DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 2, 4, 6 and 9 are rejoined in view of the amendment to claim 2 to recite “one . . . direct or indirect line contact,” thereby conforming claim 2 to the elected Species I.B which includes a single arcuate contact. As noted below, however, the term “one . . . line contact” is indefinite because it is unclear how a single line contact includes an arcuate contact surface as recited in claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 4, 6, 9 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, the phrase “one or more direct or indirect line contacts” is indefinite because claim 1 recites that “the contact region includes a circumferential area greater than a circumferential area of a single line contact between the end stop and the spindle.” Therefore, it is unclear how only “one . . . direct or indirect line contact” (see claim 2) has a “contact region [that] includes a circumferential area greater than a circumferential area of a single line contact” (see claim 1).
Regarding claim 2, the phrase “one or more direct or indirect line contacts” is indefinite because it is unclear what is considered to be a “line contact.” For example, claim 9 recites that the “mating area includes one or more arcuate portions.” It is unclear how an arcuate mating area is considered a “line contact.” For purposes of examination, however, the recited “one . . . direct or indirect line contact” will be interpreted as including an arcuate contact area.
Regarding claim 4, the phrase “one or more direct line contacts” is indefinite because claim 1 recites that “the contact region includes a circumferential area greater than a circumferential area of a single line contact between the end stop and the spindle.” Therefore, it is unclear how only “one . . . direct line contact” (see claim 4) has a “contact region [that] includes a circumferential area greater than a circumferential area of a single line contact” (see claim 1).
Regarding claim 6, the phrase “the one or more direct line contacts between the end stop and the spindle have a width of about 10 microns or less and the contact region has a width of about 50 microns or more” is indefinite because claim 1 recites that “the contact region includes a circumferential area greater than a circumferential area of a single line contact between the end stop and the spindle.” Therefore, it is unclear how the “one . . . direct line contact” has a width of about 10 microns or less and the contact region has a width of about 50 microns or more (see claim 6), and at the same time has an area greater than a single line contact (see claim 1).
Regarding claim 9, the phrase “wherein a surface of the end stop within the mating area includes one or more arcuate portions, a surface of the end stop within the mating area is a convex surface, a surface of the spindle within the mating area is a concave surface and a surface of the spindle within the mating area is arcuate” is indefinite because it is unclear whether the arcuate surfaces, convex surface and/or concave surface are the same as, distinct from or include the one or more line contacts. Furthermore, it is unclear how an “arcuate surface” mating area is considered a “line contact.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kick-Rodenbuecher et al. (US 2018/0058553).
Regarding claim 1, Kick-Rodenbuecher discloses a ball and nut assembly (see Abstract, FIGS. 1-5) adapted for a brake system of a vehicle (see ¶ 0021), comprising: (a) a nut (3) having a threaded portion (see FIG. 2); (b) a spindle (2) having a threaded portion (11) positioned at least partially within the nut so that the threaded portion of the spindle engages the threaded portion of the nut (see FIG. 2); and (c) an end stop (5) positioned adjacent to the spindle (see FIG. 2), wherein a mating area (12, 13) is located between the end stop and the spindle (see FIG. 2), the mating area includes a contact region (12, 13) in which the end stop contacts the spindle directly or indirectly (see FIG. 2), and the contact region includes a circumferential area greater than a circumferential area of a single line contact between the end stop and the spindle (see FIGS. 2, 5); and wherein the end stop prevents tilting of the spindle relative to a longitudinal axis of the spindle (see ¶ 0039, tilting is limited).
Regarding claim 2, Kick-Rodenbuecher discloses that the contact region includes one or more direct or indirect line contacts (12, 13) between the end stop and the spindle (see FIGS. 2, 5).
Regarding claim 4, Kick-Rodenbuecher discloses that the contact region includes one or more direct line contacts (12, 13) between the end stop and the spindle (see FIGS. 2, 5).
Claims 1, 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Segawa (US 2023/0383826).
Regarding claim 1, Segawa discloses a ball and nut assembly (see Abstract, FIGS. 2, 3) adapted for a brake system of a vehicle (see ¶ 0002), comprising: (a) a nut (3) having a threaded portion (12); (b) a spindle (2) having a threaded portion (9) positioned at least partially within the nut so that the threaded portion of the spindle engages the threaded portion of the nut (see FIG. 2); and (c) an end stop (5) positioned adjacent to the spindle (see FIG. 3), wherein a mating area is located between the end stop and the spindle (11, 23), the mating area includes a contact region in which the end stop contacts the spindle directly or indirectly (see FIG. 3), and the contact region includes a circumferential area greater than a circumferential area of a single line contact between the end stop and the spindle (see FIG. 3); and wherein the end stop prevents tilting of the spindle relative to a longitudinal axis of the spindle (see ¶ 0111).
Regarding claim 2, Segawa discloses that the contact region includes one or more direct or indirect line contacts (11, 23) between the end stop and the spindle (see FIGS. 2, 3).
Regarding claim 4, Segawa discloses that the contact region includes one or more direct line contacts between the end stop and the spindle (see FIGS. 2, 3).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection noted above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS J LANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616
March 21, 2026