DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 5-7, 10-12, 15-18, 20-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Independent claims 1, 6, 11, & 17 each cite a limitation containing the phrase “having no spurious component in the band frequency of the ladder-type filter” in reference to a plurality of ladder-type acoustic wave filters, each being configured to pass a different band frequency. It is not clear which of the plurality of ladder-type acoustic wave filters is referred to through the use of the term “the ladder-type filter,” wherein it would not be clear which of the different band frequencies is meant to be referred to by the term “the band frequency.” The claim language thus renders independent claims 1, 6, 11, & 17 indefinite, with claims 2, 5, 7, 10, 12, 15-16, 18, & 20-27 being rendered indefinite due to their dependence upon claims 1, 6, 11, or 17.
For examination purposes, “the band frequency of the ladder-type filter” will be interpreted as --the band frequency of the respective ladder-type filter--.
Independent claims 1, 6, 11, & 17 each cite a limitation containing the phrase “each of the plurality of series arm resonators of each ladder-type filter of the plurality of ladder-type acoustic wave filters having no spurious component in the band frequency of the ladder-type filter and having a narrow aperture of the interdigital transducer electrode being configured to be at least 10λ and less than 13 λ, the plurality of parallel arm resonators having an aperture of the interdigital transducer electrode being configured to be greater than 13λ, λ being a wavelength of a surface acoustic wave excited by the interdigital transducer electrode” in reference to the series and parallel arm resonators of a plurality of ladder-type acoustic wave filters, each being configured to pass a different band frequency. It is not clear which of the plurality of ladder-type acoustic wave filters is referred to through the use of the term “the interdigital transducer electrode.” As the claim utilizes both series and parallel arm resonators in different ladder type filters with different passbands, each having their own individual pitch that determines their own individual wavelengths, wherein the series and parallel arm resonators having the same pitch would result in a 0 width passband, the distinction between wavelengths of different resonators is of utmost importance. The claims as amended do not distinguish between interdigital electrodes of the series and parallel arm resonators, such that it is not clear which resonator wavelength the length of each of the resonator apertures is determined by. The claim language thus renders independent claims 1, 6, 11, & 17 indefinite, with claims 2, 5, 7, 10, 12, 15-16, 18, & 20-27 being rendered indefinite due to their dependence upon claims 1, 6, 11, or 17.
For examination purposes, references to a wavelength will be interpreted to refer to the wavelength of the specific resonator for which the limitation applies (e.g. aperture lengths of a parallel arm resonator refer to the parallel arm resonator wavelength).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-7, 10-12, 15-18, & 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ota (US PGPub 20200067491), in view of Ruile et al. (US PGPub 20130051588), McHugh et al. (US PGPub 20190068159), and Komatsu et al. (US PGPub 20200403601), all references of record.
As per claim 1 (as best understood):
Ota discloses in Fig. 1-5B:
A multi-band surface acoustic wave filter chip comprising:
a common substrate (substrate, [0007]); and
a plurality of ladder-type acoustic wave filters (11, 13-14, shown in Figs. 3A, C-D) arranged on the common substrate and each configured to pass a different band frequency ([0060-0063]) and each including a plurality of series arm resonators and a plurality of parallel arm resonators (as seen in Figs. 3A, C-D), each resonator including a piezoelectric substrate and an interdigital transducer electrode disposed on the piezoelectric substrate ([0067]).
Ota does not disclose:
each of the plurality of series arm resonators of each ladder-type filter of the plurality of ladder-type acoustic wave filters having no spurious component in the band frequency of the respective ladder-type filter and having a narrow aperture of the interdigital transducer electrode being configured to be at least 10λ and less than 13λ, λ being a wavelength of a surface acoustic wave excited by the interdigital transducer electrode, and the plurality of parallel arm resonators having an aperture of the interdigital transducer electrode being configured to be greater than 13λ, λ being a wavelength of a surface acoustic wave excited by the interdigital transducer electrode.
Ruile et al. discloses the use of transducers in SAW resonators ([0003]) provided as to operate in a piston mode for achieving an improved performance ([0022]), wherein the transducers having a narrow aperture of the interdigital transducer electrode being configured to be at least 10λ and less than 20λ ([0134]), λ being a wavelength of a surface acoustic wave excited by the interdigital transducer electrode ([0070]), and wherein the improved performance includes suppression of spurious modes ([0022])
McHugh discloses in Fig. 7:
That aperture length of a piston mode resonator is a design parameter from 10-50P for determining the admittance and the frequency of an SH-SAW mode in a resonator ([0038]), where P is a center-to-center pitch of adjacent conductors ([0026]) and wherein the improved performance includes suppression of spurious modes within filter passbands ([0040]).
Komatsu et al. discloses in Figs. 3 & 4:
The use of parallel arms resonators with larger apertures than the apertures of series resonators in a ladder type filter able to increase skirt steepness in filters with a narrow passband ([0084]), wherein the plurality of parallel arm resonators having an aperture of the interdigital transducer electrode being configured to be greater than 13λ, λ being a wavelength of a surface acoustic wave excited by the interdigital transducer electrode ([0070]).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form each of the plurality of series arm resonators of each of the plurality of ladder-type acoustic wave filters with a narrow aperture of the interdigital transducer electrode being configured to be at least 10λ and less than 20λ, λ being a wavelength of a surface acoustic wave excited by the interdigital transducer electrode, to provide the benefit of suppressing transverse modes and improving performance through the piston mode as taught by Ruile et al. ([0022]).
It would have been further obvious for the narrow aperture of the interdigital transducer electrode being configured to be at least 10λ and less than 13λ, as a design parameter that provides the benefit of tuning the admittance and the placement of an SH-SAW mode as taught by McHugh et al. ([0038]).
As a consequence of the combination, each of the plurality of series arm resonators of each ladder-type filter of the plurality of ladder-type acoustic wave filters having no spurious component in the band frequency of the respective ladder-type filter and having a narrow aperture of the interdigital transducer electrode being configured to be at least 10λ and less than 13λ, λ being a wavelength of a surface acoustic wave excited by the interdigital transducer electrode.
It would have been further obvious for the plurality of parallel arm resonators having an aperture of the interdigital transducer electrode being configured to be greater than 13λ, λ being a wavelength of a surface acoustic wave excited by the interdigital transducer electrode, as a configuration disclosed by Komatsu et al. that provides the benefit of increasing skirt steepness as taught by Komatsu et al. ([0070])
As per claims 2, 7, 12, 18:
Ota does not disclose:
the narrow aperture is configured to be less than 11λ
Ruile et al. discloses the use of transducers in SAW resonators ([0003]) provided as to operate in a piston mode for achieving an improved performance ([0022]), wherein the transducers having a narrow aperture of the interdigital transducer electrode being configured to be at least 10λ and less than 20λ ([0134]), λ being a wavelength of a surface acoustic wave excited by the interdigital transducer electrode ([0070]).
McHugh discloses in Fig. 7:
That aperture length of a piston mode resonator is a design parameter from 10-50P for determining the admittance and the frequency of an SH-SAW mode in a resonator ([0038]), where P is a center-to-center pitch of adjacent conductors ([0026]).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the narrow aperture of the interdigital transducer electrode being configured to be at least 10λ and less than 11λ, as a design parameter that provides the benefit of tuning the admittance and the placement of an SH-SAW mode as taught by McHugh et al. ([0038]).
As per claims 5, 10, 15, 20:
Ota does not disclose:
the interdigital transducer electrode excites the surface acoustic wave having the wavelength k on the piezoelectric substrate in a piston mode.
Ruile et al. discloses in Figs. 4-25:
Transducer configurations used to generate a piston mode ([0021]) to reduce energy losses and suppress transverse modes ([0022]).
As a consequence of the combination of claim 1, the interdigital transducer electrode excites the surface acoustic wave having the wavelength λ on the piezoelectric substrate in a piston mode.
As per claim 6 (as best understood):
Ota discloses in Fig. 1-5B:
A multi-band surface acoustic wave filter module (Fig. 1) comprising:
a plurality of ladder-type acoustic wave filters (11, 13-14, shown in Figs. 3A, C-D) each configured to pass a different band frequency ([0060-0063]) and each including a plurality of series arm resonators and a plurality of parallel arm resonators (as seen in Figs. 3A, C-D), each resonator including a piezoelectric substrate and an interdigital transducer electrode disposed on the piezoelectric substrate ([0067]).
Ota does not disclose:
each of the plurality of series arm resonators of each ladder-type filter of the plurality of ladder-type acoustic wave filters having no spurious component in the band frequency of the respective ladder-type filter and having a narrow aperture of the interdigital transducer electrode being configured to be at least 10λ and less than 13λ, λ being a wavelength of a surface acoustic wave excited by the interdigital transducer electrode, and the plurality of parallel arm resonators having an aperture of the interdigital transducer electrode being configured to be greater than 13λ, λ being a wavelength of a surface acoustic wave excited by the interdigital transducer electrode.
Ruile et al. discloses the use of transducers in SAW resonators ([0003]) provided as to operate in a piston mode for achieving an improved performance ([0022]), wherein the transducers having a narrow aperture of the interdigital transducer electrode being configured to be at least 10λ and less than 20λ ([0134]), λ being a wavelength of a surface acoustic wave excited by the interdigital transducer electrode ([0070]), and wherein the improved performance includes suppression of spurious modes ([0022]).
McHugh discloses in Fig. 7:
That aperture length of a piston mode resonator is a design parameter from 10-50P for determining the admittance and the frequency of an SH-SAW mode in a resonator ([0038]), where P is a center-to-center pitch of adjacent conductors ([0026]) and wherein the improved performance includes suppression of spurious modes within filter passbands ([0040]).
Komatsu et al. discloses in Figs. 3 & 4:
The use of parallel arms resonators with larger apertures than the apertures of series resonators in a ladder type filter able to increase skirt steepness in filters with a narrow passband ([0084]), wherein the plurality of parallel arm resonators having an aperture of the interdigital transducer electrode being configured to be greater than 13λ, λ being a wavelength of a surface acoustic wave excited by the interdigital transducer electrode ([0070]).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form each of the plurality of series arm resonators of each of the plurality of ladder-type acoustic wave filters with a narrow aperture of the interdigital transducer electrode being configured to be at least 10λ and less than 20λ, λ being a wavelength of a surface acoustic wave excited by the interdigital transducer electrode, to provide the benefit of suppressing transverse modes and improving performance through the piston mode as taught by Ruile et al. ([0022]).
It would have been further obvious for the narrow aperture of the interdigital transducer electrode being configured to be at least 10λ and less than 13λ, as a design parameter that provides the benefit of tuning the admittance and the placement of an SH-SAW mode as taught by McHugh et al. ([0038]).
As a consequence of the combination, each of the plurality of series arm resonators of each ladder-type filter of the plurality of ladder-type acoustic wave filters having no spurious component in the band frequency of the respective ladder-type filter and having a narrow aperture of the interdigital transducer electrode being configured to be at least 10λ and less than 13λ, λ being a wavelength of a surface acoustic wave excited by the interdigital transducer electrode.
It would have been further obvious for the plurality of parallel arm resonators having an aperture of the interdigital transducer electrode being configured to be greater than 13λ, λ being a wavelength of a surface acoustic wave excited by the interdigital transducer electrode, as a configuration disclosed by Komatsu et al. that provides the benefit of increasing skirt steepness as taught by Komatsu et al. ([0070])
As per claim 11 (as best understood):
Ota discloses in Fig. 1-5B:
An acoustic wave filter assembly comprising:
a first acoustic wave filter (11) connected to a common node (connection terminal 50); and
a second acoustic wave filter (13) connected to the common node,
each of the first and second acoustic wave filters configured to pass a different band frequency ([0060-0063]) and being a ladder-type acoustic wave filter including a plurality of series arm resonators and a plurality of parallel arm resonators (as seen in Figs. 3A, C-D), each of the resonators including a piezoelectric substrate and an interdigital transducer electrode disposed on the piezoelectric substrate ([0067]).
Ota does not disclose:
each of the plurality of series arm resonators of each ladder-type filter of the plurality of ladder-type acoustic wave filters having no spurious component in the band frequency of the respective ladder-type filter and having a narrow aperture of the interdigital transducer electrode being configured to be at least 10λ and less than 13λ, λ being a wavelength of a surface acoustic wave excited by the interdigital transducer electrode, and the plurality of parallel arm resonators having an aperture of the interdigital transducer electrode being configured to be greater than 13λ, λ being a wavelength of a surface acoustic wave excited by the interdigital transducer electrode.
Ruile et al. discloses the use of transducers in SAW resonators ([0003]) provided as to operate in a piston mode for achieving an improved performance ([0022]), wherein the transducers having a narrow aperture of the interdigital transducer electrode being configured to be at least 10λ and less than 20λ ([0134]), λ being a wavelength of a surface acoustic wave excited by the interdigital transducer electrode ([0070]), and wherein the improved performance includes suppression of spurious modes ([0022]).
McHugh discloses in Fig. 7:
That aperture length of a piston mode resonator is a design parameter from 10-50P for determining the admittance and the frequency of an SH-SAW mode in a resonator ([0038]), where P is a center-to-center pitch of adjacent conductors ([0026]) and wherein the improved performance includes suppression of spurious modes within filter passbands ([0040]).
Komatsu et al. discloses in Figs. 3 & 4:
The use of parallel arms resonators with larger apertures than the apertures of series resonators in a ladder type filter able to increase skirt steepness in filters with a narrow passband ([0084]), wherein the plurality of parallel arm resonators having an aperture of the interdigital transducer electrode being configured to be greater than 13λ, λ being a wavelength of a surface acoustic wave excited by the interdigital transducer electrode ([0070]).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form each of the plurality of series arm resonators of each of the plurality of ladder-type acoustic wave filters with a narrow aperture of the interdigital transducer electrode being configured to be at least 10λ and less than 20λ, λ being a wavelength of a surface acoustic wave excited by the interdigital transducer electrode, to provide the benefit of suppressing transverse modes and improving performance through the piston mode as taught by Ruile et al. ([0022]).
It would have been further obvious for the narrow aperture of the interdigital transducer electrode being configured to be at least 10λ and less than 13λ, as a design parameter that provides the benefit of tuning the admittance and the placement of an SH-SAW mode as taught by McHugh et al. ([0038]).
As a consequence of the combination, each of the plurality of series arm resonators of each ladder-type filter of the plurality of ladder-type acoustic wave filters having no spurious component in the band frequency of the respective ladder-type filter and having a narrow aperture of the interdigital transducer electrode being configured to be at least 10λ and less than 13λ, λ being a wavelength of a surface acoustic wave excited by the interdigital transducer electrode.
It would have been further obvious for the plurality of parallel arm resonators having an aperture of the interdigital transducer electrode being configured to be greater than 13λ, λ being a wavelength of a surface acoustic wave excited by the interdigital transducer electrode, as a configuration disclosed by Komatsu et al. that provides the benefit of increasing skirt steepness as taught by Komatsu et al. ([0070])
As per claim 16 (as best understood):
Ota discloses in Fig. 1-5B:
a third ladder-type acoustic wave filter (12) connected to the common node; and a fourth ladder-type acoustic wave filter (14) connected to the common node.
As per claim 17 (as best understood):
Ota discloses in Fig. 1-5B:
A wireless communication device comprising:
an antenna (2); and
a multiplexer (1) coupled to the antenna, the multiplexer including a plurality of ladder-type acoustic wave filters (11, 13-14) coupled to a common node (connection terminal 50) and each configured to pass a different band frequency ([0060-0063]) and each including a plurality of series arm resonators and a plurality of parallel arm resonators (as seen in Figs. 3A, C-D), each resonator including a piezoelectric substrate and an interdigital transducer electrode disposed on the piezoelectric substrate ([0067]).
Ota does not disclose:
each of the plurality of series arm resonators of each ladder-type filter of the plurality of ladder-type acoustic wave filters having no spurious component in the band frequency of the respective ladder-type filter and having a narrow aperture of the interdigital transducer electrode being configured to be at least 10λ and less than 13λ, λ being a wavelength of a surface acoustic wave excited by the interdigital transducer electrode, and the plurality of parallel arm resonators having an aperture of the interdigital transducer electrode being configured to be greater than 13λ, λ being a wavelength of a surface acoustic wave excited by the interdigital transducer electrode.
Ruile et al. discloses the use of transducers in SAW resonators ([0003]) provided as to operate in a piston mode for achieving an improved performance ([0022]), wherein the transducers having a narrow aperture of the interdigital transducer electrode being configured to be at least 10λ and less than 20λ ([0134]), λ being a wavelength of a surface acoustic wave excited by the interdigital transducer electrode ([0070]), and wherein the improved performance includes suppression of spurious modes ([0022])
McHugh discloses in Fig. 7:
That aperture length of a piston mode resonator is a design parameter from 10-50P for determining the admittance and the frequency of an SH-SAW mode in a resonator ([0038]), where P is a center-to-center pitch of adjacent conductors ([0026]) and wherein the improved performance includes suppression of spurious modes within filter passbands ([0040]).
Komatsu et al. discloses in Figs. 3 & 4:
The use of parallel arms resonators with larger apertures than the apertures of series resonators in a ladder type filter able to increase skirt steepness in filters with a narrow passband ([0084]), wherein the plurality of parallel arm resonators having an aperture of the interdigital transducer electrode being configured to be greater than 13λ, λ being a wavelength of a surface acoustic wave excited by the interdigital transducer electrode ([0070]).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form each of the plurality of series arm resonators of each of the plurality of ladder-type acoustic wave filters with a narrow aperture of the interdigital transducer electrode being configured to be at least 10λ and less than 20λ, λ being a wavelength of a surface acoustic wave excited by the interdigital transducer electrode, to provide the benefit of suppressing transverse modes and improving performance through the piston mode as taught by Ruile et al. ([0022]).
It would have been further obvious for the narrow aperture of the interdigital transducer electrode being configured to be at least 10λ and less than 13λ, as a design parameter that provides the benefit of tuning the admittance and the placement of an SH-SAW mode as taught by McHugh et al. ([0038]).
As a consequence of the combination, each of the plurality of series arm resonators of each ladder-type filter of the plurality of ladder-type acoustic wave filters having no spurious component in the band frequency of the respective ladder-type filter and having a narrow aperture of the interdigital transducer electrode being configured to be at least 10λ and less than 13λ, λ being a wavelength of a surface acoustic wave excited by the interdigital transducer electrode.
It would have been further obvious for the plurality of parallel arm resonators having an aperture of the interdigital transducer electrode being configured to be greater than 13λ, λ being a wavelength of a surface acoustic wave excited by the interdigital transducer electrode, as a configuration disclosed by Komatsu et al. that provides the benefit of increasing skirt steepness as taught by Komatsu et al. ([0070])
Claim(s) 21-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the resultant combination of Ota (US PGPub 20200067491), in view of Ruile et al. (US PGPub 20130051588) and McHugh et al. (US PGPub 20190068159) and Komatsu et al. (US PGPub 20200403601) as applied to claims 1, 6, 11, & 17 above, and further in view of Urata (US PGPub 20200295734), all references of record.
The resultant combination discloses the multi-band surface acoustic wave filter chip, module, assembly, and wireless communication device of claims 1, 6, 11, & 17 as rejected above.
As per claims 21, 23, 25, 27:
The resultant combination discloses in Ota Fig. 3A:
at least a first filter of the plurality of ladder-type acoustic wave filters includes at least five series arm resonators (101-105).
The resultant combination does not disclose:
at least a first filter of the plurality of ladder-type acoustic wave filters includes at least five series arm resonators arranged next to one another such that a line can be drawn parallel to a length of a chip on which the plurality of ladder-type acoustic wave filters reside, that intersects each of the five series arm resonators.
Urata discloses in Fig. 4:
An acoustic wave filter configuration wherein a plurality of series arm resonators (65A-D) are arranged next to one another such that a line can be drawn parallel to a length of the chip (axis D2) that intersects each of the series arm resonators.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the series resonators of the at least first filter of the resultant combination to be arranged next to one another such that a line can be drawn parallel to a length of the chip that intersects each of the series arm resonators as a known in the art configuration for ladder-type acoustic wave filters as disclosed by Urata in Fig. 4.
It would be further obvious for the plurality of ladder-type acoustic wave filters to reside in a similar arrangement on the same chip to provide the benefit of minimization, as is well-understood in the art.
As per claim 22, 24, 26:
The resultant combination discloses in Ota Fig. 3A:
the first filter includes at least four parallel arm resonators (151-154).
The resultant combination does not disclose:
the first filter includes at least four parallel arm resonators arranged next to one another such that a line can be drawn parallel to the length of the chip that intersects each of the four parallel arm resonators.
Urata discloses in Fig. 4:
An acoustic wave filter configuration wherein a plurality of parallel arm resonators (67A-C) are arranged next to one another such that a line can be drawn parallel to a length of the chip (axis D2) that intersects each of the parallel arm resonators.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the parallel resonators of the at least first filter of the resultant combination to be arranged next to one another such that a line can be drawn parallel to a length of the chip that intersects each of the parallel arm resonators as a known in the art configuration for ladder-type acoustic wave filters as disclosed by Urata in Fig. 4.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 02/02/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-2, 5-7, 10-12, 15-18, & 20-27 under Ota, Ruile and McHugh have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Ota, Ruile, McHugh, and Komatsu.
Conclusion
/Samuel S Outten/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2843