Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent 5,377,424 to Albanes.
In Reference to Claim 1
Albanes discloses a body drying device for quickly and efficiently utilizing a flow of hot air to dry a user without a towel, the body drying device comprising: a housing (Fig. 3, 16); a plurality of adjustable drying ports (Fig. 3, 28); at least one air inlet vent (Since Albanes discloses a drying system with a blower, the air inlet is inherent) for drawing a quantity of air into the housing; a heater (Fig. 3, 44) for heating the quantity of air; and a blower (Fig. 3, 46) for forcing the quantity of air through the plurality of adjustable drying ports and onto the user.
In Reference to Claim 2
Albanes discloses a motor to control functioning of the blower. (Fig. 3, annotated by the examiner)
In Reference to Claim 3
Albanes discloses each of the plurality of adjustable drying ports are repositionable during use. (As showed in Fig. 1, each port has a respective rotational button)
In Reference to Claim 13
Albanes discloses at least one of the plurality of adjustable drying ports can be closed, while simultaneously at least one of the plurality of adjustable drying ports can be left opened during use. (As showed in 1, the drying port can be individually controlled with respective button, therefore, naturally, at least one drying port can be open while having other ports closed)
In Reference to Claim 14
Albanes discloses a time delay device that is used to preheat the heater before the quantity of air is blown from the plurality of adjustable drying ports. (Col. 4, Line 15-30, a start time and stop time can be set by way of the timing mechanism and the time setting device. This can be done in such a manner that the operator of the system can wake up to or step out of the shower to a warm robe or towel. In use as a body dryer, an operator stepping out of the shower can turn the device on and stand in front of the apertures in order to dry his or her body. If desired, the operator can select a start time and or a stop time to facilitate his or her drying.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albanes in view of US Patent 3,621,199 to Goldstein.
In Reference to Claim 4
Albanes discloses the adjustable ports.
Albanes does not teach the port can be adjusted by the motor.
Goldstein teaches each of the plurality of adjustable drying ports (Fig. 2, 22) is controlled via the motor (Fig. 2, 21).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, to incorporate teachings from Goldstein into the design of Albanes. Doing so, would result in the rotational buttons of Albanes being replaced by the motor rod control as being taught by Goldstein. Both inventions of Albanes and Goldstein are in the field of body drying apparatus, Goldstein teaches a method of automatically sweep the air flow over the body of a person. So the area of the drying would in increased.
In Reference to Claim 6 and 7
Albanes discloses the body dryer comprising the blower and the heater.
Albanes does not teach the blower and the heater are positioned on the bottom of the top of the dryer. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to position the blower and the heater based on the allowed space and the operation condition of the dryer, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art.
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Albanes and Goldstein as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of US Patent 6,973,260 to Orr.
In Reference to Claims 5 and 15
The combination of Albanes and Goldstein as applied to Claim 4 teaches the body dryer having adjustable drying ports.
The combination of Albanes and Goldstein as applied to Claim 4 does not teach a remote control.
Orr teaches a remote control (Fig. 1, 126a)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, to incorporate teachings from Orr into the combination of Albanes and Goldstein as applied to Claim 5. Doing so, would result in a remote control being used in the body dryer of Albanes. Both inventions of Albanes and Goldstein are for electric dryer, Orr teaches an user friendly controlling method with a predicable result of success.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Albanes and Goldstein as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of US Patent 7,076,887 to Camberos.
In Reference to Claim 8
The Albanes discloses the control panel (Fig. 1, 56 and 52)
The combination of Albanes and Goldstein as applied to Claim 8 does not teach the tip switch.
Camberos teach a tip switch (Fig. 3) that shuts down the body drying device.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, to incorporate teachings from Cameros into the combination of Albanes and Goldstein as applied to Claim 8. Doing so would result in the tip switch of Cameros being incorporate into the design of Albanes. Both inventions of Camberos and Albanes are in the same field of endeavor, Cameros teaches a methos of quickly shut down the system with a predictable result of success.
Claims 9, 11-12, 16-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albanes in view of US Patent 8,112,899 to Duckworth.
In Reference to Claim 9
Albanes discloses a power switch (since Albane discloses the motor, naturally, a power switch is required to turn on/off the motor), a heat adjustment switch (58), a timer (Fig. 1, 52)
Albanes does not teach a plurality of sensors.
Duckworth teaches a plurality of sensors.(temperature sensor 36/40)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, to incorporate teachings from Duckworth into the design of Albanes. Doing so, would result in a plurality of sensors being used in to dryer of Albanes. Both inventions of Albanes and Duckworth are in the same field of endeavor, Duckworth teaches that the applying sensor such as temperature sensors would improve the safety.
In Reference to Claims 11-12, 16 and 17
Albanes discloses the dryer.
Albanes does not teach base unit keyhole slot.
Duckworth teaches a base unit (Fig. 5a, 70) and a pair of keyhole slots (Fig. 2a, 60) that engage a pair of hooks on a wall to secure the housing to the wall.
an integrated power cable (Fig. 1, 34) for charging the body drying device.
a wall-mounted charging unit such that the body drying device can be stored on a wall and charged. (As showed in Fig. 2a, the system of Duckworth have wall mount slow 60 and power charger 34)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, to incorporate teachings from Duckworth into the dryer of Albanes. Doing so, would result in the base unit, the keyhole slots and power supply cable being implemented into the system of Albanes. Both inventions of Albanes and Duckworth are in the same field of endeavor, Duckworth provides convenient hanging attachment thereto a wall structure using common fasteners such as screws, nails.
In Reference to Claim 18
Albanes discloses a body drying device for quickly and efficiently utilizing hot air to dry users without a towel comprising: a housing (Fig. 3, 12); a plurality of adjustable drying ports (Fig. 3, 28); at least one air inlet vent (Fig. 3, annotated by the examiner) for drawing a quantity of air into the housing; a heater (Fig. 3, 44) for heating the quantity of air; a blower (Fig. 4, 46) for forcing the quantity of air through the plurality of adjustable drying ports; a motor (Fig. 3, annotated by the examiner) to control functioning of the blower; a power switch (since Albane discloses the motor, naturally, a power switch is required to turn on/off the motor) ; a heat adjustment switch (58); a timer (52)
Albanes does not a plurality of sensors; and a wall-mounted charging unit.
Duckworth teaches a plurality of sensors (36/40); and a wall-mounted charging unit. (Fig. 2a, 34)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, to incorporate teachings from Duckworth into the dryer of Albanes. Doing so, would result in the base unit, the keyhole slots and power supply cable being implemented into the system of Albanes. Both inventions of Albanes and Duckworth are in the same field of endeavor, Duckworth provides convenient hanging attachment thereto a wall structure using common fasteners such as screws, nails.
In Reference to Claim 20
Albanes discloses method of drying a user comprising the steps of: providing a body drying device (Fig. 1, 10) having a plurality of adjustable drying ports (Fig. 1, 26) which expel a quantity of heated air; positioning the body drying device on a wall or on a base on a floor surface (Naturally, the dryer has to be positioned in a surface in order to use); adjusting (As showed in Fig. 1, each port can be adjusted by roller next to the port) an angle of each of the plurality of adjustable drying ports; adjusting a temperature (58) and a speed of the quantity of heated air expelled;
Albanes does teach the wall mount storage
Duckworth teaches turning off the body drying device and hanging it on the wall to charge on a wall-mounted charging unit. (Fig. 2a)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, to incorporate teachings from Duckworth into the dryer of Albanes. Doing so, would result in the base unit, the keyhole slots and power supply cable being implemented into the system of Albanes. Both inventions of Albanes and Duckworth are in the same field of endeavor, Duckworth provides convenient hanging attachment thereto a wall structure using common fasteners such as screws, nails.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albanes in view of JP2001527427 (JP427).
In Reference to Claim 10
Albanes discloses the dryer having temperature control. (Since Albanes teaches a temperature control switch, obviously a temperature sensor or detector is required in order to control the temperature)
Albanes does not teach the ground fault detector.
JP427 teaches ground fault detector for hair dryer (Abstract)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, to incorporate teaching rom JP427 into the design of Albanes. Doing so, would result in a ground fault detector of JP427 being implemented into the system of Albanes to improve the safety requirement for bathroom use.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Albanes and Duckworth as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Orr.
In Reference to Claim 19
The combination of Albanes and Duckworth as applied to Claim 18 discloses the body drying device.
The combination of Albanes and Duckworth as applied to Claim 18does not teach the remote control.
Orr teaches that the dryer is remotely controlled by wireless controller (Fig.1, 126a)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, to incorporate teachings from Orr into the combination of Albanes and Duckworth as applied to Claim 18. Doing so, would result in a remote control being used in the body dryer of Albanes. Both inventions of Albanes and Goldstein are for electric dryer, Orr teaches an user friendly controlling method with a predicable result of success.
Conclusion
DEMING . WAN
Examiner
Art Unit 3748
/DEMING WAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762 9/19/25