DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Examiner acknowledges the amending of claim 1.
Drawings
The drawings filed 05/28/2026 are accepted.
Response to Arguments
The Examiner agrees with the majority of the Applicant’s arguments of 05/28/2026 and no longer applies Takayama as a primary reference.
Applicant's arguments filed 05/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant has argued Takayama does not teach the active region width to remain constant while the guide layer width changes (see Remarks, pg.7).
The Examiner does not agree. Takayama at [0043] states that the ridge width is changed, with the ridge being constituted by the upper portion of #14 in figure 1. The rest of the device structure remains unchanged in width as shown in figures 3a/b.
The Examiner notes that in order to expedite prosecution, 2 rejections are presented below in view of different pieces of prior art.
Rejection 1:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1/2 as being anticipated by Watanabe (US 2005/0157767).
With respect to claim 1, Watanabe discloses a semiconductor laser device (fig.1/3) comprising: a main body (fig.2) including a first layer having n-type conductivity (fig.2 #103-105; [0046]), a second layer having p-type conductivity (fig.2 #108, 109, lower part of #110, upper part of #110), and an active layer (fig.2 #106) interposed between the first layer and the second layer, the first layer, the second layer, and the active layer being laminated in a lamination direction (fig.2 up/down); a front-side mirror formed on a front facet of the main body (fig.1 bottom side, [0051]), the front facet being parallel to the lamination direction; and a rear-side mirror formed on a rear facet of the main body (fig.1 top side, [0051]), the rear facet facing the front facet in an optical waveguide direction that crosses the lamination direction and the front facet (as seen in fig.1), wherein the first layer is different from the active layer (as indicated above) includes an electric field control layer (fig.2 #105, having a higher refractive index than #103/104) having a shorter composition wavelength than an emission wavelength of the active layer ([0046, 52], #105 is (Al0.5Ga0.5)0.5In0.5P which has a larger bandgap which leads to smaller refractive index and lower wavelength as compared to active of Ga0.5In0.5P), the electric field control layer skews a distribution of an electric field of laser light toward the first layer (the presence of the higher index layer #105 within the identified first layer necessarily skews the e-field toward the first layer as compared to a case where layer #105 was not provided), the second layer includes an optical guide layer (fig.2 lower portion of #110; acts to guide the light as evidence by fig.8 and [0011-12]) having a shorter composition wavelength than the emission wavelength of the active layer ([0048], #110 is (Al0.7Ga0.3)0.5In0.5P which has a larger bandgap which leads to smaller refractive index and lower wavelength as compared to active of Ga0.5In0.5P), the optical guide layer extending in the optical waveguide direction and having a smaller width than the active layer in a width direction perpendicular to the optical waveguide direction (as seen in fig.1/2 the width of the lower portion of #110 changes while the active remains constant), the second layer functions as a clad for the active layer and includes the optical guide layer within the clad (the active region is of a higher index than the identified second layer, the second layer thereby functions as a cladding for the active, while the guide layer was identified as part of the second layer such that it is necessarily within the clad), buried layers (fig.2 #115s on either side) made of a material having a lower refractive index than the optical guide layer ([0050] as SiO2, ~1.43, is of lower index than the guide material) are arranged at both sides of the optical guide layer in the width direction, and the optical guide layer includes a width-changed portion in which a width of the optical guide layer is changed in the optical waveguide direction without changing a width of the active layer(as seen in fig.1), a first cladding layer (fig.2 #108) is laminated below the optical guide layer and the buried layers in the lamination direction, and a second cladding layer (fig.2 top of #110) is laminated on the optical guide layer and the buried layers (noting upper portion of #110 is both above and touching the layers, thereby “on”) in the lamination direction, the first cladding layer and the second cladding layer having a same composition ([0046, 48]), and a contact layer (fig.2 #112) having a different composition from the first cladding layer and the second cladding layer (#112 is of GaAs, [0050]) is formed on the second cladding layer in the lamination direction.
With respect to claim 2, Watanabe discloses the width of the width-changed portion is changed in one of a tapered manner (fig.1) and a stepped manner.
With respect to claim 3, Watanabe discloses the active layer has a quantum well structure including a well layer ([0052]) and a barrier layer ([0052]), and includes a separate confinement heterostructure (SCH) layer (fig.2 #107), and the electric field control layer, the optical guide layer, the barrier layer, and the SCH layer are made of a semiconductor material with same composition ([0046,48, 52], each of AlGaInP).
With respect to claim 5, Watanabe discloses the active layer is made of a semiconductor material containing aluminum ([0052]).
With respect to claim 6, Watanabe discloses each of the first layer portion and the second layer portion includes a cladding layer that is made of a same semiconductor material (fig.2 #104 and #108, [0046], both of (Al0.7Ga0.3)0.5In0.5P).
Rejection 2:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeuchi et al. (US 2003/0031220) in view of Takayama (US 2005/0163181).
With respect to claim 1, Takeuchi teaches a semiconductor laser device (fig.1) comprising: a main body (fig.1) including a first layer having n-type conductivity (fig.1 #11a-c; [0058-59]), a second layer having p-type conductivity (fig.1 #13-15c), and an active layer (fig.1 #12) interposed between the first layer and the second layer, the first layer, the second layer, and the active layer being laminated in a lamination direction (fig.1 up/down); an optical waveguide direction (fig.1 in/out), wherein the first layer is different from the active layer (as indicated above) includes an electric field control layer (fig.1 #11c, having a higher refractive index [0068]) having a shorter composition wavelength than an emission wavelength of the active layer ([0059, 63], #11c is Al.3Ga.7As which has a larger bandgap which leads to smaller refractive index and lower wavelength as compared to active of Al.1Ga.9As; see also fig.4a), the electric field control layer skews a distribution of an electric field of laser light toward the first layer (the presence of the higher index layer #11c within the identified first layer necessarily skews the e-field toward the first layer as compared to a case where layer #11c was not provided; see also fig.4a), the second layer includes an optical guide layer (fig.1 #14 or #15c, [0058-59]) having a shorter composition wavelength than the emission wavelength of the active layer ([0058-59], #14 and #15c are Al0.3Ga0.7As which has a larger bandgap which leads to smaller refractive index and lower wavelength as compared to active of Al.1Ga.9As; see also fig.4a), the optical guide layer extending in the optical waveguide direction (fig.1 in/out) and having a smaller width than the active layer in a width direction perpendicular to the optical waveguide direction (as seen in fig.1 the width of #14 and #15c are less than #12) the second layer functions as a clad for the active layer and includes the optical guide layer within the clad (the active region is of a higher index than the identified second layer, the second layer thereby functions as a cladding for the active, while the guide layer was identified as part of the second layer such that it is necessarily within the clad), buried layers (fig.1 #16s on either side) made of a material having a lower refractive index than the optical guide layer ([0061] as Al.5Ga.5As is of lower index than the guide material which has less Al) are arranged at both sides of the optical guide layer in the width direction, a first cladding layer (fig.1 #13) is laminated below the optical guide layer and the buried layers in the lamination direction, and a second cladding layer (fig.1 #15b) is laminated on the optical guide layer and the buried layers (noting #15b is both above and touching the layers, thereby “on”) in the lamination direction, the first cladding layer and the second cladding layer having a same composition ([0058, 59]), and a contact layer (fig.1 #19) having a different composition from the first cladding layer and the second cladding layer (#19 is of GaAs, [0061]) is formed on the second cladding layer in the lamination direction. Takeuchi does not teach a front-side mirror formed on a front facet of the main body, the front facet being parallel to the lamination direction; and a rear-side mirror formed on a rear facet of the main body, the rear facet facing the front facet in an optical waveguide direction that crosses the lamination direction and the front facet; OR the optical guide layer includes a width-changed portion in which a width of the optical guide layer is changed in the optical waveguide direction without changing a width of the active layer. Takayama teaches a front-side mirror formed on a front facet of the main body (fig.3b left side, [0043]), the front facet being parallel to the lamination direction; and a rear-side mirror formed on a rear facet of the main body (fig.3b right side, [0043]), the rear facet facing the front facet in an optical waveguide direction that crosses the lamination direction and the front facet (as seen in fig.1); OR the optical guide layer includes a width-changed portion in which a width of the optical guide layer is changed in the optical waveguide direction without changing a width of the active layer(as seen in fig.1/3b [0044]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to adapt the device of Takeuchi to make use of the front and rear side mirrors as taught by Takayama to set the desired reflectivity and light output amounts of the resonator as well as to adapt the ridge of Takeuchi (fig.1 #14-15c) to taper in the manner outlined in figure 3b of Takayama in order to suppress saturation of light emission efficiency in high power operation and allow for a stable fundamental transverse mode (Takayama, abstract).
With respect to claim 2, Takeuchi, as modified, teaches the width of the width-changed portion is changed in one of a tapered manner (Takayama, fig.3b) and a stepped manner.
With respect to claim 3, Takeuchi teaches the active layer has a quantum well structure including a well layer ([0063]) and a barrier layer ([0063]), and includes a separate confinement heterostructure (SCH) layer ([0063]), and the electric field control layer, the optical guide layer, the barrier layer, and the SCH layer are made of a semiconductor material with same composition ([0058, 59, 63], each of AlGaAs).
With respect to claim 5, Takeuchi teaches the active layer is made of a semiconductor material containing aluminum ([0063]).
With respect to claim 6, Takeuchi teaches each of the first layer portion and the second layer portion includes a cladding layer that is made of a same semiconductor material (fig.1 #11a and #13, [0058], both of Al0.5Ga0.5As).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeuchi and Takayama in view of Yoshida et al. (JP 2005-072402, Applicant submitted prior art).
With respect to claim 4, Takeuchi, as modified, teaches the device outlined above, including the rear-side mirror has reflectivity of 90% or more at the emission wavelength of the active layer (Takayama, [0041], necessarily at active region emission wavelength to form the resonator needed for lasing), and a width of the optical guide layer at the front facet is larger than a width of the optical guide layer at the rear facet (Takayama, fig.3b), but does not specify the front-side mirror has reflectivity of 1% or less at the emission wavelength of the active layer. Yoshida teaches a related buried heterostructure laser device (fig.1) and that the reflectivity of the output facet should be less than 5% ([0035]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to adapt the front facet coating of Takeuchi and Takayama to be less than 5%, such as 1%, as taught by Yoshida in order to select a desired amount of output light from the front facet and adjust the optical quality of the cavity (see MPEP 2144.05 II A/B).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The examiner directs the applicant’s attention to the previously included pto892 form for a list of related art.
Art such as US 2005/0157767 and 6928097 are understood to read on at least claim 1, while art such as 10511150 is understood to use a waveguide which is not as wide as the active region based on the sloped nature of the buried mesa.
/TOD T VAN ROY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828