DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after January 20, 2023, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Application
Receipt is acknowledged of Applicants’ claimed invention filed on 01/20/2023 in the matter of Application N° 18/157,134. Said documents are entered on the record. The Examiner further acknowledges the following:
The present application, filed on or after January 20, 2023, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Thus, claims 1-27 represent all claims currently under consideration.
Information Disclosure Statement
Six Information Disclosure Statements, filed on 02/27/2025, 09/13/2024, 08/22/2024, 07/08/2024, 12/29/2023, 01/16/2026 are acknowledged and have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zarnitsyn et al. (US9636332) in view of Tu et al. (US9066782), and Troncoso (Use of Tantalum Implants for Inducing a Permanent Hypotony in Rabbits Eyes, 1949).
Zarnitsyn et al. teach a radiocontrast agent, and a core polymer matrix comprising an ethylene-vinyl acetate (EVA) copolymer. Zarnitsyn et al. explicitly teach microneedles formed of polymeric structural materials. Representative non-biodegradable polymers include polymers of ethylene-vinyl acetate and copolymers thereof. This reasonably teaches a core polymer matrix comprising EVA, even if “core” is not explicitly labeled. Structural polymers forming the microneedle inherently form the body/core. Zarnitsyn et al. teach image-guided feedback methods, including: X-ray, optical coherence tomography, use of materials detectable under imaging, metallic materials including: Gold, Tantalum, Stainless steel, and other metals and alloys. Radiocontrast agents are materials visible under radiographic imaging, and metal-based agents (e.g. gold, tantalum) are well-recognized radiocontrast materials. Therefore, Zarnitsyn et al. reasonably teach incorporation or radiopaque materials in the microneedle body/core to enable imaging and placement verification. Troncoso teaches the use of tantalum in ophthalmic implants. Tantalum is radiopaque, biocompatible, used for implant localization and monitoring. Placement in anterior chamber and perichoroidal/suprachoroidal regions. This directly supports the radiocontrast agent limitation, especially in an ocular implant context.
Zarnitsyn et al. teaches EVA copolymers. Zarnitsyn et al. does not explicitly recite melt flow index (MFI) values. Melt flow index is an inherent material property, and a result-effective variable, and a matter of routine optimization. Although Zarnitsyn et al. do not explicitly disclose that the ethylene-vinyl acetate copolymer has a melt flow index of from about 0.2 to about 100g/10min as measured under ASTM D1238-20 conditions, selection of an EVA copolymer having a particular melt flow index represents a routine optimization of a known polymer property to achieve desired processing or mechanical characteristics. It is well within the level of ordinary skill in the art to select an EVA copolymer having an appropriate melt flow index for fabrication of medical device structures such as microneedles. In re Aller, In re Peterson, or MPEP 2144.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a known radiocontrast agent such as tantalum, as taught by Troncoso, in the polymeric microneedle core of Zarnitsyn et al. in order to allow visualization and confirmation of placement of the implant within ocular tissues using imaging techniques, as expressly contemplated by Zarnitsyn et al.
Tu et al. teach treatments for eye conditions and implants are offered. One technique is inserting an implant into the eye’s anterior chamber. In order for the proximal end of the implant to remain in the anterior chamber after implantation, it is placed into the eye tissue next to the anterior chamber. The implant elutes a medical substance into the eye. The therapeutic agent’s release from the implant should ideally be regulated. The therapeutic drug may be released under control at a specific rate and/or for a specified amount of time, which may be periodic or episodic. The therapeutic agent may be an anti-inflammatory medication, an antiproliferative agent, or a substance used to treat ocular hypertension or glaucoma (See abstract, and claim 1).
Regarding claims 1 and 3, In addition, Zarnitsyn et al. also teach the same subject matter of treatments for eye conditions. Zarnitsyn et al. teach in order to treat a posterior ocular illness or choroidal malady, procedures and instruments are presented for the targeted non-surgical administration of a medication formulation to the suprachoroidal space of a human subject’s eye. One version of the technique involves putting a hollow microneedle into the eye at an insertion site and then injecting a drug formulation into the eye’s suprachoroidal space through the microneedle. During the infusion, the infused drug formulation moves away from the insertion site and into the suprachoroidal space. The fluid drug formulation comprises drug nanoparticles or microparticles (See abstract and Description paragraph 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the instant effective filing date to include the teachings of Zarnitsyn et al. into the teachings of Tu et al. in which a hollow microneedle is inserted into the eye at an insertion site, and the drug formulation is then injected through the microneedle into the suprachoroidal space of the eye, and Tu et al. in which an implant is placed into the anterior chamber of the eye is one method. The implant is inserted into the eye tissue adjacent to the anterior chamber so that the proximal end will stay there after implantation.
Regarding claim 2, Zarnitsyn et al. teach (Review core of pg. 76, column 64, lines 24-30) the art of encapsulating nanoparticles or microparticles is well established. The drug formulation in one embodiment consists of drug particles suspended in a solution with a D99 of 10 µm or less. The drug formulation in one embodiment consists of drug particles suspended in a solution with a D99 of 7 µm or less. Drug particles suspended in a solution with a D99 of 3 µm or less make up the drug formulation in a different embodiment.
Regarding claims 4, 5, and 10, Zarnitsyn et al. teach a hollow microneedle is inserted into the eye at an insertion site in one embodiment of the technique. A drug formulation is then infused through the microneedle and into the eye’s suprachoroidal space, where it flows along the suprachoroidal space and away from the insertion site (See abstract).
Regarding claims 6, and 7, 8, 9, Zarnitsyn et al. teach after the non-surgical drug administration is finished, the drug may be released into the ocular tissues from the infused volume (or, for example, from microparticles or nanoparticles in the drug formulation) for a long time, such as several hours, days, weeks, or months. This can be advantageous since it can boost the medication’s bioavailability in comparison to other methods, such as topical application of the drug formulation to the surfaces of ocular tissue or intravitreal injection of the same dosage of the drug (pg. 49, lines 48-60).
Regarding claim 11, Zarnitsyn et al. teach in a further embodiment, the additional ocular disease is drusen, sickle cell retinopathy, central serous chorioretinopathy, typical neovascular (type 1 or 2) age related macular degeneration,
melanocytoma of the optic nerve (See pg. 60, lines 6-10).
Regarding claim 12, Zarnitsyn et al. teach it is possible for microparticles and nanoparticles to have a spherical shape. Microparticles and nanoparticles with an exterior shell enclosing a core of another material are known as microcapsules and nanocapsules. A liquid, gel, solid, gas, or a combination of these can be the core. The medicine is placed on the surface of the outer shell, in the outer shell itself, or in the core of the microcapsule or nanocapsule, which can also be a microbubble or nanobubble with an outer shell encircling a gas core (See pg. 76, lines 24-32). A matrix material may also be included in the microparticles or nanoparticles. A polymer, amino acid, saccharide, or another substance recognized in the field of microencapsulation could serve as the shell or matrix material (See pg. 76. Lines 40-43).
Zarnitsyn et al. make no mention of the 20 wt% to about 70 wt%, and from about 30 wt% to about 80 wt % of the core.
Regarding claims 13, 14, 16, and 23, Zarnitsyn et al teach the microneedle can be formed/constructed of different biocompatible materials, including metals, glasses, semi-conductor materials, ceramics, or polymers. Examples include nylons, polyesters, polymers of ethylene-vinyl acetates and other acyl substituted cellulose acetates (See pg. 51, column 13, lines 19-20).
Zarnitsyn et al. make no mention of the vinyl acetate monomer 10 wt% to about 60 wt % and a melt flow index from 0.2 to about 100 grams, and a molecular weight of 1kDa.
Regarding claim 15, Zarnitsyn et al. teach wherein the therapeutic agent consists of a protein (pg. 62), peptide and enzyme (pg. 51, lines 50-55), antibody (pg. 62, lines 3-10), nucleotide (pg. 62, col 36, line 11), lipid (pg. 60, line 51), interleukin (pg. 46, line 65), interferon (pg. 63, lines 33-35), vaccination (pg. 62, col 36, line 14), or a derivative (pg. 66, line 57), or analogue (pg. 65, line 14 and line 18).
Regarding claim 17, Zarnitsyn et al. teach tyrosine kinase or tyrosine kinase receptor antagonists are one kind of the VEGF modulator (See pg. 64, lines 27-30).
Regarding claim 18, Zarnitsyn et al. teach wherein the tyrosine kinase inhibitor includes (axitinib pg. 56, line 54), bosutinib, cabozantinib, crizotinib, dasatinib, erlotinib, gefitinib, (imatinib pg. 64, line 52), lapatinib, nilotinib, (pazopanib pg. 64, line 53), (ponatinib, pg. 64, line 53), (ruxolitinib, pg. 72, line 48), (sorafenib, pg. 56, line 53), sunitinib (pg. 64, line 52), (vatalanib pg. 65, line 18), vemurafenib, or a combination thereof.
Zarnitsyn et al. make no mention of bosutinib, cabozantinib, crizotinib, dasatinib, erlotinib, gefitinib, and lapatinib, nilotinib.
Regarding claim 19, Zarnitsyn et al. teach the drug formulation delivered by the methods described herein, in one embodiment, comprises an effective amount
of a steroid or a non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drug (NSAID) (See pg. 46, lines 58-61).
Regarding claim 20, Zarnitsyn et al. teach wherein the steroidal agent comprises (hydrocortisone, pg. 62, line 41), (cortisone acetate, pg. 69, lines 21-22), cortisone/cortisol (pg. 68, line30), fluorocortolone, (fluocinolone, pg. 65, line 8), (fluorometholone, pg. 62, line 41), (prednisone, pg. 66, line 46), (prednisolone, pg. 62, line 41), methylprednisolone, (triamcinolone, pg. 66, line 47), (dexamethasone, pg. 62, line 40), (betamethasone, pg. 62, line 40), paramethasone, derivatives thereof, or a combination of any of the foregoing.
Regarding claim 21, Zarnitsyn et al. teach wherein the core can be
liquid, gel, Solid, gas, or a combination thereof (pg. 76, 27-28).
Regarding claim 22, Zarnitsyn et al. teach retinopathy, retinopathy of prematurity, epiretinal membrane, peripheral retinal degeneration (pg. 73, 39-41).
Regarding claim 24, Zarnitsyn et al. teach microneedles can be formed with shafts that have a circular cross-section in the perpendicular, or the cross-section can be non-circular (See pg. 52, lines 49-51)
Regarding claim 25, Zarnitsyn et al. teach that the device was attached to a micropipette holder with tubing that was connected to a carbon dioxide gas cylinder for application of infusion pressure (See pg. 77, lines 30-34).
Regarding claim 26, Zarnitsyn et al. teach a volume of 15 µL was injected and, in this particular cross-section taken in the plane of the insertion site, the injection had spread approximately 20 mm, which corresponds to about 36% of the total circumference of the eye (See pg. 78, lines 21-25).
Instead of Zarnitsyn et al. mentioning 5 mm, Zarnitsyn mentions 20mm.
Regarding claim 27, Zarnitsyn et al. teach in other particular embodiments, the microneedle may be designed such that the tip portion is only a portion of the microneedle that is inserted into the ocular tissue and generally has a length that is less than about 75% of the total length of the microneedle, less than about 50% of the total length of the microneedle, or less than about 25% of the total length of the microneedle (See pg. 52, lines 67-72).
Instead of Zarnitsyn et al. mentioning 25 millimeters, Zarnitsyn mentions 25%.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 16, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claims 1-27 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zarnitsyn et al. In view of Troncoso.
Applicant argues that claim 1 recites a radiocontrast agent, and a core polymer matrix comprising an ethylene-vinyl acetate (EVA) copolymer. Zarnitsyn et al. explicitly teach microneedles formed of polymeric structural materials. Representative non-biodegradable polymers include polymers of ethylene-vinyl acetate and copolymers thereof. This reasonably teaches a core polymer matrix comprising EVA, even if “core” is not explicitly labeled. Structural polymers forming the microneedle inherently form the body/core. Zarnitsyn et al. teach image-guided feedback methods, including: X-ray, optical coherence tomography, use of materials detectable under imaging, metallic materials including: Gold, Tantalum, Stainless steel, and other metals and alloys. Radiocontrast agents are materials visible under radiographic imaging, and metal-based agents (e.g. gold, tantalum) are well-recognized radiocontrast materials. Therefore, Zarnitsyn et al. reasonably teach incorporation or radiopaque materials in the microneedle body/core to enable imaging and placement verification. Troncoso teaches the use of tantalum in ophthalmic implants. Tantalum is radiopaque, biocompatible, used for implant localization and monitoring. Placement in anterior chamber and perichoroidal/suprachoroidal regions. This directly supports the radiocontrast agent limitation, especially in an ocular implant context.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a known radiocontrast agent such as tantalum, as taught by Troncoso, in the polymeric microneedle core of Zarnitsyn et al. in order to allow visualization and confirmation of placement of the implant within ocular tissues using imaging techniques, as expressly contemplated by Zarnitsyn et al.
Zarnitsyn et al. teaches EVA copolymers. Zarnitsyn et al. does not explicitly recite melt flow index (MFI) values. Melt flow index is an inherent material property, and a result-effective variable, and a matter of routine optimization. Although Zarnitsyn et al. do not explicitly disclose that the ethylene-vinyl acetate copolymer has a melt flow index of from about 0.2 to about 100g/10min as measured under ASTM D1238-20 conditions, selection of an EVA copolymer having a particular melt flow index represents a routine optimization of a known polymer property to achieve desired processing or mechanical characteristics. It is well within the level of ordinary skill in the art to select an EVA copolymer having an appropriate melt flow index for fabrication of medical device structures such as microneedles. In re Aller, In re Peterson, or MPEP 2144.
Zarnitsyn et al. teach an implantable microneedle device formed of polymeric materials, including ethylene-vinyl acetate copolymers, and further teach image-guided feedback using radiographic imaging techniques such as X-ray to monitor device placement. Troncoso teaches the use of tantalum, a known radiocontrast material, in ophthalmic implants to permit visualization and monitoring after implantation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a known radiocontrast agent such as tantalum within the polymeric core of the device of Zarnitsyn et al. to enable radiographic visualization of the implant during or after placement.
Applicants’ argument that the references fail to disclose a radiocontrast agent is not persuasive, as Zarnitsyn et al. contemplate imaging-visible materials and Troncoso explicitly teaches the use of tantalum for this for this purpose in ocular implants. With respect to the recited melt flow index of the ethylene-vinyl acetate copolymer, the claimed range represents a routine optimization of a known polymer property, and selection of a particular melt flow index within the claimed range would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIMBERLY BARBER/Examiner, Art Unit 1615
/Robert A Wax/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1615