the plurality of locations associated with the exploration area utilizing sensor instruments including at least a battery, a weather proof case, and an accelerometer” recited by claim 29, is mere gathering recited at high level of generality and the results of the algorithm are merely output/stored as part of insignificant post-solution activity (i.e. generating a report showing predictions for the natural resources and triangulation data for the natural resources [claims 1, 21 and 29]) and are not used in any particular matter as to integrate the abstract idea in a practical application.
Step 2B
Under Step 2B, the claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements, as described above with respect to Step 2A Prong 2, merely amount to mere data gathering/output recited at a high level of generality and insignificant extra-solution activity that when further analyzed under Step 2B is found to be well-understood, routine and conventional activities as evidenced by MPEP 2106.05(d)(II); and because the data of performing the algorithm must necessarily be “obtained” and the use of a general purpose computer to implement the abstract idea for performing the algorithm does not amount to significantly more than the recitation of the abstract idea itself.
Therefore, claims 1, 21 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 2A, Prong One
Dependent claims 2-10 and 22-28 and 30 merely expand on the abstract idea by appending additional steps to the mathematical algorithm on their respective independent claims 1, 21 and 29.
Dependent claims 2-10 and 22-28 and 30 merely expands on the abstract idea by reciting additional steps related to mathematical algorithms/concepts, and mental processes and concepts performed in the human mind e.g. observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion and mere characterization of the data acquired and applied for performing the abstract idea i.e. “wherein the triangulation data is a three- dimensional location” (claim 4); “wherein the predictions include at least a type of the natural resources and location of the natural resources in three dimensions” (claim 6); “wherein the sensor measurements are within a range of 1 microhertz to 100 microhertz” (claim 9); “wherein the locations are mapped to the exploration area in a mapping application displayable to a plurality of users” (claims 24 and 30); “wherein the digital data further includes concentrations of the natural resources” (claim 25).
Step 2A, Prong Two
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application in claims 2-10 and 22-28 and 30 because the abstract idea is not performed by using any particular device and because the “system” “performing, identifying, and generating” steps recited by claim 8 amounts to the recitation of a general purpose computer used to apply the abstract idea; and because the recitation of : “wherein the sensor measurements are captured at 1 Hz or slower” (claims 2 and 23) amounts to mere data gathering recited at a high level of generality; and the results of the algorithm are merely output/stored as part of insignificant post-solution activity (claims 24 and 30), the limitations merely add further details as to the type of data, the means of collecting data being received/input/stored (claims 7 and 27) and used with the mental process and/or math steps recited in the independent claims, also further calculations and math, so they are properly viewed as part of the recited abstract idea; and the results are not used in any particular matter as to integrate the abstract idea in a practical application beyond generally linking the abstract idea to a field of use i.e. “sensor instruments are stand- alone devices that are water resistant and battery powered” (claim 3), “wherein the sensor instruments are stand- alone devices that are resistant to weather and the environment of the exploration area” (claim 22), “wherein the sensor instruments are buried in ground or mounted to a secure fixture” (claim 10), “wherein the sensor instruments are stand- alone devices that are resistant to weather and the environment of the exploration area” (claim 28) and “wherein the report is a keyhole markup language (KML) file” (claims 5, 26), in which the additional claimed limitations merely use the abstract idea in the context of Keyhole Markup Language (KML) that provides only a result-oriented solution and lacks details as to how the modifications are performed, which is equivalent to the words “apply it” and do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Therefore the additional claimed limitations do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application under Step 2A Prong 2.
Step 2B
The claim(s) 2-10 and 22-28 and 30 does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the only additional elements are general purpose computer used to apply the abstract idea and mere data gathering/output recited at a high level of generality and insignificant extra-solution activity that when further analyzed under Step 2B is found to be well-understood, routine and conventional activities as evidenced by MPEP 2106.05(d)(II); and because the data of performing the algorithm must necessarily be “obtained” and the use of a general purpose computer to implement the abstract idea for performing the algorithm does not amount to significantly more than the recitation of the abstract idea itself.
Therefore claims 1-10 and 21-30 are rejected under 35 USC 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6-8, 10, 21, 23, 24, 27-28, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boiero et al. US2020/0292724A1 (hereinafter Boiero) in view of Tinker et al. US 20220091289 A1 (hereinafter Tinker) in further view of Manzoor US20210208304A1.
Regarding claim 1, Boiero disclose, a method for locating natural resources (see Fig. 8, step 838), the method comprising: capturing sensor measurements at four or more locations utilizing sensor instruments including at least an accelerometer (see Figs. 1, 8, step 812; para 0003, 0035, 0049, 0184, wherein the sensors can measure one or more components of a particle acceleration’ wherein sensors 174 are positioned in the bore at different locations (depth), and wherein an accelerometer is disclosed);
converting the sensor measurements into digital data (see para. 0039acquisition equipment may convert signals sensed by a sensor to digital samples);
performing Fourier Transform on the digital data (see para. 0174);
identifying natural resources proximate the locations utilizing the digital data (see para. 0054, wherein analysis of the data may reveal one or more possible locations of hydrocarbon deposits in one or more subterranean geological formations);
performing triangulation for the natural resources that are identified (para. 0060, wherein triangulation can be used to place reflections indicated n seismic data in estimated locations which can be interpreted [e.g. identify a structure, fluid, etc.]);
generating a report showing the natural resources (see para. 0186, wherein display is disclosed to output a representation of a subterranean formation) and triangulation data for the natural resources (see para. 0060, wherein an image of subsurface regions of the Earth by seismic reflection is disclosed and wherein triangulation can be used to place reflections indicated in seismic data in estimated locations, which might be interpreted to identify a structure, fluid etc.).
However although Boiero disclose a Fourier Transform being applied (see para. 0174) and predictions (see para. 0148), however, Boiero do not expressly or explicitly discloses the use of Fast Fourier Transform and it do not specifically disclose the report generated showing prediction for natural resources.
Tinker discloses a system and method for monitoring, locating and characterizing of the subsurface (see abstract, para. 0002-0003, 0006). Tinker further discloses the use of Fast Fourier Transform (FFT) for processing the data acquired (see para. 0285-0286).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Boiero and use the known Fast Fourier Transform disclosed by Tinker to process the data acquired for the benefit of providing an enhanced system for subsurface exploration that would allow for accurate characterization and location of subsurface resources, since it is known that Fast Fourier Transform would provide superior computational efficiency and enhanced data interpretation and performing effective noise reduction in order to detect subtle geological features that might be hidden in raw time-domain data.
However the combination of Boiero and Tinker do not expressly or explicitly disclose the report generated showing prediction for natural resources.
Manzoor disclose a system and method of developing a hydrocarbon reservoir and generating for a 3D tetrahedral mesh a 3D triangulated tetrahedral mesh and a simulation of the hydrocarbon reservoir (abstract, para. 0029, 0038, 0052). Manzoor further discloses that the simulation may include data that includes a prediction of movement of fluids, such a water or hydrocarbons, within the reservoir over time and wherein the dual mesh model or the simulation is presented on a graphical display for viewing (see para. 0037, 0053).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the system of Boiero as modified by Tinker with the teachings of Manzoor as disclosed above to generate a report showing prediction for natural resources and triangulation data for the natural resources for the benefit of providing an enhanced system by allowing for proper characterization of the subsurface by making an user aware of the status of the subsurface in order to properly assess the subsurface and locate of hydrocarbons present in the reservoir.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Boiero, Tinker and Manzoor disclose the materials discussed above. Boiero further disclose wherein the sensor measurements are captured at 1 Hz or slower (see para. 0002, 0027 wherein the seismic data is in a frequency range of approximately 1Hz is disclosed).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Boiero, Tinker and Manzoor disclose the materials discussed above.
Boiero further disclose wherein the triangulation data is a three- dimensional location (see para. 0060, wherein 3D seismic survey, seismic tomographic data can be volumetric is disclosed).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Boiero, Tinker and Manzoor disclose the materials discussed above.
Although Boiero disclose predictions being made (see para. 0148), at least a type of natural resources (see para. 0054, 0093) and locations of natural resources in three dimensions (see para. 0054, 0060).
However the combination of Boiero and Tinker do not specifically disclose the predictions include at least a type of the natural resources and location of the natural resources in three dimensions.
Manzoor disclose a system and method of developing a hydrocarbon reservoir and generating for a 3D tetrahedral mesh a 3D triangulated tetrahedral mesh and a simulation of the hydrocarbon reservoir (abstract, para. 0029, 0038, 0052). Manzoor further disclose the predictions include at least a type of the natural resources and location of the natural resources (see para. 0037, 0053, wherein the simulation may include data that includes a prediction of movement and location of fluids, such a water or hydrocarbons (type of the natural resources), within the reservoir over time and wherein the dual mesh model or the simulation is presented on a graphical display for viewing) in three dimensions (see para. 0029, 0038, 0052).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the system of Boiero as modified by Tinker with the teachings of Manzoor as disclosed above where the predictions include at least a type of the natural resources and location of the natural resources in three dimensions for the benefit of providing an enhanced system by allowing for proper characterization of the subsurface by making an user aware of the status of the subsurface in order to properly assess the subsurface and locate of natural resources present within the reservoir as well as predictions of movement of fluids within the reservoir at different times that would aid in the determination of reservoir development (see para. 0037).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Boiero, Tinker and Manzoor disclose the materials discussed above.
Boiero further disclose saving the sensor measurements to a memory associated with each of the sensor instruments (see Fig. 2, para. 0046-0047, 0158, wherein the system may store raw and/or processed data in one or more information storage devices 252).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Boiero, Tinker and Manzoor disclose the materials discussed above.
Boiero further disclose, wherein the performing, identifying, and generating are performed by a system (Figs. 1-2, system 250, para. 0003, 0028-0030, 0046).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Boiero, Tinker and Manzoor disclose the materials discussed above.
Boiero further disclose wherein the sensor instruments are buried in ground or mounted to a secure fixture (see para. 0035, Fig. 1, where sensors 174 are below surface layer and positioned in the bore; alternatively sensors may be positioned along a string or strings to form a streamer that may be deployed in a bore, see para. 0043).
Regarding claim 21, Boiero disclose a method for locating natural resources (see Fig. 8, step 838), the method comprising:
capturing sensor measurements at a plurality of locations associated with an exploration area utilizing sensor instruments including at least accelerometer (see Figs. 1, 8, step 812; para 0003, 0035, 0049, 0184, wherein the sensors can measure one or more components of a particle acceleration wherein sensors 174 are positioned in the bore at different locations (depth) and wherein an accelerometer is disclosed);
converting the sensor measurements into digital data (see para. 0039acquisition equipment may convert signals sensed by a sensor to digital samples);
performing a Fourier transform on the digital data (see para. 0174);
identifying natural resources proximate the locations utilizing the digital data (see para. 0054, wherein analysis of the data may reveal one or more possible locations of hydrocarbon deposits in one or more subterranean geological formations);
performing triangulation for the natural resources that are identified to determine locations associated with the natural resources (para. 0060, wherein triangulation can be used to place reflections indicated n seismic data in estimated locations which can be interpreted [e.g. identify a structure, fluid, etc.]);
generating a report showing the natural resources (see para. 0054, 0186, wherein display is disclosed to output a representation of a subterranean formation) including types of natural resources (see para. 0054, 0093) and locations associated with the natural resources (see para. 0054, 0060, wherein an image of subsurface regions of the Earth by seismic reflection is disclosed and wherein triangulation can be used to place reflections indicated in seismic data in estimated locations, which might be interpreted to identify a structure, fluid etc.).
However although Boiero disclose a Fourier Transform being applied (see para. 0174) and predictions (see para. 0148), however, Boiero do not expressly or explicitly discloses the use of Fast Fourier Transform and it do not specifically disclose the report generated showing prediction for natural resources.
Tinker discloses a system and method for monitoring, locating and characterizing of the subsurface (see abstract, para. 0002-0003, 0006). Tinker further discloses the use of Fast Fourier Transform (FFT) for processing the data acquired (see para. 0285-0286).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Boiero and use the known Fast Fourier Transform disclosed by Tinker to process the data acquired for the benefit of providing an enhanced system for subsurface exploration that would allow for accurate characterization and location of subsurface resources, since it is known that Fast Fourier Transform would provide superior computational efficiency and enhanced data interpretation and performing effective noise reduction in order to detect subtle geological features that might be hidden in raw time-domain data.
However the combination of Boiero and Tinker do not expressly or explicitly disclose the report generated showing prediction for natural resources.
Manzoor disclose a system and method of developing a hydrocarbon reservoir and generating for a 3D tetrahedral mesh a 3D triangulated tetrahedral mesh and a simulation of the hydrocarbon reservoir (abstract, para. 0029, 0038, 0052). Manzoor further discloses that the simulation may include data that includes a prediction of movement of fluids, such a water or hydrocarbons, within the reservoir over time and wherein the dual mesh model or the simulation is presented on a graphical display for viewing (see para. 0037, 0053).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the system of Boiero as modified by Tinker with the teachings of Manzoor as discussed above to generating a report showing predictions for the natural resources including types of natural resources and locations associated with the natural resources for the benefit of providing an enhanced system by allowing for proper characterization of the subsurface by making an user aware of the status of the subsurface in order to properly assess the subsurface and locate of hydrocarbons present in the reservoir.
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Boiero, Tinker and Manzoor disclose the materials discussed above. Boiero further disclose wherein the sensor measurements are captured at 1 Hz or slower (see para. 0002, 0027 wherein the seismic data is in a frequency range of approximately 1Hz is disclosed).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Boiero, Tinker and Manzoor disclose the materials discussed above. Boiero further disclose rendering an image of at least a portion of the region of the Earth to a display, wherein the image can aid in the identification of one or more geological formation and one or more locations of hydrocarbon deposits in the one or more subterranean geological formations (see abstract, para. 0003, 0054, 0060) and further disclose that an user may view output from an interact with a process via an I/O through user-friendly interfaces (para. 0030, 0182).
However Boiero do not specifically disclose the locations are mapped to the exploration area in a mapping application displayable to a plurality of users.
Tinker disclose locations are mapped to the exploration area in a mapping application displayable to a plurality of users (see para. 0007, 0013, 0052, 0070, 0146, wherein a User Interface Subsystem that provides a unified operation al picture with interactive display of maps, geographic data and information relating to alerts and to provide alert status alerts updates to maps an logs and to the operators is disclosed).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the system of Boiero with the teachings of Tinker where the locations are mapped to the exploration area in a mapping application displayable to a plurality of users for the benefit of allowing for real-time visualization of data fostering shared visualization for managing collaborative tasks of the geological data and to provide enhanced interpretation of subsurface.
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Boiero, Tinker and Manzoor disclose the materials discussed above.
Boiero further disclose saving the sensor measurements to a memory associated with each of the sensor instruments (see Fig. 2, para. 0046-0047, 0158, wherein the system may store raw and/or processed data in one or more information storage devices 252).
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Boiero, Tinker and Manzoor disclose the materials discussed above.
Boiero further disclose wherein the sensor instruments are buried in ground or mounted to a secure fixture (see para. 0035, Fig. 1, where sensors 174 are below surface layer and positioned in the bore; alternatively sensors may be positioned along a string or strings to form a streamer that may be deployed in a bore, see para. 0043).
Claim(s) 3, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boiero et al. US2020/0292724A1 (hereinafter Boiero) in view of Tinker et al. US 20220091289 A1 (hereinafter Tinker) in further view of Manzoor US20210208304A1 in further view of Ivan et al. US20220112778A1 (hereinafter Ivan).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Boiero, Tinker and Manzoor disclose the materials discussed above. Although Boiero disclose the instruments may be a mobile device including components such as motion processing circuitry (i.e. accelerometer) and battery powered (see para. 0184, wherein the system being stand-alone is implied).
However the combination of Boiero, Tinker and Manzoor do not specifically disclose the sensor instruments are stand- alone devices that are water resistant (emphasis added).
Ivan discloses a system for identifying downhole conditions and conducting wellbore analysis (see para. 0002). Ivan further disclose sensor instruments are stand- alone devices that are water resistant (see para. 0057, wherein a sensor system including an accelerometer and powered by one or more batteries and protected by a water-resistant polycarbonate enclosure is disclosed).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Ivan as discussed above to modify the system of Boiero, as modified by Tinker and Manzoor and to configure the system with sensor instruments are stand- alone devices that are water resistant as taught by Ivan for the benefit of providing a means that offer high durability and reliability in harsh, wet or outdoor environments, providing a robust protection mechanism that prevents moisture related failures and corrosion and allowing for long-term deployment without frequent servicing and independent operation without external power.
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Boiero, Tinker and Manzoor disclose the materials discussed above. Although Boiero disclose the instruments may be a mobile device including components such as motion processing circuitry (i.e. accelerometer) and battery powered (see para. 0184, wherein the system being stand-alone is implied).
However the combination of Boiero, the sensor instruments are stand- alone devices that are resistant to weather and the environment of the exploration area (emphasis added).
Thinker disclose a physical infrastructure subsystem providing continuous power and grounding to the sensor subsystem and other field components and weather proof and tamper evident enclosures that house electronic components (see para. 0147-0151).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Thinker as discussed above to modify the system of Boiero, with sensor instruments are stand- alone devices that are resistant to weather for the benefit of providing a means that protection from harsh, wet or outdoor environment to ensure the system components are protected.
Tinker and Manzoor do not specifically disclose the sensor instruments are stand- alone devices that are resistant to the environment of the exploration area (emphasis added).
Ivan discloses a system for identifying downhole conditions and conducting wellbore analysis (see para. 0002). Ivan further disclose sensor instruments are stand- alone devices that are resistant to the environment of the exploration area (see para. 0057, wherein a sensor system including an accelerometer and powered by one or more batteries and protected by a water-resistant polycarbonate enclosure is disclosed).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Ivan as discussed above to modify the system of Boiero, as modified by Tinker and Manzoor and to configure the system with sensor instruments are stand- alone devices that are resistant to the environment (i.e. water resistant) of the exploration area as taught by Ivan for the benefit of providing a means that offer high durability and reliability in harsh, wet or outdoor environments, providing a robust protection mechanism that prevents moisture related failures and corrosion and allowing for long-term deployment without frequent servicing and independent operation without external power.
Claim(s) 5 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boiero et al. US2020/0292724A1 (hereinafter Boiero) in view of Tinker et al. US 20220091289 A1 (hereinafter Tinker) in further view of Manzoor US20210208304A1 in further view of Broussard et al. US 2009/0063230A1 (hereinafter Broussard).
Regarding claims 5 and 26, the combination of Boiero, Tinker and Manzoor disclose the materials discussed above.
However the combination of Boiero, Tinker and Manzoor do not specifically disclose that the report is a keyhole markup language (KML) file.
Broussard disclose a method for performing oilfield operations relating to subterranean formations having reservoirs therein (see para. 0003). Broussard further disclose a report being provided in which the report is a Keyhole Markup Language (KML) file (see para. 0089).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Broussard discussed above, to configure the system of Boiero, as modified by Tinker and Manzoor with a report being a keyhole markup language (KML) file, for the benefit of providing an visualization presentation of the results which allows for complex analysis results to pe displayed in an user friendly intuitive visual format and allowing for sharing visual information of the subsurface.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boiero et al. US2020/0292724A1 (hereinafter Boiero) in view of Tinker et al. US 20220091289 A1 (hereinafter Tinker) in further view of Manzoor US20210208304A1 in further view of Clark US 2015/0177272A1 (hereinafter Clark).
Regarding claim 9 , the combination of Boiero, Tinker and Manzoor disclose the materials discussed above.
However the combination of Boiero, Tinker and Manzoor do not specifically disclose that the sensor measurements are within a range of 1 microhertz to 100 microhertz.
Clark discloses a microelectromechanical system (MEMS) gravimeters device, wherein the MEMS include accelerometers measuring signals (see abstract, para. 0003, 0107, para. 0109-0111, 0224, 0244-0245), and further discloses MEMS gravimeters for measuring gravitational fields/waves for oil exploration, etc. (see para. 0196-0197, 0199-0200, 0244-0245) and wherein precisions of such gravimetry with a resolution in the ranges from 0 to 1.2 microhertz (para. 0219, Fig. 7A), of 1-1.2 microhertz and suggests that a resolution of about 1 to 10 microhertz can be used in a particular test case in order to achieve the a certain resolution (see para. 0219-0220, Figs. 7A-7B).
Therefore, given the teachings of Boiero of providing data in terms of one or more frequencies and frequency ranges and low frequency (see para. 0002, 0027, 0066, 0078) and of acceleration measurements (0049, 0184) it would have been obvious to con figure the system with the teachings of Clark of a MEMS gravimeters including accelerometers, for measuring gravitational waves, and which suggests a resolution of 0 to 1.2 micro hertz or about 1 to 10 microhertz in a particular test case, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the measurements in a range of 1 microhertz to 100 microhertz since this would be the best engineering design choice for that system in particular in order to achieve the desired measurement resolution. Furthermore, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 25 and 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boiero et al. US2020/0292724A1 (hereinafter Boiero) in view of Tinker et al. US 20220091289 A1 (hereinafter Tinker) in further view of Manzoor US20210208304A1 in further view of Mekic et al. US2015/0109886A1 (hereinafter Mekic).
Regarding claim 25 , the combination of Boiero, Tinker and Manzoor disclose the materials discussed above.
Boiero disclose the data being in digital form (para. 0039, 0047).
However the combination of Boiero, Tinker and Manzoor do not specifically disclose that the digital data further includes concentrations of the natural resources (emphasis added).
Mekic disclose a method of estimating characteristics of an earth formation, including digital systems (see abstract, para. 0055) in which imaging results are analyzed and/or interpreted to estimate formation and/or characterization parameters in which areas of high hydrocarbon concentrations is identified based on analyzing the attributes of received signals (see para. 0012, wherein the data includes concentrations of the natural resources).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Mekic discussed above, to configure the system of Boiero, as modified by Tinker and Manzoor with data including concentrations of the natural resources, for the benefit of providing an enhanced and accurate characterization of the subsurface that can lead to more accurate execution of energy industry operations such as completion and simulation operations (see para. 0012).
Regarding claim 29, Boiero disclose a method for locating natural resources (see Fig. 8, step 838), the method comprising:
securing sensor instruments within a plurality of locations associated with an exploration area (see Figs. 1, 8, step 812; para 0003, 0035, 0043, 0049, 0184, where sensors 174 are below surface layer and positioned in the bore; alternatively sensors may be positioned along a string or strings to form a streamer that may be deployed in a bore, and wherein the sensors can measure one or more components of a particle acceleration’ and wherein sensors 174 are positioned in the bore at different locations (depth), and wherein an accelerometer is disclosed, therefore it is implied the sensor to be secured);
capturing sensor measurements at the plurality of locations associated with the exploration area utilizing sensor instruments including at least a battery, and an accelerometer (see Figs. 1, 8, step 812; para 0003, 0035, 0049, 0184, wherein the sensors can measure one or more components of a particle acceleration’ wherein sensors 174 are positioned in the bore at different locations (depth), and wherein an accelerometer is disclosed; wherein the system include at least a battery);
converting the sensor measurements into digital data (see para. 0039, acquisition equipment may convert signals sensed by a sensor to digital samples);
performing a Fourier Transform on the digital data (see para. 0174);;
identifying natural resources proximate the locations utilizing the digital data (see para. 0054, wherein analysis of the data may reveal one or more possible locations of hydrocarbon deposits in one or more subterranean geological formations);
performing triangulation for the natural resources that are identified to determine locations associated with the natural resources (para. 0060, wherein triangulation can be used to place reflections indicated n seismic data in estimated locations which can be interpreted [e.g. identify a structure, fluid, etc.]);
generating a report showing the natural resources including types of natural resources (see para. 0054, 0093, 0186, wherein display is disclosed to output a representation of a subterranean formation, wherein information about one or more types of fluids, which can include one or more hydrocarbon fluids is disclosed), and locations associated with the natural resources (see para. 0060, wherein an image of subsurface regions of the Earth by seismic reflection is disclosed and wherein triangulation can be used to place reflections indicated in seismic data in estimated locations, which might be interpreted to identify a structure, fluid etc.).
However although Boiero disclose a Fourier Transform being applied (see para. 0174) and predictions (see para. 0148), however, Boiero do not expressly or explicitly discloses the use of Fast Fourier Transform , the sensor instruments including a weather proof case and that the report generated showing prediction for natural resources and concentrations of the natural resources.
Tinker discloses a system and method for monitoring, locating and characterizing of the subsurface (see abstract, para. 0002-0003, 0006). Tinker further discloses the use of Fast Fourier Transform (FFT) for processing the data acquired (see para. 0285-0286) and the sensor instruments including a weather proof case (see para. 0147-0151).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Thinker as discussed above to modify the system of Boiero, with sensor instruments including a weather proof enclosure/case for the benefit of providing a means that protection from harsh, wet or outdoor environment to ensure the system components are protected; and to use the known Fast Fourier Transform disclosed by Tinker to process the data acquired for the benefit of providing an enhanced system for subsurface exploration that would allow for accurate characterization and location of subsurface resources, since it is known that Fast Fourier Transform would provide superior computational efficiency and enhanced data interpretation and performing effective noise reduction in order to detect subtle geological features that might be hidden in raw time-domain data.
However the combination of Boiero and Tinker do not expressly or explicitly disclose the report generated showing prediction for natural resources and concentrations of the natural resources.
Manzoor disclose a system and method of developing a hydrocarbon reservoir and generating for a 3D tetrahedral mesh a 3D triangulated tetrahedral mesh and a simulation of the hydrocarbon reservoir (abstract, para. 0029, 0038, 0052). Manzoor further discloses that the simulation may include data that includes a prediction of movement of fluids, such a water or hydrocarbons, within the reservoir over time and wherein the dual mesh model or the simulation is presented on a graphical display for viewing (see para. 0037, 0053).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the system of Boiero as modified by Tinker with the teachings of Manzoor as disclosed above to generate a report showing prediction for natural resources for the natural resources for the benefit of providing an enhanced system by allowing for proper characterization of the subsurface by making an user aware of the status of the subsurface in order to properly assess the subsurface and locate of hydrocarbons present in the reservoir.
However the combination of Boiero, Tinker and Manzoor do not specifically disclose that the data further including concentrations of the natural resources (emphasis added).
Mekic disclose a method of estimating characteristics of an earth formation, including digital systems (see abstract, para. 0055) in which imaging results are analyzed and/or interpreted to estimate formation and/or characterization parameters in which areas of high hydrocarbon concentrations is identified based on analyzing the attributes of received signals (see para. 0012, wherein the data includes concentrations of the natural resources).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Mekic discussed above, to configure the report generated by the system of Boiero, as modified by Tinker and Manzoor with to show data including concentrations of the natural resources, for the benefit of providing an enhanced and accurate characterization of the subsurface that can lead to more accurate execution of energy industry operations such as completion and simulation operations (see para. 0012).
Regarding claim 30, the combination of Boiero, Tinker, Manzoor and Mekic disclose the materials discussed above.
Boiero further disclose rendering an image of at least a portion of the region of the Earth to a display, wherein the image can aid in the identification of one or more geological formation and one or more locations of hydrocarbon deposits in the one or more subterranean geological formations (see abstract, para. 0003, 0054, 0060) and further disclose that an user may view output from an interact with a process via an I/O through user-friendly interfaces (para. 0030, 0182).
However Boiero do not specifically disclose the locations are mapped to the exploration area in a mapping application displayable to a plurality of users.
Tinker disclose locations are mapped to the exploration area in a mapping application displayable to a plurality of users (see para. 0007, 0013, 0052, 0070, 0146, wherein a User Interface Subsystem that provides a unified operation al picture with interactive display of maps, geographic data and information relating to alerts and to provide alert status alerts updates to maps an logs and to the operators is disclosed).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the system of Boiero with the teachings of Tinker where the locations are mapped to the exploration area in a mapping application displayable to a plurality of users for the benefit of allowing for real-time visualization of data fostering shared visualization for managing collaborative tasks of the geological data and to provide enhanced interpretation of subsurface.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record cited in form PTOL-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/YARITZA H. PEREZ BERMUDEZ/
Examiner
Art Unit 2857
/SHELBY A TURNER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2857