DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haack (US 2020/0263911 A1) and in view of Yamada (US 2012/0000237 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Haack teaches a heating, ventilation, and air-conditioning ("HVAC") system for use with a refrigerant (refrigerant flow through cooling device 10, see figs. 1-7, abstract and paragraphs 44-45), the HVAC system comprising: a closed-loop circuit (11) of tubing forming a refrigeration circuit (main refrigerant circuit, see figs. 1-7); a compressor (compressor 13) fluidly connected to the circuit (see figs. 1-2) and operable to compress the refrigerant and discharge the refrigerant at a compressor discharge temperature and compressor discharge pressure (compressor 3 increases pressure and temperature of refrigerant at compressor discharge, see figs. 1-2 and paragraph 45); an outdoor heat exchanger (condenser 14) fluidly connected to the circuit downstream of the compressor (condenser 14 downstream of compressor 13, see figs. 1-2) while the HVAC system is in a cooling mode (cooling operation, see fig. 1 and paragraph 45); a cooling expansion valve (expansion valve 15) fluidly connected in the closed loop circuit downstream of the outdoor heat exchanger (expansion valve 15 downstream of heat exchanger 14, see fig. 2) in the cooling mode (see fig. 1), the cooling expansion valve configured to reduce a pressure of the refrigerant flowing therethrough (expansion valve decompresses refrigerant by reducing pressure, see paragraph 45); an indoor heat exchanger (heat exchanger evaporator 12) fluidly connected in the circuit downstream of the cooling expansion valve in the cooling mode (heat exchanger 12 downstream of expansion valve 15, see fig. 1); and a first bypass line (24) fluidly connecting the circuit from a first location (bypass line connection point between expansion valve 15 and condenser 14, see fig. 1) downstream of the outdoor heat exchanger (14) and upstream of the cooling expansion valve (upstream of valve 15, see fig. 1 and paragraph 14) to a second location downstream of the indoor heat exchanger and upstream of the compressor (bypass line second connection point between heat exchanger 12 and compressor 13 on conduit 23, see fig. 1 and paragraph 14), in the cooling mode (see fig. 1),
wherein some of the refrigerant is flowable through the first bypass line at the first location to bypass the cooling expansion valve and the indoor heat exchanger (by operating valve 25, some of the refrigerant is capable of flowing to the conduit 23, see fig. 1 and paragraphs 46, 48-49) and re-combinable with the refrigerant in the circuit at the second location (see fig. 1 and paragraph 46, 48-49) to maintain the compressor discharge temperature within an operating envelope (refrigerant bypassing expansion valve 15 and heat exchanger 12 and being supplied to conduit 23, does not acquire heat at the evaporator heat exchanger 12, which lowers the temperature of the suction side of the compressor and in turn maintains the compressor discharge temperature within an operating range/envelope, see paragraph 14 and figs. 1, 3-8); and
wherein the first bypass line is configured such that an amount of refrigerant flowable through the first bypass line (refrigerant passing through first bypass line 24) is controllable (by operation of valve 25) based on at least one of compressor discharge pressure or temperature (valve 25 is capable of controlling the amount of refrigerant passing through first bypass line 24 based on controlling compressor suction pressure and temperature, see paragraph 46, 48, wherein controlling the compressor suction pressure and temperature affects the compressor discharge pressure and temperature).
Haack does not explicitly teach measuring compressor pressure or temperature downstream of the compressor or at compressor discharge.
Yamada teaches an air conditioning system with a heat pump cycle (see abstract, fig. 1 and claim 22) including a first bypass line (bypass line 70) fluidly connecting the circuit from a first location (injection tube 72 connected at point H) downstream of the outdoor heat exchanger (point H downstream of heat exchangers 50) and upstream of the cooling expansion valve (point H upstream of expansion valve 5b, see fig. 1) to a second location (point D at pressure tube 23d, see fig. 1) downstream of the indoor heat exchanger (point D downstream of heat exchangers 7, 8, 4 and 40, see fig. 1) and upstream of the compressor (point D upstream of compressor 25, see fig. 1), and the first bypass line (bypass line 70) is configured such than an amount of refrigerant flowable through the first bypass line (refrigerant passing through first bypass line 72-70) is controllable (by operation of valve 73) based on at least one of compressor discharge pressure or temperature, as measured downstream of the compressor (valve 73 on bypass line 70 is controlled, by controller 11, based on the compressor 25 discharge pressure and/or temperature measured downstream of compressor 25 by pressure and temperature sensors 27P, 27T, see fig. 1, 7, 13-20, 24-26 and paragraphs 128, 180).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the HVAC system of Haack by providing a first bypass line fluidly connecting the circuit from a first location downstream of the outdoor heat exchanger and upstream of the cooling expansion valve to a second location downstream of the indoor heat exchanger and upstream of the compressor, and the first bypass line is configured such than an amount of refrigerant flowable through the first bypass line is controllable based on at least one of compressor discharge pressure or temperature, as measured downstream of the compressor based on the teachings of Yamada in order to allow the temperature of the primary refrigerant to be controlled in way to avoid forming scale within the inner surface of the refrigerant/bypass flow tubes (see paragraph 180, Yamada).
In regards to claim 2, Haack as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the first bypass line being configured comprises the first bypass line being sized (see the size of bypass line 24, figs. 1 and 3-8) to: bypass enough refrigerant to the second location when the compressor is operating at a high-pressure differential condition to maintain the compressor discharge temperature below a maximum threshold while not choking the refrigerant flow passing through the first bypass line (control element/magnetic valve 25 operated based on temperature, see paragraph 30; and operated to control suction temperature, which in turn maintains the compressor discharge temperature below a maximum, see claim 6 and paragraphs 46-49; supplying refrigerant to suction conduit 23 via bypass 24 does not allow choking refrigerant flow through the bypass line, see figs. 1-2, 5-8); and bypass a minimum refrigerant flow when the compressor is operating at normal operating conditions (control element/magnetic valve 25 metering refrigerant flow from by opening valve 25 from a closed position to at least a minimum position, see paragraphs 46-48) to avoid performance degradation of the HVAC system (this is an intended use limitation).
In regards to claim 14, Haack teaches a method of operating a heating, ventilation, and air-conditioning ("HVAC") system (refrigerant flow through cooling device 10, see figs. 1-7, abstract and paragraphs 44-45), the method comprising:
condensing high-pressure refrigerant (refrigerant compressed by compressor 13) in an outdoor heat exchanger (condenser 14) of the HVAC system (see figs. 1-7) in a cooling a mode (condenser 14 downstream of compressor 13, see figs. 1-2; in a cooling operation, see fig. 1 and paragraph 45);
separating the high-pressure refrigerant at a first location downstream of the outdoor heat exchanger and upstream of a cooling expansion valve (separating refrigerant from high pressure side 17, which is between HX 14 and expansion valve 15, to supply to bypass 24, see figs. 1-7), wherein a first portion of the refrigerant flows through a first bypass line (refrigerant flowing through bypass 24) and a second portion of the refrigerant flows to the cooling expansion valve (refrigerant flowing through expansion valve 15), when the HVAC system is in the cooling mode (this is a contingent limitation in a method claim, see MPEP 2111.04; however, Haack teaches refrigerant flow from condenser to expansion valve, see figs. 1-7);
reducing the pressure of the second portion of the refrigerant exiting the condenser to a low-pressure refrigerant in the cooling expansion valve (expansion valve 15) of the HVAC system (expansion valve decompresses refrigerant by reducing pressure, see paragraph 45), when the HVAC system is in the cooling mode (this is a contingent limitation in a method claim, see MPEP 2111.04; however, Haack teaches expansion valve 15 downstream of heat exchanger 14, see fig. 2 in the cooling mode, see fig. 1);
evaporating the second portion of the refrigerant in an indoor heat exchanger (heat exchanger evaporator 12) of the HVAC system;
combining the second portion of the refrigerant from the indoor heat exchanger with the first portion of the refrigerant from the first bypass line at a second location downstream of the indoor heat exchanger and upstream of a compressor (refrigerant flowing in bypass 24 is combined with refrigerant from indoor heat exchanger 12 at a second location within conduit 23 and upstream of the compressor 13, see figs. 1-7 and paragraphs 46, 48-49), in the cooling mode to form a combined refrigerant (see figs. 1-7); compressing the combined refrigerant with the compressor (13) of the HVAC system to maintain compressor discharge temperature within an operating envelope (refrigerant bypassing expansion valve 15 and heat exchanger 12 and being supplied to conduit 23, does not acquire heat at the evaporator heat exchanger 12, which lowers the temperature of the suction side of the compressor and in turn maintains the compressor discharge temperature within an operating range/envelope, see paragraph 14 and figs. 1, 3-8; Also see temperature of the refrigerant at the compressor discharge, figs. 1-7); and
controlling an amount of first portion of the refrigerant flowing through the first bypass line (refrigerant passing through first bypass line 24 is controlled by operation of valve 25) based on at least one of compressor discharge pressure or compressor discharge temperature (valve 25 is capable of controlling the amount of refrigerant passing through first bypass line 24 based on controlling compressor suction pressure and temperature, see paragraph 46, 48, wherein controlling the compressor suction pressure and temperature affects the compressor discharge pressure and temperature).
Haack does not explicitly teach measuring compressor pressure or temperature downstream of the compressor or at compressor discharge.
Yamada teaches an air conditioning system with a heat pump cycle (see abstract, fig. 1 and claim 22) including a first bypass line (bypass line 70) fluidly connecting the circuit from a first location (injection tube 72 connected at point H) downstream of the outdoor heat exchanger (point H downstream of heat exchangers 50) and upstream of the cooling expansion valve (point H upstream of expansion valve 5b, see fig. 1) to a second location (point D at pressure tube 23d, see fig. 1) downstream of the indoor heat exchanger (point D downstream of heat exchangers 7, 8, 4 and 40, see fig. 1) and upstream of the compressor (point D upstream of compressor 25, see fig. 1), and the first bypass line (bypass line 70) is configured such than an amount of refrigerant flowable through the first bypass line (refrigerant passing through first bypass line 72-70) is controllable (by operation of valve 73) based on at least one of compressor discharge pressure or temperature, as measured downstream of the compressor (valve 73 on bypass line 70 is controlled, by controller 11, based on the compressor 25 discharge pressure and/or temperature measured downstream of compressor 25 by pressure and temperature sensors 27P, 27T, see fig. 1, 7, 13-20, 24-26 and paragraphs 128, 180).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of operating the HVAC system of Haack by providing a first bypass line fluidly connecting the circuit from a first location downstream of the outdoor heat exchanger and upstream of the cooling expansion valve to a second location downstream of the indoor heat exchanger and upstream of the compressor, and the first bypass line is configured such than an amount of refrigerant flowable through the first bypass line is controlled based on at least one of compressor discharge pressure or temperature, as measured downstream of the compressor based on the teachings of Yamada in order to allow the temperature of the primary refrigerant to be controlled in way to avoid forming scale within the inner surface of the refrigerant/bypass flow tubes (see paragraph 180, Yamada).
In regards to claim 15, Haack as modified teaches the limitations of claim 14 further discloses controlling the amount of the first portion of the refrigerant further comprises: separating enough of the refrigerant when the compressor is operating at a high-pressure differential condition to maintain the discharge temperature of the compressor below a maximum threshold while not choking the refrigerant flow through the first bypass line (this is a contingent limitation in a method claim, see MPEP 2111.04; however, Haack teaches control element/magnetic valve 25 operated based on temperature, see paragraph 30; and operated to control suction temperature, which in turn maintains the compressor discharge temperature below a maximum, see claim 6 and paragraphs 46-49; supplying refrigerant to suction conduit 23 via bypass 24 does not allow choking refrigerant flow through the bypass line, see figs. 1-2, 5-8); and separating a minimum amount of the refrigerant flow when the compressor is operating at normal operating conditions to avoid performance degradation of the compressor (this is a contingent limitation in a method claim, see MPEP 2111.04; however, Haack teaches control element/magnetic valve 25 metering refrigerant flow from by opening valve 25 from a closed position to at least a minimum position, see paragraphs 46-48) to avoid performance degradation of the HVAC system (this is an intended use limitation).
In regards to claim 16, Haack as modified teaches the limitations of claim 14 further discloses controlling the amount of the first portion of the refrigerant further comprises restricting the flow of the first portion of refrigerant through the first bypass line (by opening and/or closing valve 25, see figs. 1-7 and paragraphs 46-49).
Claim(s) 3 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haack in view of Yamada as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Okazaki (US 2012/0180510 A1).
In regards to claim 3, Haack as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches a heat pump system (see refrigeration and air circulation system, figs. 1-8) comprising: a heating expansion valve (valve 32) fluidly connected in the circuit downstream of the indoor heat exchanger (valve 32 on bypass 31 downstream of heat exchanger 12, see fig. 4) in a heating mode (while providing heating through condenser 14), the heating expansion valve configured to reduce a pressure of the refrigerant flowing therethrough (expansion valve 32, inherently reduces pressure of refrigerant flowing therethrough, fig. 4).
However, Haack does not explicitly teach a reversing valve configured to reverse the flow of the refrigerant to change between the heating mode and the cooling mode, wherein in the heating mode, the first bypass is connected downstream of the indoor heat exchanger and upstream of an expansion valve.
Okazaki teaches a heat pump system (heat pump 100, see figs. 1-8 and paragraph 110) comprising: a heating expansion valve (heating expansion valve 11, in a heating mode, see fig. 8) fluidly connected in the circuit downstream of the indoor heat exchanger (valve 11 downstream of indoor heat exchanger 3, see fig. 8) in a heating mode (see figs. 8, 11), the heating expansion valve configured to reduce a pressure of the refrigerant flowing therethrough (heating expansion valve 11 inherently reduces pressure of the refrigerant, see paragraphs 33, 59, 70 and fig. 8); and a reversing valve (four-way valve 7) configured to reverse the flow of the refrigerant to change between the heating mode and the cooling mode (see refrigerant flow reversal by valve 7, producing heating and cooling modes, figs. 7-8), wherein in the heating mode, the first location (junction point 22) is downstream of the indoor heat exchanger (22 downstream of HX 3) and upstream of the heating expansion valve (22 upstream of heating expansion valve 11, see fig. 8).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the HVAC system of Haack by providing a heating expansion valve fluidly connected in the circuit downstream of the indoor heat exchanger in a heating mode, the heating expansion valve configured to reduce a pressure of the refrigerant flowing therethrough; and a reversing valve configured to reverse the flow of the refrigerant to change between the heating mode and the cooling mode, wherein in the heating mode, the first location is downstream of the indoor heat exchanger and upstream of the heating expansion valve based on the teachings of Okazaki in order to improve efficiency of the heat pump and HVAC system by utilizing high temperature and pressure refrigerant for heating, cooling, defrosting and other operations and by improving heat capacity of each component within the refrigerant circuit of the heat pump of the HVAC system.
In regards to claim 6, Haack as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses a heat pump system (see cooling device with air conditioning, figs. 1-8) wherein the cooling expansion valve (valve 15) comprises a bi-flow expansion valve further configured to also reduce a pressure of the refrigerant flowing therethrough (expansion valve 15 configured to reduce pressure of refrigerant flowing through it from side 17 to side 18 or from side 18 to side 17, see paragraphs 44-46 and figs. 1-8). In addition, Okazaki further discloses a heat pump system (see heat pump 100, figs. 1-8, 11) wherein the cooling expansion valve (expansion valves 11, 12, 13, 14) comprises a bi-flow expansion valve further configured to also reduce a pressure of the refrigerant flowing therethrough in a heating mode (expansion valves 11, 12, 13, 14 are configured to reduce pressure of refrigerant flowing through the valves, see figs. 1-8 and 11), the system further comprising: a reversing valve (four-way valve 7) configured to reverse the flow of the refrigerant to change between the heating mode and the cooling mode (see refrigerant flow reversal by valve 7, producing heating and cooling modes, paragraph 85 and figs. 7-8, 11), wherein in the heating mode, the first location (junction point 21, 23) is downstream of the indoor heat exchanger (21, 23, downstream of HX 3) and upstream of the heating expansion valve (21, 23 upstream of heating expansion valve 13, see figs. 8, 11); and a second bypass line (bypass line containing expansion valve 14, see figs. 1-8) fluidly connecting the circuit (see figs. 1-8) from a third location (junction point 22) downstream of the indoor heat exchanger (22 downstream of HX 3, see fig. 8) and upstream of the bi-flow expansion valve (22 upstream of heating expansion valves 11, 12, 13, see fig. 8) to a fourth location (see junctions 5B, 5C, fig. 8) downstream of the outdoor heat exchanger (5B, 5C downstream of HX 2) and upstream of the compressor (junctions 5B, 5C upstream of compressor 1 and compressor inlet 1A, see figs. 8, 11), in the heating mode (see paragraph 85 and figs. 8, 11).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the HVAC system of Haack by providing a heating expansion valve fluidly connected in the circuit downstream of the indoor heat exchanger in a heating mode, the heating expansion valve configured to reduce a pressure of the refrigerant flowing therethrough; and a reversing valve configured to reverse the flow of the refrigerant to change between the heating mode and the cooling mode, wherein in the heating mode, the first location is downstream of the indoor heat exchanger and upstream of the heating expansion valve based on the teachings of Okazaki in order to improve efficiency of the heat pump and HVAC system by utilizing high temperature and pressure refrigerant for heating, cooling, defrosting and other operations and by improving heat capacity of each component within the refrigerant circuit of the heat pump of the HVAC system.
Claim(s) 3-4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haack in view of Yamada as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Okazaki (US 2012/0180510 A1).
In regards to claim 3, Haack as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches a heat pump system (see refrigeration and air circulation system, figs. 1-8) comprising: a heating expansion valve (valve 32) fluidly connected in the circuit downstream of the indoor heat exchanger (valve 32 on bypass 31 downstream of heat exchanger 12, see fig. 4) in a heating mode (while providing heating through condenser 14), the heating expansion valve configured to reduce a pressure of the refrigerant flowing therethrough (expansion valve 32, inherently reduces pressure of refrigerant flowing therethrough, fig. 4).
However, Haack does not explicitly teach a reversing valve configured to reverse the flow of the refrigerant to change between the heating mode and the cooling mode, wherein in the heating mode, the first bypass is connected downstream of the indoor heat exchanger and upstream of an expansion valve.
Okazaki teaches a heat pump system (heat pump 100, see figs. 1-8 and paragraph 110) comprising: a heating expansion valve (heating expansion valve 13, in a heating mode, see paragraph 85, and figs. 8, 11) fluidly connected in the circuit downstream of the indoor heat exchanger (valve 13 downstream of indoor heat exchanger 3, see figs. 8, 11) in a heating mode (heat exchanger 3 used as a condenser, see paragraph 85 and figs. 8, 11), the heating expansion valve configured to reduce a pressure of the refrigerant flowing therethrough (heating expansion valve 13 inherently reduces pressure of the refrigerant, see paragraphs 33-34, 59, 70 and fig. 8); and a reversing valve (four-way valve 7) configured to reverse the flow of the refrigerant to change between the heating mode and the cooling mode (see refrigerant flow reversal by valve 7, producing heating and cooling modes, paragraph 85 and figs. 7-8, 11), wherein in the heating mode, the first location (junction point 21, 23) is downstream of the indoor heat exchanger (21, 23, downstream of HX 3) and upstream of the heating expansion valve (21, 23 upstream of heating expansion valve 13, see figs. 8, 11).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the HVAC system of Haack by providing a heating expansion valve fluidly connected in the circuit downstream of the indoor heat exchanger in a heating mode, the heating expansion valve configured to reduce a pressure of the refrigerant flowing therethrough; and a reversing valve configured to reverse the flow of the refrigerant to change between the heating mode and the cooling mode, wherein in the heating mode, the first location is downstream of the indoor heat exchanger and upstream of the heating expansion valve based on the teachings of Okazaki in order to improve efficiency of the heat pump and HVAC system by utilizing high temperature and pressure refrigerant for heating, cooling, defrosting and other operations and by improving heat capacity of each component within the refrigerant circuit of the heat pump of the HVAC system.
In regards to claim 4, Haack as modified teaches the limitations of claim 3 and Okazaki further teaches a second bypass line (bypass line containing expansion valve 14, see figs. 1-8) fluidly connecting the circuit (see figs. 1-8) from a third location (junction point 22) downstream of the indoor heat exchanger (22 downstream of HX 3, see fig. 8) and upstream of the heating expansion valve (22 upstream of heating expansion valves 11, 12, 13, see fig. 8) to a fourth location (see junctions 5B, 5C, fig. 8) downstream of the outdoor heat exchanger (5B, 5C downstream of HX 2) and upstream of the compressor (junctions 5B, 5C upstream of compressor 1 and compressor inlet 1A, see figs. 8, 11), in the heating mode (see paragraph 85 and figs. 8, 11).
In regards to claim 6, Haack as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses a heat pump system (see cooling device with air conditioning, figs. 1-8) wherein the cooling expansion valve (valve 15) comprises a bi-flow expansion valve further configured to also reduce a pressure of the refrigerant flowing therethrough (expansion valve 15 configured to reduce pressure of refrigerant flowing through it from side 17 to side 18 or from side 18 to side 17, see paragraphs 44-46 and figs. 1-8). In addition, Okazaki further discloses a heat pump system (see heat pump 100, figs. 1-8, 11) wherein the cooling expansion valve (expansion valves 11, 12, 13, 14) comprises a bi-flow expansion valve further configured to also reduce a pressure of the refrigerant flowing therethrough in a heating mode (expansion valves 11, 12, 13, 14 are configured to reduce pressure of refrigerant flowing through the valves, see figs. 1-8 and 11), the system further comprising: a reversing valve (four-way valve 7) configured to reverse the flow of the refrigerant to change between the heating mode and the cooling mode (see refrigerant flow reversal by valve 7, producing heating and cooling modes, paragraph 85 and figs. 7-8, 11), wherein in the heating mode, the first location (junction point 21, 23) is downstream of the indoor heat exchanger (21, 23, downstream of HX 3) and upstream of the heating expansion valve (21, 23 upstream of heating expansion valve 13, see figs. 8, 11); and a second bypass line (bypass line containing expansion valve 14, see figs. 1-8) fluidly connecting the circuit (see figs. 1-8) from a third location (junction point 22) downstream of the indoor heat exchanger (22 downstream of HX 3, see fig. 8) and upstream of the bi-flow expansion valve (22 upstream of heating expansion valves 11, 12, 13, see fig. 8) to a fourth location (see junctions 5B, 5C, fig. 8) downstream of the outdoor heat exchanger (5B, 5C downstream of HX 2) and upstream of the compressor (junctions 5B, 5C upstream of compressor 1 and compressor inlet 1A, see figs. 8, 11), in the heating mode (see paragraph 85 and figs. 8, 11).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the HVAC system of Haack by providing a heating expansion valve fluidly connected in the circuit downstream of the indoor heat exchanger in a heating mode, the heating expansion valve configured to reduce a pressure of the refrigerant flowing therethrough; and a reversing valve configured to reverse the flow of the refrigerant to change between the heating mode and the cooling mode, wherein in the heating mode, the first location is downstream of the indoor heat exchanger and upstream of the heating expansion valve based on the teachings of Okazaki in order to improve efficiency of the heat pump and HVAC system by utilizing high temperature and pressure refrigerant for heating, cooling, defrosting and other operations and by improving heat capacity of each component within the refrigerant circuit of the heat pump of the HVAC system.
Claim(s) 3-4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haack in view of Yamada as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Okazaki (US 2012/0180510 A1).
In regards to claim 3, Haack as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches a heat pump system (see refrigeration and air circulation system, figs. 1-8) comprising: a heating expansion valve (valve 32) fluidly connected in the circuit downstream of the indoor heat exchanger (valve 32 on bypass 31 downstream of heat exchanger 12, see fig. 4) in a heating mode (while providing heating through condenser 14), the heating expansion valve configured to reduce a pressure of the refrigerant flowing therethrough (expansion valve 32, inherently reduces pressure of refrigerant flowing therethrough, fig. 4).
However, Haack does not explicitly teach a reversing valve configured to reverse the flow of the refrigerant to change between the heating mode and the cooling mode, wherein in the heating mode, the first bypass is connected downstream of the indoor heat exchanger and upstream of an expansion valve.
Okazaki teaches a heat pump system (heat pump 100, see figs. 1-8 and paragraph 110) comprising: a heating expansion valve (heating expansion valves 12, 13, see figs. 8, 11) fluidly connected in the circuit downstream of the indoor heat exchanger (valves 12, 13 downstream of indoor heat exchanger 3, see fig. 8) in a heating mode (heat exchanger 3 used as a condenser, see paragraph 85 and figs. 8, 11), the heating expansion valve configured to reduce a pressure of the refrigerant flowing therethrough (heating expansion valves 12, 13 inherently reduce pressure of the refrigerant, see paragraphs 33-34, 59, 70 and fig. 8); and a reversing valve (four-way valve 7) configured to reverse the flow of the refrigerant to change between the heating mode and the cooling mode (see refrigerant flow reversal by valve 7, producing heating and cooling modes, figs. 7-8, 11), wherein in the heating mode, the first location (junction points 21, 23) is downstream of the indoor heat exchanger (21, 23, downstream of HX 3) and upstream of the heating expansion valve (21, 23 upstream of heating expansion valves 13, 12, respectively, see figs. 8, 11).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the HVAC system of Haack by providing a heating expansion valve fluidly connected in the circuit downstream of the indoor heat exchanger in a heating mode, the heating expansion valve configured to reduce a pressure of the refrigerant flowing therethrough; and a reversing valve configured to reverse the flow of the refrigerant to change between the heating mode and the cooling mode, wherein in the heating mode, the first location is downstream of the indoor heat exchanger and upstream of the heating expansion valve based on the teachings of Okazaki in order to improve efficiency of the heat pump and HVAC system by utilizing high temperature and pressure refrigerant for heating, cooling, defrosting and other operations and by improving heat capacity of each component within the refrigerant circuit of the heat pump of the HVAC system.
In regards to claim 4, Haack as modified teaches the limitations of claim 3 and Okazaki further teaches a second bypass line (bypass line containing expansion valve 14, see figs. 1-8) fluidly connecting the circuit (see figs. 1-8) from a third location (junction point 22) downstream of the indoor heat exchanger (22 downstream of HX 3, see fig. 8) and upstream of the heating expansion valve (22 upstream of heating expansion valves 12, 13, see fig. 8) to a fourth location (see junctions 5B, 5C, fig. 8) downstream of the outdoor heat exchanger (5B, 5C downstream of HX 2) and upstream of the compressor (junctions 5B, 5C upstream of compressor 1, see fig. 8), in the heating mode (see figs. 8, 11).
In regards to claim 4, Haack as modified teaches the limitations of claim 3 and Okazaki further teaches a second bypass line (bypass line 103, containing expansion valve 12, see figs. 1-11) fluidly connecting the circuit (see figs. 1-11) from a third location (junction point 23) downstream of the indoor heat exchanger (23 downstream of HX 3, see figs. 8, 11) and upstream of the heating expansion valve (23 upstream of heating expansion valve 13, see figs. 8, 11) to a fourth location (25, see figs. 8, 11) downstream of the outdoor heat exchanger (25 downstream of HX 2) and upstream of the compressor (25 upstream of compressor discharge port 1B, see figs. 8, 11), in the heating mode (see paragraphs 85 and figs. 8, 11).
In regards to claim 6, Haack as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses a heat pump system (see cooling device with air conditioning, figs. 1-8) wherein the cooling expansion valve (valve 15) comprises a bi-flow expansion valve further configured to also reduce a pressure of the refrigerant flowing therethrough (expansion valve 15 configured to reduce pressure of refrigerant flowing through it from side 17 to side 18 or from side 18 to side 17, see paragraphs 44-46 and figs. 1-8). In addition, Okazaki further discloses a heat pump system (see heat pump 100, figs. 1-8, 11) wherein the cooling expansion valve (expansion valves 11, 12, 13, 14) comprises a bi-flow expansion valve further configured to also reduce a pressure of the refrigerant flowing therethrough in a heating mode (expansion valves 11, 12, 13, 14 are configured to reduce pressure of refrigerant flowing through the valves, see figs. 1-8 and 11), the system further comprising: a reversing valve (four-way valve 7) configured to reverse the flow of the refrigerant to change between the heating mode and the cooling mode (see refrigerant flow reversal by valve 7, producing heating and cooling modes, paragraph 85 and figs. 7-8, 11), wherein in the heating mode, the first location (junction point 21, 23) is downstream of the indoor heat exchanger (21, 23, downstream of HX 3) and upstream of the heating expansion valve (21, 23 upstream of heating expansion valve 13, see figs. 8, 11); and a second bypass line (bypass line containing expansion valve 14, see figs. 1-8) fluidly connecting the circuit (see figs. 1-8) from a third location (junction point 22) downstream of the indoor heat exchanger (22 downstream of HX 3, see fig. 8) and upstream of the bi-flow expansion valve (22 upstream of heating expansion valves 11, 12, 13, see fig. 8) to a fourth location (see junctions 5B, 5C, fig. 8) downstream of the outdoor heat exchanger (5B, 5C downstream of HX 2) and upstream of the compressor (junctions 5B, 5C upstream of compressor 1 and compressor inlet 1A, see figs. 8, 11), in the heating mode (see paragraph 85 and figs. 8, 11).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the HVAC system of Haack by providing a heating expansion valve fluidly connected in the circuit downstream of the indoor heat exchanger in a heating mode, the heating expansion valve configured to reduce a pressure of the refrigerant flowing therethrough; and a reversing valve configured to reverse the flow of the refrigerant to change between the heating mode and the cooling mode, wherein in the heating mode, the first location is downstream of the indoor heat exchanger and upstream of the heating expansion valve based on the teachings of Okazaki in order to improve efficiency of the heat pump and HVAC system by utilizing high temperature and pressure refrigerant for heating, cooling, defrosting and other operations and by improving heat capacity of each component within the refrigerant circuit of the heat pump of the HVAC system.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haack in view of in view of Yamada and Okazaki as applied to claim 3 above and further in view of Koizumi (JP 2000274892 A).
In regards to claim 5, Haack as modified teaches limitations of claim 3 except that the first bypass line comprises a device selected from the group consisting of a restriction, a flexible restriction, a check valve, an adjustable check valve, an ON/OFF solenoid valve, a stepper motor solenoid valve, a pulse width modulation (PWM) solenoid valve, a mechanical valve adjustable by a temperature bulb, and a mechanical valve adjustable by a pressure tap.
However, Koizumi teaches a first bypass line (7b) and an ON/OFF solenoid valve (solenoid valve 9c, see fig. 1) disposed on the first bypass line (valve 9c on bypass line 7b, see fig. 1).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first bypass line of the HVAC system of Haack as modified by providing an ON/OFF solenoid valve on the first bypass line as taught by Koizumi on the first bypass line of the HVAC system of Haack for the advantage of fast response time and precise control by solenoid valve.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haack in view of Yamada as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Hellein (US 2022/0349854 A1).
In regards to claim 7, Haack as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 except a flexible material comprising a variable diameter based on a pressure differential outdoor across the first bypass line.
However, Hellein discloses a bypass line (bypass 3) comprising a flexible material (thermoplastic material, PTFE-polytetrafluoroethylene, see paragraph 38) comprising a variable diameter based on a pressure differential outdoor across the first bypass line (thermoplastic material made of PTFE would inherently have variable diameter based on pressure across the bypass line).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first bypass line of the HVAC system of Haack by providing a flexible material such as PTFE comprising a variable diameter based on a pressure differential outdoor across the first bypass line as taught by Hellein for the advantage of thermal stability, durability, low friction material and excellent thermal insulation and corrosive resistant properties.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haack in view of Yamada as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Grogan (US 2,923,307 A).
In regards to claim 8, Haack as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 except a restriction on the bypass line.
However, Grogan discloses fluid flow lines and bypass lines (pipes 30, 57, 59 and bypass lines, see fig. 1) comprising a flow restriction (restrictions R1, R2, and R3 on pipes and bypass passages, see fig. 1; col. 3, lines 40-55; and col. 4, line 60 – col. 5, line 7).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first bypass line of the HVAC system of Haack by providing a flow restriction as taught by Grogan for the advantage limiting the refrigerant bypassing the evaporator and the expansion valve to allow controlled pressure and/or temperature reduction in the refrigeration system of the HVAC system to maintain efficiency of the refrigeration system.
Claim(s) 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haack in view of Yamada as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Preece (US 2020/0398358 A1).
In regards to claims 9 and 10, Haack as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches a valve (25) on the first bypass line (24, see figs. 1-2); however, Haack does not explicitly teach a check valve biased by a spring, wherein a pressure differential across the check valve opens the check valve to allow refrigerant to flow through the first bypass line.
However, Preece discloses a check valve (check valve, see paragraph 80) biased by a spring (spring check valve, see paragraph 81), which is an adjustable check valve (sprig check valve operated based on pressure difference, see paragraph 81); wherein a pressure differential across the check valve opens the check valve to allow fluid to flow through the line (sprig check valve operated based on pressure difference, see paragraph 81).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first bypass line of the HVAC system of Haack by providing a check valve biased by a spring, which is an adjustable check valve; wherein a pressure differential across the check valve opens the check valve to allow fluid to flow through the line as taught by Preece for the advantage providing one directional flow while preventing backflow and controlling the amount of flow through the first bypass line by setting specific operating pressure limits for the check valve.
Claim(s) 11, 13 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haack in view of Yamada as applied to claims 1 and 14 above and further in view of Ludwig (US 2006/0042282 A1).
In regards to claims 11 and 17, Haack as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the compressor downstream position (outlet of compressor 13) comprises a discharge line of the compressor (see refrigerant supply line between the compressor 13 and condenser 14, figs. 1-8), a de-superheating portion of the outdoor heat exchanger, or a two-phase region of the outdoor heat exchanger (these are alternative limitations); combining the second portion of the refrigerant from the indoor heat exchanger with the first portion of the refrigerant from the first bypass line at a second location downstream of the indoor heat exchanger and upstream of a compressor (refrigerant flowing in bypass 24 is combined with refrigerant from indoor heat exchanger 12 at a second location within conduit 23 and upstream of the compressor 13, see figs. 1-7 and paragraphs 46, 48-49), in the cooling mode to form a combined refrigerant (see figs. 1-7); compressing the combined refrigerant with the compressor (13) of the HVAC system to maintain compressor discharge temperature within an operating envelope (refrigerant bypassing expansion valve 15 and heat exchanger 12 and being supplied to conduit 23, does not acquire heat at the evaporator heat exchanger 12, which lowers the temperature of the suction side of the compressor and in turn maintains the compressor discharge temperature within an operating range/envelope, see paragraph 14 and figs. 1, 3-8; Also see temperature of the refrigerant at the compressor discharge, figs. 1-7); and
controlling an amount of first portion of the refrigerant flowing through the first bypass line (refrigerant passing through first bypass line 24 is controlled by operation of valve 25) based on at least one of compressor discharge pressure or compressor discharge temperature (valve 25 is capable of controlling the amount of refrigerant passing through first bypass line 24 based on controlling compressor suction pressure and temperature, see paragraph 46, 48, wherein controlling the compressor suction pressure and temperature affects the compressor discharge pressure and temperature).
However, Haack does not explicitly teach a temperature sensor downstream of the compressor and a solenoid valve controllable based on the temperature of the refrigerant as measured by the temperature sensor.
Ludwig teaches a temperature sensor (109) downstream of the compressor (temperature sensor 109 configured to measure compressor discharge temperature, see paragraph 19) and wherein the first bypass line comprises a solenoid valve (PWM solenoid valve 105, see fig. 1 and claim 5) restricting and controlling the flow of refrigerant based on the temperature of the refrigerant as measured by the temperature sensor (valve 105 controlled based on compressor discharge superheat, which is calculated based on discharge temperature sensed by temperature sensor 109, see paragraphs 19-20 and figs. 2-3) and wherein the compressor downstream position comprises a discharge line of the compressor (see compressor discharge line 26, fig. 1).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first bypass line and the HVAC system of Haack by providing a temperature sensor downstream of the compressor and wherein the first bypass line comprises a solenoid valve restricting and controlling the refrigerant flow based on the temperature of the refrigerant as measured by the temperature sensor and wherein the compressor downstream position comprises a discharge line of the compressor, a de-superheating portion of the outdoor heat exchanger, or a two-phase region of the outdoor heat exchanger as taught by Ludwig in order to inject refrigerant into the suction port of the compressor to maximize heat output of the system during heating operation in an optimum way (see paragraph 20, Ludwig).
In regards to claim 13, Haack as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the compressor downstream position (outlet of compressor 13) comprises a discharge line of the compressor (see refrigerant supply line between the compressor 13 and condenser 14, figs. 1-8), a de-superheating portion of the outdoor heat exchanger, or a two-phase region of the outdoor heat exchanger (these are alternative limitations).
Haack does not explicitly teach a pressure tap connected to an output line of the compressor at a position downstream of the compressor and wherein the first bypass line comprises a mechanical valve connected to the pressure tap and operable by pressure of the refrigerant communicated from the pressure tap.
However, Ludwig teaches a pressure tap (pressure transducer 107) connected to an output line of the compressor at a position downstream of the compressor (pressure sensor 107 at compressor discharge 26, downstream of compressor 14, see fig. 1) and wherein the first bypass line comprises a mechanical valve (valve 105) connected to the pressure tap (via controller 100) and operable by pressure of the refrigerant communicated from the pressure tap (valve 105 controlled based on compressor discharge superheat, which is calculated based on discharge pressure sensed by pressure sensor 107, see paragraphs 19-20 and figs. 2-3) and wherein the compressor downstream position comprises a discharge line of the compressor (see compressor discharge line 26, fig. 1).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first bypass line and the HVAC system of Haack by providing a pressure tap connected to an output line of the compressor at a position downstream of the compressor and the first bypass line comprises a mechanical valve connected to the pressure tap and operable by pressure of the refrigerant communicated from the pressure tap based on the teachings of Ludwig in order to inject refrigerant into the suction port of the compressor to maximize heat output of the system during heating operation in an optimum way (see paragraph 20, Ludwig).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haack in view of Yamada as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Ludwig (US 2006/0042282 A1) and in view of Weyna (US 2011/0132007 A1).
In regards to claim 12, Haack as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 except a temperature bulb connected to an output line of the compressor and wherein the first bypass line comprises a mechanical valve operable by the temperature bulb depending on the discharge temperature of the refrigerant discharged from the compressor.
However, Ludwig teaches a temperature sensor (109) downstream of the compressor (temperature sensor 109 configured to measure compressor discharge temperature, see paragraph 19) and wherein the first bypass line comprises a solenoid valve (PWM solenoid valve 105, see fig. 1 and claim 5) controllable based on the temperature of the refrigerant as measured by the temperature sensor (valve 105 controlled based on compressor discharge superheat, which is calculated based on discharge temperature sensed by temperature sensor 109, see paragraphs 19-20 and figs. 2-3) and wherein the compressor downstream position comprises a discharge line of the compressor (see compressor discharge line 26, fig. 1).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first bypass line and the HVAC system of Haack by providing a temperature sensor downstream of the compressor and wherein the first bypass line comprises a solenoid valve controllable based on the temperature of the refrigerant as measured by the temperature sensor and wherein the compressor downstream position comprises a discharge line of the compressor, a de-superheating portion of the outdoor heat exchanger, or a two-phase region of the outdoor heat exchanger as taught by Ludwig in order to inject refrigerant into the suction port of the compressor to maximize heat output of the system during heating operation in an optimum way (see paragraph 20, Ludwig).
Haack does not explicitly teach a temperature bulb connected to refrigerant line and the valve being a mechanical valve.
However, Weyna teaches a temperature bulb (temperature sensing bulb 164) connected to a refrigerant line of the compressor (see fig. 2 and paragraph 23) and wherein the first bypass line comprises a mechanical valve (valve 162 on bypass line 158, see fig. 2) operable by the temperature bulb depending on the temperature of the refrigerant at the compressor (see paragraph 23).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first bypass line, compressor discharge, and the HVAC system of Haack as modified by providing a temperature bulb at the compressor discharge, and a mechanical valve on the first bypass line in the HVAC system of Haack based on the teachings of Weyna to connect the temperature bulb to a refrigerant line of the compressor and to operate a mechanical valve on the first bypass line by the temperature bulb depending on the temperature of the refrigerant from the compressor in order to control the amount and temperature of injected refrigerant into the suction port of the compressor to efficiently control the discharge temperature of the compressor that maintains heat output of the compressor.
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haack in view of Yamada as applied to claim 14 above and further in view of Okazaki (US 2012/0180510 A1).
In regards to claim 18, Haack as modified teaches the limitations of claim 14 and further teaches separating the high-pressure refrigerant at the first location (at the location between HX 14 and expansion valve 15 on high pressure side 17, see fig. 1) such that a first portion of the refrigerant flows through the first bypass line (portion of the refrigerant flowing through conduit 24, see fig. 1) and a second portion of the refrigerant flows to a heating expansion valve (refrigerant flowing through heating expansion valve 32, see fig. 4) fluidly connected downstream of the indoor heat exchanger (expansion valve 32 downstream of HX 12), when the HVAC system is in the heating mode (this is a contingent limitation in a method claim, see MPEP 2111.04; however, Haack teaches providing heating through condenser 14); and reducing a pressure of the second portion of the refrigerant flowing through the heating expansion valve to a low-pressure refrigerant (valve 32 on bypass 31 downstream of heat exchanger 12, see fig. 4; wherein the expansion valve 32, inherently reduces pressure of refrigerant flowing therethrough, fig. 4);
compressing the combined refrigerant with the compressor (13) of the HVAC system to maintain compressor discharge temperature within an operating envelope (refrigerant bypassing expansion valve 15 and heat exchanger 12 and being supplied to conduit 23, does not acquire heat at the evaporator heat exchanger 12, which lowers the temperature of the suction side of the compressor and in turn maintains the compressor discharge temperature within an operating range/envelope, see paragraph 14 and figs. 1, 3-8; Also see temperature of the refrigerant at the compressor discharge, figs. 1-7); and
controlling an amount of first portion of the refrigerant flowing through the first bypass line (refrigerant passing through first bypass line 24 is controlled by operation of valve 25) based on at least one of the compressor discharge pressure or compressor discharge temperature (valve 25 is capable of controlling the amount of refrigerant passing through first bypass line 24 based on controlling compressor suction pressure and temperature, see paragraph 46, 48, wherein controlling the compressor suction pressure and temperature affects the compressor discharge pressure and temperature).
However, Haack does not explicitly teach a reversing the flow of refrigerant, in a heating mode with a reversing valve; condensing refrigerant in indoor heat exchanger; the first location is downstream of the indoor heat exchanger and upstream of the heating expansion valve; evaporating second portion of the refrigerant in the outdoor heat exchanger; and combining output of the first bypass line and an output of the outdoor heat exchanger.
Okazaki teaches a heat pump system (heat pump 100, see figs. 1-8 and paragraph 110) comprising: a heating expansion valve (heating expansion valve 11, in a heating mode, see fig. 8) fluidly connected in the circuit downstream of the indoor heat exchanger (valve 11 downstream of indoor heat exchanger 3, see fig. 8) in a heating mode (see figs. 8, 11), the heating expansion valve configured to reduce a pressure of the refrigerant flowing therethrough (heating expansion valve 11 inherently reduces pressure of the refrigerant, see paragraphs 33, 59, 70 and fig. 8); a reversing valve (four-way valve 7) configured to reverse the flow of the refrigerant to change between the heating mode and the cooling mode (see refrigerant flow reversal by valve 7, producing heating and cooling modes, figs. 7-8), wherein in the heating mode, condensing high-pressure refrigerant in the indoor heat exchanger of the HVAC system (condensing high-pressure refrigerant from compressor 1 in the indoor heat exchanger 3, see fig. 8);
separating the high-pressure refrigerant at the first location (at the junctions 21, 23, separating refrigerant in circuit 102, see figs. 8, 11) such that a first portion of the refrigerant flows through the first bypass line (portion of the refrigerant flowing through conduit containing valve 13, see figs. 8, 11) and a second portion of the refrigerant flows to a heating expansion valve (refrigerant flowing through heating expansion valves 12, 11, see figs. 8, 11) fluidly connected downstream of the indoor heat exchanger (expansion valves 11, 12 downstream of HX 3), when the HVAC system is in the heating mode (this is a contingent limitation in a method claim, see MPEP 2111.04; however, Okazaki teaches using indoor heat exchanger 3 as a condenser); and reducing a pressure of the second portion of the refrigerant flowing through the heating expansion valve to a low-pressure refrigerant (expansion valves 11, 12 inherently reducing pressure of the refrigerant, see figs. 8, 11), wherein the first location (junction point 22) is downstream of the indoor heat exchanger (22 downstream of HX 3) and upstream of the heating expansion valve (22 upstream of heating expansion valve 11, see fig. 8);
reducing a pressure of the second portion of the refrigerant flowing through the heating expansion valve to a low-pressure refrigerant (expansion valves 11, 12 inherently reducing pressure of the refrigerant, see figs. 8, 11 and paragraphs 33-35);
evaporating the second portion of the refrigerant in the outdoor heat exchanger (evaporating second portion of the refrigerant in outdoor heat exchangers 6, 2, see figs. 8, 11 and paragraphs 36);
combining in the heating mode, an output of the first bypass line (portion of the refrigerant flowing through conduit containing valve 13, see figs. 8, 11) and an output of the outdoor heat exchanger upstream of the compressor at the second location (portion of the refrigerant flowing out from outdoor heat exchangers 2, 6 combining with refrigerant at device 4 and before compressor outlet, see figs. 8, 11); compressing the combined refrigerant with the compressor (compressing refrigerant combined through device 5 and through conduit 103 to output compressed refrigerant through compressor discharge 1B, see figs. 1-8 and 11); and lowering the discharge temperature of the compressor with the combined refrigerant as compared to not flowing the refrigerant through the first bypass line (refrigerant injection through bypass, does not acquire heat at the evaporator heat exchanger 2, 3, which lowers the temperature of the suction side of the compressor and in turn lowers the compressor discharge temperature).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of operating HVAC system of Haack by reversing the flow of the refrigerant, in a heating mode, with a reversing valve; condensing high-pressure refrigerant in the indoor heat exchanger of the HVAC system in the heating mode; wherein in the heating mode, the first location is downstream of the indoor heat exchanger and upstream of the heating expansion valve; reducing a pressure of the second portion of the refrigerant flowing through the heating expansion valve to a low-pressure refrigerant; evaporating the second portion of the refrigerant in the outdoor heat exchanger; combining in the heating mode, an output of the first bypass line and an output of the outdoor heat exchanger upstream of the compressor at the second location; compressing the combined refrigerant with the compressor; and lowering the discharge temperature of the compressor with the combined refrigerant as compared to not flowing the refrigerant through the first bypass line based on the teachings of Okazaki in order to improve efficiency of the heat pump and HVAC system by utilizing high temperature and pressure refrigerant for heating, cooling, defrosting and other operations and by improving heat capacity of each component within the refrigerant circuit of the heat pump of the HVAC system.
In regards to claim 19, Haack as modified teaches the limitations of claim 14 and further teaches separating the high-pressure refrigerant at third location (at the location between HX 12 and expansion valve 32 on bypass 31, see fig. 4) downstream of the indoor heat exchanger (downstream of HX 12) and upstream of a heating expansion valve (upstream of expansion valve 32) such that a first portion of the refrigerant flows through a second bypass line (through device 20, see fig. 4) and a second portion flows to the heating expansion valve (through bypass line 31 and expansion valve 32, see fig. 4) fluidly connected downstream of the indoor heat exchanger (downstream of HX 12), when the HVAC system is in the heating mode (this is a contingent limitation in a method claim, see MPEP 2111.04; however, Haack teaches providing heating through condenser 14); and reducing a pressure of the second portion of the refrigerant flowing through the heating expansion valve to a low-pressure refrigerant (valve 32 on bypass 31 downstream of heat exchanger 12, see fig. 4; wherein the expansion valve 32, inherently reduces pressure of refrigerant flowing therethrough, fig. 4);
compressing the combined refrigerant with the compressor (13) of the HVAC system to maintain compressor discharge temperature within an operating envelope (refrigerant bypassing expansion valve 15 and heat exchanger 12 and being supplied to conduit 23, does not acquire heat at the evaporator heat exchanger 12, which lowers the temperature of the suction side of the compressor and in turn maintains the compressor discharge temperature within an operating range/envelope, see paragraph 14 and figs. 1, 3-8; Also see temperature of the refrigerant at the compressor discharge, figs. 1-7); and
controlling an amount of first portion of the refrigerant flowing through the first bypass line (refrigerant passing through first bypass line 24 is controlled by operation of valve 25) based on at least one of compressor discharge pressure or compressor discharge temperature (valve 25 is capable of controlling the amount of refrigerant passing through first bypass line 24 based on controlling compressor suction pressure and temperature, see paragraph 46, 48, wherein controlling the compressor suction pressure and temperature affects the compressor discharge pressure and temperature).
However, Haack does not explicitly teach a reversing the flow of refrigerant, in a heating mode with a reversing valve; condensing refrigerant in indoor heat exchanger; evaporating second portion of the refrigerant in the outdoor heat exchanger; and combining output of the first bypass line and an output of the outdoor heat exchanger.
Okazaki teaches a heat pump system (heat pump 100, see figs. 1-8 and paragraph 110) comprising: a heating expansion valve (heating expansion valve 11, in a heating mode, see fig. 8) fluidly connected in the circuit downstream of the indoor heat exchanger (valve 11 downstream of indoor heat exchanger 3, see fig. 8) in a heating mode (see figs. 8, 11), the heating expansion valve configured to reduce a pressure of the refrigerant flowing therethrough (heating expansion valve 11 inherently reduces pressure of the refrigerant, see paragraphs 33, 59, 70 and fig. 8); a reversing valve (four-way valve 7) configured to reverse the flow of the refrigerant to change between the heating mode and the cooling mode (see refrigerant flow reversal by valve 7, producing heating and cooling modes, figs. 7-8), wherein in the heating mode, condensing high-pressure refrigerant in the indoor heat exchanger of the HVAC system (condensing high-pressure refrigerant from compressor 1 in the indoor heat exchanger 3, see fig. 8);
separating the high-pressure refrigerant at a third location (at the junctions 21, 22, 23, separating refrigerant in circuit 102, see figs. 8, 11) downstream of the indoor heat exchanger (downstream of HX 3, see fig. 8, 11) and upstream of a heating expansion valve (junctions 21, 22, 23 upstream of expansion valves 11, 12, 13 respectively, see figs. 8 and 11) such that a first portion of the refrigerant flows through a second bypass line (portion of the refrigerant flowing through conduit containing valve 13, see figs. 8, 11) and a second portion of the refrigerant flows to a heating expansion valve (refrigerant flowing through heating expansion valves 12, 11, see figs. 8, 11) fluidly connected downstream of the indoor heat exchanger (expansion valves 11, 12 downstream of HX 3), when the HVAC system is in the heating mode (this is a contingent limitation in a method claim, see MPEP 2111.04; however, Okazaki teaches using indoor heat exchanger 3 as a condenser); and reducing a pressure of the second portion of the refrigerant flowing through the heating expansion valve to a low-pressure refrigerant (expansion valves 11, 12 inherently reducing pressure of the refrigerant, see figs. 8, 11), wherein the first location (junction point 22) is downstream of the indoor heat exchanger (22 downstream of HX 3) and upstream of the heating expansion valve (22 upstream of heating expansion valve 11, see fig. 8);
reducing a pressure of the second portion of the refrigerant flowing through the heating expansion valve to a low-pressure refrigerant (expansion valves 11, 12 inherently reducing pressure of the refrigerant, see figs. 8, 11 and paragraphs 33-35);
evaporating the second portion of the refrigerant in the outdoor heat exchanger (evaporating second portion of the refrigerant in outdoor heat exchangers 6, 2, see figs. 8, 11 and paragraphs 36);
combining in the heating mode, an output of the second bypass line (portion of the refrigerant flowing through conduit containing valve 13, see figs. 8, 11) and an output of the outdoor heat exchanger upstream of the compressor at a fourth location (portion of the refrigerant flowing out from outdoor heat exchangers 2, 6 combining with refrigerant at device 4 and before compressor outlet, see figs. 8, 11); compressing the combined refrigerant with the compressor (compressing refrigerant combined through device 5 and through conduit 103 to output compressed refrigerant through compressor discharge 1B, see figs. 1-8 and 11); and lowering the discharge temperature of the compressor with the combined refrigerant as compared to not flowing the refrigerant through the second bypass line (refrigerant injection through bypass, does not acquire heat at the evaporator heat exchanger 2, 3, which lowers the temperature of the suction side of the compressor and in turn lowers the compressor discharge temperature).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of operating HVAC system of Haack by reversing the flow of the refrigerant, in a heating mode, with a reversing valve; condensing high-pressure refrigerant in the indoor heat exchanger of the HVAC system in the heating mode; wherein in the heating mode, the third location is downstream of the indoor heat exchanger and upstream of the heating expansion valve; reducing a pressure of the second portion of the refrigerant flowing through the heating expansion valve to a low-pressure refrigerant; evaporating the second portion of the refrigerant in the outdoor heat exchanger; combining in the heating mode, an output of the second bypass line and an output of the outdoor heat exchanger upstream of the compressor at a fourth location; compressing the combined refrigerant with the compressor; and lowering the discharge temperature of the compressor with the combined refrigerant as compared to not flowing the refrigerant through the second bypass line based on the teachings of Okazaki in order to improve efficiency of the heat pump and HVAC system by utilizing high temperature and pressure refrigerant for heating, cooling, defrosting and other operations and by improving heat capacity of each component within the refrigerant circuit of the heat pump of the HVAC system.
In regards to claim 20, Haack as modified teaches the limitations of claim 19 and further teaches tuning the second bypass line to specific compressor operating conditions (bypass 103 and bypass containing device 4 designed to inject refrigerant at varying conditions at different compressor operating stages, see figs. 8, 11 and paragraphs 32-36).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 1-3 of Remarks, filed 04/14/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 14-16 under 35 USC 102 over Haack reference have been fully considered and are persuasive with respect to the amended language of claims filed on 04/14/2026. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Haack in view of Yamada.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 13-17 of Remarks, filed 04/14/2026, with respect to Alternative Interpretation and Rejection of claims 14 and 17-20 over Haack in view of Ludwig have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC 103, obviousness rejection over Haack in view of Ludwig of claims 14 and 17-20 has been withdrawn.
Conclusion
/MERAJ A SHAIKH/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JIANYING C ATKISSON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763