Claims 1, 57-58, 62-64, 66-68 and 72-83 are under consideration.
Rejections/Objections Withdrawn
The 35 USC 112(b) rejections of claims 17, 19-20, 23, 31, 49-50 is mootin view of claim cancellation.
The 35 USC 112(b) rejection of claim 57 has been withdrawn in view of claim amendments.
Rejections Maintained/ New Rejections Necessitated by Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 56-58, 62-64, 66-68 and 72-82 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crew (Crew, et al., US 2019/0300521 A1; Published 10/3/2019; Priority to 1/28/2019 via US 62/797,754) in view of Dragovich (Dragovich, et al., WO2020/086858; published 4/30/2020; Priority to 10/24/2018 via US 62/749,812) and Palata (Palata, et al., Immunol. Lett. 2020 46-53).
Crew teaches on the subject of BRM-targeting ubiquitin degrading molecules (same as CIDE) (Crew, Abstract). Crew teaches that the BRM-targeting CIDEs of Crew cause the degradation of BRM and are administered in methods of treating SMARCA4-related/deficient cancers, including lung cancer and non-small cell lung cancer (Crew, ¶ 0010). Crew teaches that the BRM-targeting CIDEs of Crew comprise the structure (Crew, p 238):
Please note that the structure above fully satisfies structure L2a recited in claim 58 as well as the complete structure of L1-CIDE-BRM1-22 recited in claim 62 prior to L1 attachment.
Crew does not teach that the BRM-targeting CIDE is conjugated to an antibody via a linker with a DAR from about 5 to about 10, wherein the BRM-targeting CIDE-antibody conjugate comprises the second structure of claim 64, or pharmaceutical compositions thereof. Crew does not teach that the BRM-targeting CIDE is conjugated to an antibody via a linker with a DAR from about 5 to about 10, wherein the drug-linker component of the BRM-targeting CIDE-antibody conjugate comprises the second structure of claim structure L1-CIDE-BRM1-20 of claim 62 prior to conjugation to the antibody, or pharmaceutical compositions thereof. Crew does not teach a method of treating a disease in a human in need thereof comprising the administration of BRM-targeting CIDE-antibody conjugate. Crew does not teach a method of reducing the level of BRM in a subject comprising administering to said subject a BRM-targeting CIDE-antibody conjugate.
Dragovich teaches on the subject of antibody-CIDE conjugates having the formula Ab-(L1-D)p, wherein D is a CIDE having the structure E3LB-L2-PB, E3LB is a group that binds the VHL E3 ligase, L1 and L2 is are linkers, Ab is an antibody, p is a value from about 1 to about 8 and PB is a protein-binding group that binds BRD4 or ER-alpha as well as methods of treating disease comprising administering pharmaceutical compositions comprising such antibody-CIDE conjugates (Dragovich, p2, ¶ 5 – p 3, ¶ 5). Dragovich teaches that a CIDE-linker-crosslinker moiety having the following structure (Dragovich, p 417, ¶ 1).:
Dragovich teaches that a CIDE-linker-crosslinker moiety having the following structure (Dragovich, p 461, ¶ 1):
Dragovich also teaches that the antibody of the antibody-CIDE conjugates of Dragovich is a HER2 antibody (Dragovich, claim 13).
Palata teaches that HER2 is a known NSCLC tumor-associated antigen (Palata, Abstract).
It would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the BRM-targeting CIDE of Crew with the anti-HER2 CIDE-antibody conjugate of Dragovich comprising the diphosphate L1 linker attached at the hydroxyl of the VHL binding moiety to form an anti-HER2 antibody-BRM-targeting CIDE conjugate identical to the second structure of claim 64 with a DAR of about 5 and administer the resultant conjugate in methods of treating NSCLC, wherein administration reduces the level of BRM in the subject in view of the teachings of Palata. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do this in order to better treat NSCLC. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success combining the BRM-targeting CIDE of Crew with the anti-HER2 CIDE-antibody conjugate of Dragovich comprising the diphosphate L1 linker attached at the hydroxyl of the VHL binding moiety to form an anti-HER2 antibody-BRM-targeting CIDE conjugate identical to the second structure of claim 64 with a DAR of about 5 and administering the resultant conjugate in methods of treating NSCLC, wherein administration reduces the level of BRM in the subject in view of the teachings of Palata because: 1) Crew teaches a BRM-targeting CIDE identical to the second structure of claim 64 except for the methyl group present in the 6-member ring of L2, 2) Crew also teaches administration of BRM-targeting CIDEs as a method of treating NSCLC, 3) Dragovich teaches the diphosphate-comprising maleimide linker is a suitable for linking a nearly identical VHL E3 binding moiety to anti-HER2 antibody via a hydroxyl group, 4) Dragovich teaches CIDE-antibody conjugates having DAR between 1-8 and arriving at a DAR of about 5 is a matter of routine experimentation, which is in the purview of one of skill in the art, 5) Palata teaches that HER2 is a known NSCLC tumor-associated antigen and 6) one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably therefor expect the resultant anti-HER2 BRM-targeting CIDE-antibody conjugate to localize the BRM-targeting CIDE of Crew to NSCLC cells via binding to HER2, where the BRM-targeting CIDE of Crew would treat the NSCLC by causing BRM degradation (same as reducing levels of BRM).
Regarding the methyl group present on the six-membered ring present in L2 in the instant claims, it is generally noted that the substitution of methyl for hydrogen on a known compound is not a patentable modification absent unexpected or unobvious results. In re Lincoln, 126 U.S.P.Q. 477, 53 U.S. P.Q. 40 (C.C.P.A. 1942); In re Druey, 319 F.2d 237, 138 U.S.P.Q. 39 (C.C. P.A. 1963); In re Lohr, 317 F.2d 388, 137 U.S.P.Q. 548 (C.C.P.A. 1963); In re Hoehsema, 399 F.2d 269, 158 U.S.P.Q. 598 (C.C.P.A. 1968); In re Wood, 582 F.2d 638, 199 U.S. P.Q. 137 (C.C.P.A. 1978); In re Hoke, 560 F.2d 436, 195 U.S.P.Q. 148 (C.C.PA.A. 1977); Ex parte Fauque, 121 U.S.P.Q. 425 (P.O.B.A. 1954); Ex parte Henkel, 130 U.S.P.Q. 474, (P.O.B.A. 1960). Given that applicant did not provide unexpected or unobvious results of the invention, it is concluded that the normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known would provide the motivation to substitute the “H” group to a “methyl”. Please note that this combination fully satisfies all of claims 1, 8, 18, 42, 49-50, 58, 63-64, 66-68 and 72.
It would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the BRM-targeting CIDE of Crew with the anti-HER2 CIDE-antibody conjugate of Dragovich comprising the cyclobutene-comprising L1 linker attached at the a primary aromatic amine on the CIDE of Dragovich to form an anti-HER2 antibody-BRM-targeting CIDE conjugate wherein the drug-linker is identical to L1-CIDE-BRM1-20 of claim 62 prior to antibody conjugation with a DAR of about 5 and administer the resultant conjugate in methods of treating NSCLC, wherein administration reduces the level of BRM in the subject in view of the teachings of Palata. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do this in order to better treat NSCLC. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success combining the BRM-targeting CIDE of Crew with the anti-HER2 CIDE-antibody conjugate of Dragovich comprising the cyclobutene-comprising L1 linker attached at the a primary aromatic amine on the CIDE of Dragovich to form an anti-HER2 antibody-BRM-targeting CIDE conjugate wherein the drug-linker is identical to L1-CIDE-BRM1-20 of claim 62 prior to antibody conjugation and wherein the antibody-CIDE conjugate has a DAR of about 5 and administer the resultant conjugate in methods of treating NSCLC, wherein administration reduces the level of BRM in the subject in view of the teachings of Palata because: 1) Crew teaches a BRM-targeting CIDE identical to L1-CIDE-BRM1-20 of claim 62 except for the methyl group present in the 6-member ring of L2, 2) Crew also teaches administration of BRM-targeting CIDEs as a method of treating NSCLC, 3) Dragovich teaches the cyclobutane-comprising maleimide linker is a suitable for linking CIDEs to antibodies via primary aromatic amines and there is a single primary aromatic amine on the BRM-targeting CIDE of Crew, 4) Dragovich teaches CIDE-antibody conjugates having DAR between 1-8 and arriving at a DAR of about 5 is a matter of routine experimentation, which is in the purview of one of skill in the art, 5) Palata teaches that HER2 is a known NSCLC tumor-associated antigen and 6) one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably therefor expect the resultant anti-HER2 BRM-targeting CIDE-antibody conjugate to localize the BRM-targeting CIDE of Crew to NSCLC cells via binding to HER2, where the BRM-targeting CIDE of Crew would treat the NSCLC by causing BRM degradation (same as reducing levels of BRM).
Regarding the methyl group present on the six-membered ring present in L2 in the instant claims, it is generally noted that the substitution of methyl for hydrogen on a known compound is not a patentable modification absent unexpected or unobvious results. In re Lincoln, 126 U.S.P.Q. 477, 53 U.S. P.Q. 40 (C.C.P.A. 1942); In re Druey, 319 F.2d 237, 138 U.S.P.Q. 39 (C.C. P.A. 1963); In re Lohr, 317 F.2d 388, 137 U.S.P.Q. 548 (C.C.P.A. 1963); In re Hoehsema, 399 F.2d 269, 158 U.S.P.Q. 598 (C.C.P.A. 1968); In re Wood, 582 F.2d 638, 199 U.S. P.Q. 137 (C.C.P.A. 1978); In re Hoke, 560 F.2d 436, 195 U.S.P.Q. 148 (C.C.PA.A. 1977); Ex parte Fauque, 121 U.S.P.Q. 425 (P.O.B.A. 1954); Ex parte Henkel, 130 U.S.P.Q. 474, (P.O.B.A. 1960). Given that applicant did not provide unexpected or unobvious results of the invention, it is concluded that the normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known would provide the motivation to substitute the “H” group to a “methyl”.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/2/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the combined references cited do not collectively teach a BRM-degrading CIDE conjugated to an antibody via a linker. Applicant argues that the Crew reference does not contemplate CIDE-antibody conjugate comprising a linker or a method of using a CIDE-antibody conjugate comprising a linker to treat any disease. Applicant argues that the Dragovich discloses a CIDE comprising a PB that binds BRD4, not BRM. Applicant argues that the Dragovich reference does not teach or suggest attaching a CIDE-Ab linker to a BRM-binding CIDE, let alone at the very specific site of the BRM-binding moiety of the instant claimed invention.
In response, the teachings of Dragovich do not teach a BRM-targeting CIDE, however the teachings of Dragovich do demonstrate that Ab-CIDEs were contemplated in the prior art before the effective filing date of the instant application. One of the exemplary rationales supporting a case of obviousness articulated by the Supreme Court in KSR v Teleflex is “simple substitution of one art element for another to yield predictable results” (See MPEP 2141). In the instant case, one is swapping the BRD-4 targeting PB in the CIDE for the BRM-targeting PB of Crew constitutes substation of one art element (the PB). One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably assume the resultant BRM-targeting CIDE would be able to selectively bind and degrade BRM because one of ordinary skill in the art would not expect either the BRM-targeting PB or the E3LB to lose functionality as a result of being incorporated into a CIDE-Ab conjugate. Regarding the point of attachment, picking the hydroxyl group present on the phenolic ring present on the BRM-binding moiety is an obvious choice for the point of attachment because a hydroxyl is a reactive functional group and the OH is located at one of the termini of the BRM-binding molecule, meaning conjugation at this point is less likely to have issues regarding steric hinderance between the BRM-binding moiety and the linker.
Claim(s) 1, 56-58, 62-64, 66-68 and 72-83 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crew (Crew, et al., US 2019/0300521 A1; Published 10/3/2019; Priority to 1/28/2019 via US 62/797,754) in view of Dragovich (Dragovich, et al., WO2020/086858; published 4/30/2020; Priority to 10/24/2018 via US 62/749,812) and Palata (Palata, et al., Immunol. Lett. 2020 46-53) as applied to claims 1, 56-58, 62-64, 66-68 and 72-82 above and in further vie of Crew2020 (Crew2020, et al., US 20200038378; Published 2/6/2020; Priority to 4/1/2018 via US 62/651,186).
The teachings of Crew, Dragovich and Palata are discussed above.
The combined teachings of Crew, Dragovich and Palata do not teach a BRM-targeting CIDE comprising a linker comprising the cyclobutene moiety of instant claim 83.
Crew2020 teaches BRM-targeting CIDEs (Crew2020, Abstract). Crew2020 teaches a BRM-targeting CIDE Exemplary Compound 692, which comprises a linker identical to the linker of instant claim 83 except for the two methyl groups at the carbon between the two nitrogenous rings (Crew2020, p 483, line 5):
It would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the cyclobutene-comprising PROTAC linker of Crew2020 as the PROTAC linker of the CIDE-Ab conjugate collectively taught by Crew, Dragovich and Palata. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do this to produce a CIDE-Ab conjugate that is art equivalent to the CIDE collectively taught by Crew, Dragovich and Palata. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success using the cyclobutene-comprising PROTAC linker as the PROTAC linker of the CIDE-Ab conjugate collectively taught by Crew, Dragovich and Palata because Crew2020 teaches that the cyclobutane comprising PROTAC linker of Crew2 is suitable for use in BRM-targeting PROTACs/CIDEs.
Regarding the methyl groups present between the two nitrogenous rings, it is generally noted that the substitution of methyl for hydrogen on a known compound is not a patentable modification absent unexpected or unobvious results. In re Lincoln, 126 U.S.P.Q. 477, 53 U.S. P.Q. 40 (C.C.P.A. 1942); In re Druey, 319 F.2d 237, 138 U.S.P.Q. 39 (C.C. P.A. 1963); In re Lohr, 317 F.2d 388, 137 U.S.P.Q. 548 (C.C.P.A. 1963); In re Hoehsema, 399 F.2d 269, 158 U.S.P.Q. 598 (C.C.P.A. 1968); In re Wood, 582 F.2d 638, 199 U.S. P.Q. 137 (C.C.P.A. 1978); In re Hoke, 560 F.2d 436, 195 U.S.P.Q. 148 (C.C.PA.A. 1977); Ex parte Fauque, 121 U.S.P.Q. 425 (P.O.B.A. 1954); Ex parte Henkel, 130 U.S.P.Q. 474, (P.O.B.A. 1960). Given that applicant did not provide unexpected or unobvious results of the invention, it is concluded that the normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known would provide the motivation to substitute the “methyl” group to a “H”.
Response to Arguments
This was a new rejection necessitated by amendment and, as such, there are no arguments regarding this rejection.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 56-58, 62-64, 66-68 and 72-82 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12440706 B2 in view of Crew (Crew, et al., US 2019/0300521 A1; Published 10/3/2019; Priority to 1/28/2019 via US 62/797,754), Dragovich (Dragovich, et al., WO2020/086858; published 4/30/2020; Priority to 10/24/2018 via US 62/749,812) and Palata (Palata, et al., Immunol. Lett. 2020 46-53).
The ’706 patent teaches on the subject of antibody-CIDE conjugates having the formula Ab-(L1-D)p, wherein D is a CIDE having the structure E3LB-L2-PB, E3LB is a group that binds the VHL E3 ligase, L1 and L2 is are linkers, Ab is an antibody, p is a value from about 1 to about 8 and PB is a protein-binding group that binds BRD4 or ER-alpha (patented claim 1) as well as methods of treating disease comprising administering compositions comprising such antibody-CIDE conjugates and pharmaceutical compositions of the antibody-CIDE conjugates of the ‘706 patent (patented claims 12-13). The ‘706 patent teaches a CIDE linked to the following CIDE-linker-crosslinker moiety (patented claim 7):
The ‘706 patent does not teach that the BRM-targeting CIDE is conjugated to an antibody via a linker with a DAR from about 5 to about 10, wherein the BRM-targeting CIDE-antibody conjugate comprises the first structure of claim 64, or pharmaceutical compositions thereof. The ‘706 patent does not teach that the BRM-targeting CIDE is conjugated to an antibody via a linker with a DAR from about 5 to about 10, wherein the drug-linker component of the BRM-targeting CIDE-antibody conjugate comprises the second structure of claim structure L1-CIDE-BRM1-7 of claim 62 prior to conjugation to the antibody, or pharmaceutical compositions thereof. The ‘706 patent does not teach a method of treating a disease in a human in need thereof comprising the administration of BRM-targeting CIDE-antibody conjugate. The ‘706 patent does not teach a method of reducing the level of BRM in a subject comprising administering to said subject a BRM-targeting CIDE-antibody conjugate.
Crew teaches on the subject of BRM-targeting ubiquitin degrading molecules (same as CIDE) (Crew, Abstract). Crew teaches that the BRM-targeting CIDEs of Crew cause the degradation of BRM and are administered in methods of treating SMARCA4-related/deficient cancers, including lung cancer and non-small cell lung cancer (Crew, ¶ 0010). Crew teaches that the BRM-targeting CIDEs of Crew comprise the structure (Crew, p 238):
Dragovich teaches on the subject of antibody-CIDE conjugates having the formula Ab-(L1-D)p, wherein D is a CIDE having the structure E3LB-L2-PB, E3LB is a group that binds the VHL E3 ligase, L1 and L2 is are linkers, Ab is an antibody, p is a value from about 1 to about 8 and PB is a protein-binding group that binds BRD4 or ER-alpha as well as methods of treating disease comprising administering pharmaceutical compositions comprising such antibody-CIDE conjugates (Dragovich, p2, ¶ 5 – p 3, ¶ 5).
Dragovich also teaches that the antibody of the antibody-CIDE conjugates of Dragovich is a HER2 antibody (Dragovich, claim 13).
Palata teaches that HER2 is a known NSCLC tumor-associated antigen (Palata, Abstract).
It would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the BRM-targeting CIDE of Crew with the CIDE-antibody conjugate of the ‘706 patent comprising the dimethylated sulfide linker attached at a hydroxyl group and the anti-HER2 antibody of Dragovich form an anti-HER2 antibody-BRM-targeting CIDE conjugate wherein the drug-linker is identical to the first structure of claim 64 with DAR of about 5 and administer the resultant conjugate in methods of treating NSCLC, wherein administration reduces the level of BRM in the subject in view of the teachings of Palata. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do this in order to better treat NSCLC. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success
combining the BRM-targeting CIDE of Crew with the CIDE-antibody conjugate of the ‘706 patent comprising the dimethylated sulfide linker attached at a hydroxyl group and the anti-HER2 antibody of Dragovich form an anti-HER2 antibody-BRM-targeting CIDE conjugate wherein the drug-linker is identical to the first structure of claim 64 with DAR of about 5 and administer the resultant conjugate in methods of treating NSCLC, wherein administration reduces the level of BRM in the subject in view of the teachings of Palata because: 1) Crew teaches a BRM-targeting CIDE identical to the CIDE component of the first structure of claim 64 except for the methyl group present in the 6-member ring of L2, 2) Crew also teaches administration of BRM-targeting CIDEs as a method of treating NSCLC, 3) the ‘706 patent teaches an L1 moiety identical to the L1 moiety of the first structure of claim 64 is suitable for linking a nearly identical VHL E3 binding moiety to antibodies via a hydroxyl group, 4) the ‘706 patent teaches CIDE-antibody conjugates having DAR between 1-8 and arriving at a DAR of about 5 is a matter of routine experimentation, which is in the purview of one of skill in the art, 5) Dragovich teaches conjugation of CIDEs to anti-HER2 antibodies, 6) Palata teaches that HER2 is a known NSCLC tumor-associated antigen and 7) one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably therefor expect the resultant anti-HER2 BRM-targeting CIDE-antibody conjugate to localize the BRM-targeting CIDE of Crew to NSCLC cells via binding to HER2, where the BRM-targeting CIDE of Crew would treat the NSCLC by causing BRM degradation (same as reducing levels of BRM).
Regarding the methyl group present on the six-membered ring present in L2 in the instant claims, it is generally noted that the substitution of methyl for hydrogen on a known compound is not a patentable modification absent unexpected or unobvious results. In re Lincoln, 126 U.S.P.Q. 477, 53 U.S. P.Q. 40 (C.C.P.A. 1942); In re Druey, 319 F.2d 237, 138 U.S.P.Q. 39 (C.C. P.A. 1963); In re Lohr, 317 F.2d 388, 137 U.S.P.Q. 548 (C.C.P.A. 1963); In re Hoehsema, 399 F.2d 269, 158 U.S.P.Q. 598 (C.C.P.A. 1968); In re Wood, 582 F.2d 638, 199 U.S. P.Q. 137 (C.C.P.A. 1978); In re Hoke, 560 F.2d 436, 195 U.S.P.Q. 148 (C.C.PA.A. 1977); Ex parte Fauque, 121 U.S.P.Q. 425 (P.O.B.A. 1954); Ex parte Henkel, 130 U.S.P.Q. 474, (P.O.B.A. 1960). Given that applicant did not provide unexpected or unobvious results of the invention, it is concluded that the normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known would provide the motivation to substitute the “H” group to a “methyl”. Please note that this combination fully satisfies all of claims 1, 8, 18, 42, 49-50, 58, 63-64, 66-68 and 72. In the same manner, the only difference between the combined compound just discussed and L1-CIDE-BRM1-7 of claim 62 is one additional methyl group on L1 and, as such the substation of the hydrogen on L1 in favor of an additional methyl group is also an obvious combination for the reasons just discussed and this additionally reads on claim 62.
Response to Arguments
Applicant did not provide any arguments specific to this rejection and simply re-iterated the arguments presented addressing the 103 rejections above.
Claims 1, 56-58, 62-64, 66-68 and 72-82 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12440706 B2 in view of Crew (Crew, et al., US 2019/0300521 A1; Published 10/3/2019; Priority to 1/28/2019 via US 62/797,754), Dragovich (Dragovich, et al., WO2020/086858; published 4/30/2020; Priority to 10/24/2018 via US 62/749,812) and Palata (Palata, et al., Immunol. Lett. 2020 46-53) as applied to claims 1, 56-58, 62-64, 66-68 and 72-82 above and in further view of Crew2020 (Crew2020, et al., US 20200038378; Published 2/6/2020; Priority to 4/1/2018 via US 62/651,186).
The teachings of the ‘706 Patent, Crew, Dragovich and Palata are discussed above.
The combined teachings of ‘706 Patent, Crew, Dragovich and Palata do not teach a BRM-targeting CIDE comprising a linker comprising the cyclobutene moiety of instant claim 83.
Crew2020 teaches BRM-targeting CIDEs (Crew2020, Abstract). Crew2020 teaches a BRM-targeting CIDE Exemplary Compound 692, which comprises a linker identical to the linker of instant claim 83 except for the two methyl groups at the carbon between the two nitrogenous rings (Crew2020, p 483, line 5):
It would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the cyclobutene-comprising PROTAC linker of Crew2 as the PROTAC linker of the CIDE-Ab conjugate collectively taught by ‘706 Patent, Crew, Dragovich and Palata. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do this to produce a CIDE-Ab conjugate that is art equivalent to the CIDE collectively taught by ‘706 Patent, Crew, Dragovich and Palata. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success using the cyclobutene-comprising PROTAC linker of Crew2020 as the PROTAC linker of the CIDE-Ab conjugate collectively taught by ‘706 Patent, Crew, Dragovich and Palata because Crew2020 teaches that the cyclobutane comprising PROTAC linker of Crew2020 is suitable for use in BRM-targeting PROTACs/CIDEs.
Response to Arguments
This is a new rejection necessitated by amendment and, as such, there are no associated arguments.
Claim 1, 56-58, 62-64, 66-68 and 72-83 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-63 of copending Application No. 19/248,849 (not yet published) in view of Crew (Crew, et al., US 2019/0300521 A1; Published 10/3/2019; Priority to 1/28/2019 via US 62/797,754) and Palata (Palata, et al., Immunol. Lett. 2020 46-53).
The ‘849 application teaches on the subject of antibody-CIDE conjugates having the formula Ab-(L1-D)p, wherein D is a CIDE having the structure E3LB-L2-PB, E3LB is a group that binds the VHL E3 ligase, L1 and L2 is are linkers, Ab is an antibody, p is a value from about 1 to about 8 and PB is a protein-binding group that binds BRD4 or ER-alpha (copending claim 1) as well as methods of treating disease comprising administering compositions comprising such antibody-CIDE conjugates and pharmaceutical compositions of the antibody-CIDE conjugates of the ‘849 application (copending claims 58-59). The ‘849 application teaches a CIDE linked to the following CIDE-linker-crosslinker moiety (copending claim 57):
The ‘849 application also teaches that the antibody of the antibody-CIDE conjugate binds HER2 (copending claim 20)
The ‘849 application does not teach that the BRM-targeting CIDE is conjugated to an antibody via a linker with a DAR from about 5 to about 10, wherein the BRM-targeting CIDE-antibody conjugate comprises the first structure of claim 64, or pharmaceutical compositions thereof. The ‘849 application does not teach that the BRM-targeting CIDE is conjugated to an antibody via a linker with a DAR from about 5 to about 10, wherein the drug-linker component of the BRM-targeting CIDE-antibody conjugate comprises the second structure of claim structure L1-CIDE-BRM1-7 of claim 62 prior to conjugation to the antibody, or pharmaceutical compositions thereof. The ‘849 application does not teach a method of treating a disease in a human in need thereof comprising the administration of BRM-targeting CIDE-antibody conjugate. The ‘849 application does not teach a method of reducing the level of BRM in a subject comprising administering to said subject a BRM-targeting CIDE-antibody conjugate.
Crew teaches on the subject of BRM-targeting ubiquitin degrading molecules (same as CIDE) (Crew, Abstract). Crew teaches that the BRM-targeting CIDEs of Crew cause the degradation of BRM and are administered in methods of treating SMARCA4-related/deficient cancers, including lung cancer and non-small cell lung cancer (Crew, ¶ 0010). Crew teaches that the BRM-targeting CIDEs of Crew comprise the structure (Crew, p 238):
Palata teaches that HER2 is a known NSCLC tumor-associated antigen (Palata, Abstract).
It would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the BRM-targeting CIDE of Crew with the anti-HER2 CIDE-antibody conjugate of the ‘849 application comprising the dimethylated sulfide linker attached at a hydroxyl group to form an anti-HER2 antibody-BRM-targeting CIDE conjugate wherein the drug-linker is identical to the first structure of claim 64 with DAR of about 5 and administer the resultant conjugate in methods of treating NSCLC, wherein administration reduces the level of BRM in the subject in view of the teachings of Palata. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do this in order to better treat NSCLC. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success combining the BRM-targeting CIDE of Crew with the anti-HER2 CIDE-antibody conjugate of the ‘849 application comprising the dimethylated sulfide linker attached at a hydroxyl group an anti-HER2 antibody-BRM-targeting CIDE conjugate wherein the drug-linker is identical to the first structure of claim 64 with DAR of about 5 and administer the resultant conjugate in methods of treating NSCLC, wherein administration reduces the level of BRM in the subject in view of the teachings of Palata because: 1) Crew teaches a BRM-targeting CIDE identical to the CIDE component of the first structure of claim 64 except for the methyl group present in the 6-member ring of L2, 2) Crew also teaches administration of BRM-targeting CIDEs as a method of treating NSCLC, 3) the ‘849 application teaches an L1 moiety identical to the L1 moiety of the first structure of claim 64 is suitable for linking a nearly identical VHL E3 binding moiety to antibodies via a hydroxyl group, 4) the ‘849 application teaches anti-HER2 CIDE-antibody conjugates having DAR between 1-8 and arriving at a DAR of about 5 is a matter of routine experimentation, which is in the purview of one of skill in the art, 5) Palata teaches that HER2 is a known NSCLC tumor-associated antigen and 6) one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably therefor expect the resultant anti-HER2 BRM-targeting CIDE-antibody conjugate to localize the BRM-targeting CIDE of Crew to NSCLC cells via binding to HER2, where the BRM-targeting CIDE of Crew would treat the NSCLC by causing BRM degradation (same as reducing levels of BRM).
Regarding the methyl group present on the six-membered ring present in L2 in the instant claims, it is generally noted that the substitution of methyl for hydrogen on a known compound is not a patentable modification absent unexpected or unobvious results. In re Lincoln, 126 U.S.P.Q. 477, 53 U.S. P.Q. 40 (C.C.P.A. 1942); In re Druey, 319 F.2d 237, 138 U.S.P.Q. 39 (C.C. P.A. 1963); In re Lohr, 317 F.2d 388, 137 U.S.P.Q. 548 (C.C.P.A. 1963); In re Hoehsema, 399 F.2d 269, 158 U.S.P.Q. 598 (C.C.P.A. 1968); In re Wood, 582 F.2d 638, 199 U.S. P.Q. 137 (C.C.P.A. 1978); In re Hoke, 560 F.2d 436, 195 U.S.P.Q. 148 (C.C.PA.A. 1977); Ex parte Fauque, 121 U.S.P.Q. 425 (P.O.B.A. 1954); Ex parte Henkel, 130 U.S.P.Q. 474, (P.O.B.A. 1960). Given that applicant did not provide unexpected or unobvious results of the invention, it is concluded that the normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known would provide the motivation to substitute the “H” group to a “methyl”. Please note that this combination fully satisfies all of claims 1, 8, 18, 42, 49-50, 58, 63-64, 66-68 and 72. In the same manner, the only difference between the combined compound just discussed and L1-CIDE-BRM1-7 of claim 62 is one additional methyl group on L1 and, as such the substation of the hydrogen on L1 in favor of an additional methyl group is also an obvious combination for the reasons just discussed and this additionally reads on claim 62.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant did not provide any arguments specific to this rejection and simply re-iterated the arguments presented addressing the 103 rejections above.
Claim 1, 56-58, 62-64, 66-68 and 72-83 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-63 of copending Application No. 19/248,849 (not yet published) in view of Crew (Crew, et al., US 2019/0300521 A1; Published 10/3/2019; Priority to 1/28/2019 via US 62/797,754) and Palata (Palata, et al., Immunol. Lett. 2020 46-53) as applied to claims 1, 56-58, 62-64, 66-68 and 72-82 above and in further view of Crew2020 (Crew2020, et al., US 20200038378; Published 2/6/2020; Priority to 4/1/2018 via US 62/651,186).
The teachings of the ‘849 Application, Crew, Dragovich and Palata are discussed above.
The combined teachings of ‘849 Application, Crew, Dragovich and Palata do not teach a BRM-targeting CIDE comprising a linker comprising the cyclobutene moiety of instant claim 83.
Crew2020 teaches BRM-targeting CIDEs (Crew2020, Abstract). Crew2020 teaches a BRM-targeting CIDE Exemplary Compound 692, which comprises a linker identical to the linker of instant claim 83 except for the two methyl groups at the carbon between the two nitrogenous rings (Crew2020, p 483, line 5):
It would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the cyclobutene-comprising PROTAC linker of Crew2 as the PROTAC linker of the CIDE-Ab conjugate collectively taught by ‘849 Application, Crew, Dragovich and Palata. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do this to produce a CIDE-Ab conjugate that is art equivalent to the CIDE collectively taught by ‘849 Application, Crew, Dragovich and Palata. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success using the cyclobutene-comprising PROTAC linker of Crew2020 as the PROTAC linker of the CIDE-Ab conjugate collectively taught by ‘849 Application, Crew, Dragovich and Palata because Crew2020 teaches that the cyclobutane comprising PROTAC linker of Crew2020 is suitable for use in BRM-targeting PROTACs/CIDEs.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
This is a new rejection necessitated by amendment and, as such, there are no associated arguments.
Conclusion
Claims 1, 57-58, 62-64, 66-68 and 72-83 are rejected.
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SYDNEY VAN DRUFF/
/JULIE WU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1643