DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 05/13/2026.
Claims 1-5, 7-30 and 32 are pending and examined.
Claims 6 and 31 are cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/13/2026 with regards to 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Adogla in view of Ciocari and Nix does not disclose each and every feature as recited in amended claim 1 and references specific limitations of “establishing a connection with a server through a wireless network, wherein establishing the connection with the server comprises authenticating, by the UE, a computing device with the server using authentication credentials of the computing device that are included in an entity profile, associated with the computing device, that is stored on the UE.” Examiner respectfully disagrees, see 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections below for a detailed analysis. The examiner interprets Nix’s device including an SOC, which further includes TRE and PP certificate, which is used to verify the identity of the device to a network, correlates to the authentication credentials of the computing device. The PP certificate being used to verify the identity to a server correlates to authenticating a computing device with the server using authentication credentials. The PP-ID is part of the PP certificate and TRE credentials, so the image maker querying or servicing a request for a device using the PP-ID from a database or table correlates to the authenticating, by the UE, a computing device with the server using authentication credentials of the computing device that are included in an entity profile, associated with the computing device, that is stored on the UE. Applicant’s arguments directed towards the limitations amended in claim 8 are in similar scope to the arguments in amended claim 1 and will not be referenced again for the sake of brevity.
Additionally, the applicant argues that the new claim 32 is “patentable for at least the reasons given above with respect to claim 1 and for the additional distinguishing features recited therein” but does not provide any specific arguments. The examiner interprets Nix to disclose the features of amended claim 32, as the image maker comprising a collection of servers which include many of the elements described relative to the device which is described as a laptop or mobile phone, and further support communications between mobile devices and computers, sending a boot update firmware image to the device correlates to the UE comprises at least one of: a smartphone, a tablet, or a laptop computer. The collection of servers such as server 103 and 180 using physical, wired LAN interfaces to connect to the physical interface of the device correlates to the transmitting comprising the UE physically connecting to the computing device via a wired or wireless personal area network interface. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Adogla with Nix because processors may have a failure of a boot or encounter unrecoverable errors. The firmware image including a BIOS can aid in the boot process by having a pre-boot or boot loader for the processor. Replacing the boot firmware BIOS can also aid in recovering from processor errors. Device owners or service providers can set a preferred level of security and expected operating lifetime of a device, which can further be used to select preferred cryptographic parameters. Private key values for digital signature operations from the TRE can also be recorded during manufacturing to fix values to assure security and integrity of keys during operation. Distributed computing environments can practice performing tasks using remote processing devices that are linked through a communications network. Other system configurations, including hand-held devices, netbooks, portable computers, multiprocessor systems, microprocessor based or programmable consumer electronics, network personal computers, minicomputers, mainframe computers, servers, and the like may also be implemented to support the delivery of common firmware for a collection of devices through physical, wired LAN interfaces such as high-speed ethernet or fiber optic connections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 14-16 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adogla et al. (U.S. Patent No. US 8914626 B1), hereinafter “Adogla” in view of Nix (U.S. Patent No. US 20220405392 A1), hereinafter “Nix.”
With regards to Claim 1, Adogla teaches:
A method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
establishing a connection with a server through a wireless network (Paragraphs 43 and 48, “The software image bootstrap facility system 240 is executing in memory 230 to provide an embodiment of the software image bootstrap facility, and it interacts with the other computing systems over the network 280 (e.g., via the Internet and/or the World Wide Web, via a private cellular network, etc.). The other computing systems may similarly execute various software as part of the interactions. For example, a Web browser 259 executing in memory 257 of an image creator computing system 250 allows an image creator user (not shown) to interact with the software image bootstrap facility system 240 over the network 280 (e.g., to configure usage models for bootstrap images being registered for use to configure startup of other software images) … The systems and data structures may also in one or more embodiments be transmitted via generated stored data signals (e.g., by being encoded in a carrier wave or otherwise included as part of an analog or digital propagated signal) on a variety of computer-readable transmission mediums, including wireless-based and wired/cable-based mediums, and may take a variety of forms (e.g., as part of a single or multiplexed analog signal, or as multiple discrete digital packets or frames).” The software image bootstrap facility system interacting with other computing systems through a wireless-based network, such as the image creator computing system, correlates to the user equipment establishing a connection with the server through a wireless network), receiving, from the server and via the connection through the wireless network, at least one of a firmware image file or a software image file (Paragraph 43, “The software image bootstrap facility system 240 is executing in memory 230 to provide an embodiment of the software image bootstrap facility, and it interacts with the other computing systems over the network 280 (e.g., via the Internet and/or the World Wide Web, via a private cellular network, etc.). The other computing systems may similarly execute various software as part of the interactions. For example, a Web browser 259 executing in memory 257 of an image creator computing system 250 allows an image creator user (not shown) to interact with the software image bootstrap facility system 240 over the network 280 (e.g., to configure usage models for bootstrap images being registered for use to configure startup of other software images) … In addition, the software code and any other data that is part of a registered bootstrap images may also or alternatively be stored remotely (e.g., on an optional other computing system 290, such as that provides an online storage service; as an image 253 on storage 251 of the image creator user's computing system 250; etc.) and retrieved by the systems 240 and/or 245 as desired.” The software image bootstrap facility system storing bootstrap images remotely on storage 251 of the image creator computing system through the network correlates to receiving at least one firmware or software image from the server via connection through the wireless network); and
transmitting, subsequent to the receiving, at least one of the firmware image file or the software image file from the UE to the computing device that is separate from the UE and from the server (Fig. 2 and 6, paragraphs 49-51 and 61, “FIG. 6 illustrates an embodiment in which a software image execution service, optionally including a software image bootstrap facility (not shown), may be provided using one or more data centers that include multiple physical computing systems (e.g., other computing systems 290 of FIG. 2)… The illustrated example includes a data center 600 in use by the software image execution service that is connected to the Internet 635 external to the data center 600. In this example, the Internet 635 provides access to various external computing systems, such as computing systems 645a via private network 640 and computing systems 645b… The data center 600 includes a number of physical host computing systems 605a-605e and a system 610 that provides the software image execution service… Switch 615a is part of a distinct physical network that includes physical computing systems 605d-605e and one or more programmed computing systems (not shown) providing the system 610, and is connected to edge router 625a… In block 420, the routine then obtains a copy of the indicated software image(s) and bootstrap image(s), such as by retrieving a stored or otherwise accessible copy for each. The routine then continues to block 430 to identify one or more host computing systems that are available to and appropriate for executing at least one software image copy. In block 470, the routine then provisions each of the identified host computing systems and initiates execution of the software image(s) on the host computing system, with the provisioning including initiating loading of at least some of the software image(s) and/or bootstrap image(s) on each host computing system. In other embodiments and situations, one or more of the bootstrap images may instead be loaded onto a host computing system at a later time after execution of a software image begins, such as during execution of bootstrap instructions for the software image.” The software or bootstrap images being retrieved from a stored location, which includes the image creator computing system, correlates to transmitting at least one of the firmware or software image files from the UE. The routine provisioning the physical host computing system for executing the software image copy or loading the bootstrap images on the host computing system correlates to transmitting the at least one of the firmware or software image to a computing device. The physical host computing systems being connected to the system and software image bootstrap facility through a switch and edge router correlates to the computing device being separate from the UE and server).
Adogla does not explicitly teach:
wherein establishing the connection with the server comprises authenticating, by the UE, a computing device with the server using authentication credentials of the computing device that are included in an entity profile, associated with the computing device, that is stored on the UE;
wherein the computing device is non-operational and unable to independently establish a connection with the server, and wherein the transmitting by the UE causes the computing device to be recovered using the at least one image file.
However, Nix teaches:
wherein establishing the connection with the server comprises authenticating, by the UE, a computing device with the server using authentication credentials of the computing device (Paragraphs 45, 122, and 125, “Device 102 can include a SOC 109 and SOC 109 is also depicted and described in connection with FIG. 1b below. SOC 109 can include TRE 113, and additional details for the operation of SOC 109 and TRE 113 is provided in subsequent figures… EEPROM 113c in TRE 113 can include a PP certificate 120, PP boot firmware 121, CU boot configuration 123, certificate authority public key 133, certificate authority public key parameters 111a, a primary platform private key 115a, and a symmetric key 127… PP certificate 120 can include the PP identity PP-ID 109i, PP public key 115b (corresponding to PP private key 115a), certificate parameters 111a, and a certificate authority digital signature 116. PP certificate 120 can be formatted according to the X.509 v3 specifications, among other possible formats, and stored as a plain text file, *.pem file, or *.crt file or similar file formats. PP certificate 120 can be used by TRE 113 and SOC 109 in order to verify identity of TRE 113 to device 102 or a server such as server 103 (including verifying identity of TRE 113 to a network).” The device including an SOC, which further includes TRE and PP certificate, which is used to verify the identity of the device to a network, correlates to the authentication credentials of the computing device. The PP certificate being used to verify the identity to a server correlates to authenticating a computing device with the server using authentication credentials) that are included in an entity profile, associated with the computing device, that is stored on the UE (Paragraphs 70, 77 and 79, “An IDS 103 or image maker 109 could select the first or second firmware update image 106 using the primary platform identity PP-ID 101i, where a database or table accessible to IDS 109 or image maker 109 could select or determine the first or second firmware image 106 (or a plurality of different firmware images 106 for a plurality of different processors) using the PP-ID 101i… In order to obtain firmware 106 from IDS 103, device 102 using agent 102x could generate a message 151 with TRE credentials for TRE 113. In exemplary embodiments, the message 151 with TRE credentials could support the TRE credentials as described in sections 2.2.3, and 2.3 of the GSMA PP Requirements document. TRE credentials in message 151 could include an identity for PP 101 of PP-ID 101i… The IDS server 103 could select or query for an image 106 for PP 101 using the PP-ID 101i received message 151. IDS 103 could send image maker 190 a message 152 in order to query or request the image 106 for device 102 using PP-ID 101i.” The PP-ID is part of the PP certificate and TRE credentials, so the image maker querying or servicing a request for a device using the PP-ID from a database or table correlates to the authenticating, by the UE, a computing device with the server using authentication credentials of the computing device that are included in an entity profile, associated with the computing device, that is stored on the UE);
wherein the computing device is non-operational and unable to independently establish a connection with the server (Paragraph 101, “If any of (i) a device 102 boot of first boot firmware 160 or 160* through (ii) a second boot firmware 161 and 161* and through (iii) additional boot firmware or software up to the loading of an OS 102h fails, hangs, or otherwise encounters unrecoverable errors…” The device failing to load up to but before the loading of an OS would lead to the device not being able to independently connect to a server and therefore corresponds to the computing device being non-operational and unable to independently establish a connection with the server);
and wherein the transmitting by the UE causes the computing device to be recovered using the at least one image file (Paragraphs 34, 66 and 89, “The boot update firmware image 106 as contemplated herein may also be referred to as a “generic” firmware image, “image 106”, and also “firmware 106”. The subsequent secure receipt of an updated first boot firmware 160* from DBCS 180 after download and receipt of the image 106 can be useful to address the multiple needs in the art described above. As contemplated herein, the term “first boot firmware” can comprise a boot loader for device 102, and the term “updated first boot firmware” can comprise an updated boot loader for device 102… In exemplary embodiments, a boot update firmware image 106 generated by an image maker 190 can include a package of data with additional software and firmware for the primary platform 101 operating on a device 102. The boot update firmware image 106 can include (i) an identity of the device boot configuration server (DBCS) of ID… The SOC 109 with PP 101 and boot update image 106 can receive the updated first boot firmware 160* from device 102 and message 156. The PP 101 and SOC 109 can conduct the steps depicted and described in connection with FIG. 2 in order to replace or update a previously installed initial first boot firmware 160 (or initial boot loader) for processor 109c with the updated first boot firmware 160* (or updated boot loader) from the message 156… The initial first boot firmware 160 can comprise the first boot firmware for processor 109c before the receipt and installation of updated first boot firmware 160* by device 102 from DBCS 180 via secure session 155a.” The firmware image including a first boot firmware, which is generated by the image maker and sent to the device, correlates to the image file being transmitted by the UE. The initial first boot firmware that is replaced by the updated first boot firmware correlates to causing the computing device to be recovered using the at least one image file).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Adogla with wherein establishing the connection with the server comprises authenticating, by the UE, a computing device with the server using authentication credentials of the computing device that are included in an entity profile, associated with the computing device, that is stored on the UE; the computing device is non-operational and unable to independently establish a connection with the server, and wherein the transmitting by the UE causes the computing device to be recovered using the at least one image file as taught by Nix because processors may have a failure of a boot or encounter unrecoverable errors. The firmware image including a BIOS can aid in the boot process by having a pre-boot or boot loader for the processor. Replacing the boot firmware BIOS can also aid in recovering from processor errors. Device owners or service providers can set a preferred level of security and expected operating lifetime of a device, which can further be used to select preferred cryptographic parameters. Private key values for digital signature operations from the TRE can also be recorded during manufacturing to fix values to assure security and integrity of keys during operation (Nix: paragraphs 101-102 and 128 and 158).
With regards to Claim 2, Adogla in view of Nix teaches the method of Claim 1 above. Nix further teaches:
wherein the computing device comprises a fully non-operational computing device having a non-operational boot chain (Paragraph 101, “If any of (i) a device 102 boot of first boot firmware 160 or 160* through (ii) a second boot firmware 161 and 161* and through (iii) additional boot firmware or software up to the loading of an OS 102h fails, hangs, or otherwise encounters unrecoverable errors…” The device failing to load up to but before the loading of an OS corresponds to the computing device comprising a fully non-operational computing device with a non-operational boot chain);
wherein receiving at least one of the firmware image file or the software image file comprises:
receiving the firmware image file, wherein the firmware image file comprises a boot chain image file (Paragraphs 34, 67, and 101, “The boot update firmware image 106 as contemplated herein may also be referred to as a “generic” firmware image, “image 106”, and also “firmware 106”. The subsequent secure receipt of an updated first boot firmware 160* from DBCS 180 after download and receipt of the image 106 can be useful to address the multiple needs in the art described above. As contemplated herein, the term “first boot firmware” can comprise a boot loader for device 102, and the term “updated first boot firmware” can comprise an updated boot loader for device 102… The boot update firmware image 106 can also include (iv) a boot update library 160a which can be used to write an updated first boot firmware 160* to the read only nonvolatile memory for processor 109c… In some exemplary embodiments, the first boot firmware 160 or 160* can comprise a BIOS (“basic input/output system”).” The firmware image including a first boot firmware which comprises a BIOS correlates to receiving the firmware image file comprising a boot chain image file); and
wherein transmitting at least one of the firmware image file or the software image file to the computing device comprises:
transmitting the boot chain image file to the computing device (Paragraph 67, “The boot update firmware image 106 can also include (iv) a boot update library 160a which can be used to write an updated first boot firmware 160* to the read only nonvolatile memory for processor 109c.” The boot update firmware image including a boot update library to write an updated first boot firmware to the device correlates to transmitting the boot chain image file to the computing device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Adogla with wherein the computing device comprises a fully non-operational computing device having a non-operational boot chain; wherein receiving at least one of the firmware image file or the software image file comprises: receiving the firmware image file, wherein the firmware image file comprises a boot chain image file; and wherein transmitting at least one of the firmware image file or the software image file to the computing device comprises: transmitting the boot chain image file to the computing device as taught by Nix because processors may have a failure of a boot or encounter unrecoverable errors. The firmware image including a BIOS can aid in the boot process by having a pre-boot or boot loader for the processor (Nix: paragraphs 101-102).
With regards to Claim 14, Adogla teaches:
A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising:
one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to:
establish a connection with a server through a wireless network (Paragraphs 43 and 48, “The software image bootstrap facility system 240 is executing in memory 230 to provide an embodiment of the software image bootstrap facility, and it interacts with the other computing systems over the network 280 (e.g., via the Internet and/or the World Wide Web, via a private cellular network, etc.). The other computing systems may similarly execute various software as part of the interactions. For example, a Web browser 259 executing in memory 257 of an image creator computing system 250 allows an image creator user (not shown) to interact with the software image bootstrap facility system 240 over the network 280 (e.g., to configure usage models for bootstrap images being registered for use to configure startup of other software images) … The systems and data structures may also in one or more embodiments be transmitted via generated stored data signals (e.g., by being encoded in a carrier wave or otherwise included as part of an analog or digital propagated signal) on a variety of computer-readable transmission mediums, including wireless-based and wired/cable-based mediums, and may take a variety of forms (e.g., as part of a single or multiplexed analog signal, or as multiple discrete digital packets or frames).” The software image bootstrap facility system interacting with other computing systems through a wireless-based network, such as the image creator computing system, correlates to the user equipment establishing a connection with the server through a wireless network);
receive, from the server and via the connection through the wireless network, at least one of a firmware image file or a software image file (Paragraph 43, “The software image bootstrap facility system 240 is executing in memory 230 to provide an embodiment of the software image bootstrap facility, and it interacts with the other computing systems over the network 280 (e.g., via the Internet and/or the World Wide Web, via a private cellular network, etc.). The other computing systems may similarly execute various software as part of the interactions. For example, a Web browser 259 executing in memory 257 of an image creator computing system 250 allows an image creator user (not shown) to interact with the software image bootstrap facility system 240 over the network 280 (e.g., to configure usage models for bootstrap images being registered for use to configure startup of other software images) … In addition, the software code and any other data that is part of a registered bootstrap images may also or alternatively be stored remotely (e.g., on an optional other computing system 290, such as that provides an online storage service; as an image 253 on storage 251 of the image creator user's computing system 250; etc.) and retrieved by the systems 240 and/or 245 as desired.” The software image bootstrap facility system storing bootstrap images remotely on storage 251 of the image creator computing system through the network correlates to receiving at least one firmware or software image from the server via connection through the wireless network); and
subsequently transmit at least one of the firmware image file or the software image file from the UE to the computing device that is separate from the UE and from the server (Fig. 2 and 6, paragraphs 49-51 and 61, “FIG. 6 illustrates an embodiment in which a software image execution service, optionally including a software image bootstrap facility (not shown), may be provided using one or more data centers that include multiple physical computing systems (e.g., other computing systems 290 of FIG. 2)… The illustrated example includes a data center 600 in use by the software image execution service that is connected to the Internet 635 external to the data center 600. In this example, the Internet 635 provides access to various external computing systems, such as computing systems 645a via private network 640 and computing systems 645b… The data center 600 includes a number of physical host computing systems 605a-605e and a system 610 that provides the software image execution service… Switch 615a is part of a distinct physical network that includes physical computing systems 605d-605e and one or more programmed computing systems (not shown) providing the system 610, and is connected to edge router 625a… In block 420, the routine then obtains a copy of the indicated software image(s) and bootstrap image(s), such as by retrieving a stored or otherwise accessible copy for each. The routine then continues to block 430 to identify one or more host computing systems that are available to and appropriate for executing at least one software image copy. In block 470, the routine then provisions each of the identified host computing systems and initiates execution of the software image(s) on the host computing system, with the provisioning including initiating loading of at least some of the software image(s) and/or bootstrap image(s) on each host computing system. In other embodiments and situations, one or more of the bootstrap images may instead be loaded onto a host computing system at a later time after execution of a software image begins, such as during execution of bootstrap instructions for the software image.” The software or bootstrap images being retrieved from a stored location, which includes the image creator computing system, correlates to transmitting at least one of the firmware or software image files from the UE. The routine provisioning the physical host computing system for executing the software image copy or loading the bootstrap images on the host computing system correlates to transmitting the at least one of the firmware or software image to a computing device. The physical host computing systems being connected to the system and software image bootstrap facility through a switch and edge router correlates to the computing device being separate from the UE and server).
Adogla does not explicitly teach:
wherein establishment of the connection with the server comprises authentication of a computing device with the server using authentication credentials of the computing device that are included in an entity profile, associated with the computing device, that is stored on the UE;
wherein the computing device is non-operational and unable to independently establish a connection with the server, and wherein the one or more processors are configured to transmit the at least one image file via a direct, local connection between the UE and the computing device to cause the computing device to be recovered using the at least one image file.
However, Nix teaches:
wherein establishment of the connection with the server comprises authentication of a computing device with the server using authentication credentials of the computing device (Paragraphs 45, 122, and 125, “Device 102 can include a SOC 109 and SOC 109 is also depicted and described in connection with FIG. 1b below. SOC 109 can include TRE 113, and additional details for the operation of SOC 109 and TRE 113 is provided in subsequent figures… EEPROM 113c in TRE 113 can include a PP certificate 120, PP boot firmware 121, CU boot configuration 123, certificate authority public key 133, certificate authority public key parameters 111a, a primary platform private key 115a, and a symmetric key 127… PP certificate 120 can include the PP identity PP-ID 109i, PP public key 115b (corresponding to PP private key 115a), certificate parameters 111a, and a certificate authority digital signature 116. PP certificate 120 can be formatted according to the X.509 v3 specifications, among other possible formats, and stored as a plain text file, *.pem file, or *.crt file or similar file formats. PP certificate 120 can be used by TRE 113 and SOC 109 in order to verify identity of TRE 113 to device 102 or a server such as server 103 (including verifying identity of TRE 113 to a network).” The device including an SOC, which further includes TRE and PP certificate, which is used to verify the identity of the device to a network, correlates to the authentication credentials of the computing device. The PP certificate being used to verify the identity to a server correlates to the authenticating a computing device with the server using authentication credentials of the computing device) that are included in an entity profile, associated with the computing device, that is stored on the UE (Paragraphs 70, 77 and 79, “An IDS 103 or image maker 109 could select the first or second firmware update image 106 using the primary platform identity PP-ID 101i, where a database or table accessible to IDS 109 or image maker 109 could select or determine the first or second firmware image 106 (or a plurality of different firmware images 106 for a plurality of different processors) using the PP-ID 101i… In order to obtain firmware 106 from IDS 103, device 102 using agent 102x could generate a message 151 with TRE credentials for TRE 113. In exemplary embodiments, the message 151 with TRE credentials could support the TRE credentials as described in sections 2.2.3, and 2.3 of the GSMA PP Requirements document. TRE credentials in message 151 could include an identity for PP 101 of PP-ID 101i… The IDS server 103 could select or query for an image 106 for PP 101 using the PP-ID 101i received message 151. IDS 103 could send image maker 190 a message 152 in order to query or request the image 106 for device 102 using PP-ID 101i.” The PP-ID is part of the PP certificate and TRE credentials, so the image maker querying or servicing a request for a device using the PP-ID from a database or table correlates to the authentication of a computing device with the server using authentication credentials of the computing device that are included in an entity profile, associated with the computing device, that is stored on the UE);
wherein the computing device is non-operational and unable to independently establish a connection with the server (Paragraph 101, “If any of (i) a device 102 boot of first boot firmware 160 or 160* through (ii) a second boot firmware 161 and 161* and through (iii) additional boot firmware or software up to the loading of an OS 102h fails, hangs, or otherwise encounters unrecoverable errors…” The device failing to load up to but before the loading of an OS would lead to the device not being able to independently connect to a server and therefore corresponds to the computing device being non-operational and unable to independently establish a connection with the server), and wherein the one or more processors are configured to transmit the at least one image file via a direct, local connection between the UE and the computing device (Paragraphs 57, 63, 65-66 “The servers or networks communicating with device 102 or a remote computer typically includes many of the elements described above relative to the device 102, including a CPU, memory, and physical interfaces. It will be appreciated that the network connections shown throughout the present disclosure are exemplary and other means of establishing a wireless or wired communications link may be used between mobile devices, computers, servers, corresponding nodes, and similar computers… For a physical interface 102a, in exemplary embodiments, a server 103 and server 180 in FIG. 1a could use a physical, wired LAN interface such as a high-speed Ethernet or fiber optic connection… In exemplary embodiments, image maker 190 can comprise a collection of servers, such that a first server processes the firmware 106 offline and encrypts the data of firmware 106 before storing the ciphertext firmware 106* in a second server for image maker 190, where the second server is connected to IP network 105 with IDS server 103… In exemplary embodiments, a boot update firmware image 106 generated by an image maker 190 can include a package of data with additional software and firmware for the primary platform 101 operating on a device 102.” The image maker comprising a collection of servers and sending a boot update firmware image to the device correlates to the image file being received from the UE to the device. The collection of servers such as server 103 and 180 using physical, wired LAN interfaces to connect to the physical interface of the device correlates to the at least one image file being transmitted via a direct, local connection between the UE and the computing device) to cause the computing device to be recovered using the at least one image file (Paragraphs 34, 66 and 89, “The boot update firmware image 106 as contemplated herein may also be referred to as a “generic” firmware image, “image 106”, and also “firmware 106”. The subsequent secure receipt of an updated first boot firmware 160* from DBCS 180 after download and receipt of the image 106 can be useful to address the multiple needs in the art described above. As contemplated herein, the term “first boot firmware” can comprise a boot loader for device 102, and the term “updated first boot firmware” can comprise an updated boot loader for device 102… In exemplary embodiments, a boot update firmware image 106 generated by an image maker 190 can include a package of data with additional software and firmware for the primary platform 101 operating on a device 102. The boot update firmware image 106 can include (i) an identity of the device boot configuration server (DBCS) of ID… The SOC 109 with PP 101 and boot update image 106 can receive the updated first boot firmware 160* from device 102 and message 156. The PP 101 and SOC 109 can conduct the steps depicted and described in connection with FIG. 2 in order to replace or update a previously installed initial first boot firmware 160 (or initial boot loader) for processor 109c with the updated first boot firmware 160* (or updated boot loader) from the message 156… The initial first boot firmware 160 can comprise the first boot firmware for processor 109c before the receipt and installation of updated first boot firmware 160* by device 102 from DBCS 180 via secure session 155a.” The firmware image including a first boot firmware, which is generated by the image maker and sent to the device, correlates to the image file being transmitted by the UE. The initial first boot firmware that is replaced by the updated first boot firmware correlates to causing the computing device to be recovered using the at least one image file).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Adogla with wherein establishment of the connection with the server comprises authentication of a computing device with the server using authentication credentials of the computing device that are included in an entity profile, associated with the computing device, that is stored on the UE; wherein the computing device is non-operational and unable to independently establish a connection with the server, and wherein the one or more processors are configured to transmit the at least one image file via a direct, local connection between the UE and the computing device to cause the computing device to be recovered using the at least one image file as taught by Nix because processors may have a failure of a boot or encounter unrecoverable errors. The firmware image including a BIOS can aid in the boot process by having a pre-boot or boot loader for the processor. Replacing the boot firmware BIOS can also aid in recovering from processor errors. Using both wireless or wired communication links between mobile devices, computers, servers, or nodes can increase the flexibility of the system. Device owners or service providers can set a preferred level of security and expected operating lifetime of a device, which can further be used to select preferred cryptographic parameters. Private key values for digital signature operations from the TRE can also be recorded during manufacturing to fix values to assure security and integrity of keys during operation (Nix: paragraphs 101-102 and 128 and 158).
With regards to Claim 15, Adogla in view of Nix teaches the system of Claim 14 above. Nix further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors, to establish the connection with the server, are configured to:
obtain an authentication certificate associated with the computing device (Paragraphs 45, 122, and 125, “Device 102 can include a SOC 109 and SOC 109 is also depicted and described in connection with FIG. 1b below. SOC 109 can include TRE 113, and additional details for the operation of SOC 109 and TRE 113 is provided in subsequent figures… EEPROM 113c in TRE 113 can include a PP certificate 120, PP boot firmware 121, CU boot configuration 123, certificate authority public key 133, certificate authority public key parameters 111a, a primary platform private key 115a, and a symmetric key 127… PP certificate 120 can include the PP identity PP-ID 109i, PP public key 115b (corresponding to PP private key 115a), certificate parameters 111a, and a certificate authority digital signature 116. PP certificate 120 can be formatted according to the X.509 v3 specifications, among other possible formats, and stored as a plain text file, *.pem file, or *.crt file or similar file formats. PP certificate 120 can be used by TRE 113 and SOC 109 in order to verify identity of TRE 113 to device 102 or a server such as server 103 (including verifying identity of TRE 113 to a network).” The device including an SOC, which further includes TRE and PP certificate, which is used to verify the identity of the device to a network, correlates to obtaining an authentication certificate associated with the computing device to establish a connection with the server); and
authenticate the computing device with the server using the authentication certificate (Paragraph 125, “PP certificate 120 can include the PP identity PP-ID 109i, PP public key 115b (corresponding to PP private key 115a), certificate parameters 111a, and a certificate authority digital signature 116. PP certificate 120 can be formatted according to the X.509 v3 specifications, among other possible formats, and stored as a plain text file, *.pem file, or *.crt file or similar file formats. PP certificate 120 can be used by TRE 113 and SOC 109 in order to verify identity of TRE 113 to device 102 or a server such as server 103 (including verifying identity of TRE 113 to a network).” The PP certificate being used to verify the identity to a server correlate to authenticating the computing device with the server using the authentication certificate).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Adogla with wherein the one or more processors, to establish the connection with the server, are configured to: obtain an authentication certificate associated with the computing device; and authenticate the computing device with the server using the authentication certificate as taught by Nix because device owners or service providers can set a preferred level of security and expected operating lifetime of a device, which can further be used to select preferred cryptographic parameters. Private key values for digital signature operations from the TRE can also be recorded during manufacturing to fix values to assure security and integrity of keys during operation (Nix: paragraphs 128 and 158).
With regards to Claim 16, Adogla in view of Nix teaches the system of Claim 15 above. Nix further teaches:
wherein the authentication certificate is included in an entity profile, associated with the computing device, that is stored on the UE (Paragraphs 70, 77 and 79, “An IDS 103 or image maker 109 could select the first or second firmware update image 106 using the primary platform identity PP-ID 101i, where a database or table accessible to IDS 109 or image maker 109 could select or determine the first or second firmware image 106 (or a plurality of different firmware images 106 for a plurality of different processors) using the PP-ID 101i… In order to obtain firmware 106 from IDS 103, device 102 using agent 102x could generate a message 151 with TRE credentials for TRE 113. In exemplary embodiments, the message 151 with TRE credentials could support the TRE credentials as described in sections 2.2.3, and 2.3 of the GSMA PP Requirements document. TRE credentials in message 151 could include an identity for PP 101 of PP-ID 101i… The IDS server 103 could select or query for an image 106 for PP 101 using the PP-ID 101i received message 151. IDS 103 could send image maker 190 a message 152 in order to query or request the image 106 for device 102 using PP-ID 101i.” The PP-ID is part of the PP certificate and TRE credentials, so the image maker querying or servicing a request for a device using the PP-ID from a database or table correlates to the authentication certificate being included in the entity profile associated with the computing device that is stored on the UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Adogla wherein the authentication certificate is included in an entity profile, associated with the computing device, that is stored on the UE as taught by Nix because device owners or service providers can set a preferred level of security and expected operating lifetime of a device, which can further be used to select preferred cryptographic parameters. Private key values for digital signature operations from the TRE can also be recorded during manufacturing to fix values to assure security and integrity of keys during operation (Nix: paragraphs 128 and 158).
With regards to Claim 32, Adogla in view of Nix teaches the method of Claim 1 above. Nix further teaches:
wherein the UE comprises at least one of: a smartphone, a tablet, or a laptop computer, and wherein the transmitting comprises the UE physically connecting to the computing device via a wired or wireless personal area network interface (Paragraphs 11, 57, 63, 65-66 “The computing device can comprise a mobile phone, wireless device, personal computer, laptop, or a networked transducer for the “Internet of Things” … The servers or networks communicating with device 102 or a remote computer typically includes many of the elements described above relative to the device 102, including a CPU, memory, and physical interfaces. It will be appreciated that the network connections shown throughout the present disclosure are exemplary and other means of establishing a wireless or wired communications link may be used between mobile devices, computers, servers, corresponding nodes, and similar computers… For a physical interface 102a, in exemplary embodiments, a server 103 and server 180 in FIG. 1a could use a physical, wired LAN interface such as a high-speed Ethernet or fiber optic connection… In exemplary embodiments, image maker 190 can comprise a collection of servers, such that a first server processes the firmware 106 offline and encrypts the data of firmware 106 before storing the ciphertext firmware 106* in a second server for image maker 190, where the second server is connected to IP network 105 with IDS server 103… In exemplary embodiments, a boot update firmware image 106 generated by an image maker 190 can include a package of data with additional software and firmware for the primary platform 101 operating on a device 102.” The image maker comprising a collection of servers which include many of the elements described relative to the device which is described as a laptop or mobile phone, and further support communications between mobile devices and computers, sending a boot update firmware image to the device correlates to the UE comprises at least one of: a smartphone, a tablet, or a laptop computer. The collection of servers such as server 103 and 180 using physical, wired LAN interfaces to connect to the physical interface of the device correlates to the transmitting comprising the UE physically connecting to the computing device via a wired or wireless personal area network interface).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Adogla with wherein the UE comprises at least one of: a smartphone, a tablet, or a laptop computer, and wherein the transmitting comprises the UE physically connecting to the computing device via a wired or wireless personal area network interface as taught by Nix because distributed computing environments can practice performing tasks using remote processing devices that are linked through a communications network. Other system configurations, including hand-held devices, netbooks, portable computers, multiprocessor systems, microprocessor based or programmable consumer electronics, network personal computers, minicomputers, mainframe computers, servers, and the like may also be implemented to support the delivery of common firmware for a collection of devices through physical, wired LAN interfaces such as high-speed ethernet or fiber optic connections (Nix: paragraphs 62-64).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adogla in view of Nix and Haryadi et al. (U.S. Patent No. US 20220179633 A1), hereinafter “Haryadi.”
With regards to Claim 3, Adogla in view of Nix teaches the method of Claim 2 above.
Adogla further teaches:
receiving, from the server and via the connection through the wireless network, the software image file (Paragraph 43, “The software image bootstrap facility system 240 is executing in memory 230 to provide an embodiment of the software image bootstrap facility, and it interacts with the other computing systems over the network 280 (e.g., via the Internet and/or the World Wide Web, via a private cellular network, etc.). The other computing systems may similarly execute various software as part of the interactions. For example, a Web browser 259 executing in memory 257 of an image creator computing system 250 allows an image creator user (not shown) to interact with the software image bootstrap facility system 240 over the network 280 (e.g., to configure usage models for bootstrap images being registered for use to configure startup of other software images) … In addition, the software code and any other data that is part of a registered bootstrap images may also or alternatively be stored remotely (e.g., on an optional other computing system 290, such as that provides an online storage service; as an image 253 on storage 251 of the image creator user's computing system 250; etc.) and retrieved by the systems 240 and/or 245 as desired.” The software image bootstrap facility system storing bootstrap images remotely on storage 251 of the image creator computing system through the network correlates to receiving a software image from the server via connection through the wireless network);
Adogla in view of Nix does not explicitly teach:
and transmitting the software image file to the computing device after transmitting the firmware image file to the computing device.
However, Haryadi teaches:
and transmitting the software image file to the computing device after transmitting the firmware image file to the computing device (Paragraphs 28, 36-37 and 46, “In response to the API call, hardware support manager 170 retrieves the firmware from firmware repository 171 and stages the firmware in hosts 131. Then, the firmware staged in each host 131 is installed in the host by a corresponding baseboard management controller 154… After payloads and metadata of base images, add-ons, firmware components, solutions, and user components have been published in image depot 120, the end user is able to define software specification 105 for the desired image of the virtualization software through UI 101. After software specification 105 is generated, image manager 112 parses it to determine the selections of the base image, add-on, solution, firmware package, and one or more user components made by the end user. Then, image manager 112 retrieves the metadata corresponding to the selected base image, the selected add-on, and the selected solution from image depot 120, determines the firmware manifest corresponding to the selected firm ware package, and composites an image of the virtualization software as a hierarchical software stack, as described above. Image manager 112 then validates the composited image as described below in conjunction with FIG. 4, and commits the validated composited image of the virtualization software as desired image 125 in shared storage 160… After desired image 125 is validated, committed, and stored in shared storage 160 and after it passes HCL validation, desired image 125 can be applied to hosts 131.” The firmware being installed in the host prior to the software specification for the image being validated and applied to the host correlates to transmitting the software image file to the computing device after transmitting the firmware image file).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Adogla with transmitting the software image file to the computing device after transmitting the firmware image file to the computing device.as taught by Haryadi because the software image specification allows for further customizability through add-ons, solutions, and user components. Applying the image in phases allows for a validation step after the firmware image is applied as well as the option to verify the firmware is in compliance or to check on the state of the firmware (Haryadi: paragraphs 29 and 35).
Claims 4, 7, 18-20 and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adogla in view of Nix and Willoughby et al. (U.S. Patent No. US 20200117472 A1), hereinafter “Willoughby.”
With regards to Claim 4, Adogla in view of Nix teaches the method of Claim 1 above. Adogla further teaches:
wherein receiving at least one of the firmware image file or the software image file comprises:
receiving the software image file (Paragraph 43, “The software image bootstrap facility system 240 is executing in memory 230 to provide an embodiment of the software image bootstrap facility, and it interacts with the other computing systems over the network 280 (e.g., via the Internet and/or the World Wide Web, via a private cellular network, etc.) … In addition, the software code and any other data that is part of a registered bootstrap images may also or alternatively be stored remotely (e.g., on an optional other computing system 290, such as that provides an online storage service; as an image 253 on storage 251 of the image creator user's computing system 250; etc.) and retrieved by the systems 240 and/or 245 as desired.” The software image bootstrap facility system storing bootstrap images remotely on storage 251 of the image creator computing system through the network correlates to receiving the software image),
and wherein transmitting at least one of the firmware image file or the software image file to the computing device comprises:
transmitting the software image file to the computing device (Paragraph 61, “In block 420, the routine then obtains a copy of the indicated software image(s) and bootstrap image(s), such as by retrieving a stored or otherwise accessible copy for each. The routine then continues to block 430 to identify one or more host computing systems that are available to and appropriate for executing at least one software image copy. In block 470, the routine then provisions each of the identified host computing systems and initiates execution of the software image(s) on the host computing system, with the provisioning including initiating loading of at least some of the software image(s) and/or bootstrap image(s) on each host computing system. In other embodiments and situations, one or more of the bootstrap images may instead be loaded onto a host computing system at a later time after execution of a software image begins, such as during execution of bootstrap instructions for the software image.” The software or bootstrap images being retrieved from a stored location, which includes the image creator computing system, and provisioning the host computing system for executing the software image copy or loading the bootstrap images on the host computing system correlates to transmitting the software image to a computing device).
Adogla does not explicitly teach:
wherein the computing device comprises a partially non-operational computing device that can load a valid boot chain of the computing device but not an operating system (OS) of the computing device;
wherein receiving at least one of the firmware image file or the software image file comprises:
wherein the software image file comprises an image file of the OS;
However, Willoughby teaches:
wherein the computing device comprises a partially non-operational computing device that can load a valid boot chain of the computing device but not an operating system (OS) of the computing device (Paragraph 51, “According to some embodiments, booting (or rebooting) a server 420 may mean to load software onto the server 420 and take the server from a non-functional state to an operational state… in some embodiments, performing a hard reset may mean rebooting the server 420 when the OS of the server 420 has become unresponsive. According to some embodiments, the rack level server boot device 410 can be configured to store and boot a special purpose OS image by one or more servers 420. A special purpose OS image can be an OS image that is specifically created to diagnose and/or guide repair of a server 420 or update the firmware of a server 420.” The server being in a non-functional state where the OS has become unresponsive correlates to the computing device comprising a partially non-operational computing device that can load a valid boot chain but not an operating system);
wherein receiving at least one of the firmware image file or the software image file comprises:
wherein the software image file comprises an image file of the OS (Paragraphs 50-51, “An OS boot image may be a premade operating system install that can be copied from a server (e.g., rack level server boot device 410) to a production unit's (e.g., server 420) hard drive that may include the drivers, third party applications, and customized tweaks to the operating system… According to some embodiments, the rack level server boot device 410 can be configured to store and boot a special purpose OS image by one or more servers 420. A special purpose OS image can be an OS image that is specifically created to diagnose and/or guide repair of a server 420 or update the firmware of a server 420.” The special purpose OS image used to diagnose or guide repair of a server correlates to the software image file comprising an image file of the OS);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Adogla with wherein the computing device comprises a partially non-operational computing device that can load a valid boot chain of the computing device but not an operating system (OS) of the computing device; wherein receiving at least one of the firmware image file or the software image file comprises: wherein the software image file comprises an image file of the OS as taught by Willoughby because different OS boot images may include different operating systems, applications, features, and configurations. The rack level server boot device can be configured to boot different servers with different operating systems and a single OS boot image may be used to boot multiple servers. This reduces the need for multiple updates as the update only needs to occur once for the associated servers to reflect changes. Additionally, booting from an OS boot image is significantly faster than separately installing each file included in the OS boot image (Willoughby: paragraph 50).
With regards to Claim 7, Adogla in view of Nix and Willoughby teaches the method of Claim 4 above. Willoughby further teaches:
wherein transmitting the software image file to the computing device comprises:
transmitting, via a wired connection, the software image file to the computing device (Paragraphs 45 and 51, “The rack level server boot device can include a plurality of ports, such as USB ports. Each of the plurality of servers can connect to the rack level server boot device by connecting one end of a communication wire (e.g., a USB wire) to a respective server and the other end of the wire into one of the plurality of ports of the rack level server boot device… For example, in response to receiving a command from a user device 430, the rack level server boot device 410 may boot a specified server using a specified OS boot image… According to some embodiments, booting (or rebooting) a server 420 may mean to load software onto the server 420 and take the server from a non-functional state to an operational state.” The rack level server boot device connected to a plurality of servers through communication wires and loading a specified OS boot image to a server correlate to transmitting the software image file to the computing device via wired connection).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Adogla with wherein transmitting the software image file to the computing device comprises: transmitting, via a wired connection, the software image file to the computing device as taught by Willoughby because wired connections eliminate the technical difficulties of locating the correct server, network configuration, and proper IP/ethernet MAC address mapping to boot a given OS boot image that typically occurs through the OS image being stored remotely in a networked device (Willoughby: paragraph 50).
With regards to Claim 18, Adogla teaches the system of Claim 14 above. Adogla does not explicitly teach:
wherein the server comprises an on-premises server; and
wherein the one or more processors, to establish the connection with the server, are configured to:
establish a secure channel between the UE and the on-premises server.
However, Willoughby teaches:
wherein the server comprises an on-premises server (Paragraph 45, “The rack level server boot device can include a plurality of ports, such as USB ports. Each of the plurality of servers can connect to the rack level server boot device by connecting one end of a communication wire (e.g., a USB wire) to a respective server and the other end of the wire into one of the plurality of ports of the rack level server boot device.” The rack level server boot device connected to a plurality of servers through communication wires correlate to the server comprising an on-premises server);
Additionally, Nix teaches:
and wherein the one or more processors, to establish the connection with the server, are configured to:
establish a secure channel between the UE and the server (Paragraph 79, “Image maker 199 could send IDS 103 the image 106 for device 102 (or a plurality of devices 102) via a secure session in a message 153.” The image maker communicating with the IDS via a secure session correlate to establishing a secure channel between the UE and the server).
Nix does not explicitly teach that the server is an on-premises server. However, on-premises servers are a popular configuration of servers as evidenced by Willoughby above.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Adogla with and wherein the one or more processors, to establish the connection with the server, are configured to: establish a secure channel between the UE and the server as taught by Nix because secure sessions increase the security for a system and device, as the system must be authenticated to write to nonvolatile memory. Secure sessions also allow for mutual authentication through the use of authentication certificates (Nix: paragraphs 67 and 83).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Adogla with wherein the server comprises an on-premises server as taught by Willoughby because wired connections eliminate the technical difficulties of locating the correct server, network configuration, and proper IP/ethernet MAC address mapping to boot a given OS boot image that typically occurs through the OS image being stored remotely in a networked device (Willoughby: paragraph 50).
With regards to Claim 27, the system of Claim 18 performs the same steps as the system of Claim 27, and Claim 27 is therefore rejected using the same rationale set forth above in the rejection of Claim 18.
With regards to Claim 19, Adogla in view of Willoughby and Nix teaches the system of Claim 18 above. Adogla further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors, to receive at least one of the firmware image file or the software image file, are configured to:
receive at least one of the firmware image file or the software image file (Paragraph 43, “The software image bootstrap facility system 240 is executing in memory 230 to provide an embodiment of the software image bootstrap facility, and it interacts with the other computing systems over the network 280 (e.g., via the Internet and/or the World Wide Web, via a private cellular network, etc.). The other computing systems may similarly execute various software as part of the interactions. For example, a Web browser 259 executing in memory 257 of an image creator computing system 250 allows an image creator user (not shown) to interact with the software image bootstrap facility system 240 over the network 280 (e.g., to configure usage models for bootstrap images being registered for use to configure startup of other software images) … In addition, the software code and any other data that is part of a registered bootstrap images may also or alternatively be stored remotely (e.g., on an optional other computing system 290, such as that provides an online storage service; as an image 253 on storage 251 of the image creator user's computing system 250; etc.) and retrieved by the systems 240 and/or 245 as desired.” The software image bootstrap facility system storing bootstrap images remotely on storage 251 of the image creator computing system through the network correlates to receiving at least one firmware or software image).
Adogla does not explicitly teach that the firmware or software image file is received through the secure channel. However, secure channels are a popular method of connecting a UE and a server as evidenced by Nix above.
With regards to Claim 28, the system of Claim 19 performs the same steps as the system of Claim 28, and Claim 28 is therefore rejected using the same rationale set forth above in the rejection of Claim 19.
With regards to Claim 20, Adogla in view of Willoughby and Nix teaches the system of Claim 18 above. Adogla further teaches:
and wherein the one or more processors, to transmit at least one of the firmware image file or the software image file to the computing device, are configured to:
transmit at least one of the firmware image file or the software image file to the computing device (Paragraph 61, “In block 420, the routine then obtains a copy of the indicated software image(s) and bootstrap image(s), such as by retrieving a stored or otherwise accessible copy for each. The routine then continues to block 430 to identify one or more host computing systems that are available to and appropriate for executing at least one software image copy. In block 470, the routine then provisions each of the identified host computing systems and initiates execution of the software image(s) on the host computing system, with the provisioning including initiating loading of at least some of the software image(s) and/or bootstrap image(s) on each host computing system. In other embodiments and situations, one or more of the bootstrap images may instead be loaded onto a host computing system at a later time after execution of a software image begins, such as during execution of bootstrap instructions for the software image.” The software or bootstrap images being retrieved from a stored location, which includes the image creator computing system, and provisioning the host computing system for executing the software image copy or loading the bootstrap images on the host computing system correlates to transmitting the at least one of the firmware or software image to a computing device).
Adogla does not explicitly teach that the firmware or software image file is received through the secure channel. However, secure channels are a popular method of connecting a UE and a server as evidenced by Nix above.
Adogla does not explicitly teach:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
establish the secure channel between the computing device and the on-premises server via the UE;
However, Nix teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
establish the secure channel between the computing device and the server via the UE (Paragraphs 77, 79, and 82, “In order to obtain firmware 106 from IDS 103, device 102 using agent 102x could generate a message 151 with TRE credentials for TRE 113. In exemplary embodiments, the message 151 with TRE credentials could support the TRE credentials as described in sections 2.2.3, and 2.3 of the GSMA PP Requirements document. TRE credentials in message 151 could include an identity for PP 101 of PP-ID 101i… The IDS server 103 could select or query for an image 106 for PP 101 using the PP-ID 101i received message 151. IDS 103 could send image maker 190 a message 152 in order to query or request the image 106 for device 102 using PP-ID 101i. Image maker 199 could send IDS 103 the image 106 for device 102 (or a plurality of devices 102) via a secure session in a message 153… A message 155 from device 102 and PP 101 can signal the establishment of secure session 155a.” The device generating a message with TRE credentials to the server signaling the establishment of a secure session correlates to establishing a secure channel between the computing device and server. The device’s message being sent from the server to the image maker through a secure session correlate to the secure channel between the computing device and server via the UE);
Nix does not explicitly teach that the server is an on-premises server. However, on-premises servers are a popular configuration of servers as evidenced by Willoughby above.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Adogla with and wherein the one or more processors, to establish the connection with the server, are configured to: establish a secure channel between the UE and the server as taught by Nix because secure sessions increase the security for a system and device, as the system must be authenticated to write to nonvolatile memory. Secure sessions also allow for mutual authentication through the use of authentication certificates (Nix: paragraphs 67 and 83).
Claim 5, 12 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adogla in view of Nix, Willoughby and Ciocari et al. (U.S. Patent No. US 20200301616 A1), hereinafter “Ciocari.”
With regards to Claim 5, Adogla in view of Nix and Willoughby teaches the method of Claim 4 above. Adogla in view of Nix and Willoughby does not explicitly teach:
wherein transmitting the software image file to the computing device comprises:
communicating with the valid boot chain of the computing device to transmit the software image file to the computing device.
However, Ciocari teaches:
wherein transmitting the software image file to the computing device comprises:
communicating with the valid boot chain of the computing device to transmit the software image file to the computing device (Paragraphs 13-14, “In an example, the virtual device is created by the system firmware which creates a device path that maps to a Unified Extensible Firmware Interface, UEFI, namespace in the main memory of the computer and permits read and/or write operations on it as if it was a real storage device… A UEFI system partition is provided in the virtual memory and interfaced with the partition table. Operating system files are stored in the system partition, and computer-executable instructions to load the computer operating system boot sequence in the virtual memory based on the operating system files. In an example, a UEFI driver creates a virtual disk, which in turn, contains a physical device path, which mimics an actual device path to a non-volatile or network device. According to an example, the process may download OS image files including OS boot loader files among others from a preconfigured network location.” The process of downloading OS image files from a preconfigured network location to the virtual device mapped to a UEFI system partition correlates to communicating with the boot chain of the computing device to transmit the software image file to the computing device. The UEFI driver creating a virtual disk and permitting read/write operations correlates to the boot chain being valid).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Adogla with wherein transmitting the software image file to the computing device comprises: communicating with the valid boot chain of the computing device to transmit the software image file to the computing device as taught by Ciocari because a UEFI system partition in the virtual memory allows redirecting of operations to system RAM for normal disk operations. Copying the operating system to a remote storage location to provide a copy of the entire computer’s state can be used for retrieval of a particular computer parameter in the case of future computer malfunctions (Ciocari: paragraph 13).
With regards to Claim 12, Adogla in view of Ciocari and Nix teach the method of Claim 8 above. Adogla further teaches:
wherein receiving at least one of the firmware image file or the software image file comprises:
receiving the software image file from the UE (Paragraph 43, “The software image bootstrap facility system 240 is executing in memory 230 to provide an embodiment of the software image bootstrap facility, and it interacts with the other computing systems over the network 280 (e.g., via the Internet and/or the World Wide Web, via a private cellular network, etc.) … In addition, the software code and any other data that is part of a registered bootstrap images may also or alternatively be stored remotely (e.g., on an optional other computing system 290, such as that provides an online storage service; as an image 253 on storage 251 of the image creator user's computing system 250; etc.) and retrieved by the systems 240 and/or 245 as desired.” The software image bootstrap facility system storing bootstrap images remotely on storage 251 of the image creator computing system through the network correlates to receiving the software image from the UE),
Adogla does not explicitly teach:
wherein the computing device comprises a partially non-operational computing device that can load a valid boot chain of the computing device but not an operating system (OS) of the computing device;
wherein receiving at least one of the firmware image file or the software image file comprises:
wherein the software image file comprises an image file of the OS;
and wherein performing the recovery operation comprises at least one of:
repairing an operating system (OS) of the computing device using the software image file, or
reimaging the OS of the computing device using the software image file
However, Willoughby teaches:
wherein the computing device comprises a partially non-operational computing device that can load a valid boot chain of the computing device but not an operating system (OS) of the computing device (Paragraph 51, “According to some embodiments, booting (or rebooting) a server 420 may mean to load software onto the server 420 and take the server from a non-functional state to an operational state… in some embodiments, performing a hard reset may mean rebooting the server 420 when the OS of the server 420 has become unresponsive. According to some embodiments, the rack level server boot device 410 can be configured to store and boot a special purpose OS image by one or more servers 420. A special purpose OS image can be an OS image that is specifically created to diagnose and/or guide repair of a server 420 or update the firmware of a server 420.” The server being in a non-functional state where the OS has become unresponsive correlates to the computing device comprising a partially non-operational computing device that can load a valid boot chain but not an operating system);
wherein receiving at least one of the firmware image file or the software image file comprises:
wherein the software image file comprises an image file of the OS (Paragraphs 50-51, “An OS boot image may be a premade operating system install that can be copied from a server (e.g., rack level server boot device 410) to a production unit's (e.g., server 420) hard drive that may include the drivers, third party applications, and customized tweaks to the operating system… According to some embodiments, the rack level server boot device 410 can be configured to store and boot a special purpose OS image by one or more servers 420. A special purpose OS image can be an OS image that is specifically created to diagnose and/or guide repair of a server 420 or update the firmware of a server 420.” The special purpose OS image used to diagnose or guide repair of a server correlates to the software image file comprising an image file of the OS);
Additionally, Ciocari further teaches:
and wherein performing the recovery operation comprises at least one of:
repairing an operating system (OS) of the computing device using the software image file, or
reimaging the OS of the computing device using the software image file (Paragraph 14, “According to an example, the process may download OS image files including OS boot loader files among others from a preconfigured network location. The OS boot loader is called/processed in order to boot the OS. The OS image may be customized to execute specific tasks including, but not limited to, a full system re-image, hardware or software diagnostics, recovery of the currently installed OS, among other tasks.” The OS image file being configured to execute tasks including the recovery of the currently installed OS correlates to repairing or reimaging an OS of the computing device using the software image files).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Adogla with wherein the computing device comprises a partially non-operational computing device that can load a valid boot chain of the computing device but not an operating system (OS) of the computing device; wherein receiving at least one of the firmware image file or the software image file comprises: wherein the software image file comprises an image file of the OS as taught by Willoughby because different OS boot images may include different operating systems, applications, features, and configurations. The rack level server boot device can be configured to boot different servers with different operating systems and a single OS boot image may be used to boot multiple servers. This reduces the need for multiple updates as the update only needs to occur once for the associated servers to reflect changes. Additionally, booting from an OS boot image is significantly faster than separately installing each file included in the OS boot image (Willoughby: paragraph 50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Adogla with and wherein performing the recovery operation comprises at least one of: repairing an operating system (OS) of the computing device using the software image file, or reimaging the OS of the computing device using the software image file as taught by Ciocari because the system reimaging process is easily accessed using an automatic or scheduled pre-set procedure, which eliminates user error from losing recovery media or overwriting the local recovery partition. This reduces costs on maintenance and updating the systems which are typically scattered in various places (Ciocari: paragraph 32).
With regards to Claim 23, the method of Claim 12 performs the same steps as the system of Claim 23, and Claim 23 is therefore rejected using the same rationale set forth above in the rejection of Claim 12.
Claims 8-11, 13, 21-22, 24-26 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adogla in view of Nix and Ciocari.
With regards to Claim 8, Adogla teaches:
A method of wireless communication performed by a computing device, comprising:
receiving, from a user equipment (UE), at least one of a firmware image file or a software image file (Paragraph 61, “In block 420, the routine then obtains a copy of the indicated software image(s) and bootstrap image(s), such as by retrieving a stored or otherwise accessible copy for each. The routine then continues to block 430 to identify one or more host computing systems that are available to and appropriate for executing at least one software image copy. In block 470, the routine then provisions each of the identified host computing systems and initiates execution of the software image(s) on the host computing system, with the provisioning including initiating loading of at least some of the software image(s) and/or bootstrap image(s) on each host computing system. In other embodiments and situations, one or more of the bootstrap images may instead be loaded onto a host computing system at a later time after execution of a software image begins, such as during execution of bootstrap instructions for the software image.” The software or bootstrap images being retrieved from a stored location, which includes the image creator computing system, and provisioning the host computing system for executing the software image copy or loading the bootstrap images on the host computing system correlates to receiving the at least one of the firmware or software image from a user equipment);
Adogla does not explicitly teach that the UE is provisioned with an entity profile associated with the computing device. However, entity profiles associated with computing devices are a popular method of storing authentication certificates as evidenced by Nix above (Paragraphs 70, 77 and 79).
Adogla does not explicitly teach:
the entity profile comprising authentication credentials of the computing device that enable the UE to authenticate the computing device with a server
wherein the computing device is non-operational and unable to independently establish a connection with the server, and wherein the at least one image file is received via a direct, local connection between the UE and the computing device;
and performing a recovery operation for the computing device using at least one of the firmware image file or the software image file.
However, Nix teaches:
the entity profile comprising authentication credentials of the computing device (Paragraphs 70, 77 and 79, “An IDS 103 or image maker 109 could select the first or second firmware update image 106 using the primary platform identity PP-ID 101i, where a database or table accessible to IDS 109 or image maker 109 could select or determine the first or second firmware image 106 (or a plurality of different firmware images 106 for a plurality of different processors) using the PP-ID 101i… In order to obtain firmware 106 from IDS 103, device 102 using agent 102x could generate a message 151 with TRE credentials for TRE 113. In exemplary embodiments, the message 151 with TRE credentials could support the TRE credentials as described in sections 2.2.3, and 2.3 of the GSMA PP Requirements document. TRE credentials in message 151 could include an identity for PP 101 of PP-ID 101i… The IDS server 103 could select or query for an image 106 for PP 101 using the PP-ID 101i received message 151. IDS 103 could send image maker 190 a message 152 in order to query or request the image 106 for device 102 using PP-ID 101i.” The PP-ID is part of the PP certificate and TRE credentials, so the image maker querying or servicing a request for a device using the PP-ID from a database or table correlates to the entity profile comprising authentication credentials of the computing device) that enable the UE to authenticate the computing device with a server (Paragraph 125, “PP certificate 120 can include the PP identity PP-ID 109i, PP public key 115b (corresponding to PP private key 115a), certificate parameters 111a, and a certificate authority digital signature 116. PP certificate 120 can be formatted according to the X.509 v3 specifications, among other possible formats, and stored as a plain text file, *.pem file, or *.crt file or similar file formats. PP certificate 120 can be used by TRE 113 and SOC 109 in order to verify identity of TRE 113 to device 102 or a server such as server 103 (including verifying identity of TRE 113 to a network).” The PP certificate being used to verify the identity to a server correlates to enabling the UE to authenticate the computing device with a server),
wherein the computing device is non-operational and unable to independently establish a connection with the server (Paragraph 101, “If any of (i) a device 102 boot of first boot firmware 160 or 160* through (ii) a second boot firmware 161 and 161* and through (iii) additional boot firmware or software up to the loading of an OS 102h fails, hangs, or otherwise encounters unrecoverable errors…” The device failing to load up to but before the loading of an OS would lead to the device not being able to independently connect to a server and therefore corresponds to the computing device being non-operational and unable to independently establish a connection with the server), and wherein the at least one image file is received via a direct, local connection between the UE and the computing device (Paragraphs 57, 63, 65-66 “The servers or networks communicating with device 102 or a remote computer typically includes many of the elements described above relative to the device 102, including a CPU, memory, and physical interfaces. It will be appreciated that the network connections shown throughout the present disclosure are exemplary and other means of establishing a wireless or wired communications link may be used between mobile devices, computers, servers, corresponding nodes, and similar computers… For a physical interface 102a, in exemplary embodiments, a server 103 and server 180 in FIG. 1a could use a physical, wired LAN interface such as a high-speed Ethernet or fiber optic connection… In exemplary embodiments, image maker 190 can comprise a collection of servers, such that a first server processes the firmware 106 offline and encrypts the data of firmware 106 before storing the ciphertext firmware 106* in a second server for image maker 190, where the second server is connected to IP network 105 with IDS server 103… In exemplary embodiments, a boot update firmware image 106 generated by an image maker 190 can include a package of data with additional software and firmware for the primary platform 101 operating on a device 102.” The image maker comprising a collection of servers and sending a boot update firmware image to the device correlates to the image file being received from the UE to the device. The collection of servers such as server 103 and 180 using physical, wired LAN interfaces to connect to the physical interface of the device correlates to the at least one image file being received via a direct, local connection between the UE and the computing device);
Additionally, Ciocari teaches:
and performing a recovery operation for the computing device using at least one of the firmware image file or the software image file (Paragraph 14, “According to an example, the process may download OS image files including OS boot loader files among others from a preconfigured network location. The OS boot loader is called/processed in order to boot the OS. The OS image may be customized to execute specific tasks including, but not limited to, a full system re-image, hardware or software diagnostics, recovery of the currently installed OS, among other tasks.” The OS image file being configured to execute tasks including the recovery of the currently installed OS correlates to performing a recovery operation for the computing device using at least one of the software image files).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Adogla with a user equipment (UE) provisioned with an entity profile associated with the computing device, the entity profile comprising authentication credentials of the computing device that enable the UE to authenticate the computing device with a server, wherein the computing device is non-operational and unable to independently establish a connection with the server, and wherein the at least one image file is received via a direct, local connection between the UE and the computing device as taught by Nix because processors may have a failure of a boot or encounter unrecoverable errors. The firmware image including a BIOS can aid in the boot process by having a pre-boot or boot loader for the processor. Replacing the boot firmware BIOS can also aid in recovering from processor errors. Using both wireless or wired communication links between mobile devices, computers, servers, or nodes can increase the flexibility of the system. Device owners or service providers can set a preferred level of security and expected operating lifetime of a device, which can further be used to select preferred cryptographic parameters. Private key values for digital signature operations from the TRE can also be recorded during manufacturing to fix values to assure security and integrity of keys during operation (Nix: paragraphs 57, 101-102, and 128 and 158).
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Adogla with and performing a recovery operation for the computing device using at least one of the firmware image file or the software image file as taught by Ciocari because the system reimaging process is easily accessed using an automatic or scheduled pre-set procedure, which eliminates user error from losing recovery media or overwriting the local recovery partition. This reduces costs on maintenance and updating the systems which are typically scattered in various places (Ciocari: paragraph 32).
With regards to Claim 21, the method of Claim 8 performs the same steps as the system of Claim 21, and Claim 21 is therefore rejected using the same rationale set forth above in the rejection of Claim 8.
With regards to Claim 9, Adogla in view of Ciocari and Nix teach the method of Claim 8 above. Nix further teaches:
wherein the computing device comprises a fully non-operational computing device having a non-operational boot chain (Paragraph 101, “If any of (i) a device 102 boot of first boot firmware 160 or 160* through (ii) a second boot firmware 161 and 161* and through (iii) additional boot firmware or software up to the loading of an OS 102h fails, hangs, or otherwise encounters unrecoverable errors…” The device failing to load up to but before the loading of an OS corresponds to the computing device comprising a fully non-operational computing device with a non-operational boot chain);
wherein receiving at least one of the firmware image file or the software image file comprises:
receiving the firmware image file, wherein the firmware image file comprises a boot chain image file (Paragraphs 34, 67, and 101, “The boot update firmware image 106 as contemplated herein may also be referred to as a “generic” firmware image, “image 106”, and also “firmware 106”. The subsequent secure receipt of an updated first boot firmware 160* from DBCS 180 after download and receipt of the image 106 can be useful to address the multiple needs in the art described above. As contemplated herein, the term “first boot firmware” can comprise a boot loader for device 102, and the term “updated first boot firmware” can comprise an updated boot loader for device 102… The boot update firmware image 106 can also include (iv) a boot update library 160a which can be used to write an updated first boot firmware 160* to the read only nonvolatile memory for processor 109c… In some exemplary embodiments, the first boot firmware 160 or 160* can comprise a BIOS (“basic input/output system”).” The firmware image including a first boot firmware which comprises a BIOS correlates to receiving the firmware image file comprising a boot chain image file); and
wherein performing the recovery operation comprises:
repairing the non-operational boot chain using the boot chain image file (Paragraphs 89 and 101, “The SOC 109 with PP 101 and boot update image 106 can receive the updated first boot firmware 160* from device 102 and message 156. The PP 101 and SOC 109 can conduct the steps depicted and described in connection with FIG. 2 in order to replace or update a previously installed initial first boot firmware 160 (or initial boot loader) for processor 109c with the updated first boot firmware 160* (or updated boot loader) from the message 156… In some exemplary embodiments, the first boot firmware 160 or 160* can comprise a BIOS (“basic input/output system”). The initial first boot firmware 160 can comprise the first boot firmware for processor 109c before the receipt and installation of updated first boot firmware 160* by device 102 from DBCS 180 via secure session 155a… If any of (i) a device 102 boot of first boot firmware 160 or 160* through (ii) a second boot firmware 161 and 161* and through (iii) additional boot firmware or software up to the loading of an OS 102h fails, hangs, or otherwise encounters unrecoverable errors” The initial first boot firmware comprising a BIOS that is replaced by the updated first boot firmware also including a BIOS correlates to repairing the non-operational boot chain using the boot chain image file).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Adogla with wherein the computing device comprises a fully non-operational computing device having a non-operational boot chain; wherein receiving at least one of the firmware image file or the software image file comprises: receiving the firmware image file, wherein the firmware image file comprises a boot chain image file; and wherein performing the recovery operation comprises: repairing the boot chain using the boot chain image file as taught by Nix because processors may have a failure of a boot or encounter unrecoverable errors. The firmware image including a BIOS can aid in the boot process by having a pre-boot or boot loader for the processor. Replacing the boot firmware BIOS can also aid in recovering from processor errors (Nix: paragraphs 101-102).
With regards to Claim 22, the method of Claim 9 performs the same steps as the system of Claim 22, and Claim 22 is therefore rejected using the same rationale set forth above in the rejection of Claim 9.
With regards to Claim 10, Adogla in view of Ciocari and Nix teach the method of Claim 9 above. Adogla further teaches:
receiving, from the UE, the software image file (Paragraph 61, “In block 420, the routine then obtains a copy of the indicated software image(s) and bootstrap image(s), such as by retrieving a stored or otherwise accessible copy for each. The routine then continues to block 430 to identify one or more host computing systems that are available to and appropriate for executing at least one software image copy. In block 470, the routine then provisions each of the identified host computing systems and initiates execution of the software image(s) on the host computing system, with the provisioning including initiating loading of at least some of the software image(s) and/or bootstrap image(s) on each host computing system. In other embodiments and situations, one or more of the bootstrap images may instead be loaded onto a host computing system at a later time after execution of a software image begins, such as during execution of bootstrap instructions for the software image.” The software or bootstrap images being retrieved from a stored location, which includes the image creator computing system, and provisioning the host computing system for executing the software image copy or loading the bootstrap images on the host computing system correlates to receiving the software image from a user equipment);
Ciocari further teaches:
and performing another recovery operation for the computing device using the software image file (Paragraph 32, “With the solution provided by the examples described above, the system reimage is easily accessed or may even be accessed using an automatic/scheduled pre-set procedure.” The system performing reimaging operations on an automatic or scheduled pre-set procedure correlates to performing another recovery operation using the software image file),
wherein the other recovery operation comprises at least one of:
repairing an operating system (OS) of the computing device using the software image file, or
reimaging the OS of the computing device using the software image file (Paragraph 14, “According to an example, the process may download OS image files including OS boot loader files among others from a preconfigured network location. The OS boot loader is called/processed in order to boot the OS. The OS image may be customized to execute specific tasks including, but not limited to, a full system re-image, hardware or software diagnostics, recovery of the currently installed OS, among other tasks.” The OS image file being configured to execute tasks including the recovery of the currently installed OS correlates to repairing or reimaging an OS of the computing device using the software image files).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Adogla with performing another recovery operation for the computing device using the software image file, wherein the other recovery operation comprises at least one of: repairing an operating system (OS) of the computing device using the software image file, or reimaging the OS of the computing device using the software image file as taught by Ciocari because the system reimaging process is easily accessed using an automatic or scheduled pre-set procedure, which eliminates user error from losing recovery media or overwriting the local recovery partition. This reduces costs on maintenance and updating the systems which are typically scattered in various places (Ciocari: paragraph 32).
With regards to Claim 11, Adogla in view of Ciocari and Nix teaches the method of Claim 10 above. Ciocari further teaches:
repairing an operating system (OS) of the computing device after performing the recovery operation (Paragraphs 14 and 32, “According to an example, the process may download OS image files including OS boot loader files among others from a preconfigured network location. The OS boot loader is called/processed in order to boot the OS. The OS image may be customized to execute specific tasks including, but not limited to, a full system re-image, hardware or software diagnostics, recovery of the currently installed OS, among other tasks... With the solution provided by the examples described above, the system reimage is easily accessed or may even be accessed using an automatic/scheduled pre-set procedure.” The OS image file being configured to execute tasks including the recovery of the currently installed OS and a full system re-image correlates to performing the recovery operation. The system performing reimaging operations on an automatic or scheduled pre-set procedure correlates to repairing an OS after performing the recovery operation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Adogla with repairing an operating system (OS) of the computing device after performing the recovery operation as taught by Ciocari because the system reimaging process is easily accessed using an automatic or scheduled pre-set procedure, which eliminates user error from losing recovery media or overwriting the local recovery partition. This reduces costs on maintenance and updating the systems which are typically scattered in various places (Ciocari: paragraph 32).
With regards to Claim 13, Adogla in view of Ciocari and Nix teach the method of Claim 8 above. Nix further teaches:
wherein receiving at least one of the firmware image file or the software image file comprises:
receiving at least one of the firmware image file or the software image file from the server via the UE (Paragraphs 72 and 79, “Firmware 106 can comprise compiled software or machine executable instructions for either (i) a processor or (ii) a virtual machine in PP 101, and may also be referred to herein as an “image”… The IDS server 103 could select or query for an image 106 for PP 101 using the PP-ID 101i received message 151. IDS 103 could send image maker 190 a message 152 in order to query or request the image 106 for device 102 using PP-ID 101i. Image maker 199 could send IDS 103 the image 106 for device 102 (or a plurality of devices 102) via a secure session in a message 153.” The IDS server requesting the firmware image from the image maker to send to the device corresponds to receiving at least one firmware image file from the server via the UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Adogla with wherein receiving at least one of the firmware image file or the software image file comprises: receiving at least one of the firmware image file or the software image file from the server via the UE as taught by Nix because the image maker can send the image to the IDS before the IDS receives data from the device, allowing the IDS to store or query for the image locally. The IDS server could also encrypt the image before sending it directly to the device in order to securely download the image (Nix: paragraphs 80-81).
With regards to Claim 24, the method of Claim 13 performs the same steps as the system of Claim 24, and Claim 24 is therefore rejected using the same rationale set forth above in the rejection of Claim 13.
With regards to Claim 25, Adogla in view of Ciocari and Nix teach the method of Claim 21 above. Adogla further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors, to receive at least one of the firmware image file or the software image file, are configured to:
establish a connection with a server through the wireless network (Paragraphs 43 and 48, “The software image bootstrap facility system 240 is executing in memory 230 to provide an embodiment of the software image bootstrap facility, and it interacts with the other computing systems over the network 280 (e.g., via the Internet and/or the World Wide Web, via a private cellular network, etc.). The other computing systems may similarly execute various software as part of the interactions. For example, a Web browser 259 executing in memory 257 of an image creator computing system 250 allows an image creator user (not shown) to interact with the software image bootstrap facility system 240 over the network 280 (e.g., to configure usage models for bootstrap images being registered for use to configure startup of other software images) … The systems and data structures may also in one or more embodiments be transmitted via generated stored data signals (e.g., by being encoded in a carrier wave or otherwise included as part of an analog or digital propagated signal) on a variety of computer-readable transmission mediums, including wireless-based and wired/cable-based mediums, and may take a variety of forms (e.g., as part of a single or multiplexed analog signal, or as multiple discrete digital packets or frames).” The software image bootstrap facility system interacting with other computing systems through a wireless-based network, such as the image creator computing system, correlates to the user equipment establishing a connection with the server through a wireless network); and receive at least one of the firmware image file or the software image file from the server via the connection through a wireless network (Paragraph 43, “The software image bootstrap facility system 240 is executing in memory 230 to provide an embodiment of the software image bootstrap facility, and it interacts with the other computing systems over the network 280 (e.g., via the Internet and/or the World Wide Web, via a private cellular network, etc.). The other computing systems may similarly execute various software as part of the interactions. For example, a Web browser 259 executing in memory 257 of an image creator computing system 250 allows an image creator user (not shown) to interact with the software image bootstrap facility system 240 over the network 280 (e.g., to configure usage models for bootstrap images being registered for use to configure startup of other software images) … In addition, the software code and any other data that is part of a registered bootstrap images may also or alternatively be stored remotely (e.g., on an optional other computing system 290, such as that provides an online storage service; as an image 253 on storage 251 of the image creator user's computing system 250; etc.) and retrieved by the systems 240 and/or 245 as desired.” The software image bootstrap facility system storing bootstrap images remotely on storage 251 of the image creator computing system through the network correlates to receiving at least one firmware or software image from the server via connection through the wireless network).
With regards to Claim 26, Adogla in view of Ciocari and Nix teach the system of Claim 25 above. Nix further teaches:
wherein the server comprises a cloud-based server (Paragraph 31, “In addition, although a single server 103 and 180 are depicted in FIG. 1a, the exemplary servers 103 and 180 shown for system 100 can comprise either different physical computers such as rack-mounted servers, or different logical or virtual servers or instances operating in a “cloud” configuration, including different computing processes which are geographically dispersed.” The server comprising instances operating in a cloud configuration correlates to the server comprising a cloud-based server); and
wherein the one or more processors, to establish the connection with the server, are configured to:
obtain an authentication certificate associated with the computing device (Paragraphs 45, 122, and 125, “Device 102 can include a SOC 109 and SOC 109 is also depicted and described in connection with FIG. 1b below. SOC 109 can include TRE 113, and additional details for the operation of SOC 109 and TRE 113 is provided in subsequent figures… EEPROM 113c in TRE 113 can include a PP certificate 120, PP boot firmware 121, CU boot configuration 123, certificate authority public key 133, certificate authority public key parameters 111a, a primary platform private key 115a, and a symmetric key 127… PP certificate 120 can include the PP identity PP-ID 109i, PP public key 115b (corresponding to PP private key 115a), certificate parameters 111a, and a certificate authority digital signature 116. PP certificate 120 can be formatted according to the X.509 v3 specifications, among other possible formats, and stored as a plain text file, *.pem file, or *.crt file or similar file formats. PP certificate 120 can be used by TRE 113 and SOC 109 in order to verify identity of TRE 113 to device 102 or a server such as server 103 (including verifying identity of TRE 113 to a network).” The device including an SOC, which further includes TRE and PP certificate, which is used to verify the identity of the device to a network, correlates to obtaining an authentication certificate associated with the computing device to establish a connection with the server); and
authenticate the computing device with the cloud-based server using the authentication certificate (Paragraph 125, “PP certificate 120 can include the PP identity PP-ID 109i, PP public key 115b (corresponding to PP private key 115a), certificate parameters 111a, and a certificate authority digital signature 116. PP certificate 120 can be formatted according to the X.509 v3 specifications, among other possible formats, and stored as a plain text file, *.pem file, or *.crt file or similar file formats. PP certificate 120 can be used by TRE 113 and SOC 109 in order to verify identity of TRE 113 to device 102 or a server such as server 103 (including verifying identity of TRE 113 to a network).” The PP certificate being used to verify the identity to a server correlate to authenticating the computing device with the server using the authentication certificate).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Adogla with wherein the server comprises a cloud-based server; and wherein the one or more processors, to establish the connection with the server, are configured to: obtain an authentication certificate associated with the computing device; and authenticate the computing device with the cloud-based server using the authentication certificate as taught by Nix because device owners or service providers can set a preferred level of security and expected operating lifetime of a device, which can further be used to select preferred cryptographic parameters. Private key values for digital signature operations from the TRE can also be recorded during manufacturing to fix values to assure security and integrity of keys during operation. Additionally, servers can comprise different physical, virtual, or logical instances to accommodate for different computing processes that are geographically dispersed (Nix: paragraphs 31, 128 and 158).
With regards to Claim 29, Adogla in view of Ciocari and Nix teach the method of Claim 21 above. Adogla further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors, to receive at least one of the firmware image file or the software image file, are configured to:
receive, from the UE, at least one of the firmware image file or the software image file using at least one of a wired communication interface of the computing device or a wireless communication interface of the computing device (Paragraphs 60-61, “Conversely, in order for device 102 to receive a packet or response from server 180, which could include a challenge or nonce or random number in order to authenticate a device 102 with the server, the physical interface 102a can use a radio to receive the challenge or nonce from a wireless network… In block 420, the routine then obtains a copy of the indicated software image(s) and bootstrap image(s), such as by retrieving a stored or otherwise accessible copy for each. The routine then continues to block 430 to identify one or more host computing systems that are available to and appropriate for executing at least one software image copy. In block 470, the routine then provisions each of the identified host computing systems and initiates execution of the software image(s) on the host computing system, with the provisioning including initiating loading of at least some of the software image(s) and/or bootstrap image(s) on each host computing system. In other embodiments and situations, one or more of the bootstrap images may instead be loaded onto a host computing system at a later time after execution of a software image begins, such as during execution of bootstrap instructions for the software image.” The software or bootstrap images being retrieved from a stored location, which includes the image creator computing system, and provisioning the host computing system for executing the software image copy or loading the bootstrap images on the host computing system correlates to receiving the at least one of the firmware or software image file from the UE. The device communicating with the server through a physical interface and a wireless network correlate to using a wireless communication interface of the computing device).
With regards to Claim 30, Adogla in view of Ciocari and Nix teach the method of Claim 21 above. Ciocari further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors, to receive at least one of the firmware image file or the software image file, are configured to:
use a boot chain of the computing device to communicate with a wireless communication interface that receives at least one of the firmware image file or the software image file (Paragraphs 13-14, “In an example, the virtual device is created by the system firmware which creates a device path that maps to a Unified Extensible Firmware Interface, UEFI, namespace in the main memory of the computer and permits read and/or write operations on it as if it was a real storage device… A UEFI system partition is provided in the virtual memory and interfaced with the partition table. Operating system files are stored in the system partition, and computer-executable instructions to load the computer operating system boot sequence in the virtual memory based on the operating system files. In an example, a UEFI driver creates a virtual disk, which in turn, contains a physical device path, which mimics an actual device path to a non-volatile or network device. According to an example, the process may download OS image files including OS boot loader files among others from a preconfigured network location.” The process of downloading OS image files from a preconfigured network location to the virtual device mapped to a UEFI system partition correlates to communicating with the boot chain of the computing device to receive the software image file to the computing device).
Ciocari does not explicitly teach that the boot chain communicates with a wireless communication interface to receive the firmware or software image file. However, wireless communication interfaces are a popular method of performing wireless communication as evidenced by Adogla above.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Adogla wherein the one or more processors, to receive at least one of the firmware image file or the software image file, are configured to: use a boot chain of the computing device to communicate with a wireless communication interface that receives at least one of the firmware image file or the software image file as taught by Ciocari because a UEFI system partition in the virtual memory allows redirecting of operations to system RAM for normal disk operations. Copying the operating system to a remote storage location to provide a copy of the entire computer’s state can be used for retrieval of a particular computer parameter in the case of future computer malfunctions (Ciocari: paragraph 13).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adogla in view of Nix and Hudson (U.S. Patent No. US 20210373904 A1), hereinafter “Hudson.”
With regards to Claim 17, Adogla teaches the system of Claim 14 above. Adogla does not explicitly teach:
wherein the server comprises a cloud-based server; and
wherein the one or more processors, to establish the connection with the server, are configured to:
authenticate the UE with the server using an authentication certificate associated with the UE.
However, Nix teaches:
wherein the server comprises a cloud-based server (Paragraph 31, “In addition, although a single server 103 and 180 are depicted in FIG. 1a, the exemplary servers 103 and 180 shown for system 100 can comprise either different physical computers such as rack-mounted servers, or different logical or virtual servers or instances operating in a “cloud” configuration, including different computing processes which are geographically dispersed.” The server comprising instances operating in a cloud configuration correlates to the server comprising a cloud-based server);
Additionally, Hudson teaches:
and wherein the one or more processors, to establish the connection with the server, are configured to:
authenticate the UE with the server using an authentication certificate associated with the UE (Paragraph 28, “Once powered, server 280 executes the installer to initiate OS provisioning and installation. FIG. 4 is a flow diagram illustrating one embodiment of a provisioning process performed by the installer. At processing block 410, a secure communication link (e.g., VLAN) is established with file server 340 using the received TLS certificates.” The server establishing a secure communication link with file server using TLS certificates correlates to authenticating the UE with the server using an authentication certificate associated with the UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Adogla with wherein the server comprises a cloud-based server as taught by Nix because servers can comprise different physical, virtual, or logical instances to accommodate for different computing processes that are geographically dispersed (Nix: paragraph 31).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Adogla with and wherein the one or more processors, to establish the connection with the server, are configured to: authenticate the UE with the server using an authentication certificate associated with the UE as taught by Hudson because transport layer security certificates can be used to establish a secure communication link, such as VLAN. The hardware compatibility of the server could also be verified using container metadata that can be found in the authentication certificate (Hudson: paragraphs 27-28).
Prior Art Made of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Goud et al. (U.S. Patent No. US 20050071623 A1); teaching a method of efficiently transferring data over a network to a processing system during a pre-boot runtime. The method includes copying a boot image into a data storage unit and resetting the processing system. After the reset is complete, the processing system can load the OS contained in the boot image. The method may also be applied to quickly transfer a new OS to a crashed processing system which may occur due to a corrupted OS.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The publicPAIR and privatePAIR systems are no longer available. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SELINA ELISA HU/Examiner, Art Unit 2193
/Chat C Do/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2193