DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 5-13-26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. As to the arguments directed towards Claim 8, the claim states “…to sever a physical communication…”, it does not require two switches as amended claim 1 (which Applicant’s arguments are directed towards), requires. As to the arguments directed towards claim 15 are not found to be persuasive, as the switches are opened and closed based upon timings, further seen in DeDonna paragraph 37.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DeDona et al. (USPUB 2015/0097526).
As to Claim 8, DeDona discloses a charge system of a vehicle comprising: a controller programmed to, responsive to detecting occurrence of a predefined condition, command switches of pilot and proximity communication lines to open to sever a physical communication link between a charge port configured to receive a plug of electric vehicle supply equipment and the controller (Paragraphs 18 and 66).
As to Claim 9, DeDona discloses the charge system of claim 8, wherein the predefined condition is a timeout or fault (Paragraph 69).
As to Claim 10, DeDona discloses the charge system of claim 8, wherein the controller is further programmed to, following a predetermined period of time beginning with opening of the switches, command the switches to close (Paragraph 69).
As to Claim 11, DeDona discloses the charge system of claim 10, wherein the controller is further programmed to, following a predetermined number of cycles in which, for each of the cycles, the switches are opened and closed, preclude the switches from being opened (Paragraphs 66-67).
As to Claim 12, DeDona disclose the charge system of claim 10, wherein the controller is further programmed to, following a predetermined number of cycles in which, for each of the cycles, the switches are opened and closed, preclude the switches from being closed (Paragraphs 66-67).
As to Claim 13, DeDona discloses the charge system of claim 8, wherein the controller is further programmed to generate an alert after the switches are opened (Paragraph 46).
As to Claim 14, DeDona discloses the charge system of claim 8, wherein the switches are relays (Paragraph 18).
As to Claim 15, DeDona discloses a method comprising: responsive to expiration of a predetermined period of time, closing a switch of a pilot communication line to reestablish a physical communication link between a charge port of a vehicle configured to receive a plug of electric vehicle supply equipment and a controller (Paragraphs 18 and 66).
As to Claim 16, DeDona discloses the method of claim 15 further comprising, responsive to detecting occurrence of a predefined condition, opening the switch (Paragraph 46).
As to Claim 17, DeDona discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the predefined condition is a timeout or fault (Paragraph 69).
As to Claim 18, Dedona discloses the method of claim 16 further comprising generating an alert after the opening (Paragraph 46).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeDona et al. in view of Nitzberg et al. (USPUB 2014/0015482).
As to Claim 1, DeDona discloses a vehicle including: a charge port configured to receive a plug of electric vehicle supply equipment; a controller (Figure 1); and pilot and proximity communication lines including switches configured to establish a physical communication link between the charge port and controller when the switches are closed and to sever the link when the switches are open (Paragraphs 18 and 66). DeDona does not expressly disclose that the pilot and proximity communication line each includes a switch to sever the link. Nitzberg discloses a pilot and proximity communication line each includes a switch to sever the link (Figure 5, Element 510, Figure 6, Element 604). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of this invention to include switches for each of the pilot and proximity line, as taught by Nitzberg, and add it to the device of DeDona, in order to allow for a disconnect and reconnect in order to protect or reset the system.
As to Claim 2, DeDona and Nitzberg disclose the vehicle of claim 1 wherein the controller is further programmed to, responsive to occurrence of a predefined condition, command the switches to open for a predefined duration, and following expiration of the predefined duration, command the switches to close (DeDona Paragraph 69).
As to Claim 3, DeDona and Nitzberg disclose the vehicle of claim 2, wherein the controller is further programmed to, following a predetermined number of cycles in which, for each of the cycles, the switches are opened and closed, preclude the switches from being opened (DeDona Paragraphs 66-67).
As to Claim 4, DeDona and Nitzberg disclose the vehicle of claim 2, wherein the controller is further programmed to, following a predetermined number of cycles in which, for each of the cycles, the switches are opened and closed, preclude the switches from being closed (DeDona Paragraph 66-67).
As to Claim 5. DeDona and Nitzberg disclose the vehicle of claim 1, wherein the controller is further programmed to generate an alert after the switches are closed (DeDona Paragraphs 71-72).
As to Claim 6, DeDona and Nitzberg disclose the vehicle of claim 1, wherein the switches are relays (DeDona Paragraph 18).
As to Claim 7, DeDona and Nitzberg disclose the vehicle of claim 1 further comprising a traction battery configured to receive electric power via the charge port during a charge operation (DeDona Figure 1).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT GRANT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859