DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I, FIGs. 6(a) and 7-9(b) and claims 1-20 in the reply filed on 01/30/2026 is acknowledged. Applicant withdraws claims 21-23. At least claims 4 and 7, 12 and 19 do not read on the elected species. Claim 8 depends on claim 7, and claim 16 depends on claim 12. Accordingly, claims 4, 7, 8, 12, 16 and 19 are further withdrawn. In this Office action, claims 1-3, 5, 6, 9-11, 13-15, 17, 18 and 20 are fully examined, and claims 4, 7, 8, 12, 16, 19 and 21-23 are withdrawn from consideration.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “first terminal has a first projection” of claim 1, the “a first projection of one of the two first terminals is at least partially located outside the first projection of the second winding, and a first projection of the other first terminal is located within the first projection of the second winding” as recited in claim 4, the “the second winding is connected to a second terminal, and the second terminal is located on a second side of the magnetic element; and the second winding has a second projection of the second winding on a surface of the second side of the magnetic element, the second terminal has a second projection of the second terminal on the surface of the second side of the magnetic element, and the second projection of the second terminal is located within the second projection of the second winding” as claimed in claim 7 and similar limitations in claim 12, the “the third winding is connected to a third terminal, the third terminal is located on the second side of the magnetic element, the third terminal has a second projection of the third terminal on the surface of the second side of the magnetic element, the third winding has a second projection of the third winding on the second side surface of the magnetic element, and the second projection of the third terminal is located within the second projection of the third winding” of claim 12 and the “the two second terminals are alternately arranged with the two third terminals” as claimed in claim 14 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 4, 9, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, it’s not clear what’s intended by “the first winding is connected to two first terminals, and first projections of the two first terminals are at least partially located outside the two boundaries of the first projection of the second winding, respectively” as claimed. Specifically, it’s not clear if “two first terminals” is an addition to “a first terminal” as recited in claim 1, or “a first terminal” of claim 1 is one of the “two first terminals” in claim 3. Similarly, it’s not clear if “first projections” is an addition to “a first projection” as recited in claim 1, or “a first projection” of claim 1 is one of the “first projections” of claim 3. While claim 4 is not examined, it is unclear for similar reasons. Accordingly, similar clarification should be made in the spirit of compact prosecution.
Regarding claim 9, applicant should clarify if “a terminal of the first winding” is the same as or different from “a first terminal” of the first winding in claim 1. Similarly, it’s not clear if “a terminal of the second winding” is the same as or different from “a second terminal” as claimed in claim 5.
Regarding claim 14, it’s not clear what’s intended by “the two second terminals are alternately arranged with the two third terminals” as recited. Specifically, it’s not clear if the terminals are arranged in: first terminal of the second winding, second terminal of the second winding, first terminal of the third winding, and second terminal of the third winding in this order; or first terminal of the second winding: first terminal of the third winding: second terminal of the second winding: second terminal of the third winding in this order. As seen in FIG. 7 of the present invention, the first terminal 21 of the third winding 47 is on top of the first terminal 22 of the second winding 46, and second terminal 24 of the third winding is on top on the second terminal 23 of the second winding. The limitation in question does reflect this structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gold et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2017/0263369 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Gold et al., hereinafter referred to as “Gold,” teaches a magnetic element 300 (FIGs. 3-9), comprising:
a magnetic column 322 extending along a first direction (x axis direction, annotated FIG. 4);
a first winding 310 surrounding the magnetic column, wherein the first winding is connected to a first terminal 360, the first terminal is located on a first side (lower side) of the magnetic element, and the first terminal has a first projection (projection in x axis direction) of the first terminal on a surface (lower surface) of the first side of the magnetic element; and
a second winding 314 surrounding the magnetic column, wherein the second winding is at least partially outside (radially outside) the first winding, the second winding has a first projection (projection 314a below first winding 310) of the second winding on the surface of the first side of the magnetic element, the first projection of the first terminal is at least partially outside (front side in x axis direction) the first projection of the second winding, the second winding is a flatwise-wound winding, and the number of turns of the first winding is greater than or equal to the number of turns of the second winding (paras. [0041], [0048], [0050] and [0060]).
With respect to claim 2, Gold teaches the magnetic element according to claim 1, wherein the first winding is a primary winding, and the second winding is a secondary winding (para. [0048]).
With respect to claim 3, best understood in view of 35 USC 112(b) rejection, Gold teaches the magnetic element according to claim 1, wherein:
the first projection of the second winding has two boundaries (front end and back end in x axis direction) arranged along the first direction; and
the first winding is connected to two first terminals 360 and 360a, and first projections of the two first terminals are at least partially located outside the two boundaries of the first projection of the second winding, respectively (para. [0048]).
With respect to claim 5, Gold teaches the magnetic element according to claim 1, wherein:
the second winding is connected to a second terminal 314a, and the second terminal is located on the first side of the magnetic element;
the second terminal has a first projection (terminal 314a projects in y axis direction) of the second terminal on the surface of the first side of the magnetic element, and the first projection of the second terminal is located within the first projection of the second winding (para. [0048]).
With respect to claim 6, Gold teaches the magnetic element according to claim 5, wherein the first projection of the second winding has two boundaries (front end and back end in x axis direction) arranged along the first direction, and the first projection of the second terminal is extended from one boundary to the other boundary of the first projection of the second winding (para. [0048]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-11, 13-15, 17, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gold, as applied to claims 5 and 1 above, in view of Cai et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2020/0161042 A1).
With respect to claim 9, Gold teaches the magnetic element according to claim 5, wherein a connection structure (structure of terminal 360) is disposed on a surface of a terminal of the first winding. Gold does not expressly teach an upper surface of the connection structure and an upper surface of a terminal of the second winding are coplanar even though the connection structure and the terminal of the second winding would need to be coplanar to connect them to the circuit board.
Nonetheless, Cai et al., hereinafter referred to as “Cai,” teaches a magnetic element (FIG. 6), wherein a connection structure 235 is disposed on a surface of a terminal 231 of the first winding, so that an upper surface (top surface) of the connection structure and an upper surface (top surface) of a terminal 243 of the second winding are coplanar (para. [0170]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the coplanar structure as taught by Cai to the magnetic element of Gold to improve ease of terminal connection to the circuit board.
With respect to claim 10, Gold teaches the magnetic element according to claim 1. Gold does not expressly teach comprising a third winding at least partially surrounding the second winding; and
wherein the third winding has a first projection of the third winding on the surface of the first side of the magnetic element, and the first projection of the first terminal is at least partially outside the first projection of the third winding; and
the third winding is a flatwise-wound winding, and the number of turns of the third winding is less than or equal to the number of turns of the first winding.
Cai teaches a magnetic element (FIG. 6) comprising a third winding 25 at least partially surrounding the second winding 24; and
wherein the third winding has a first projection 25a (annotated FIG. 6) of the third winding on the surface (upper surface) of the first side (upper side) of the magnetic element, and the first projection of the first terminal 235 is at least partially outside the first projection of the third winding; and
the third winding is a flatwise-wound winding, and the number of turns of the third winding is less than or equal to the number of turns of the first winding (paras. [0169] and [0170]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the third winding as taught by Cai to the magnetic element of Gold to increase functionality of the magnetic element.
With respect to claim 11, Gold in view of Cai teaches the magnetic element according to claim 10, wherein:
the second winding is connected to a second terminal 314a, the second terminal is located on the first side of the magnetic element, and the second terminal has a first projection (projection in y axis direction) of the second terminal on the surface of the first side of the magnetic element (Gold, para. [0048]); and
the third winding is connected to a third terminal 251, the third terminal is located on the first side of the magnetic element, the third terminal has a first projection 25b (annotated FIG. 6) of the third terminal on the surface (upper surface) of the first side (upper side) of the magnetic element, and the first projection of the third terminal is located within the first projection of the third winding (Cai, para. [0170]).
With respect to claim 13, Gold in view of Cai teaches the magnetic element according to claim 10, wherein the first winding is a primary winding, and
the second winding and the third winding are secondary windings, and the secondary windings comprise two secondary windings, a part of the second winding and a part of the third winding are one of the two secondary windings, the other part of the second winding and the other part of the third winding are the other of the two secondary windings (Gold, para. [0048], Cai, paras. [0156], [0168] and [0169]).
With respect to claim 14, best understood in view of 35 USC 112(b) rejection, Gold in view of Cai teaches the magnetic element according to claim 10, wherein the second winding is connected to two second terminals 315a and 314b, the third winding is connected to two third terminals 253 and 252, and the two second terminals are alternately arranged with the two third terminals (Cai, para. [0170]).
With respect to claim 15, Gold in view of Cai teaches the magnetic element according to claim 11, wherein the third winding as a whole is located outside the second winding, and the first projection 245 and 246 of the second terminal is located between first projections 25b of two third terminals (Cai, para. [0170]).
With respect to claim 17, Gold in view of Cai teaches the magnetic element according to claim 10, wherein the first projection 24a of the second winding and the first projection 25a of the third winding are at least partially overlapped (Cai, para. [0170]).
With respect to claim 18, Gold in view of Cai teaches the magnetic element according to claim 10, wherein the first winding is connected to two first terminals 360 and 360a, the first projection of the third winding has two boundaries (front end and back end in x axis direction) along the first direction, and first projections of the two first terminals are at least partially located outside the two boundaries of the first projection of the third winding, respectively (Gold, para. [0048]).
With respect to claim 20, Gold in view of Cai teaches a power module, comprising:
the magnetic element according to claim 10;
a first carrier board 74 (FIG. 23D) at least partially covering the first side surface (upper side surface) of the magnetic element;
a first switch (left switch 73), located on a side surface (surface on which the first switch is provided) of the first carrier board away from the magnetic element; and
a second switch (middle switch 73), located on the side surface of the first carrier board away from the magnetic element (Cai, para. [0276]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. A list of pertinent prior art is attached in form PTO-892.
/MANG TIN BIK LIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837