DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-12, in the reply filed on 01/20/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 13-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/20/2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/21/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a fluid machinery configured to supply the fluid from the distribution flow path to the supply flow path” in claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the fluid storages" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The prior lines of the claim provide antecedent basis for “one or more fluid storages” rather than “fluid storages”.
Dependent claim 12 is rejected for the same reason as the base claim upon which it depends.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Magness et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0024875).
Regarding claim 1, Magness et al. discloses a culturing system (Abstract, para. 3-5) comprising:
a cell storage configured to store cells (the system receives yeast from a feed line and therefore necessarily comprises a storage to store yeast cells such that yeast can be fed, see para. 30-31 and Fig. 1, sheet 1 of 9);
a plurality of culture apparatuses (“two separate series” for fermentation) (para. 29); and
a distribution flow path configured to distribute the cells from the cell storage to the plurality of culture apparatuses (“feed line” for feeding yeast) (para. 30) (Fig. 1, sheet 1 of 9);
wherein each of the plurality of culture apparatuses comprises:
a plurality of culture vessels (e.g., vessels 1A and 5A in the first culture apparatus; vessels 1B and 5B in the second culture apparatus) (para. 29) (Fig. 1, sheet 1 of 9);
a supply flow path (111) configured to supply a fluid from the distribution flow path to the plurality of culture vessels (para. 31) (Figs. 1-2, sheets 1-2 of 9); and
a connection flow path configured to connect the plurality of culture vessels (comprising line 113) (para. 30-31) (Figs. 1-2, sheets 1-2 of 9);
wherein the plurality of culture vessels is connected in series with the connection flow path in each of the plurality of culture apparatuses (para. 30-31) (Figs. 1-2, sheets 1-2 of 9); and
wherein the supply flow path is configured to supply the fluid to the plurality of culture vessels so that the cells are sequentially transferred among the plurality of culture vessels through the connection flow path in each of the plurality of culture apparatuses (para. 30-31) (Figs. 1-2, sheets 1-2 of 9).
Magness et al. does not expressly teach wherein the supply flow path is configured to selectively supply a fluid from the distribution flow path, in each of the plurality of culture apparatuses.
However, Magness et al. contemplates controlling the flow rate of “various processing lines” of the system (para. 35) and specifically discloses providing “an automatic or manual adjustment valve between fermentation vessels” (that is, on the connection flow path) (para. 35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the each of the supply flow paths disclosed by Magness et al. to be configured to selectively supply a fluid from the distribution flow path, e.g., by equipping each of the supply flow paths with a valve as is disclosed by Magness et al. elsewhere in the system, in order to achieve flow control in each supply flow path, as is already envisioned by Magness et al.
Regarding claim 2, Magness et al. discloses a pump configured to supply the fluid from the distribution flow path to the supply flow path in each of the plurality of culture apparatuses (para. 35) (Fig. 1, sheet 1 of 9) (reads on the claimed “a fluid machinery configured to supply the fluid from the distribution flow path to the supply flow path”, a limitation invoking 112(f) and interpreted to cover a pump and structural equivalents thereof for performing the claimed function, consistent with Applicant’s specification).
Regarding claim 3, modified Magness et al. teaches each of the plurality of culture apparatuses comprising a supply valve provided in the supply flow path, as set forth in the rejection of claim 1, above.
Although Magness et al. does not expressly teach a plurality of such supply valves, this limitation is nonetheless prima facie obvious as it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (MPEP §2144.04). Duplication of the supply valve as discussed in the rejection of claim 1, above, would yield the predictable outcome of duplicating valve function, which would be beneficial in the event that a first valve loses functionality.
Regarding claim 4, Magness et al. discloses wherein each of the plurality of culture apparatuses further comprises a connection valve provided in the connection flow path, as set forth in the rejection of claim 1, above (see also para. 35).
Regarding claim 5, Magness et al. discloses wherein each of the plurality of culture apparatuses further comprises an intermediate tank in the connection flow path (e.g., intermediate tank 2A provided between first culture vessel 1A and last culture vessel 5A in the first culture apparatus, and likewise intermediate tank 2B in the second culture apparatus) (para. 29-30) (Fig. 1, sheet 1 of 9).
Regarding claim 6, Magness et al. discloses wherein each of the plurality of culture apparatuses further comprises a discharge flow path configured to discharge a fluid from the plurality of culture vessels (each culture apparatus has a discharge flow path to tank 6, see Fig. 1) (para. 29).
Magness et al. does not expressly teach wherein the discharge flow path is configured to selectively discharge the fluid.
However, Magness et al. contemplates controlling the flow rate of “various processing lines” of the system (para. 35) and specifically discloses providing “an automatic or manual adjustment valve between fermentation vessels” (that is, on the connection flow path) (para. 35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the discharge flow path disclosed by Magness et al. to be configured to selectively discharge fluid, e.g., by equipping the discharge flow path with a valve as is disclosed by Magness et al. elsewhere in the system, in order to achieve flow control in the discharge flow path, as is already envisioned by Magness et al.
Regarding claim 7, Magness et al. teaches wherein the discharge flow path is configured to selectively discharge the fluid, as set forth above, wherein the fluid is discharged from the plurality of culture vessels so that the cells are sequentially transferred among the plurality of culture vessels through the connection flow path in each of the culture apparatuses (para. 29-31) (Fig. 1, sheet 1 of 9).
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Magness et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0024875) in view of Farmer et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0269760).
Regarding claim 11, Magness et al. discloses the distribution flow path configured to distribute fluid to the plurality of culture apparatuses, as set forth above.
Magness et al. is silent as to the system further comprising one or more fluid storages configured to store a fluid, wherein the distribution flow path is configured to distribute the fluid from the one or more fluid storages to the plurality of culture apparatuses.
Farmer et al. discloses a fermentation system (Abstract) comprising a vessel for storing nutrient medium (para. 18), wherein the vessel is connected to a fermentation vessel via a flow path (para. 163) to supply cells within the fermentation vessel with nutrients needed for metabolism (para. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Magness et al. to comprise comprising one or more medium fluid storages configured to store a medium fluid, wherein the distribution flow path is configured to distribute the medium fluid from the one or more fluid storages to the plurality of culture apparatuses, based on the teachings of Farmer et al., in order to supply cells with nutrients needed for fermentation.
Regarding claim 12, Magness et al. in view of Farmer et al. teaches wherein the fluid comprises a medium, as set forth above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Maisch et al. (US Patent Application Publication ) is directed to a culture system for culturing animal or plant cells comprising parallel series coupling of individual culture modules.
Conclusion
/HOLLY KIPOUROS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799