FINAL REJECTION
This is in response to Applicant amendments filed on 05/18/2026. Claims 1, 3, 6-7, 11, 13, 16 and 17 have been amended.
Claims 1-17 are examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6; 10-16; and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Winter (US 6,084,219) in view of Xiao (US 2021/0009840) and further in view of Hashimoto (US 2012/0241439).
Regarding Claim 1: Winter discloses a positive temperature coefficient (PTC) heater assembly (assembly of Fig. 1) comprising: a plurality of PTC patches (20; Fig. 1) deposed on a base substrate (2; Fig. 1); a conductive trace (8, 9, 16, and 17; Fig. 1) disposed on the base substrate, the conductive trace in communication with the plurality of PTC ink patches (see Fig. 1); and wherein the plurality of PTC ink patches includes at least one PTC ink patch that partially square-shaped or rectangular-shaped (20-6, 20-5 in Fig. 2) at least one PTC ink patch that is non-square-shaped or non-rectangular-shaped (see Fig. 2).
Winter does not explicitly recite the patches being ink patches printed on the substrate, although the patches are applied on the substrate and is silent regarding the at least one partially rectangular PTC ink patch being fully rectangular-shaped.
However, Xiao teaches a PTC heater assembly (system in Fig. 3) with PTC ink patches (380; Fig. 3; see Abstract) having a rectangular shape and being printed (see Abstract) on a substrate (“substrate”; Abstract).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Winter, to have the patches being ink patches printed on the substrate and the at least one partially rectangular PTC ink patch being fully rectangular-shaped, as taught by Xiao. Such a modification would enable to easily applied the patches on the substrate, as well as facilitate the production of the heater.
Regarding Claim 2: Winter in view of Xiao teaches all the limitations of Claim 1, as stated above, and Xiao further teaches wherein the plurality of PTC ink patches are printed from PTC ink (see Abstract).
Regarding Claim 3: Winter in view of Xiao teaches all the limitations of Claim 1, as stated above, and Xiao further teaches wherein the base substrate is a thin and flexible substrate with a polymer base. (see [0024] wherein the substrate is a film, i.e. thin and flexible, formed by a base of polymer, and [0016]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Winter, to have the base substrate is a thin and flexible substrate with a polymer base, as taught by Xiao. Such a modification would enable to have a multi-resin substrate that provides different PTC effects at different temperature range, as recognized by Xiao, (see [0016]).
Regarding Claim 4: Winter in view of Xiao teaches all the limitations of Claim 1, as stated above, and Winter further discloses wherein the plurality of PTC ink patches includes two or more PTC ink patches that are non-square-shaped or non-rectangular-shaped (see Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 5: Winter in view of Xiao teaches all the limitations of Claim 1, as stated above, and Winter further discloses wherein the at least one PTC ink patch that is non-square-shaped or non-rectangular-shaped has a shape selected from the group consisting of L-shaped, S-shaped, V-shaped, Z-shaped, U-shaped, C-shaped, M-shaped, N-shaped, oval-shaped, circular-shaped, curved-shaped, triangular-shaped, trapezoidal-shaped, parallel-pillar-shaped arrangement, trapezoidal-shaped with loop arrangement, square-shaped with loop arrangement, S-shaped loop arrangement, random-shape arrangement and tapered-shaped (see Fig. 2, e.g. 20-3 that is curved shaped).
Regarding Claim 6: Winter in view of Xiao teaches all the limitations of Claim 1, as stated above, and Winter further discloses wherein each PTC ink patch of the plurality of PTC ink patches is configured to operate as a mini-heater (see Abstract wherein the system is used as a heater, and Col. 2 L. 17-28 wherein the elements are small points and thus the heater is heater of small size).
Regarding Claim 10: Winter in view of Xiao teaches all the limitations of Claim 1, as stated above, and Winter further discloses wherein the conductive trace includes a line (8; Fig. 1) and a return (9; Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 11: Winter discloses a method for fabricating (see Claim 13) a positive temperature coefficient (PTC) heater (Assembly of Fig. 1) comprising: deposit a plurality of PTC patches (20; Fig. 1) on a base substrate (2; Fig. 1); disposing a conductive trace (8, 9, 16, and 17; Fig. 1) on the base substrate, the conductive trace in communication with the plurality of PTC patches (see Fig. 1); and wherein the plurality of PTC ink patches includes at least one PTC ink patch that is non-square-shaped or non-rectangular-shaped (see Fig. 2).
Winter does not explicitly recite the patches being ink patches printed on the substrate, although the patches are applied on the substrate and is silent regarding the at least one partially rectangular PTC ink patch being fully rectangular-shaped.
However, Xiao teaches a PTC heater assembly (system in Fig. 3) with PTC ink patches (380; Fig. 3; see Abstract) having a rectangular shape and being printed (see Abstract) on a substrate (“substrate”; Abstract).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Winter, to have the patches being ink patches printed on the substrate and the at least one partially rectangular PTC ink patch being fully rectangular-shaped, as taught by Xiao. Such a modification would enable to easily applied the patches on the substrate, as well as facilitate the production of the heater.
Regarding Claim 12: Winter in view of Xiao teaches all the limitations of Claim 11, as stated above, and Xiao further teaches wherein the plurality of PTC ink patches are printed from PTC ink (see Abstract).
Regarding Claim 13: Winter in view of Xiao teaches all the limitations of Claim 1, as stated above, and Xiao further teaches wherein the base substrate is a thin and flexible substrate with a polymer base. (see [0024] wherein the substrate is a film, i.e. thin and flexible, formed by a base of polymer, and [0016]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Winter, to have the base substrate being a thin and flexible substrate with a polymer base, as taught by Xiao. Such a modification would enable to have a multi-resin substrate that provides different PTC effects at different temperature range, as recognized by Xiao, (see [0016]).
Regarding Claim 14: Winter in view of Xiao teaches all the limitations of Claim 11, as stated above, and Winter further discloses wherein the plurality of PTC ink patches includes two or more PTC ink patches that are non-square-shaped or non-rectangular-shaped (see Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 15: Winter in view of Xiao teaches all the limitations of Claim 11, as stated above, and Winter further discloses wherein the at least one PTC ink patch that is non-square-shaped or non-rectangular-shaped has a shape selected from the group consisting of L-shaped, S-shaped, V-shaped, Z-shaped, U-shaped, C-shaped, M-shaped, N-shaped, oval-shaped, circular-shaped, curved-shaped, triangular-shaped, trapezoidal-shaped, parallel-pillar-shaped arrangement, trapezoidal-shaped with loop arrangement, square-shaped with loop arrangement, S-shaped loop arrangement, random-shape arrangement and tapered-shaped (see Fig. 2, e.g. 20-3 that is curved shaped).
Regarding Claim 16: Winter in view of Xiao teaches all the limitations of Claim 11, as stated above, and Winter further discloses operating each PTC ink patch of the plurality of PTC ink patches as a mini-heater (see Abstract wherein the system is used as a heater, and Col. 2 L. 17-28 wherein the elements are small points and thus the heater is heater of small size).
Regarding Claim 20: Winter in view of Xiao teaches all the limitations of Claim 11, as stated above, and Winter further discloses wherein the conductive trace includes a line (8; Fig. 1) and a return (9; Fig. 1).
Claims 7 and 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Winter (US 6,084,219) in view of Xiao (US 2021/0009840), and further in view of Hu (US 2020/0011543).
Regarding Claim 7: Winter in view of Xiao teaches all the limitations of Claim 1, as stated above, but is silent regarding the PTC heater assembly onboard an aircraft or aerospace vessel.
However, Hu teaches a PTC heater assembly (“PTC” [0003]) onboard an aircraft or aerospace vessel (see [0003]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Winter, to have the PTC heater assembly onboard an aircraft or aerospace vessel, as taught by Hu. Such a modification would enable to have a heater with intrinsic temperature limiter which provide a necessary safety feature in an aircraft, as recognized by hu, (see [0003]).
Regarding Claim 17: Winter in view of Xiao teaches all the limitations of Claim 11, as stated above, but is silent regarding utilizing the PTC heater assembly onboard an aircraft or aerospace vessel.
However, Hu teaches a PTC heater assembly (“PTC” [0003]) and utilizing the PTC heater assembly onboard an aircraft or aerospace vessel (see [0003]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Winter, to have utilizing the PTC heater assembly onboard an aircraft or aerospace vessel, as taught by Hu. Such a modification would enable to have a heater with intrinsic temperature limiter which provide a necessary safety feature in an aircraft, as recognized by hu, (see [0003]).
Claims 8-9; and 18-19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Winter (US 6,084,219) in view of Xiao (US 2021/0009840), and further in view of Chen (US 2022/0208420).
Regarding Claim 8: Winter in view of Xiao teaches all the limitations of Claim 1, as stated above, but is silent regarding wherein the PTC heater assembly is a PTC heater assembly for freeze protection applications.
However, Wang teaches a PTC heater for freeze protection applications (see [0004]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Winter, to have the PTC heater assembly for freeze protection applications, as taught by Chen. Such a modification would enable to avoid frost and damage occurring in water injection system.
Regarding Claim 9: Winter in view of Xiao teaches all the limitations of Claim 1, as stated above, but is silent regarding wherein the PTC heater assembly is a PTC heater assembly for a tank, pipe, vessel or a valve.
However, Chen teaches a PTC heater assembly (see title) for a tank (see title), pipe, vessel or a valve.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Winter, to have the PTC heater assembly for a tank, pipe, vessel or a valve, as taught by Chen. Such a modification would enable to protect from freezing, as recognized by Chen (see [0004]).
Regarding Claim 18: Winter in view of Xiao teaches all the limitations of Claim 11, as stated above, but is silent regarding utilizing the PTC heater assembly is a PTC heater assembly for freeze protection applications.
However, Wang teaches a PTC heater and utilizing the PTC heater for freeze protection applications (see [0004]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Winter, to have utilizing the PTC heater assembly for freeze protection applications, as taught by Chen. Such a modification would enable to avoid frost and damage occurring in water injection system, as recognized by Chen ([0004])
Regarding Claim 19: Winter in view of Xiao teaches all the limitations of Claim 11, as stated above, but is silent regarding wherein utilizing the PTC heater assembly to heat a tank, pipe, vessel or a valve.
However, Chen teaches a PTC heater assembly (see title) and utilizing the PTC heater assembly to heat a tank (see title), pipe, vessel or a valve.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Winter, to have utilizing the PTC heater assembly to heat a tank, pipe, vessel or a valve, as taught by Chen. Such a modification would enable to protect from freezing, as recognized by Chen (see [0004]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 05/18/2026 have been considered but are not convincing for the following reasons:
Applicant’s representative asserts that Winter teaches away from having at least one PTC ink that is square-shaped or rectangular-shaped. To support this assertion, Applicant’s representative relies on Winter that recites the advantages of having meniscus shaped PTC ink. However, Winter does not disclose that having square-shaped or rectangular-shaped PTC ink will render the heater inoperative, but simply that the meniscus shape provides some consumption advantages. Modifying the shape of some of partially square-shaped or rectangular-shaped PTC ink, as established above, will not render the heater of Winter inoperative, but rather would facilitate the production of the heater, as a square or rectangular shape is a simplified shape.
Consequently, Winter does not teach away from having at least one PTC ink that is square-shaped or rectangular-shaped.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see notice of references cited.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR.
Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
3741
/RODOLPHE ANDRE CHABREYRIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761