DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s reply with the certified English translation filed 10/20/2025 for the instant application has been acknowledged. Therefore, the benefit accords to the foreign application, CN202010733275.1, with filing date 07/27/2020.
Applicant’s remarks filed 10/20/2025 with respect to allowable subject matter for claim(s) 7-10, 17-19, and 26 made on 08/29/2025 have been noted.
Applicant's arguments filed 10/20/2025 with respect to claim(s) 1, 11, and 20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection under 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 2022/0394679 A1) in view of Choi et al. (US 2023/0276411 A1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 7-10, 17-19, and 26 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 11-13, and 20-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 2022/0394679 A1) in view of Choi et al. (US 2023/0276411 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses A method for determining a target resource type, performed by a child integrated access backhaul (IAB) node and comprising (Fig. 9, [0188]: IAB node considers availability of a soft resource):
based on being connected to at least two parent IAB nodes, determining the target resource type according to resource type indication information received from at least one of the parent IAB nodes (Fig. 9, [0187]-[0188]: IAB node is connected to a first parent node and receives first configuration information, and a second parent node and receives second configuration information. The first and second configuration information indicate resource types, i.e., soft, hard, and/or unavailable, of the DU of the IAB node. Both parent nodes also send, to the IAB node, dynamic resource indication DCI that are based on the DU resource type, i.e., soft resource, corresponding to the parent nodes. The IAB node considers that the availability of a soft resource in the DU resource types indicated by the first and second configuration information is indicated by the DCI sent by the first and second parent nodes, or the IAB nodes considers that the dynamic resource indication DCI sent by the first and second parent nodes indicates only availability of a soft resource indicated by the first and second configuration information. [0190]: IAB node determines an actual resource type of the DU based on both the first and second configuration information);
wherein the determining the target resource type according to resource type indication information received from at least one of the parent IAB nodes comprises (see above mapping):
processing the resource type indication information according to a preset processing rule to determine the target resource type ([0190]: IAB node determines an actual resource type of the DU based on both the first and second configuration information. [0191]-[0195], table 2: a protocol defines an actual resource type by combining resource types);
wherein the processing the resource type indication information according to the preset processing rule to determine the target resource type comprises (see above mapping):
Liu does not disclose, but Choi discloses based on resource overlap between resources of a child IAB distributed unit (DU), indicated as available by the resource type indication information received from one of the at least two parent IAB nodes, and resources for child IAB mobile termination (MT) transmission, scheduled by scheduling information received from another of the at least two parent IAB nodes, determining a resource type of an overlapping resource according to the scheduling information ([0127]: transmission and reception of the DU and transmission and reception of the MT of the IAB node #1 904 may conflict with each other when…the indication or scheduling from the parent IAB node #1 902 or the parent IAB node #2 903 connected to the IAB node #1 904 by dual connectivity. [0129]: When the resource type of the DU of the IAB node #1 904 is soft, the DU of the IAB node #1 904 may perform transmission or reception when at least one of conditions 1, 2 or 3 below is satisfied with respect to the half-duplex constraint. [0132]: (Condition 3) The MT of the IAB node #1 904 receives, from at least one parent IAB node, indication that a soft resource is available for the DU of the IAB node #1 904. [0133] When the resource type of the DU of the IAB node #1 904 is NA, i.e., unavailable, for half-duplex constraint, the DU of the IAB node #1 904 does not perform transmission or reception. In this case, if schedulings conflict between parent IAB nodes, the MT of the IAB node #1 904 may prioritize scheduling from a parent IAB node that is included in the MCG. That is, the MT of the IAB node #1 904 may perform transmission or reception according to the scheduling from the parent IAB node included in the MCG, and may ignore the scheduling from the SCG when the scheduling from a parent IAB node included in the SCG cannot satisfy the half-duplex constraint).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the IAB node, as taught by Liu, to prioritize the scheduling from a parent node included in the MCG over the scheduling from a parent node in the SCG when there is a conflict between transmissions and receptions of the DU and the MT, where the indication indicates a soft resource is available for the DU, as taught by Choi.
Doing so allows the IAB node to perform transmission or reception according to the scheduling from the MCG when the scheduling from the SCG cannot satisfy the half-duplex constraint (Choi: [0133]).
Regarding claim 11, Liu discloses A communication device, comprising (Fig. 16: communication apparatus 1600):
a processor (Fig 16: processor 1610); and
a memory storing a program or instruction that is executable on the processor, wherein the program or instruction, when executed by the processor, causes the communication device to perform the following steps (Fig. 16, [0262]: memory 1630 storing instructions executed by processor 1610):
based on being connected to at least two parent integrated access back (IAB) nodes, determining the target resource type according to resource type indication information received from at least one of the parent IAB nodes (Fig. 9, [0187]-[0188]: IAB node is connected to a first parent node and receives first configuration information, and a second parent node and receives second configuration information. The first and second configuration information indicate resource types, i.e., soft, hard, and/or unavailable, of the DU of the IAB node. Both parent nodes also send, to the IAB node, dynamic resource indication DCI that are based on the DU resource type, i.e., soft resource, corresponding to the parent nodes. The IAB node considers that the availability of a soft resource in the DU resource types indicated by the first and second configuration information is indicated by the DCI sent by the first and second parent nodes, or the IAB nodes considers that the dynamic resource indication DCI sent by the first and second parent nodes indicates only availability of a soft resource indicated by the first and second configuration information. [0190]: IAB node determines an actual resource type of the DU based on both the first and second configuration information);
wherein the determining the target resource type according to resource type indication information received from at least one of the parent IAB nodes comprises (see above mapping):
processing the resource type indication information according to a preset processing rule to determine the target resource type ([0190]: IAB node determines an actual resource type of the DU based on both the first and second configuration information. [0191]-[0195], table 2: a protocol defines an actual resource type by combining resource types);
wherein the processing the resource type indication information according to the preset processing rule to determine the target resource type comprises (see above mapping):
Liu does not disclose, but Choi discloses based on resource overlap between resources of a child IAB distributed unit (DU), indicated as available by the resource type indication information received from one of the at least two parent IAB nodes, and resources for child IAB mobile termination (MT) transmission, scheduled by scheduling information received from another of the at least two parent IAB nodes, determining a resource type of an overlapping resource according to the scheduling information ([0127]: transmission and reception of the DU and transmission and reception of the MT of the IAB node #1 904 may conflict with each other when…the indication or scheduling from the parent IAB node #1 902 or the parent IAB node #2 903 connected to the IAB node #1 904 by dual connectivity. [0129]: When the resource type of the DU of the IAB node #1 904 is soft, the DU of the IAB node #1 904 may perform transmission or reception when at least one of conditions 1, 2 or 3 below is satisfied with respect to the half-duplex constraint. [0132]: (Condition 3) The MT of the IAB node #1 904 receives, from at least one parent IAB node, indication that a soft resource is available for the DU of the IAB node #1 904. [0133] When the resource type of the DU of the IAB node #1 904 is NA, i.e., unavailable, for half-duplex constraint, the DU of the IAB node #1 904 does not perform transmission or reception. In this case, if schedulings conflict between parent IAB nodes, the MT of the IAB node #1 904 may prioritize scheduling from a parent IAB node that is included in the MCG. That is, the MT of the IAB node #1 904 may perform transmission or reception according to the scheduling from the parent IAB node included in the MCG, and may ignore the scheduling from the SCG when the scheduling from a parent IAB node included in the SCG cannot satisfy the half-duplex constraint).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the IAB node, as taught by Liu, to prioritize the scheduling from a parent node included in the MCG over the scheduling from a parent node in the SCG when there is a conflict between transmissions and receptions of the DU and the MT, where the indication indicates a soft resource is available for the DU, as taught by Choi.
Doing so allows the IAB node to perform transmission or reception according to the scheduling from the MCG when the scheduling from the SCG cannot satisfy the half-duplex constraint (Choi: [0133]).
Regarding claim 20, Liu discloses A non-transitory readable storage medium storing a program or instruction, wherein the program or instruction, when executed by a processor, performs the following steps (Fig. 16, [0262]: memory 1630 storing instructions executed by processor 1610):
based on being connected to at least two parent integrated access backhaul (IAB) nodes, determining the target resource type according to resource type indication information received from at least one of the parent IAB nodes (Fig. 9, [0187]-[0188]: IAB node is connected to a first parent node and receives first configuration information, and a second parent node and receives second configuration information. The first and second configuration information indicate resource types, i.e., soft, hard, and/or unavailable, of the DU of the IAB node. Both parent nodes also send, to the IAB node, dynamic resource indication DCI that are based on the DU resource type, i.e., soft resource, corresponding to the parent nodes. The IAB node considers that the availability of a soft resource in the DU resource types indicated by the first and second configuration information is indicated by the DCI sent by the first and second parent nodes, or the IAB nodes considers that the dynamic resource indication DCI sent by the first and second parent nodes indicates only availability of a soft resource indicated by the first and second configuration information. [0190]: IAB node determines an actual resource type of the DU based on both the first and second configuration information);
wherein the determining the target resource type according to resource type indication information received from at least one of the parent IAB nodes comprises (see above mapping):
processing the resource type indication information according to a preset processing rule to determine the target resource type ([0190]: IAB node determines an actual resource type of the DU based on both the first and second configuration information. [0191]-[0195], table 2: a protocol defines an actual resource type by combining resource types);
wherein the processing the resource type indication information according to the preset processing rule to determine the target resource type comprises (see above mapping):
Liu does not disclose, but Choi discloses based on resource overlap between resources of a child IAB distributed unit (DU), indicated as available by the resource type indication information received from one of the at least two parent IAB nodes, and resources for child IAB mobile termination (MT) transmission, scheduled by scheduling information received from another of the at least two parent IAB nodes, determining a resource type of an overlapping resource according to the scheduling information ([0127]: transmission and reception of the DU and transmission and reception of the MT of the IAB node #1 904 may conflict with each other when…the indication or scheduling from the parent IAB node #1 902 or the parent IAB node #2 903 connected to the IAB node #1 904 by dual connectivity. [0129]: When the resource type of the DU of the IAB node #1 904 is soft, the DU of the IAB node #1 904 may perform transmission or reception when at least one of conditions 1, 2 or 3 below is satisfied with respect to the half-duplex constraint. [0132]: (Condition 3) The MT of the IAB node #1 904 receives, from at least one parent IAB node, indication that a soft resource is available for the DU of the IAB node #1 904. [0133] When the resource type of the DU of the IAB node #1 904 is NA, i.e., unavailable, for half-duplex constraint, the DU of the IAB node #1 904 does not perform transmission or reception. In this case, if schedulings conflict between parent IAB nodes, the MT of the IAB node #1 904 may prioritize scheduling from a parent IAB node that is included in the MCG. That is, the MT of the IAB node #1 904 may perform transmission or reception according to the scheduling from the parent IAB node included in the MCG, and may ignore the scheduling from the SCG when the scheduling from a parent IAB node included in the SCG cannot satisfy the half-duplex constraint).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the IAB node, as taught by Liu, to prioritize the scheduling from a parent node included in the MCG over the scheduling from a parent node in the SCG when there is a conflict between transmissions and receptions of the DU and the MT, where the indication indicates a soft resource is available for the DU, as taught by Choi.
Doing so allows the IAB node to perform transmission or reception according to the scheduling from the MCG when the scheduling from the SCG cannot satisfy the half-duplex constraint (Choi: [0133]).
Regarding claim(s) 2, 12, 24, Liu in view of Choi discloses all features of claim(s) 1, 11, 20 as outlined above.
Liu discloses wherein the determining the target resource type according to the resource type indication information received from the at least one of the parent IAB nodes comprises:
performing as scheduled by master cell group (MCG) (Fig. 9, [0187]-[0188]: IAB node communicates with the first parent node in slot 1 which is a soft resource scheduled by the first parent node. [0236]: the first parent node is referred to as an MCG).
Regarding claim(s) 3, 13, 25, Liu in view of Choi discloses all features of claim(s) 1, 11, 20 as outlined above.
Liu discloses wherein the determining the target resource type according to the resource type indication information received from at least the one of the parent IAB nodes further comprises at least one of the following:
determining the target resource type according to a first configuration manner of resource types and the resource type indication information, wherein in the first configuration manner of the resource types, configured objects of the resource types are a first configured object and a second configured object, wherein the first configured object is a MT cell or a MT cell group, and the second configured object is a DU cell corresponding to the MT cell or the MT cell group (Fig. 9: MT of an IAB node and DU of the IAB node show the resource types for the first to fourth time domain resources); or
determining the target resource type based on the resource type indication information and an obtained limiting condition ([0194]-[0195], [0197], table 2: determine the actual resource type based on combining the first configuration information and the second configuration information according to a protocol shown in table 2).
Regarding claim(s) 21, 22, 23, Liu in view of Choi discloses all features of claim(s) 1, 11, 20 as outlined above.
Liu discloses wherein the target resource type is a Hard type, wherein a resource of the Hard type is a resource available to IAB DU ([0191]: the second time domain resource is actually a hard resource for the DU which is an available resource for the IAB node).
Conclusion
/THE HY NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478
TheHy.Nguyen@USPTO.gov