DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Amendments
Applicant’s amendments to claims 1, 7 and 14, and the cancellation of claim 6 in the reply filed 13 September 2025 are acknowledged and have been considered for this action. The amendment to claim 7 has overcome the prior rejection under 35 USC 112(b), which is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. Claim 1 contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 3-5 and 7 depend upon claim 1 and are likewise rejected.
In particular, amended claim 1 recites the limitation “wherein a molar amount of the first metal salt is larger than a molar amount of the second metal salt, and the molar amount of the second metal salt is larger than a molar amount of the third metal salt.” While Applicant’s reply dated 2 December 2025 references paragraphs [0044]-[0077] of the filed application as allegedly providing support for the amended claims it is unclear where specifically within the broad paragraph range cited the support for this limitation arises.
When an explicit limitation in a claim "is not present in the written description whose benefit is sought it must be shown that a person of ordinary skill would have understood, at the time the patent application was filed, that the description requires that limitation." Hyatt v. Boone, 146 F.3d 1348, 1353, 47 USPQ2d 1128, 1131 (Fed. Cir. 1998); see also Akeva LLC v. Nike, Inc., 817 Fed. Appx. 1005, 1012-13, 2020 USPQ2d 10797 (Fed. Cir. 2020). Nothing in the originally filed disclosure would have made it clear to the ordinarily skilled artisan that the present invention required the molar amount of the second metal to be greater than the molar amount of the third metal.
Additionally, while the originally filed specification provides ranges of the molar ratio of the ammonium salt to the second metal and to the third metal (in ([0018] and [0022]) in which the molar amount of the second metal may be more than the molar amount of the third metal, and the specification includes examples wherein the molar amount of the second metal is more that the molar amount of the third metal, it would not have been implied to one of ordinary skill in the art that the inventors were describing the entire subgenus where the molar amount of the second metal is more than the molar amount of the third metal. In re Smith, 458 F.2d 1389, 1395, 173 USPQ 679, 683 (CCPA 1972) (a subgenus is not necessarily implicitly described by a genus encompassing it and a species upon which it reads). See also In re Lukach, 442 F.2d 967, 169 USPQ 795 (CCPA 1971). MPEP 2163(II)(3)(b) and 2163.05(II).
Therefore, the limitations wherein the molar amount of the second metal is greater than the molar amount of the third metal is not supported by the written description as originally filed and the claims are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 2004/0133056 A1) in view of Zhang et al. (US 2016/0199825 A1), Wu et al. (CN 103801402 A), and Xing et al. (Sci. China Chem. 2012, 55(8), 1542-1547). The previously provided English machine translation of Wu (CN 103801402 A) is used in the analysis below.
Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches a method of preparing a composite ionic liquid the method comprising (paragraphs 69-70):
adding an ammonium salt (triethylamine hydrochloride) into a reaction kettle under an inert gas atmosphere (under the protection of nitrogen; having the salt in the vessel means that it was added), adding a first metal salt (AlCl3 was slowly added), then raising the temperature to 80 °C and performing a reaction for 2 hours (followed by 2 h of stirring) to obtain a first mixture, wherein the ammonium salt is a hydrohalide of alkyl-containing amine (triethylamine hydrochloride) and the first metal salt is aluminum halide (AlCl3);
adding a second metal salt into the first mixture (CuCl was added) and obtaining a second mixture after the second metal salt dissolves completely in a reaction system (until the solids disappeared completely), wherein the second metal salt is a halide and the second metal is copper (CuCl).
The temperature and time of reaction taught by Liu for the first step both fall within the instantly claimed ranges of 80°-120°C and at least 2 hours, respectively.
Liu also teaches that composite ionic liquids which contain a third metal salt, wherein the third metal is a metal halide (two or more metal compounds…other metal compounds are halides, paragraph 21; and addition of CuCl and NiCl2, paragraph 72) can be produced with their method.
Liu further teaches the molar ratio of ammonium salt to the first metal salt being 1:2.0 (0.282 mol : 0.56 mol, paragraph 72), the molar ratio of the ammonium salt to the second metal salt being 1: 0.2 (0.282 mol: 0.056 mol CuCl, paragraph 72) and the molar ratio of ammonium chloride to the third metal salt being 1: 0.2 (0.282 mol: 0.056 mol NiCl2, paragraph 72). Each of these ratios fall within the instantly claimed ranges, and the molar amount of the first metal salt is larger than the molar amount of the second metal salt.
Liu does not teach adding the first metal salt at a controlled temperature of 50°C-80°C, adding the second metal salt at a controlled temperature of 120°C-170°C, or adding a third metal salt into the second mixture at a controlled temperature of 120-1700C, wherein the third metal is a rare earth metal comprising one or more of lanthanum, cerium, neodymium, samarium and gadolinium. Liu also does not teach the molar amount of the second metal salt being larger than the molar amount of the third metal salt.
However, Zhang teaches a nearly identical process for preparing composite ionic liquids (abstract and paragraphs 35 and 37), and that during the addition of metal salts the temperature should be controlled (reaction of the metal salts with the ammonium salt is fast and exothermic. The size of the portions of the metal salts is selected such that the temperature raise is controlled; paragraph 12), and that preferably the reaction temperature should be kept below 160 °C to avoid loss of aluminum chloride (paragraph 12). In one embodiment, Zhang teaches the reaction temperature during the addition of aluminum chloride being controlled in the range of 60°C-100°C (paragraph 35), while in another they teach the temperature being controlled to below 80 °C with no mention of a lower bound (paragraph 37).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the first metal salt in the method of Liu at a controlled temperature below 80°C and above 60°C, as taught by Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art would find this modification obvious as it represents the substitution of one known set of thermal conditions for another to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(B). Liu, as modified by Zhang, thus teaches adding a first metal salt at a controlled temperature of 60°C-80°C, which lies inside the instantly claimed range of 50°C-80°C.
Regarding the temperature at which addition of the second metal salt is performed, Zhang teaches that CuCl is added at 120 °C. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the second metal salt in the method of Liu at a controlled temperature 120°C, as taught by Zhang. Liu, as modified by Zhang, thus teaches adding a second metal salt at a controlled temperature of 120°C, which lies inside the instantly claimed range of 120°C-170°C.
Regarding adding a third metal salt to the second mixture at a controlled temperature of 120-170°C, while Liu teaches the addition of a third metal salt (NiCl2), they do so at the same time as adding the second metal salt and at 80°C (paragraph 72). However, Zhang teaches the addition of a third metal salt to the second mixture at a controlled temperature of 120 °C -150 °C (CuCl was added to the IL mixture…and [it was] kept at 120 °C …then, a third portion of AlCl3 was added [and] the temperature rose to 150°C; paragraph 35).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the third metal salt in the method of Liu to the second mixture at a controlled temperature of 120°C-150°C, as taught by Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art would find this modification obvious as it represents the substitution of one known method to add a third metal for another to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(B). Liu, as modified by Zhang, thus teaches adding a third metal salt to the second mixture at a controlled temperature of 120°C-150°C, which lies inside the instantly claimed range of 120°C-170°C.
Regarding the limitation wherein the third metal is a rare earth metal, neither Liu nor Zhang teach this limitation. However, Wu teaches an ionic liquid composite catalyst that contains multiple metal halides, one of which is lanthanum (abstract and paragraph 26; lanthanum is a rare earth metal). Wu also teaches that adding lanthanum chloride to a composite ionic liquid catalyst significantly improves catalytic performance in an alkylation reaction (after adding lanthanum chloride during the preparation of the quaternary phosphonium salt ionic liquid composite catalyst, the yield of monobenzyltoluene and dibenzyltoluene can be significantly improved; [0118], lines 936-938).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to replace one of the metal salts in the composite ionic liquids of Liu with lanthanum chloride, as taught by Wu. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do in order to increase catalytic performance.
Regarding the molar amount of the second metal salt being larger than the molar amount of the third metal salt, Liu puts no limits on the ratio of the second metal to the third metal, only specifying the ratio of aluminum compound to all other metal compounds be in the range 1:100-100:1, more preferably in the range 1:1-100:1, and that it is most preferably in the range of 5:1-50:1 ([0022]).
However, Xing also discloses methods of forming composite ionic liquid catalysts for alkylation reactions comprised of a first metal (gallium, which is chemically similar to aluminum) and a second metal (copper) (Section 3.4), and further teaches that the ratio of a first metal compound (gallium trichloride) to a second metal compound (copper chloride) in the composite system affects the product distribution (Table 2 showing differences between 2% CuCl, 5% CuCl, 8% CuCl).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize by routine experimentation the ratio of metals in the three metal composite ionic liquid system taught by modified Liu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it optimize both the ratio of first metal to the second metal and the ratio of the first metal to the third metal independently, and to arrive at a method where the two molar amounts are no longer equal and where the molar amount of the second metal is greater than the molar amount of the third metal.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to optimize the catalytic performance of the composite ionic liquids obtained by the method such that they are able to produce the most desirable distribution of products, as taught by Xing.
Regarding claims 3-5, modified Liu teaches claim 1, as analyzed above, where Liu teaches the ammonium salt is triethylammonium chloride (paragraph 72), the first metal salt is aluminum chloride (paragraph 72), and the second metal salt is copper chloride (paragraph 72), which is a halide of copper, thereby meeting the limitations of claims 3-5.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 2004/0133056 A1) in view of Zhang et al. (US 2016/0199825 A1), Wu et al. (CN 103801402 A), and Xing et al. (Sci. China Chem. 2012, 55(8), 1542-1547), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of van Broekhoven et al. (US 2020/0002624 A1). The previously provided English machine translation of Wu (CN 103801402 A) is used in the analysis below.
Regarding claim 7, modified Liu teaches the method of claim 1, as analyzed above, but none of Liu, Zhang, nor Wu teach the third metal salt comprising at least two rare earth metals.
However, Broekhoven teaches an alkylation process that comprises rare earth-element acid catalysts (paragraphs 1 and 27), like that of the instant application and of modified Liu. This work is therefore in a related field of endeavor, as further evidenced by Broekhoven describing ionic liquid catalysts in their specification (paragraph 8).
Broekhoven also teaches that preferred embodiments of their invention include those in which cerium comprises at least 10% of the rare earth elements present (paragraph 28), which corresponds to a molar ratio of greater than 0.1:1, and implies the presence of multiple rare earth metals, thereby meeting the claim limitation wherein the molar ratio of one rare earth element to the remaining rare-earth elements is in the range (0.05-50):1.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary in the skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use in the method of modified Liu a third metal comprising at least two rare earth metals, a molar ratio of any one rare earth metal to the remaining rare earth metals being greater than 0.1:1, as taught by Broekhoven. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because they would be substituting the multiple rare earth system and ratios used Broekhoven for the single rare earth system taught by Wu to obtain predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(B). Alternatively, one would have been motivated to use the mixture of Broekhoven because Broekhoven teaches that their catalysts give products with improved octane numbers and value (title and abstract).
It is noted that the courts have stated where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F2d 775. 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (see MPEP 2144.05.01). Therefore, because the ratio of ranges taught by modified Liu overlaps with the instantly claimed range of 0.05-50:1, the limitations of claim 7 are obvious.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, pages 4-6 of the reply filed 2 December 2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-5 and 7 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the prior rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection is made over Liu et al. (US 2004/0133056 A1) in view of Zhang et al. (US 2016/0199825 A1), Wu et al. (CN 103801402 A), and Xing et al, as analyzed above.
In particular, while Liu provides an example embodiment where the molar amount of the third metal is equal to the molar amount of the second metal, it would have been obvious to vary these molar amounts such that the molar amount of the second metal is greater than the molar amount of the third metal, as taught by Xing.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS A. PIRO/Assistant Examiner, Art Unit 1738
/PAUL A WARTALOWICZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735