DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-4, 25-26, 44 and 47 have been amended, and claim 31 has been cancelled. No claim has been newly added. The status of claims 1-4, 25-26, 32-38, 44 and 47 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 44 and 47 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 25, 32, 44 and 47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a2) as being anticipated by Girolamo et al (US20230171738A1, PCT Priority Date: Apr 10, 2020).
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended), Girolamo’738 discloses a user device, UE, for a wireless communication network (see, Fig. 12a-12B, WTRUs in radio communications system , par 0268-0269, 0284),
wherein a set of resources (BWPs can be equated to a set of resources, par 0242) is provided for a communication in the wireless communication network (see, Fig. 11B, UE configured by RSU with BWPs and resource pool IDs, par 0237), the set of resources comprising a plurality of time resources and a plurality of frequency resources (see, BWP of BWPs comprises resource pools, and each resource pool comprises time resources (slots) and frequency resources (subchannels), par 0155, 0242, 0253),
wherein the UE is to operate on a bandwidth part (BWP) (UE dynamically scheduled with SL BWP can be equated to operate on a bandwidth part (BWP), par 0251) having a number of frequency resources (resource pools, par 0155) less than a total number of frequency resources of the set of resources (see, UE dynamically scheduled with SL BWP comprises resource pool and thus is less than the total number of resource pools in configured BWPs (with each BWP comprises resource pools), par 0242, 0251, 0253),
wherein the UE is to carry out sensing only on one or more subsets of time resources (slots can be equated to one or more subsets of time resources, par 0239) of the set of resources (see, UE receives sensing list including reserved and/or available times in slots, par 0237-0239), wherein a number of time resources of the one or more subsets of time resources is less than a total number of time resources within the set of resources provided by the wireless communication network (see, reserved and/or available slots in sensing list is obviously not all slots in configured BWP, par 0238-0239. Noted, slots including whitelist and blacklist of slots, abstract, par 0183, 0194),
wherein the UE is to carry out sensing only on certain frequency resources (resource pool ID(s) can be equated to certain frequency resources, par 0238) of the BWP (see, sensing list including resource pool ID(s) and BWP ID, and thus only performs sensing on resource pool ID(s) within BWP ID according to sensing list, par 0238. Noted, each BWP comprises multiple resource pool, par 0253),
wherein the UE is to carry out sensing in one or more sensing frequency regions, SFRs, the one or more SFRs (subchannel and subchannels can be equated to SFR and SFRs respectively, par 0155) comprising only the certain frequency resources (resource pool ID(s) within BWP can be equated to certain frequency resources of the BWP, par 0238, 0253) of the BWP (see, UE receives sensing list including subchannels in resource list for resource pool ID(s) in BWP, par 0238-0239, 0253), and
wherein the UE is to receive from the wireless communication network a resource pool configuration defining for the BWP the one or more SFRs (see, UE receives from RSU the Scheduled Resources including sidelink bandwidth part ID, resource pool ID(s) and resources in frequency (subchannels), par 0242. Noted, subchannel and subchannels can be equated to SFR and SFRs respectively, par 0155).
Regarding claim 2 (Currently Amended), Girolamo’738 discloses the user device, UE, of claim 1 (see, Fig. 12a-12B, WTRUs in radio communications system , par 0268-0269, 0284), wherein outside the one or more SFRs (subchannel and subchannels can be equated to SFR and SFRs respectively, par 0155), the UE is not to carry out one or more of the following:
sensing (see, sensing list including resource list indicating reserved and/or available subchannels in frequency, and thus not perform sensing outside of indicated subchannels, par 0238-0239), and
data transmission and/or reception (note, the examiner picks an option to reject).
Regarding claim 3 (Currently Amended), Girolamo’738 discloses the user device, UE, of claim 1 (see, Fig. 12a-12B, WTRUs in radio communications system , par 0268-0269, 0284), wherein a further set of resources or at least one further BWP is provided in the wireless communication network for a communication (see, UE receives candidate resource list updates of a SL BWP ID or dynamically Scheduled Resources of a SL BWP ID for transmission, par 0250-0251, 0258), and wherein the UE is to operate on some or all of the further set of resources or on the at least one further BWP (see, UE performs communication/sensing according to dynamically Scheduled Resources of a SL BWP ID from RSU, par 0045, 0237, 0244, 0250-0251. Noted, WTRU using candidate resource list to reduce sensing, par 0223).
Regarding claim 25 (Currently Amended), Girolamo’738 discloses the user device, UE, of claim 1 (see, Fig. 12a-12B, WTRUs in radio communications system , par 0268-0269, 0284), wherein outside the one or more SFRs (subchannel and subchannels can be equated to SFR and SFRs respectively, par 0155), the UE is not to carry out one or more of the following:
sensing (see, sensing list including resource list indicating reserved and/or available subchannels in frequency, and thus not perform sensing outside of indicated subchannels, par 0238-0239),
data transmission and/or reception,
switching between reception and transmission, and
switching between transmission and reception (note, the examiner picks an option to reject).
Regarding claim 32 (Previously Presented), Girolamo’738 discloses the user device, UE, of claim 1 (see, Fig. 12a-12B, WTRUs in radio communications system , par 0268-0269, 0284), wherein the one or more SFRs (subchannel and subchannels can be equated to SFR and SFRs respectively, par 0155) are defined using one or more of the following parameters:
a starting RB or subchannel index,
a contiguous set of RBs or subchannels (see, set of contiguous subchannels in assistance information as candidate resource set, par 0213, 0217),
a pattern across frequency, and
a pattern across frequency and time.
Regarding claim 44 (Currently Amended), Claim 44 recites a wireless communication network performing the steps recited in claim 1 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 47 (Currently Amended), Claim 47 recites a method of operating a user device performing the steps recited in claim 1 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 26 and 32-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Girolamo’738 in view of Hoang et al (US20190306835A1).
Regarding claim 4 (Currently Amended), Girolamo’738 discloses the user device, UE, of claim 1 (see, Fig. 12a-12B, WTRUs in radio communications system , par 0268-0269, 0284),
Girolamo’738 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: wherein the certain frequency resources are contiguous or are separated by respective non-sensing-intervals.
However Hoang’835 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1A-1B, WTRUs in communications system comprises WTRUs, RAN, CN, PSTN, Internet , and other networks, par 0027, 0040) discloses: wherein the certain frequency resources (see, Fig. 2, sensing pool assigned to WTRU including two subsets of frequency resources, par 0089) are contiguous or are separated by respective non-sensing-intervals (see, Fig. 2, sensing pool including two contiguous subsets of frequency resources (from frequency point of view) and separated by intervals from timing point of view (bitmap indicating monitoring or not) as shown by Fig. 2, par 0089).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the UE as taught by Hoang’835 into that of Girolamo’738. The motivation would have been to share resource pool between network-scheduled WTRU and autonomous-scheduled WTRU transmissions (par 0003).
Regarding claim 26 (Currently Amended), Girolamo’738 discloses the user device, UE, of claim 1 (see, Fig. 12a-12B, WTRUs in radio communications system , par 0268-0269, 0284).
Girolamo’738 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the one or more subsets of time resources are separated by respective non-sensing-intervals.
However Hoang’835 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1A-1B, WTRUs in communications system comprises WTRUs, RAN, CN, PSTN, Internet , and other networks, par 0027, 0040) discloses: wherein the one or more subsets of time resources (Fig. 2, WTRU performs sensing on subset of subframes (each subframes comprises symbols), par 0089, 0097) are separated by respective non-sensing-intervals (see, Fig. 2, WTRU performs sensing on subset of subframes (each subframes comprises symbols) with intervals between sensing subframes according to bitmap shown in Fig. 2, par 0089-0090, 0097. Noted, mapping between geolocation and sensing resources configured, par 0090).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the UE as taught by Hoang’835 into that of Girolamo’738. The motivation would have been to share resource pool between network-scheduled WTRU and autonomous-scheduled WTRU transmissions (par 0003).
Regarding claim 32 (Previously Presented), Girolamo’738 discloses the user device, UE, of claim 1 (see, Fig. 12a-12B, WTRUs in radio communications system , par 0268-0269, 0284).
Girolamo’738 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: wherein the one or more SFRs are defined using one or more of the following parameters:
a starting RB or subchannel index,
a contiguous set of RBs or subchannels,
a pattern across frequency, and
a pattern across frequency and time.
However Hoang’835 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1A-1B, WTRUs in communications system comprises WTRUs, RAN, CN, PSTN, Internet , and other networks, par 0027, 0040) discloses: wherein the one or more SFRs are defined (see, WTRU configured to perform partial sensing on subset of the frequency resources (CCs or BWPs), par 0089) using one or more of the following parameters:
a starting RB or subchannel index (see, sensing resource indication with subchannel indices, par 0091),
a contiguous set of RBs or subchannels,
a pattern across frequency (see, configured to perform sensing on a set of resources with certain frequency pattern, par 0118),
a pattern across frequency and time (see, Fig. 2, configured to perform sensing on a set of resources with certain time/frequency pattern, par 0118. Noted, the examiner picks an option to reject).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the UE as taught by Hoang’835 into that of Girolamo’738. The motivation would have been to share resource pool between network-scheduled WTRU and autonomous-scheduled WTRU transmissions (par 0003).
Regarding claim 33 (Previously Presented), Girolamo’738 discloses the user device, UE, of claim 32 (see, Fig. 12a-12B, WTRUs in radio communications system , par 0268-0269, 0284).
Girolamo’738 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the one or more SFRs are defined as a pattern across frequency using one or more of the following parameters:
resources across a frequency of the set of resources in which the UE is to carry out sensing,
resources across a frequency of the set of resources in which the UE is not carrying out sensing,
a frequency gap or offset between two consecutive subsets of frequency resources where the UE is to carry out sensing,
a periodicity of a frequency pattern, and
an overall frequency band for which the frequency pattern repeats.
However Hoang’835 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1A-1B, WTRUs in communications system comprises WTRUs, RAN, CN, PSTN, Internet , and other networks, par 0027, 0040) discloses: wherein the one or more SFRs are defined as a pattern across frequency using one or more of the following parameters (see, configured to perform sensing on a set of resources with certain frequency pattern, par 0118):
resources across a frequency of the set of resources (see, time frequency locations, par 0132) in which the UE is to carry out sensing (see, configured to perform sensing on a set of resources identified by time pattern such as time sensing window (and thus across frequency of the set of time frequency locations), par 0118, 0122, 0132),
resources across a frequency of the set of resources in which the UE is not carrying out sensing,
a frequency gap or offset between two consecutive subsets of frequency resources where the UE is to carry out sensing,
a periodicity of a frequency pattern, and
an overall frequency band for which the frequency pattern repeats (note, the examiner picks an option to reject).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the UE as taught by Hoang’835 into that of Girolamo’738. The motivation would have been to share resource pool between network-scheduled WTRU and autonomous-scheduled WTRU transmissions (par 0003).
Regarding claim 34 (Previously Presented), Girolamo’738 discloses the user device, UE, of claim 1 (see, Fig. 12a-12B, WTRUs in radio communications system , par 0268-0269, 0284).
Girolamo’738 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the UE is to carry out sensing across all frequency resources for a decision time period, the decision time period being
based on an absolute number of time slots within which the UE is to carry out sensing of all frequency resources, or
defined as a number of subsets of time resources of the set of resources within which the UE carries out sensing of all frequency resources.
However Hoang’835 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1A-1B, WTRUs in communications system comprises WTRUs, RAN, CN, PSTN, Internet , and other networks, par 0027, 0040) discloses:
wherein the UE is to carry out sensing across all frequency resources for a decision time period (see, configured to perform sensing on a set of resources identified by time pattern such as time sensing window (and thus across frequency of the set of time frequency locations), par 0118, 0122, 0132), the decision time period (see, time sensing window, par 0122) being
based on an absolute number of time slots (see, T1 and T2 to define sensing window, par 0121-0122) within which the UE is to carry out sensing of all frequency resources (see, time sensing window [n+T1, n+T2] where n indicates slot for timing reference for sensing, values of T1 and T2 may be configured by the network on sensing resource pool, par 0121-0122. Noted, time frequency locations as resources, par 0132), or
defined as a number of subsets of time resources of the set of resources within which the UE carries out sensing of all frequency resources (note, the examiner picks an option to reject).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the UE as taught by Hoang’835 into that of Girolamo’738. The motivation would have been to share resource pool between network-scheduled WTRU and autonomous-scheduled WTRU transmissions (par 0003).
Regarding claim 35 (Original), Girolamo’738 discloses the user device, UE, of claim 34 (see, Fig. 12a-12B, WTRUs in radio communications system , par 0268-0269, 0284).
Girolamo’738 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: wherein the decision time period is repeated periodically.
However Hoang’835 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1A-1B, WTRUs in communications system comprises WTRUs, RAN, CN, PSTN, Internet , and other networks, par 0027, 0040) discloses: wherein the decision time period is repeated periodically (see, periodic sensing with sensing window, par 0122).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the UE as taught by Hoang’835 into that of Girolamo’738. The motivation would have been to share resource pool between network-scheduled WTRU and autonomous-scheduled WTRU transmissions (par 0003).
Regarding claim 36 (Previously Presented), Girolamo’738 discloses the user device, UE, of claim 1 (see, Fig. 12a-12B, WTRUs in radio communications system , par 0268-0269, 0284).
Girolamo’738 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the one or more SFRs depend on a subchannel detection rate, SCDR, the SCDR being defined as a number of frequency resources or subchannels where the UE is to carry out sensing to a total number of frequency resources or subchannels in the one or more subsets of frequency resources.
However Hoang’835 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1A-1B, WTRUs in communications system comprises WTRUs, RAN, CN, PSTN, Internet , and other networks, par 0027, 0040) discloses: wherein the one or more SFRs (see, resources with frequency resource granularity of resource block/BWP, par 0097) depend on a subchannel detection rate (see, channel busy ratio (CBR) over a subset of subchannels, par 0092), SCDR (see, WTRU perform sensing on sensing resource pool based on CBR, par 0090, 0092), the SCDR (see, channel busy ratio (CBR) over a subset of subchannels, par 0092) being defined as a number of frequency resources or subchannels where the UE is to carry out sensing to a total number of frequency resources or subchannels (see, subchannels, par 0092) in the one or more subsets of frequency resources (see, WTRU perform sensing on sensing resource pool when CBR over a subset of subchannels becomes larger than a threshold in partial sensing on resource pool, par 0090-0092. Noted, partial sensing on subset of the frequency resources configured to WTRU, par 0089).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the UE as taught by Hoang’835 into that of Girolamo’738. The motivation would have been to share resource pool between network-scheduled WTRU and autonomous-scheduled WTRU transmissions (par 0003).
Regarding claim 37 (Previously Presented), Girolamo’738 discloses the user device, UE, of claim 1 (see, Fig. 12a-12B, WTRUs in radio communications system , par 0268-0269, 0284).
Girolamo’738 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the UE is to alter the SCDR depending on one or more criteria, which may comprise one or more of the following:
a priority of a transmission for which the UE is carrying out sensing,
a congestion status of the set of resources,
a power status of the UE,
a service type, e.g. PPDR services or pedestrian services, for which the UE is configured or preconfigured to use or cater to,
a change in QoS, priority, or traffic type for a transmission to be made by the UE,
in case of a change in motion state of the UE,
in case the UE changes a geographic area,
the UE moving from in coverage to out-of-coverage a base station or from out-of-coverage to in coverage of a base station, e.g., when changing from one resource pool configuration to another, and
responsive to receiving or sending a trigger via a sidelink.
However Hoang’835 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1A-1B, WTRUs in communications system comprises WTRUs, RAN, CN, PSTN, Internet , and other networks, par 0027, 0040) discloses:
wherein the UE is to alter the SCDR (see, CBR and/or CR, par 0094. Noted, CBR over subset of subchannels larger than a threshold, par 0092) depending on one or more criteria (see, WTRU determines intended sensing resources based on resources from a past sensing result include resources with CBR and/or channel occupation ratio (CR) statistics meeting pre-configured threshold and threshold can be changed, par 0094, 0106. Noted, CBR over subset of subchannels larger than a threshold, par 0092), which may comprise one or more of the following:
a priority of a transmission for which the UE is carrying out sensing (see, WTRU uses priority of the packet (prio_Tx) to determine the threshold for resource selection, par 0106),
a congestion status of the set of resources,
a power status of the UE,
a service type, e.g. PPDR services or pedestrian services, for which the UE is configured or preconfigured to use or cater to,
a change in QoS, priority, or traffic type for a transmission to be made by the UE,
in case of a change in motion state of the UE,
in case the UE changes a geographic area,
the UE moving from in coverage to out-of-coverage a base station or from out-of-coverage to in coverage of a base station, e.g., when changing from one resource pool configuration to another, and
responsive to receiving or sending a trigger via a sidelink (note, the examiner picks an option to reject).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the UE as taught by Hoang’835 into that of Girolamo’738. The motivation would have been to share resource pool between network-scheduled WTRU and autonomous-scheduled WTRU transmissions (par 0003).
Claim(s) 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Girolamo’738 in view of Hoang’835 as applied to claim 36 above, and further in view of Chae (US 20210176720 A1, PCT Priority Date: Nov 16 , 2018) and Ali et al (US 20220141702 A1, PCT Priority Date: Mar 26, 2020).
Regarding claim 38 (Original), Girolamo’738 modified by Hoang’835 discloses the user device, UE, of claim 36 (see, Fig. 12a-12B, WTRUs in radio communications system , par 0268-0269, 0284).
The combination of Girolamo’738 and Hoang’835 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
the UE is configured or pre-configured with a lookup table, the lookup table mapping the SCDR to a congestion status of the set of resources,
using the congestion status and the lookup table, the UE is to determine a priority of transmissions that the UE is capable to transmit.
However Chae’720 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 8, resource pool used by the UEs performing D2D communication under eNB’s coverage, par 0100) discloses:
the UE is configured or pre-configured with a lookup table (see, cbr-PreconfigList and cbr-pssch-TxConfigList, table 9, par 0297), the lookup table mapping the SCDR (see, transmission parameter including numChannels in corresponding resource pool, size of subchannel, positions of PSSCH candidate resources, partial sensing and CBR ranges, table 9, par 0294) to a congestion status of the set of resources (see, cbr-PreconifgList indicating mapping between preconfigured CBR list and list of PSSCH transmission configurations to configure congestion control, cbr-pssch-TxConfigList indicating mapping between CBR ranges in cbr-PreconfigList and PSSCH transmission parameters, table 9, par 0297).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the UE as taught by Chae’720 into that of Girolamo’738 modified by Hoang’835. The motivation would have been to perform sidelink communication with out-coverage UE by using sidelink parameters determined as valid according to the specific information by the in-coverage UE (par 0008).
The combination of Girolamo’738, Hoang’835 and Chae’720 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
using the congestion status and the lookup table, the UE is to determine a priority of transmissions that the UE is capable to transmit.
However Ali’702 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 4, processing vehicle-to-everything sidelink communications for an admission/congestion control scheme, par 0008, 0081) discloses:
using the congestion status (see, channel load status (CBR), par 0091) and the lookup table (see, CBR-PQI-Tx Parameter table, par 0091), the UE is to determine a priority of transmissions that the UE is capable to transmit (see, UE determines whether packet allowed to transmit according to channel load status (CBR) and packet priority comparing with priority threshold checking from CBR-PQI-Tx Parameter table, par 0091. Noted, CBR relative to priority threshold, par 0091).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the UE as taught by Ali’702 into that of Girolamo’738 modified by Hoang’835 and Chae’720. The motivation would have been to provide congestion control among different UEs operating over sidelink performing V2X transmission (par 0004).
Conclusion
/XUAN LU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473