Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Kurihara teaches away from applying directly to the REBCO tape itself.
However, the claim does not recite that solder comes into contact with a particular part of the REBCO tape; the claim only requires “dipping the REBCO tape in a tin-lead solder bath to form a layer…on the surface of the REBCO tape”.
Applicant argues that Kurihara teaches winding a single preformed composite wire not cowinding two separate tapes.
However, the claims do not require that the tapes are unbonded such that the disclosure of Kurihara as described below meets the limitation of cowinding the tapes.
Applicant argues that Li, Gonzalez, Lu, Kim, Schuisky fail to teach any solder application or any cowinding of any coil.
However, these references are not relied upon for those limitations. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7,11-18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurihara (US 2017/0221609) in view of Sato (US 2015/0174678) and Schuisky (US 2005/0265885) and Lu (US 2019/0267172).
Kurihara teaches a method of making a coil for a superconducting magnet (para. 0004, 0034) comprising providing a REBCO superconducting tape (para. 0048), plating the YBCO with a tin-lead solder layer (para. 0068-0070), and co-winding the coated superconductor with a stainless steel tape (para. 0112-0115).
Regarding the limitation of oxidizing the stainless tape, it appears that any implementation of providing the stainless steel tape would result in some amount of oxidation such that the limitation of the claim is met.
Kurihara fails to teach that the plating method comprises dipping the REBCO tape in a solder bath to form a layer.
Sato, however, teaches a method of forming a plating layer of solder (abstract) comprising running a tape through a solder bath to form a layer of solder on the tape (abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide forming a plating layer of solder (abstract) in Kurihara comprising running a tape through a solder bath to form a layer of solder on the tape in order to provide a method parameter known in the art as taught by Sato.
Kurihara teaches a method as described above in claim 1, but fails to teach oxidizing the stainless steel with heating in a furnace.
Regarding claims 1 and 11-15, 20; Schuisky, however, teaches a stainless steel (abstract) wherein the stainless steel is oxidized by heating in a furnace in order to provide corrosion resistance to the stainless steel and contact resistance of less than 50 m-omega-cm2 (para. 0013-0016).
Lu teaches that the contact resistance between turns in a superconducting coil is about 1-100 m-omega-cm2 (para. 0027).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the stainless steel is oxidized by heating in a furnace in order to provide corrosion resistance to the stainless steel and contact resistance of less than 50 m-omega-cm2 as taught by Schuisky and because Lu teaches that the contact resistance between turns in a superconducting coil is about 1-100 m-omega-cm2.
Regarding claim 2, Kurihara teach that the coil is no-insulation (para. 0112-0115).
Regarding claim 3-5, 7, Kurihara teaches that the solder layer is 2 micrometers (para. 0069). Additionally, Sato teaches that the speed of the reel is 1-3 m/min in a process to provide thickness of a few micrometers (up to 2) (para. 0142). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide coating speed of 1-3 m/min in a process to provide a layer of around 2 micrometers thickness in Kurihara in order to provide a process parameter well known in the art as taught by Sato.
Regarding claim 4, it appears that the prior art meets the limitation of the degradation being negligible as that limitation is broad such that the teaching of the prior art having a substantially similar solder and stabilizer material as the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 5, Sato teaches trimming excess molten solder (abstract). It would have been within the purview of one of ordinary skill to use a silicone wipe.
Regarding claim 11-12, Schuisky teaches heating the stainless steel in the furnace at a temperature of 850 C (para. 0015). However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the temperature and oxidation time (speed of the reel to reel) to control the contact resistance as taught by Lu (para. 0077-0078) based on the desired properties of the end product absent a showing of unexpected results.
Regarding claims 16-17, 20; Schuisky teaches that the contact resistance is resilient to temperature cycling such that the limitations of 16-17, 20 appear to be met (claim 19).
Claim(s) 6, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurihara (US 2017/0221609) in view of Sato (US 2015/0174678) and Li (“Feasibility study of the impregnation…”) and Schuisky (US 2005/0265885) and Lu (US 2019/0267172).
Kurihara teaches a method as described above in claim 1, but fails to teach that the solder is 63Sn/37Pb.
Li, however, teaches a method for impregnating HTS tapes with solder (abstract) wherein the solder is 63Sn/37Pb (page 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the solder of Kurihara as 63Sn/37Pb in order to provide a configuration known in the art as taught by Li.
Regarding claim 8, Sato teaches that the molten bath is kept at a temperature above the melting point of the solder (abstract). The melting temperature of 63Sn/37Pb is 183 C. therefore, it would have been obvious to make the temperature of the bath above 183 C such that the range of temperatures above 183 C overlap with the claimed range.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurihara (US 2017/0221609) in view of Sato (US 2015/0174678) and Cubilos Gonzalez (US 2020/0392616) and Schuisky (US 2005/0265885) and Lu (US 2019/0267172).
Kurihara teaches a method as described above in claim 1, but fails to teach the steel is 316L steel.
Gonzalez, however, teaches a method of making a film (abstract) comprising 316L steel for the purpose of providing corrosion resistance (para. 0011).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide 316L steel in Kurihara in order to provide corrosion resistance as taught by Gonzalez.
Claim(s) 12, 16-17, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurihara (US 2017/0221609) in view of Sato (US 2015/0174678) and Schuisky (US 2005/0265885) and Lu (US 2019/0267172) and Kim (US 2021/0036335) and Li (“Feasibility study of the impregnation…”).
Regarding claim 12, Kim teaches it is known to oxidize stainless steel in a furnace at temperatures of 150-900 C for the purpose providing a iron oxide film on the surface of the steel (para. 0056).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide oxidize stainless steel in a furnace at temperatures of 150-900 C in Kurihara in order to provide a iron oxide film on the surface of the steel as taught by Kim.
Regarding the properties of claim 16-17 and 20 of the cycle resistance, as the prior art of record teaches a substantially similar steel (Li) and substantially similar method of oxidizing the stainless steel (Kim, Schuisky), it appears that the properties of the combined prior art would be substantially similar to those of the claimed invention, including the cycle resiliency claimed.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurihara (US 2017/0221609) in view of Sato (US 2015/0174678) and Cubilos Gonzalez (US 2020/0392616) and Li (“Feasibility study of the impregnation…”) and Schuisky (US 2005/0265885) and Lu (US 2019/0267172).
Kurihara teaches a method as described above in claim 1, but fails to teach the steel is 316L steel.
Gonzalez, however, teaches a method of making a film (abstract) comprising 316L steel for the purpose of providing corrosion resistance (para. 0011).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide 316L steel in Kurihara in order to provide corrosion resistance as taught by Gonzalez.
Kurihara teaches a method as described above in claim 1, but fails to teach that the solder is 63Sn/37Pb.
Li, however, teaches a method for impregnating HTS tapes with solder (abstract) wherein the solder is 63Sn/37Pb (page 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the solder of Kurihara as 63Sn/37Pb in order to provide a configuration known in the art as taught by Li.
Additionally, Kurihara teaches that the solder layer is 2 micrometers (para. 0069).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAUL A WARTALOWICZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735