DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed 10/8/25.
The amendments to the drawings and specification filed 10/8/25 have been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/8/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive and additionally do not address the new grounds of rejection and/or interpretation above necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 12 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gramann et al (US 2015/0250572 A1) in view of Okawa et al (US 2007/0121786 A1).
Regarding the above claims, Gramann et al discloses a dental hand-held device (Figs. 1-3), comprising a curing device (101/102) for curing a dental restoration material (configured to be used as such, see citations below) with light in a first wavelength range (see [0084], [0011]; 444-452 nm); and a fluorescence excitation device (103/104) for exciting fluorescence of tooth substance (configured to be used as such, see [0081]) with light in a second wavelength range (see [0084], [0016]; 380-780 nm); and wherein an intensity of the light of the curing device is adjustable (see claim 14, [0075] and [0097]). See also, [0010][-0011], [0015]-[0017], [0019], [0071], [0073]-[0075], [0078], [0080]-[0081], [0084]-[0085].
Gramann et al further discloses the device comprising an electronic controller for controlling the curing device and the fluorescence excitation device (see [0085], [0078], [0073]; associated control circuitry for timing, alternating use, overheat protection, intensity adjustment, etc.; per claim 2); wherein the electronic controller is configured to activate the curing device and the fluorescence excitation device independently of each other (see [0071], [0073], [0078] and citations above; per claim 3); wherein the electronic controller is adapted to activate the curing device and the fluorescence excitation device at a predetermined time interval (e.g. timer function and/or alternate activations; see [0073], [0075] and [0078]; per claim 4); the device comprising an electronic camera (106/107) for capturing fluorescent light (configured to be used as such, see [0081]; per claim 5); comprising an electronic data interface for transmitting data from the electronic camera to an external device (e.g. wired or wireless communication modules, see [0073]-[0074], [0085]; per claim 6); wherein the curing device comprises a first light source (102) for emitting light in the first wavelength range (e.g. blue light; see citations above) and wherein the fluorescence excitation device comprises a second light source (104) for emitting light in the second wavelength range (e.g. white light; see citations above; per claim 12); wherein activation of the curing device and/or the fluorescence excitation device is selectable (see citations above; per claim 14); and wherein the first wavelength range is between 380 nm and 515 nm (see [0011]) and the second wavelength range is between 380 nm and 415 nm (see [0016]; per claim 15).
While Gramann et al discloses that the first light source of the curing device has an adjustable intensity, Gramann does not explicitly teach that the second light source of the fluorescence excitation device has an adjustable intensity as required.
Okawa et al, however, teaches a similar dental hand held device, comprising first and second light sources for excitation and illumination, both of which have adjustable intensity (see [0039] and [0066]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the device of Gramann to include Okawa’s teaching of making the light sources have adjustable intensity, as such modification would allow for optimized light output levels to facilitate visual recognition of the desired target tissues/areas (see Okawa, [0066]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EDWARD MORAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772