DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Razzaq et al., “Oligo(u-pentadecalactone) decorated magnetic nanoparticles,” Journal of Materials Chemistry, vol. 22, pp. 9237-9243 (2012), (hereinafter Razzaq-1).
Regarding Claims 1, 4, 5, Razzaq-1 teaches a core-shell particle with a magnetite core and a shell of oligo(w-pentadecalactone) oligomers with a Mn of 1300 to 3300 g/mol (See abstract and page 9237-9239), which meets the claimed crosslinking agent cited in claims 1, 4, and 5.
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Razzaq et al., “Multifunctional Hybrid Nanocomposites with Magnetically Controlled Reversible Shape–Memory Effect,” Advanced Materials, vol. 25, pp. 95730-5733 (2013), (hereinafter Razzaq-2).
Regarding Claims 1, 4, 5, Razzaq-2 teaches a core-shell particle with a magnetite core and a shell of oligo(w-pentadecalactone) oligomers in Figure 1
(page 5731), and further teaches a composite obtained by mixing the above ODPL@MNP with a three armed oligo(ω-pentadecalactone) (3AOPDL), and hexamethylene diisocyanate (HDI) and crosslinked (See Figure 1 page 5731 and page 5733), which meets the claimed crosslinking agent cited in claims 1, 4, and 5.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, and 6, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The closest prior art is Razzaq-1 and Razzaq-2m as cited above and incorporated herein. Neither Razzaq-1 and Razzaq-2 teaches the core is a silica particle, the claimed size range and/or the claimed molecular weight range.
The next closest prior art is US 2014/0264822 A1 to Horikiri et al. (hereinafter Horikiri). Horikiri teaches a lactone-modified silica filler (para 36), wherein the lactone is a caprolactone (para 40).
Horikiri does not teach wherein the shell is a polymacrolactone.
Claims 7-19 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The closest prior art is US 2022/0049041 A1 to Alamri et al. (hereinafter Alamri). Alamri teaches a product of a crosslinking glycidyl methacrylate grafted polyethylene with a polymacrolactone (See abstract).
Alamri does not teach core particle with a shell of a polymacrolactone.
Conclusion
/HA S NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766