DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furusawa et al. (US 2003/0213614 A1), in view of Sekiya (US 2004/0201648 A1), further in view of Nukada et al. (US 2017/0369665 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Furusawa discloses a method of forming a conductive pattern (Title; Abstract) comprising forming a conductive pattern (“conductive pattern”) by ejecting a liquid-state material containing conductive fine particles onto a porous base material (2: porous silica or alumina) having a first major surface (fig. 1: top, as viewed), an opposite second major surface(fig. 1: bottom, as viewed), and a plurality of side surfaces (fig. 1: at least left and right sides, as viewed) that connect the first major surface to the second major surface (fig. 1; pars. 0052 and 0054), wherein the conductive fine particles have an average particle size of 1 nm to 200 nm (1 nm to 100 nm: par. 0070), a droplet volume of the liquid-state material ejected is [about] 0.2 pl to 2 pl (4 pl: par. 0128), and the porous base material is formed of a single material (par. 0054: “at least one of porous silica [and] alumina”, the term “at least one” includes a reasonable interpretation that there is only one of the materials) with a plurality of *cavities (“fine voids”) that are positioned between the first major surface and the second major surface (fig. 1), and the porous base material includes *communication holes (others of the “fine voids”), an average diameter (8 nm to 50 nm or 3 nm to 10 nm: pars. 0055-0056) of the communication holes being less than or equal to the average particle size of the conductive fine particles (3 nm is less than all of 3.0001 nm to 100 nm) (pars. 0086-0088). Furusawa, however, does not explicitly disclose that the droplet volume of the liquid-state material ejected is 0.2 pl to 2 pl; or that the porous base material is formed of polyimide and includes communication holes through which the plurality of cavities are in communication.
*Note: In claim 1, the disclosed “cavities and communication holes” are understood to be cavities in a porous material which are connected to one another, the locations of connection between cavities being the “communication holes”. That is to say, the porous base material is porous according to the commonly understood definition and the “cavities and communication holes” are simply a means of renaming the connected pores of the porous material.
Sekiya teaches that it is well known to perform a similar method (Title; Abstract) of forming a conductive pattern comprising forming a conductive pattern by ejecting a liquid-state material containing conductive fine particles onto a base material (Abstract; fig. 3; pars. 0097-0098), wherein a droplet volume of the liquid-state material ejected is 0.2 pl to 2 pl (pars. 0101, 0217, and 0256).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the current invention of Furusawa to incorporate the preferred droplet size of Sekiya. POSITA would have realized that many off-the-shelf inkjet printing devices can be easily and readily used to print droplets having conductive particles, wherein the droplets are less than 2 pl, to achieve the desired fine line and pitch width of microelectronic circuits. The known advantages of such a technique include the fine widths/pitches which predictably decrease manufacturing costs due to rework when other methods produce inconsistent ink droplets. Moreover, there is no indication in the instant disclosure that any special droplet size or device for depositing the conductive ink was devised or that any surprising results were derived from simply using the old metho of Furusawa with the well-known droplet size of less than 2 pl of Sekiya. This combination would have been easily performed with knowledge of the commonly understood advantages and with reasonable expectations of success.
Nukada teaches that it is well known to perform a similar method (Title; Abstract) comprising forming a porous base material (62), wherein the porous base material is formed of polyimide with a plurality of cavities (7) and includes communication holes (marked in annotated fig. 1D, below) through which the plurality of cavities are in communication (fig. 1D; pars. 0006 and 0017).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified the invention of Furusawa to incorporate the material being selected as polyimide and the communication holes of Nukada. POSITA would have realized that a porous material would naturally have large and small openings therein by virtue of simply being porous. Though Furusawa does not explicitly disclose this limitation, it is obvious that the base material of Furusawa is similar if not effectively identical to that of Nukada and can be easily and readily interchanged with the porous material of Nukada to achieve the desired incorporation of conductive material therein. Moreover, there is no indication in the instant disclosure that any special porous base material was devised or that any surprising results were derived from simply using the old method of Furusawa with the well-known cavities and communication holes of Nukada. This combination would have been easily performed with knowledge of the commonly understood advantages and with reasonable expectations of success. With respect to the selection of polyimide as the porous material, it has been held by the courts that selection of a prior art material on the basis of its suitability for its intended purpose is within the level of ordinary skill. It is well known to use polyimide in circuit manufacture and as a porous material. In fact, the cited Nukada reference is the U.S. filing which has priority to JP 2017-226777, which was cited by the Applicant and is admitted as being obvious prior art in at least par. [0022] of the instant application. In said paragraph of the instant specification the Applicant has stated that the porous base material as claimed, “can be produced, for example, by the production method of JP-A-2017-226777”. Accordingly, this material selection is obvious based upon its known suitability in the art, and as admitted by the Applicant.
Regarding claim 2, Furusawa in view of Sekiya and further in view of Nukada teaches the method of claim 1 as detailed above, and Furusawa further discloses that a viscosity of the liquid-state material is from 1mPa•s to 10mPa•s (par. 0080).
Regarding claim 3, Furusawa in view of Sekiya and further in view of Nukada teaches the method of claim 1 as detailed above, and Furusawa further discloses that a surface tension of the liquid-state material is from 20 mN/m to 40 mN/m (par. 0077).
Regarding claim 4, Furusawa in view of Sekiya and further in view of Nukada teaches the method of claim 1 as detailed above, and Furusawa further discloses that the liquid-state material contains water (par. 0075).
Regarding claim 5, Furusawa in view of Sekiya and further in view of Nukada teaches the method of claim 1 as detailed above, and Furusawa further discloses that the porous base material is subjected to a liquid repellent treatment (par. 0066).
Regarding claim 7, Furusawa in view of Sekiya and further in view of Nukada teaches the method of claim 1 as detailed above, and Sekiya further teaches that it is well known to use an ejecting unit wherein a nozzle diameter in the ejecting unit that ejects the liquid-state material is from 10 µm to 25 µm (D ≤ 20 µm: Abstract; par. 0030).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified the invention of Furusawa to incorporate the preferred diameter nozzle of Sekiya. POSITA would have realized that Furusawa expressly discloses that the droplets deposited are no more than 25 µm, and thus would very likely and very easily have been deposited by a nozzle of diameter < 25 µm. A nozzle of such diameter can be easily and readily incorporated in the method of Furusawa to achieve the desired droplet size/volume. Moreover, there is no indication in the instant disclosure that any special nozzle was devised or that any surprising results were derived from simply using the old method of Furusawa with the well-known nozzle diameter of Sekiya. This combination would have been easily performed with knowledge of the commonly understood advantages and with reasonable expectations of success.
Regarding claim 8, Furusawa in view of Sekiya and Nukada teaches all of the elements of the current invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Sekiya further teaches that it is well known that a droplet flying speed of the liquid-state material ejected is from 3 m/s to 15 m/s (5 m/s to 20 m/s includes the range of 5 m/s to 15 m/s: pars. 0208 and 0211).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified the invention of Furusawa to incorporate the preferred droplet flying speed of Sekiya. POSITA would have realized that droplets of any preferred speed can be easily and readily employed to achieve the desired pattern complexity or precision as well as manufacturing speed. Moreover, there is no indication in the instant disclosure that any special droplet or droplet ejector was devised or that any surprising results were derived from simply using the old method of Furusawa with the well-known desired droplet speed of Sekiya. This combination would have been easily performed with knowledge of the commonly understood advantages and with reasonable expectations of success.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant is correct that the previously cited prior art does not disclose the newly added limitation in which the droplet size is 0.2 pl to 2 pl, as Furusawa discloses a droplet size of 4 pl. That being so, Furusawa is not relied upon to disclose this preferred size feature, which has been shown (103 rejection of claim 1, above) to be obvious and is taught by Sekiya.
The Applicant’s subsequent argument alleges that Furusawa does not disclose the claim limitation “an average diameter of the communication holes being less than or equal to the average particle size of the conductive fine particles” (claim 1), because Furusawa discloses that some of the conductive particles pass into the porous substrate. This argument represents the logical fallacy known as a false dichotomy as it oversimplifies the prior art disclosure to suit the argument. Put simply, some of the conductive particles can be inside the pores without the average size of the particles being smaller than the average size of the pores. However, it is not compelling because in pars. [0086 and 0088], Sekiya has disclosed that the majority of the conductive particles do not pass through the pores due to their size, and it is clear that if the majority do not pass through, than the average size of the particles naturally is larger than the average size of the pores. If it were otherwise, then the majority of the particles would be inside of the pores rather than on the surface. As such, this argument is not found to be compelling.
Nukada is mentioned in the Applicant’s argument, but is not relied upon to teach the argued limitations and therefore that argument is moot.
The final paragraph of the arguments (on “Page 5 of 6”) is a conclusory statement based upon the Applicant’s preferred interpretation of the intent of Furusawa and purported benefits of the instant invention. This argument is not based in evidentiary fact and is therefore not found to be compelling as it instead represents a mere allegation of patentability.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. For example, Speakman (US 2007/0087564) is particularly relevant and discloses forming an electronic circuit using conductive particle loaded ink (Title; Abstract; par. 0106), wherein the droplets are deposited on a porous surface (par. 0017) and the droplets have a volume of less than 2 pl (par. 0404).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEFFREY T CARLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3729