DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DeDona et al. (USPUB 2015/0097526).
As to Claim 1, DeDona discloses a vehicle including: a charge port configured to receive a plug of electric vehicle supply equipment; a controller (Figure 1); and pilot and proximity communication lines including switches configured to establish a physical communication link between the charge port and controller when the switches are closed and to sever the link when the switches are open (Paragraphs 18 and 66).
As to Claim 2, DeDona discloses the vehicle of claim 1 further comprising a controller programmed to, responsive to occurrence of a predefined condition, command the switches to open for a predefined duration, and following expiration of the predefined duration, command the switches to close (Paragraph 69).
As to Claim 3, DeDona discloses the vehicle of claim 2, wherein the controller is further programmed to, following a predetermined number of cycles in which, for each of the cycles, the switches are opened and closed, preclude the switches from being opened (Paragraphs 66-67).
As to Claim 4, DeDona discloses the vehicle of claim 2, wherein the controller is further programmed to, following a predetermined number of cycles in which, for each of the cycles, the switches are opened and closed, preclude the switches from being closed (Paragraph 66-67).
As to Claim 5. DeDona discloses the vehicle of claim 1, wherein controller is further programmed to generate an alert after the switches are closed (Paragraphs 71-72).
As to Claim 6, DeDona discloses the vehicle of claim 1, wherein the switches are relays (Paragraph 18).
As to Claim 7, DeDona discloses the vehicle of claim 1 further comprising a traction battery configured to receive electric power via the charge port during a charge operation (Figure 1).
As to Claim 8, DeDona discloses a charge system of a vehicle comprising: a controller programmed to, responsive to detecting occurrence of a predefined condition, command switches of pilot and proximity communication lines to open to sever a physical communication link between a charge port configured to receive a plug of electric vehicle supply equipment and the controller (Paragraphs 18 and 66).
As to Claim 9, DeDona discloses the charge system of claim 8, wherein the predefined condition is a timeout or fault (Paragraph 69).
As to Claim 10, DeDona discloses the charge system of claim 8, wherein the controller is further programmed to, following a predetermined period of time beginning with opening of the switches, command the switches to close (Paragraph 69).
As to Claim 11, DeDona discloses the charge system of claim 10, wherein the controller is further programmed to, following a predetermined number of cycles in which, for each of the cycles, the switches are opened and closed, preclude the switches from being opened (Paragraphs 66-67).
As to Claim 12, DeDona disclose the charge system of claim 10, wherein the controller is further programmed to, following a predetermined number of cycles in which, for each of the cycles, the switches are opened and closed, preclude the switches from being closed (Paragraphs 66-67).
As to Claim 13, DeDona discloses the charge system of claim 8, wherein the controller is further programmed to generate an alert after the switches are opened (Paragraph 46).
As to Claim 14, DeDona discloses the charge system of claim 8, wherein the switches are relays (Paragraph 18).
As to Claim 15, DeDona discloses a method comprising: responsive to expiration of a predetermined period of time, closing a switch of a pilot communication line to reestablish a physical communication link between a charge port of a vehicle configured to receive a plug of electric vehicle supply equipment and a controller (Paragraphs 18 and 66).
As to Claim 16, DeDona discloses the method of claim 15 further comprising, responsive to detecting occurrence of a predefined condition, opening the switch (Paragraph 46).
As to Claim 17, DeDona discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the predefined condition is a timeout or fault (Paragraph 69).
As to Claim 18, Dedona discloses the method of claim 16 further comprising generating an alert after the opening (Paragraph 46).
Conclusion
/ROBERT GRANT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859