This action is in response to the preliminary amendment filed on 04/11/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/01/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3, 5- 9, and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities: Regarding claim 1, in line 5-6, “the method comprises:” appears that it should read as “wherein the method comprises:”;in line 8, “a power system” appears that it should read as “the power system”;in line 13, “inverter circuit, the inverter circuit is connected to an alternating current grid;” appears that it should read as “inverter circuit, and the inverter circuit is connected to the alternating current grid;”. Regarding claim 3, in line 1-2, “generating a predicted voltage” appears that it should read as “generating the predicted voltage”;in line 3, “a voltage prediction model” appears that it should read as “the voltage prediction model”. Regarding claim 5, in line 1-2, “generating a predicted voltage” appears that it should read as “generating the predicted voltage”;in line 3, “a voltage prediction model” appears that it should read as “the voltage prediction model”. Regarding claim 6, in line 1, “controlling a voltage” appears that it should read as “controlling the voltage”. Regarding claim 7, in line 1, “controlling a voltage” appears that it should read as “controlling the voltage”. Regarding claim 8, in line 1, “controlling a voltage” appears that it should read as “controlling the voltage”. Regarding claim 9, in line 2, “generating a predicted voltage” appears that it should read as “generating the predicted voltage”;in line 3, “a voltage prediction model” appears that it should read as “the voltage prediction model”. Regarding claim 20, in line 11, “the direct current bus voltage control apparatus comprises” appears that it should be removed due to being duplicate.in line 14, “a power system” appears that it should read as “the power system”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 10, 11, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Carralero et al. (US Patent Application Publication US 2017/0244325 A1, hereinafter “Carralero”). Regarding claim 1, Carralero discloses (see Fig. 1, 3, 4A, 4B, 5, 6) a direct current bus voltage control method, applied to a power system (see power system of Fig. 3), the method comprises (see Fig. 1): obtaining an electrical parameter (Vdc) between a conversion circuit (comprising 14, 22) and a direct current bus (DC bus between 22 and 26) comprised in a power system, wherein the conversion circuit is connected to a direct current source (DC+INPUT); generating a predicted voltage (see [0058] “Controller 30 uses an algorithm to model the Vac and load current for peak power efficiency as demand varies based on a simple model. That model may be sine wave, a triangular wave, a constant voltage, or a model tuned to the particular demand as a function of time, such as one based on neural logic or machine learning. It uses this model to determine a reference Vdc, which corresponds to the Vdc from rectifier 22 for inverter 26 to produce the Vac and current for maximum power efficiency. The predicted Vdc, Vac, and current are set and monitoring continues.” And [0059] “Referring now to FIG. 4B, controller 30 samples actual Vac and current at a sampling frequency and compares them to the most efficient Vac predicted by the model. If the Vac measured is not equal to the predicted Vac, the Vac can be adjusted until peak efficiency is achieved. Another power cell 10 may be activated. If there are no more power cells 10 to activate, the Vdc of the rectifier may be adjusted upward. If the Vdc is within its range after the adjustment, the controller next inquires about the current output by the inverter and whether it is within its range. If the Vdc is not within range, the range may be reset.”) between an inverter circuit (26) and an alternating current grid (Vac) comprised in the power system based on the electrical parameter and a voltage prediction model (see [0058] “Controller 30 uses an algorithm to model the Vac and load current for peak power efficiency as demand varies based on a simple model. That model may be sine wave, a triangular wave, a constant voltage, or a model tuned to the particular demand as a function of time, such as one based on neural logic or machine learning.”), wherein the direct current bus is connected to the conversion circuit and the inverter circuit (DC bus connected between 22 and 26), the inverter circuit is connected to an alternating current grid (26 connected to 26); and controlling a voltage (Vdc) between the conversion circuit and the direct current bus based on the predicted voltage (see [0059] “Referring now to FIG. 4B, controller 30 samples actual Vac and current at a sampling frequency and compares them to the most efficient Vac predicted by the model. If the Vac measured is not equal to the predicted Vac, the Vac can be adjusted until peak efficiency is achieved. Another power cell 10 may be activated. If there are no more power cells 10 to activate, the Vdc of the rectifier may be adjusted upward. If the Vdc is within its range after the adjustment, the controller next inquires about the current output by the inverter and whether it is within its range. If the Vdc is not within range, the range may be reset.”).
Regarding claim 10, Carralero discloses (see Fig. 1, 3, 4A, 4B, 5, 6) wherein the electrical parameter comprises one or more of the following: a voltage, a current, and power (voltage Vdc).
Regarding claim 11, Carralero discloses (see Fig. 1, 3, 4A, 4B, 5, 6) a direct current bus voltage control apparatus, used in a power system (see power system of Fig. 3), wherein the power system comprises (see Fig. 1) a conversion circuit (comprising 14, 22), a direct current bus (DC bus between 22 and 26), and an inverter circuit (26), wherein the direct current bus is connected to the conversion circuit and the inverter circuit, the conversion circuit is connected to a direct current source (DC+INPUT), and the inverter circuit is connected to an alternating current grid (Vac), and wherein the direct current bus voltage control apparatus comprises: an obtaining unit (unit of 30 obtaining Vdc), configured to obtain an electrical parameter (Vdc) between the conversion circuit and the direct current bus; a processing unit (processing unit of 30, see [0058] – [0059] for details of operation), configured to: generate a predicted voltage (see [0058] “Controller 30 uses an algorithm to model the Vac and load current for peak power efficiency as demand varies based on a simple model. That model may be sine wave, a triangular wave, a constant voltage, or a model tuned to the particular demand as a function of time, such as one based on neural logic or machine learning. It uses this model to determine a reference Vdc, which corresponds to the Vdc from rectifier 22 for inverter 26 to produce the Vac and current for maximum power efficiency. The predicted Vdc, Vac, and current are set and monitoring continues.” And [0059] “Referring now to FIG. 4B, controller 30 samples actual Vac and current at a sampling frequency and compares them to the most efficient Vac predicted by the model. If the Vac measured is not equal to the predicted Vac, the Vac can be adjusted until peak efficiency is achieved. Another power cell 10 may be activated. If there are no more power cells 10 to activate, the Vdc of the rectifier may be adjusted upward. If the Vdc is within its range after the adjustment, the controller next inquires about the current output by the inverter and whether it is within its range. If the Vdc is not within range, the range may be reset.”) between the inverter circuit and the alternating current grid based on the electrical parameter obtained by the obtaining unit and a voltage prediction model (see [0058] “Controller 30 uses an algorithm to model the Vac and load current for peak power efficiency as demand varies based on a simple model. That model may be sine wave, a triangular wave, a constant voltage, or a model tuned to the particular demand as a function of time, such as one based on neural logic or machine learning.”); and control a voltage (Vdc) between the conversion circuit and the direct current bus based on the predicted voltage (see [0059] “Referring now to FIG. 4B, controller 30 samples actual Vac and current at a sampling frequency and compares them to the most efficient Vac predicted by the model. If the Vac measured is not equal to the predicted Vac, the Vac can be adjusted until peak efficiency is achieved. Another power cell 10 may be activated. If there are no more power cells 10 to activate, the Vdc of the rectifier may be adjusted upward. If the Vdc is within its range after the adjustment, the controller next inquires about the current output by the inverter and whether it is within its range. If the Vdc is not within range, the range may be reset.”).
Regarding claim 17, Carralero discloses (see Fig. 1, 3, 4A, 4B, 5, 6) an inverter (see Fig. 1), comprising an inverter circuit (comprising 26), a conversion circuit (comprising 14, 22), and a direct current bus (DC bus between 22 and 26), wherein the conversion circuit is connected to the inverter circuit through the direct current bus, the conversion circuit is connected to a direct current source (DC+INPUT), the inverter circuit is connected to an alternating current grid (Vac), and the inverter further comprises a direct current bus voltage control apparatus (30), wherein the direct current bus voltage control apparatus comprises: an obtaining unit (unit of 30 obtaining Vdc), configured to obtain an electrical parameter (Vdc) between the conversion circuit and the direct current bus comprised in a power system (see power system of Fig. 3); a processing unit (processing unit of 30, see [0058] – [0059] for details of operation), configured to generate a predicted voltage (see [0058] “Controller 30 uses an algorithm to model the Vac and load current for peak power efficiency as demand varies based on a simple model. That model may be sine wave, a triangular wave, a constant voltage, or a model tuned to the particular demand as a function of time, such as one based on neural logic or machine learning. It uses this model to determine a reference Vdc, which corresponds to the Vdc from rectifier 22 for inverter 26 to produce the Vac and current for maximum power efficiency. The predicted Vdc, Vac, and current are set and monitoring continues.” And [0059] “Referring now to FIG. 4B, controller 30 samples actual Vac and current at a sampling frequency and compares them to the most efficient Vac predicted by the model. If the Vac measured is not equal to the predicted Vac, the Vac can be adjusted until peak efficiency is achieved. Another power cell 10 may be activated. If there are no more power cells 10 to activate, the Vdc of the rectifier may be adjusted upward. If the Vdc is within its range after the adjustment, the controller next inquires about the current output by the inverter and whether it is within its range. If the Vdc is not within range, the range may be reset.”) between the inverter circuit and the alternating current grid comprised in the power system based on the electrical parameter obtained by the obtaining unit and a voltage prediction model (see [0058] “Controller 30 uses an algorithm to model the Vac and load current for peak power efficiency as demand varies based on a simple model. That model may be sine wave, a triangular wave, a constant voltage, or a model tuned to the particular demand as a function of time, such as one based on neural logic or machine learning.”); and control a voltage (Vdc) between the conversion circuit and the direct current bus based on the predicted voltage (see [0059] “Referring now to FIG. 4B, controller 30 samples actual Vac and current at a sampling frequency and compares them to the most efficient Vac predicted by the model. If the Vac measured is not equal to the predicted Vac, the Vac can be adjusted until peak efficiency is achieved. Another power cell 10 may be activated. If there are no more power cells 10 to activate, the Vdc of the rectifier may be adjusted upward. If the Vdc is within its range after the adjustment, the controller next inquires about the current output by the inverter and whether it is within its range. If the Vdc is not within range, the range may be reset.”).
Regarding claim 18, Carralero discloses (see Fig. 1, 3, 4A, 4B, 5, 6) a conversion device, comprising a conversion circuit (comprising 14, 22) and a direct current bus voltage control apparatus (30), wherein the conversion circuit is connected to an inverter circuit (comprising 26) by using a direct current bus (DC bus between 22 and 26), the conversion circuit is connected to a direct current source (DC+INPUT), and the inverter circuit is connected to an alternating current grid (Vac), wherein the direct current bus voltage control apparatus comprises: an obtaining unit (unit of 30 obtaining Vdc), configured to obtain an electrical parameter (Vdc) between the conversion circuit and the direct current bus comprised in a power system (see power system of Fig. 3); a processing unit (processing unit of 30, see [0058] – [0059] for details of operation), configured to generate a predicted voltage (see [0058] “Controller 30 uses an algorithm to model the Vac and load current for peak power efficiency as demand varies based on a simple model. That model may be sine wave, a triangular wave, a constant voltage, or a model tuned to the particular demand as a function of time, such as one based on neural logic or machine learning. It uses this model to determine a reference Vdc, which corresponds to the Vdc from rectifier 22 for inverter 26 to produce the Vac and current for maximum power efficiency. The predicted Vdc, Vac, and current are set and monitoring continues.” And [0059] “Referring now to FIG. 4B, controller 30 samples actual Vac and current at a sampling frequency and compares them to the most efficient Vac predicted by the model. If the Vac measured is not equal to the predicted Vac, the Vac can be adjusted until peak efficiency is achieved. Another power cell 10 may be activated. If there are no more power cells 10 to activate, the Vdc of the rectifier may be adjusted upward. If the Vdc is within its range after the adjustment, the controller next inquires about the current output by the inverter and whether it is within its range. If the Vdc is not within range, the range may be reset.”) between the inverter circuit and the alternating current grid comprised in the power system based on the electrical parameter obtained by the obtaining unit and a voltage prediction model (see [0058] “Controller 30 uses an algorithm to model the Vac and load current for peak power efficiency as demand varies based on a simple model. That model may be sine wave, a triangular wave, a constant voltage, or a model tuned to the particular demand as a function of time, such as one based on neural logic or machine learning.”); and control a voltage (Vdc) between the conversion circuit and the direct current bus based on the predicted voltage (see [0059] “Referring now to FIG. 4B, controller 30 samples actual Vac and current at a sampling frequency and compares them to the most efficient Vac predicted by the model. If the Vac measured is not equal to the predicted Vac, the Vac can be adjusted until peak efficiency is achieved. Another power cell 10 may be activated. If there are no more power cells 10 to activate, the Vdc of the rectifier may be adjusted upward. If the Vdc is within its range after the adjustment, the controller next inquires about the current output by the inverter and whether it is within its range. If the Vdc is not within range, the range may be reset.”).
Regarding claim 19, Carralero discloses (see Fig. 1, 3, 4A, 4B, 5, 6) a combiner box (see Fig. 3, comprising 10), comprising a conversion circuit (comprising 14, 22) and a direct current bus voltage control apparatus (30), wherein the conversion circuit is connected to an inverter circuit (comprising 26) by using a direct current bus (DC bus between 22 and 26), the conversion circuit is connected to a direct current source (DC+INPUT), and the inverter circuit is connected to an alternating current grid (Vac), wherein the direct current bus voltage control apparatus comprises: an obtaining unit (unit of 30 obtaining Vdc), configured to obtain an electrical parameter (Vdc) between the conversion circuit and the direct current bus comprised in a power system (see power system of Fig. 3); a processing unit (processing unit of 30, see [0058] – [0059] for details of operation), configured to generate a predicted voltage (see [0058] “Controller 30 uses an algorithm to model the Vac and load current for peak power efficiency as demand varies based on a simple model. That model may be sine wave, a triangular wave, a constant voltage, or a model tuned to the particular demand as a function of time, such as one based on neural logic or machine learning. It uses this model to determine a reference Vdc, which corresponds to the Vdc from rectifier 22 for inverter 26 to produce the Vac and current for maximum power efficiency. The predicted Vdc, Vac, and current are set and monitoring continues.” And [0059] “Referring now to FIG. 4B, controller 30 samples actual Vac and current at a sampling frequency and compares them to the most efficient Vac predicted by the model. If the Vac measured is not equal to the predicted Vac, the Vac can be adjusted until peak efficiency is achieved. Another power cell 10 may be activated. If there are no more power cells 10 to activate, the Vdc of the rectifier may be adjusted upward. If the Vdc is within its range after the adjustment, the controller next inquires about the current output by the inverter and whether it is within its range. If the Vdc is not within range, the range may be reset.”) between the inverter circuit and the alternating current grid comprised in the power system based on the electrical parameter obtained by the obtaining unit and a voltage prediction model (see [0058] “Controller 30 uses an algorithm to model the Vac and load current for peak power efficiency as demand varies based on a simple model. That model may be sine wave, a triangular wave, a constant voltage, or a model tuned to the particular demand as a function of time, such as one based on neural logic or machine learning.”); and control a voltage (Vdc) between the conversion circuit and the direct current bus based on the predicted voltage (see [0059] “Referring now to FIG. 4B, controller 30 samples actual Vac and current at a sampling frequency and compares them to the most efficient Vac predicted by the model. If the Vac measured is not equal to the predicted Vac, the Vac can be adjusted until peak efficiency is achieved. Another power cell 10 may be activated. If there are no more power cells 10 to activate, the Vdc of the rectifier may be adjusted upward. If the Vdc is within its range after the adjustment, the controller next inquires about the current output by the inverter and whether it is within its range. If the Vdc is not within range, the range may be reset.”).
Regarding claim 20, Carralero discloses (see Fig. 1, 3, 4A, 4B, 5, 6) a power system (see Fig. 3), comprising a voltage converter (comprising 14, 22), a direct current bus (DC bus between 22 and 26), and an inverter circuit (26), wherein the direct current bus is connected to the conversion circuit and the inverter circuit, the conversion circuit is connected to a direct current source (DC+INPUT), and the inverter circuit is connected to an alternating current grid (Vac); and the power system further comprises a direct current bus voltage control apparatus (30), wherein the direct current bus voltage control apparatus comprises: an obtaining unit (unit of 30 obtaining Vdc), configured to obtain an electrical parameter (Vdc) between the conversion circuit and the direct current bus; a processing unit (processing unit of 30, see [0058] – [0059] for details of operation), configured to: generate a predicted voltage (see [0058] “Controller 30 uses an algorithm to model the Vac and load current for peak power efficiency as demand varies based on a simple model. That model may be sine wave, a triangular wave, a constant voltage, or a model tuned to the particular demand as a function of time, such as one based on neural logic or machine learning. It uses this model to determine a reference Vdc, which corresponds to the Vdc from rectifier 22 for inverter 26 to produce the Vac and current for maximum power efficiency. The predicted Vdc, Vac, and current are set and monitoring continues.” And [0059] “Referring now to FIG. 4B, controller 30 samples actual Vac and current at a sampling frequency and compares them to the most efficient Vac predicted by the model. If the Vac measured is not equal to the predicted Vac, the Vac can be adjusted until peak efficiency is achieved. Another power cell 10 may be activated. If there are no more power cells 10 to activate, the Vdc of the rectifier may be adjusted upward. If the Vdc is within its range after the adjustment, the controller next inquires about the current output by the inverter and whether it is within its range. If the Vdc is not within range, the range may be reset.”) between the inverter circuit and the alternating current grid based on the electrical parameter obtained by the obtaining unit and a voltage prediction model (see [0058] “Controller 30 uses an algorithm to model the Vac and load current for peak power efficiency as demand varies based on a simple model. That model may be sine wave, a triangular wave, a constant voltage, or a model tuned to the particular demand as a function of time, such as one based on neural logic or machine learning.”); and control a voltage (Vdc) between the conversion circuit and the direct current bus based on the predicted voltage (see [0059] “Referring now to FIG. 4B, controller 30 samples actual Vac and current at a sampling frequency and compares them to the most efficient Vac predicted by the model. If the Vac measured is not equal to the predicted Vac, the Vac can be adjusted until peak efficiency is achieved. Another power cell 10 may be activated. If there are no more power cells 10 to activate, the Vdc of the rectifier may be adjusted upward. If the Vdc is within its range after the adjustment, the controller next inquires about the current output by the inverter and whether it is within its range. If the Vdc is not within range, the range may be reset.”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-9 and 12-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding Claim 2, none of the cited prior art alone or in combination disclose or teach the claimed inventions in which “wherein the voltage prediction model is generated based on an equivalent circuit of the direct current bus or the equivalent circuits of the direct current bus and the inverter circuit.”. Claims 3, 4, 5, and 9 are objected due to their dependency on claim 2. Regarding Claim 6, none of the cited prior art alone or in combination disclose or teach the claimed inventions in which “in response to determining that the predicted voltage is greater than a voltage threshold, converting the predicted voltage into a voltage reference value between the conversion circuit and the direct current bus; generating a second current reference value based on the voltage reference value and a first voltage measurement value between the conversion circuit and the direct current bus; and adjusting the voltage between the conversion circuit and the direct current bus based on the second current reference value.”. Regarding Claim 7, none of the cited prior art alone or in combination disclose or teach the claimed inventions in which “in response to determining that the predicted voltage is less than or equal to a voltage threshold, determining a maximum power point of the direct current source based on a current measurement value between the direct current source and the conversion circuit, and generating a first current reference value corresponding to the maximum power point; and adjusting the voltage between the conversion circuit and the direct current bus based on the first current reference value.”. Regarding Claim 8, none of the cited prior art alone or in combination disclose or teach the claimed inventions in which “converting the predicted voltage into a voltage reference value between the conversion circuit and the direct current bus; generating a second current reference value based on the voltage reference value and a first voltage measurement value between the conversion circuit and the direct current bus; determining a maximum power point of the direct current source based on a current measurement value between the direct current source and the conversion circuit, and generating a first current reference value corresponding to the maximum power point; and in response to determining that the first current reference value is greater than the second current reference value, adjusting the voltage between the conversion circuit and the direct current bus based on the second current reference value; or in response to determining that the first current reference value is less than or equal to the second current reference value, adjusting the voltage between the conversion circuit and the direct current bus based on the first current reference value.”. Regarding Claim 12, none of the cited prior art alone or in combination disclose or teach the claimed inventions in which “wherein the voltage prediction model is generated based on an equivalent circuit of the direct current bus or the equivalent circuits of the direct current bus and the inverter circuit.”.
Claims 13 and 14 are objected due to their dependency on claim 12. Regarding Claim 15, none of the cited prior art alone or in combination disclose or teach the claimed inventions in which “when it is determined that the predicted voltage is greater than a voltage threshold, convert the predicted voltage into a voltage reference value between the conversion circuit and the direct current bus; generate a second current reference value based on the voltage reference value and a first voltage measurement value between the conversion circuit and the direct current bus; and adjust the voltage between the conversion circuit and the direct current bus based on the second current reference value.”. Regarding Claim 16, none of the cited prior art alone or in combination disclose or teach the claimed inventions in which “when it is determined that the predicted voltage is less than or equal to a voltage threshold, determine a maximum power point of the direct current source based on a current measurement value between the direct current source and the conversion circuit, and generate a first current reference value corresponding to the maximum power point; and adjust the voltage between the conversion circuit and the direct current bus based on the first current reference value.”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US Patent Application Publication US 2012/0087165 A1 discloses a predictive DC-AC control method. US Patent Application Publication US 2017/0104333 A1 discloses an estimative DC-AC solar power conversion system. US Patent Application Publication US 2019/0219029 A1 discloses an estimative DC-AC wind turbine power converter system. US Patent Application Publication US 2019/0296551 A1 discloses an estimative reactive power converter system.
/MONICA LEWIS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/JYE-JUNE LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2838