Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention, on specified in the claims. Therefore, DC port in claims 1, 10, 11, 13, 22, 23, 25, 34, 35, the voltage detection circuit in claim 1 and claim 13 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
3.The use of the term USB type-c specification page 1 and page 9, which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Objections
4. Claims 14, 25, 29 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 14, line 1, “The jump starter device of claim 1” should be – The jump starter device of claim 13—
Claim 25, line 4 , “detect a voltage” should be – detecting a voltage--
Claim 29, line 1, “The method of claim 29” should be – The method of claim 27--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5.Claims 12, 24, 10, 22, 34, and 4, 9, 16, 21, 28, 33, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the safety switch" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear claim 12 should depend on claim 11, so that the safety switch will have antecedent basis or claim 12 should depend on claim 1 and should be modified as “a safety switch.” For examination purpose, “the safety switch” in claim 12 is interpretated as “a safety switch.”
Claim 24 recites the limitation “the safety switch" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear claim 23 should depend on claim 11, so that the safety switch will have antecedent basis or claim 12 should depend on claim 13 and should be modified as “a safety switch.” For examination purpose, “the safety switch” in claim 24 is interpretated as “ a safety switch.”
Claim 10, claim 22, claim 34 recites “prevent charging of the internal battery from the DC port if the DC port is connected to the vehicle battery with an incorrect polarity.” It is unclear how could DC port is connected to the vehicle battery with an incorrect polarity, since DC port is (fixed) part of vehicle and always connects to the vehicle battery the same way. For examination purpose, the limitation has been interpretated as “prevent charging of the internal battery from the DC port if the USB connector is connected to the vehicle battery with an incorrect polarity.
The term “low power charging mode” in claims 4, 9, 16, 21, 28, 33 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “low power” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For examination purpose, the low power charging mode has been interpretated charging mode at any power level.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1, 4, 6,9-11, 13,16, 18, 21-23, 25, 28, 30,33-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nook (WO2016003471A1) in view of Chen (CN-206442135-U)
With regard to claim 1, Nook teaches a battery charging system for charging an internal battery (e.g., 32, Fig. 1)of a jump starter device ( a handheld device for jump starting a vehicle engine, abstract, Fig. 1), comprising:
a universal serial bus (USB) connector ( 52, Fig. 1) for receiving power from a direct-current (DC) port of a vehicle (output from 72 is DC, Fig. 1) ;
and
a USB driver ( e.g., 1, Fig. 1) configured to control charging power from the USB connector (52, Fig. 1) to the internal battery ( 32, Fig. 1) of the jump starter device
Nook does not explicitly teach a voltage detection circuit configured to detect a voltage of a vehicle battery and a USB driver configured to control charging power to the internal battery of the jump starter device based on based at least in part on the detected voltage of the vehicle battery.
However, Chen teaches a voltage detection circuit (2. Fig. 1) configured to detect a voltage of a vehicle battery ( [0033] of translation, car power supply/battery is connected to 1 and 2 detects the input voltage ) and a USB driver (5, Fig. 1) configured to control charging power to the internal battery of the jump starter device based on based at least in part on the detected voltage of the vehicle battery( [0033] based on the detected voltage ( of the car power supply/battery), send normal control signal or abnormal control signal to control the current to the USB output port, and Nook teaches about control charging power from the USB connector to the internal battery of the jump starter device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery charging system of Nook, to configure the USB driver configured to control charging power to the internal battery of the jump starter device based on based at least in part on the detected voltage of the vehicle battery, as taught by Chen, in order to automatically control the output current based on the input voltage[0016]
With regard to claim 4, the combination of Nook and Chen teaches all the limitations of claim 1, Chen further teaches the USB driver enables a low power charging mode when the detected voltage of the vehicle battery is below a minimum threshold voltage level. ( detected voltage too low, below the normal range[0033]. it will automatically switch to the output low current mode)
With regard to claim 6, the combination of Nook and Chen teaches all the limitations of claim 1, Nook further teaches a temperature detection circuit (e.g., 20, Fig. 1) configured to detect a temperature of the internal battery of the jump starter device;
wherein the USB driver is configured to control charging power from the USB connector to the internal battery of the jump starter device based at least in part of the detected voltage of the vehicle battery and the detected temperature of the internal battery ( [0033] of Chen also teaches 0033] based on the detected voltage ( of the car power supply/battery), send normal control signal or abnormal control signal to control the current to the USB output port, page 6 last para and page 7 first para of Nook teaches A lithium battery temperature sensor 20 monitors the temperature of the lithium battery pack 32 to detect overheating due to high ambient temperature conditions and overextended current draw during jump starting.)
With regard to claim 9, the combination of Nook and Chen teaches all the limitations of claim 6, Chen further teaches the USB driver enable a low power charging mode when the detected voltage of the vehicle battery is below the minimum threshold voltage level (detected voltage too low, below the normal range, automatically switch to output low current mode[0033])or the detected temperature of the internal battery is above the maximum threshold temperature level.
With regard to claim 10, the combination of Nook and Chen teaches all the limitations of claim 1, Nook further teaches that a reverse polarity detection circuit that is used by the battery charging system to prevent charging of the internal battery from the DC port if the DC port is connected to the vehicle battery with an incorrect polarity (page 6 of Nook, last 2 paras. A car battery reverse sensor 10 monitors the polarity of the vehicle battery 72 when the handheld battery booster device is connected to the vehicle's electric system. As explained below, the booster device prevents the lithium battery pack from being connected to the vehicle battery 72 when the terminals of the battery 72 are connected to the wrong terminals of the booster device.)
With regard to claim 11, the combination of Nook and Chen teaches all the limitations of claim 1, Nook further teaches a safety switch that prevents charging of the internal battery from the DC port ( page 6 of Nook, last para) (A smart switch FET circuit 15 electrically switches the handheld battery booster lithium battery to the vehicle's electric system only when the vehicle battery is determined by the MCU 1) to be present (in response to a detection signal provided by isolation sensor 12) and connected with the correct polarity (in response to a detection signal provided by reverse sensor 10).
With regard to claim 13, Nook teaches a jump starter device (see abstract, A handheld device for jump starting a vehicle engine), comprising:
an internal battery (e.g., 32, Fig. 1);
a universal serial bus (USB) connector (e.g., 52, Fig. 1) for receiving power from a direct-current (DC) port of a vehicle (output of 72, Fig. 1);
a USB driver (e.g., 1, Fig. 1) configured to control charging power from the USB connector (e.g., 52, Fig. 1) to the internal battery ( e.g., 32, Fig. 1).
Nook does not explicitly teach a voltage detection circuit configured to detect a voltage of a vehicle battery and a USB driver configured to control charging power to the internal battery of the jump starter device based on based at least in part on the detected voltage of the vehicle battery.
However, Chen teaches a voltage detection circuit (2. Fig. 1) configured to detect a voltage of a vehicle battery ( [0033] of translation, car power supply/battery is connected to 1 and 2 detects the input voltage ) and a USB driver (5, Fig. 1) configured to control charging power to the internal battery of the jump starter device based on based at least in part on the detected voltage of the vehicle battery( [0033] based on the detected voltage ( of the car power supply/battery), send normal control signal or abnormal control signal to control the current to the USB output port, and Nook teaches about control charging power from the USB connector to the internal battery of the jump starter device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery charging system of Nook, to configure the USB driver configured to control charging power to the internal battery of the jump starter device based on based at least in part on the detected voltage of the vehicle battery, as taught by Chen, in order to automatically control the output current based on the input voltage[0016]
With regard to claim 16, the combination of Nook and Chen teaches all the limitations of claim 13, Chen further teaches the USB driver enables a low power charging mode when the detected voltage of the vehicle battery is below a minimum threshold voltage level( detected voltage too low, below the normal range[0033]. it will automatically switch to the output low current mode)
With regard to claim 18, the combination of Nook and Chen teaches all the limitations of claim 13, Nook further teaches a temperature detection circuit ( e.g., 20, Fig. 1) configured to detect a temperature of the internal battery ( 32, Fig. 1);
wherein the USB driver is configured to control charging power from the USB connector to the internal battery based at least in part of the detected voltage of the vehicle battery and the detected temperature of the internal battery([0033] of Chen also teaches 0033] based on the detected voltage ( of the car power supply/battery), send normal control signal or abnormal control signal to control the current to the USB output port, page 6 last para and page 7 first para of Nook teaches A lithium battery temperature sensor 20 monitors the temperature of the lithium battery pack 32 to detect overheating due to high ambient temperature conditions and overextended current draw during jump starting.) .
With regard to claim 21, the combination of Nook and Chen teaches all the limitations of claim 18, Chen further teaches the USB driver enable a low power charging mode when the detected voltage of the vehicle battery is below the minimum threshold voltage level( detected voltage too low, below the normal range[0033]. it will automatically switch to the output low current mode)
or the detected temperature of the internal battery is above the maximum threshold temperature level.
With regard to claim 22, the combination of Nook and Chen teaches all the limitations of claim 13, Nook further teaches a reverse polarity detection circuit that is used by the battery charging system to prevent charging of the internal battery from the DC port if the DC port is connected to the vehicle battery with an incorrect polarity ((page 6 of Nook, last para. A car battery reverse sensor 10 monitors the polarity of the vehicle battery 72 when the handheld battery booster device is connected to the vehicle's electric system. As explained below, the booster device prevents the lithium battery pack from being connected to the vehicle battery 72 when the terminals of the battery 72 are connected to the wrong terminals of the booster device.)
With regard to claim 23, the combination of Nook and Chen teaches all the limitations of claim 13, Nook further teaches a safety switch that prevents charging of the internal battery from the DC port (( page 6 of Nook, last para) (A smart switch FET circuit 15 electrically switches the handheld battery booster lithium battery to the vehicle's electric system only when the vehicle battery is determined by the MCU 1) to be present (in response to a detection signal provided by isolation sensor 12) and connected with the correct polarity (in response to a detection signal provided by reverse sensor 10).
With regard to claim 25, Nook teaches a method of charging an internal battery ( 32, Fig. 1) of a jump starter device( see abstract, A handheld device for jump starting a vehicle engine ), comprising:
receiving power from a direct-current (DC) port (output port of car battery, Fig. 1) of a vehicle using a universal serial bus (USB) connector ( e.g., 52, Fig. 1);
controlling charging power from the USB connector ( e.g., 52, Fig. 1) to the internal battery ( 32, Fig. 1) of the jump starter device.
Nook does not explicitly teach detect a voltage of a vehicle battery and charging power to the internal battery of the jump starter device based at least in part on the detected voltage of the vehicle battery.
However, Chen teaches detect a voltage of a vehicle battery ( [0033] of translation, car power supply/battery is connected to 1 and 2 detects the input voltage ) and control charging power to the internal battery of the jump starter device based on based at least in part on the detected voltage of the vehicle battery( [0033] based on the detected voltage ( of the car power supply/battery), send normal control signal or abnormal control signal to control the current to the USB output port, and Nook teaches about control charging power from the USB connector to the internal battery of the jump starter device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery charging method of Nook, to configure the USB driver configured to control charging power to the internal battery of the jump starter device based on based at least in part on the detected voltage of the vehicle battery, as taught by Chen, in order to automatically control the output current based on the input voltage[0016]
With regard to claim 28, the combination of Nook and Chen teaches all the limitations of claim 25, Chen further teaches charging power is controlled at least in part by enabling a low power charging mode when the detected voltage of the vehicle battery is below a minimum threshold voltage level. (detected voltage too low, below the normal range[0033]. it will automatically switch to the output low current mode)
With regard to claim 30 the combination of Nook and Chen teaches all the limitations of claim 25, Nook teaches detecting a temperature of the internal battery ( 20, Fig. 1) of the jump starter device; wherein charging power is controlled based at least in part of the detected voltage of the vehicle battery and the detected temperature of the internal battery (([0033] of Chen also teaches 0033] based on the detected voltage ( of the car power supply/battery), send normal control signal or abnormal control signal to control the current to the USB output port, page 6 last para and page 7 first para of Nook teaches A lithium battery temperature sensor 20 monitors the temperature of the lithium battery pack 32 to detect overheating due to high ambient temperature conditions and overextended current draw during jump starting)
With regard to claim 33 the combination of Nook and Chen teaches all the limitations of claim 30, Chen further teaches charging power is controlled at least in part by enabling a low power charging mode when the detected voltage of the vehicle battery is below the minimum threshold voltage level (detected voltage too low, below the normal range [0033]. it will automatically switch to the output low current mode) or the detected temperature of the internal battery is above the maximum threshold temperature level.
With regard to claim 34, the combination of Nook and Chen teaches all the limitations of claim 25, Nook further teaches preventing charging of the internal battery from the DC port if the DC port is connected to the vehicle battery with an incorrect polarity(page 6 of Nook, last 2 para. A car battery reverse sensor 10 monitors the polarity of the vehicle battery 72 when the handheld battery booster device is connected to the vehicle's electric system. As explained below, the booster device prevents the lithium battery pack from being connected to the vehicle battery 72 when the terminals of the battery 72 are connected to the wrong terminals of the booster device.)
. 7. Claims 2-3, 5, 7-8, 14-15, 17,19-20, 26-27,29, 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nook(WO2016003471A1) and Chen (CN-206442135-U) in further view of WU (CN-109149730-A)
With regard to claim 2, the combination of Nook and Chen teaches all the limitations of claim 1, Chen further teaches the USB driver enables a charging mode when the detected voltage of the vehicle battery is above a minimum threshold voltage level (operates normally detected voltage within the normal range (the threshold is the minimum of the normal range) [0033]
The combination of Nook and Chen does not explicitly teach a high power charging mode.
However, Wu teaches a high power charging mode ( USB-typeC with a maximum output 60W. Note that the high power charging mode is interpretated as a mode deliver high power (60-100W) based on page 2 of specification, line 15-20)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery charging system of claim 1, to operate at a high power charging mode, as taught by Wu, in order to enable a high power fast charging ([0046][0047]).
With regard to claim 3, the combination of Nook and Chen and Wu teaches all the limitations of claim 2, Chen further teaches wherein the USB driver disables the high power charging mode when the detected voltage of the vehicle battery is below the minimum threshold voltage level ( detected voltage too low, below the normal range[0033] detected voltage too low, below the normal range[0033]. it will automatically switch to the output low current mode, Wu teaches about the high power charging mode)
With regard to claim 5, the combination of Nook and Chen and Wu teaches all the limitations of claim 3, but not the minimum threshold voltage level is 10 volts.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the minimum threshold voltage to 10 volts since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
With regard to claim 7, the combination of Nook and Chen teaches all the limitations of claim 6, Chen teaches the USB driver enables a charging mode when the detected voltage of the vehicle battery is above a minimum threshold voltage level ( [0033] of Chen also teaches 0033] based on the detected voltage ( of the car power supply/battery), send normal control signal or abnormal control signal to control the current to the USB output port, If the detected voltage is within the normal range, a normal control signal is input to the step-down shunt chip 3. Here, the minimum value of normal range is interpretated as minimum threshold voltage level and normal charging is interpreted as high power charging mode) and Nook teaches USB driver only charges/enable a charge mode when the detected temperature of the internal battery is below a maximum threshold temperature level (page 6 last para, and page 7 first para, A lithium battery temperature sensor 20 monitors the temperature of the lithium battery pack 32 to detect overheating due to high ambient temperature conditions and overextended current draw during jump starting. Page 9 para 3 of Nook teaches The microcontroller software can determine when internal lithium battery is too hot to allow jumpstarting, add safety to the design)
The combination of Nook and Chen does not explicitly teach a high power charging mode.
However, Wu teaches a high power charging mode ( USB-typeC with a maximum output 60W. Note that the high power charging mode is interpretated as a mode deliver high power (60-100W) based on page 2 of specification, line 15-20)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery charging system of claim 6, to operate at a high power charging mode when the detected voltage of the vehicle battery is above a minimum threshold voltage level and when the detected temperature of the internal battery is below a maximum threshold temperature level , as taught by Wu , in order to enable a high power fast charging ([0046][0047]) the battery but not to overheat the battery.
With regard to claim 8, the combination of Nook and Chen and Wu teaches all the limitations of claim 7, Chen further teaches the USB driver disables the high power charging mode when the detected voltage of the vehicle battery is below the minimum threshold voltage level (detected voltage too low, below the normal range, automatically switch to output low current mode[0033]) or the detected temperature of the internal battery is above the maximum threshold temperature level.
With regard to claim 14, the combination of Nook and Chen teaches all the limitations of claim 13, ( Note: Claim 14 is rejected as it depends on claim 13 as addressed in the objection)
Chen further teaches the USB driver enables a charging mode when the detected voltage of the vehicle battery is above a minimum threshold voltage level. (operates normally detected voltage within the normal range ( the threshold is the minimum of the normal range) [0033]
The combination of Nook and Chen does not explicitly teach a high power charging mode.
However, Wu teaches a high power charging mode ( USB-typeC with a maximum output 60W. Note that the high power charging mode is interpretated as a mode deliver high power (60-100W) based on page 2 of specification, line 15-20)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery charging system of claim 13, to operate at a high power charging mode, as taught by Wu , in order to enable a high power fast charging ([0046][0047]).
With regard to claim 15, the combination of Nook and Chen and Wu teaches all the limitations of claim 14, Chen further teaches wherein the USB driver disables the high power charging mode when the detected voltage of the vehicle battery is below the minimum threshold voltage level( detected voltage too low, below the normal range[0033]. it will automatically switch to the output low current mode)
With regard to claim 17, the combination of Nook and Chen and Wu teaches all the limitations of claim 15, but not the minimum threshold voltage level is 10 volts.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the minimum threshold voltage to 10 volts since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
With regard to claim 19, the combination of Nook and Chen teaches all the limitations of claim 18, Chen teaches the USB driver enables a charging mode when the detected voltage of the vehicle battery is above a minimum threshold voltage level ( [0033] of Chen also teaches 0033] based on the detected voltage ( of the car power supply/battery), send normal control signal or abnormal control signal to control the current to the USB output port, If the detected voltage is within the normal range, a normal control signal is input to the step-down shunt chip 3. Here, the minimum value of normal range is interpretated as minimum threshold voltage level and normal charging is interpreted as high power charging mode) and Nook teaches USB driver enable a charge mode when the detected temperature of the internal battery is below a maximum threshold temperature level (page 6 last para, and page 7 first para, A lithium battery temperature sensor 20 monitors the temperature of the lithium battery pack 32 to detect overheating due to high ambient temperature conditions and overextended current draw during jump starting. Page 9 para 3 of Nook teaches The microcontroller software can determine when internal lithium battery is too hot to allow jumpstarting, add safety to the design)
The combination of Nook and Chen does not explicitly teach a high power charging mode.
However, Wu teaches a high power charging mode ( USB-typeC with a maximum output 60W. Note that the high power charging mode is interpretated as a mode deliver high power (60-100W) based on page 2 of specification, line 15-20)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery charging system of claim 18, to operate at a high power charging mode when the detected voltage of the vehicle battery is above a minimum threshold voltage level and when the detected temperature of the internal battery is below a maximum threshold temperature level , as taught by Wu , in order to enable a high power fast charging ([0046][0047]) the battery but not to overheat the battery.
With regard to claim 20, the combination of Nook and Chen and Wu teaches all the limitations of claim 19, Chen teaches the USB driver disables the high power charging mode when the detected voltage of the vehicle battery is below the minimum threshold voltage level (detected voltage too low, below the normal range, automatically switch to output low current mode[0033]) or the detected temperature of the internal battery is above the maximum threshold temperature level.
With regard to claim 26, the combination of Nook and Chen teaches all the limitations of claim 25, Chen further teaches charging power is controlled at least in part by enabling charging mode when the detected voltage of the vehicle battery is above a minimum threshold voltage level( operates normally detected voltage within the normal range ( the threshold is the minimum of the normal range) [0033]).
The combination of Nook and Chen does not explicitly teach a high power charging mode.
However, Wu teaches a high power charging mode ( USB-typeC with a maximum output 60W. Note that the high power charging mode is interpretated as a mode deliver high power (60-100W) based on page 2 of specification, line 15-20)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery charging system of claim 25, to operate at a high power charging mode, as taught by Wu, in order to enable a high power fast charging ([0046][0047]).
With regard to claim 27, the combination of Nook and Chen and Wu teaches all the limitations of claim 26, Chen further teaches wherein charging power is controlled at least in part by disabling the high-power charging mode when the detected voltage of the vehicle battery is below the minimum threshold voltage level. (detected voltage too low, below the normal range[0033]. it will automatically switch to the output low current mode)
With regard to claim 29, the combination of Nook and Chen and Wu teaches all the limitations of claim 27, (Note: Claim 29 is rejected as it depends on claim 27 as addressed in the objection) but not the minimum threshold voltage level is 10 volts.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the minimum threshold voltage to 10 volts since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
With regard to claim 31, the combination of Nook and Chen teaches all the limitations of claim 30, Chen teaches charging power is controlled at least in part by enabling a charging mode when the detected voltage of the vehicle battery is above a minimum threshold voltage level ( [0033] of Chen also teaches 0033] based on the detected voltage ( of the car power supply/battery), send normal control signal or abnormal control signal to control the current to the USB output port, If the detected voltage is within the normal range, a normal control signal is input to the step-down shunt chip 3. Here, the minimum value of normal range is interpretated as minimum threshold voltage level and normal charging is interpreted as high power charging mode) and Nook teaches USB driver only enable a charge mode when the detected temperature of the internal battery is below a maximum threshold temperature level. (page 6 last para, and page 7 first para, A lithium battery temperature sensor 20 monitors the temperature of the lithium battery pack 32 to detect overheating due to high ambient temperature conditions and overextended current draw during jump starting. Page 9 para 3 of Nook teaches The microcontroller software can determine when internal lithium battery is too hot to allow jumpstarting, add safety to the design)
The combination of Nook and Chen does not explicitly teach a high power charging mode.
However, Wu teaches a high power charging mode ( USB-typeC with a maximum output 60W. Note that the high power charging mode is interpretated as a mode deliver high power (60-100W) based on page 2 of specification, line 15-20)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery charging system of claim 30, to operate at a high power charging mode when the detected voltage of the vehicle battery is above a minimum threshold voltage level and when the detected temperature of the internal battery is below a maximum threshold temperature level, as taught by Wu , in order to enable a high power fast charging ([0046][0047]) the battery but not to overheat the battery.
With regard to claim 32, the combination of Nook and Chen and Wu teaches all the limitations of claim 31, Chen teaches charging power is controlled at least in part by disabling the high power charging mode when the detected voltage of the vehicle battery is below the minimum threshold voltage level (detected voltage too low, below the normal range, automatically switch to output low current mode[0033]) or the detected temperature of the internal battery is above the maximum threshold temperature level.
8. Claims 12, 24, 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nook(WO2016003471A1) and Chen (CN-206442135-U) in further view SALORANTA (US20170005509A1)
With regard to claim 12, the combination of Nook and Chen teaches all the limitations of claim 1, but not the safety switch is controlled by the USB driver based on a determination of whether the USB connector is attached to a compatible jump starter device.
However, Saloranta teaches the safety switch is controlled by the USB driver based on a determination of whether the USB connector is attached to a compatible jump starter device (.[0025]the battery charger 100 switches itself on automatically only when …. an USB OTG-compatible rechargeable device 130.[0034] the connected device is in an ‘off’ state, or the device is not USB OTG compatible 204 NO, the battery charger will not switch on, and Nook teaches about the USB connector attached to the jump starter device )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery charging system of claim 1, to configure the safety switch to be controlled by the USB driver based on a determination of whether the USB connector is attached to a compatible jump starter device, as taught by Saloranta, in order to remove the risks of battery charger ‘s malfunction by using compatible device [0005]
With regard to claim 24, the combination of Nook and Chen teaches all the limitations of claim 13, but not the safety switch is controlled by the USB driver based on a determination of whether the USB connector is attached to a compatible jump starter device.
However, Saloranta teaches the safety switch is controlled by the USB driver based on a determination of whether the USB connector is attached to a compatible jump starter device (.[0025]the battery charger 100 switches itself on automatically only when …. an USB OTG-compatible rechargeable device 130.[0034] the connected device is in an ‘off’ state, or the device is not USB OTG compatible 204 NO, the battery charger will not switch on, and Nook teaches about the USB connector attached to the jump starter device )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery charging system of claim 13, to configure the safety switch to be controlled by the USB driver based on a determination of whether the USB connector is attached to a compatible jump starter device, as taught by Saloranta, in order to remove the risks of battery charger ‘s malfunction by using compatible device [0005]
With regard to claim 35, the combination of Nook and Chen teaches all the limitations of claim 25, but not preventing charging of the internal battery from the DC port based on a determination that the USB connector is attached to an incompatible jump starter device.
However, Saloranta teaches preventing charging of the internal battery from the DC port based on a determination that the USB connector is attached to an incompatible jump starter device. (.[0025]the battery charger 100 switches itself on automatically only when …. an USB OTG-compatible rechargeable device 130.[0034] the connected device is in an ‘off’ state, or the device is not USB OTG compatible 204 NO, the battery charger will not switch on, and Nook teaches about the USB connector attached to the jump starter device )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery charging system of claim 13, to prevent charging of the internal battery from the DC port based on a determination that the USB connector is attached to an incompatible jump starter device., as taught by Saloranta, in order to remove the risks of battery charger ‘s malfunction by using compatible device [0005]
Conclusion
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mattos (US20190288532A1) teaches that Techniques for control of power switches in a USB Power Delivery (USB-PD) system
Bulter (US 20200386200 A1) teaches about A portable power pack having a housing, a rechargeable lithium battery positioned in the housing, a liquid crystal display (LCD), a wireless charging coil, a light emitting diode (LED) flash light, a universal serial bus (USB) port, a direct current (DC) port, and a power management circuit.
FALTYS (WO2011079309A2) teaches about efficiently provide power to the battery while not overheating the battery.
/PINPING SUN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872