Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Election/Restrictions Applicant’s election without traverse of species A1 and species B4 in the reply filed on FILLIN "Enter mail date of the reply." \* MERGEFORMAT 12/3/2025 is acknowledged. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 FILLIN "Insert either \“(a)(1)\” or \“(a)(2)\” or both. If paragraph (a)(2) of 35 U.S.C. 102 is applicable, use form paragraph 7.15.01.aia, 7.15.02.aia or 7.15.03.aia where applicable." \d "[ 2 ]" (a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by FILLIN "Insert the prior art relied upon." \d "[ 4 ]" U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0242804 by Pan (Pan) . It is noted that claims 1-18 are directed to a “system”, which does not clearly set forth the statutory category to which the invention belongs to. It has been determined that the claims are directed to an apparatus and the appropriate principles for interpreting claims for that particular category of invention have been applied. Regarding limitations recited in the claims which are directed to a manner of operating disclosed system for mechanical separation, it is noted that neither the manner of operating a disclosed device nor material or article worked upon further limit an apparatus claim. Said limitations do not differentiate apparatus claims from prior art. See MPEP § 2114 and 2115. "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc. , 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham , 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). Claim analysis is highly fact-dependent. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements. Thus, "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto , 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young , 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935). This applies to the following limitations: “receiving a flow of the fluid including a plurality of solid particles and utilizing centrifugal force to separate a first portion of the plurality of solid particles from the flow of the fluid” (claim 1); “receiving the flow of the fluid from the centrifugal separator and utilizing the filter body to separate a second portion of the plurality of solid particles from the flow of the fluid” (claim 1); “configured for separating the first portion…large particle sizes” (claim 2); “configured for separating…relatively large masses” (claim 3); “configured for enabling…particulate filter” (claim 4); “configured to receiving the flow of the fluid within the first portion of the particulate filter” (claim 6); “configured for creating a swirling pattern in the flow of the fluid within the cylindrical body” (claim 7); “configured for directing the flow of the fluid from the inlet pipe to the first end of the discharge pipe” (claim 7); “configured for periodically purging the first portion of the plurality of solid particles from the centrifugal separator” (claim 8); “configured for periodically purging the second portion of the plurality of solid particles from the particulate filter” (claim 9); “for mechanical separation of a fluid” ( claim 10); “configured for receiving a flow of the fluid including a plurality of solid particles and utilizing centrifugal force to separate a first portion of the plurality of solid particles from the flow of the fluid” (claim 10); “configured for creating a swirling pattern in the form of the fluid within the cylindrical body” (claim 10); “configured for directing flow of the fluid from the inlet pipe to the first end of the discharge pipe” (claim 10); “configured for receiving the flow of the fluid from the centrifugal separator and utilizing the filter body to separate a second portion of the plurality of solid particles from the flow of the fluid.” (claim 10); “configured for receiving the flow of the fluid within the first portion of the particulate filter” (claim 11); “configured for separating the first portion of the plurality of solid particles from the flow with relatively large particle sizes; and wherein the particulate filter is configured for separating the second portion of the plurality of solid particles from the flow with relatively small particle sizes which are smaller than the relatively large particle sizes” (claim 12); “configured for separating the first portion…large masses” (claim 13); “configured for enabling …filter” (claim 14); “for receiving a flow of the fluid including a plurality of solid particles and utilizing centrifugal force to separate a first portion of the plurality of solid particles from the flow of the fluid” (claim 15); “for receiving the flow of the fluid from the centrifugal separator and utilizing the filter body to separate a second portion of the plurality of solid particles from the flow of the fluid” (claim 15); “wherein the centrifugal separator is configured….particulate filter” (claim 15); “configured for receiving the flow of the fluid within the first portion of the particulate filter” (claim 17); “configured for creating a swirling pattern in the flow of the fluid within the cylindrical body” (claim 18); “configured for directing the flow of the fluid from the inlet pipe to the first end of the discharge pipe” (claim 18). In regard to claim 1 , Pan teaches a system ( [0002]; [0004]-[0004]; [0007]; [0015]-[0018]; [0024]; Figure 2; Figure 5 ); capable of mechanical separation of a fluid. Pan teaches a centrifugal separator ([0002]; [0004]-[0004]; [0007]; [0015]-[0018]; [0024]; Figure 2; Figure 5 , block 507, [0035] ) ; capable of receiving a flow of the fluid including a plurality of solid particles and utilizing centrifugal force to separate a first portion of the plurality of solid particles from the flow of the fluid. Pan teaches a particulate filter including a filter body ([0002]; [0004]-[0004]; [0007]; [0015]-[0018]; [0024]; Figure 2; Figure 5, block 503, [0034] ); capable of receiving the flow of the fluid from the centrifugal separator and utilizing the filter body to separate a second portion of the plurality of solid particles from the flow of the fluid. In regard to claim 5 , Pan teaches the filter body is conical shaped ( [0017] ). Pan teaches the filter body is oriented with a narrow end of the filter body in a vertically upward direction ( [0017]; Figure 2, [0028]-[0030] ). In regard to claim 6 , Pan teaches the filter body defines a first portion of the particulate filter below the filter body and a second portion of the particulate filter above the filter body ([0017]; Figure 2, [0028]-[0030]; [0004]-[0004]; [0007]; [0024]; Figure 5). In regard to claim 7 , Pan teaches the centrifugal separator includes a cylindrical body ([0002]; [0004]-[0004]; [0007]; [0015]-[0018]; [0024]; Figure 2) . Pan teaches an inlet pipe offset from a center of the cylindrical body ([0002]; [0004]-[0004]; [0007]; [0015]-[0018]; [0024]; Figure 2 , air inlet 7 ) ; capable of creating a swirling pattern in the flow of the fluid within the cylindrical body. Pan teaches a discharge pipe including a first end located within the cylindrical body and a second end projecting out of the cylindrical body and defining an outlet pipe of the centrifugal separator ([0002]; [0004]-[0004]; [0007]; [0015]-[0018]; [0024]; Figure 2, outlet 8 ). Pan teaches a plurality of blades disposed upon an outer surface of the discharge pipe ( [0002]; [0004]-[0004]; [0007]; [0015]-[0018]; [0021]-[0025]; Figure 1, impeller 5 ); capable of directing the flow of the fluid from the inlet pipe to the first end of the discharge pipe. Pan teaches the particulate filter is attached to the outlet pipe ( [0002]; [0004]-[0004]; [0007]; [0015]-[0018]; [0024]; Figure 2 ). In regard to claim 8 , Pan teaches the centrifugal separator includes a discharge pipe ( [0002]; [0004]-[0004]; [0007]; [0015]-[0018]; [0024]; Figure 2, outlet 8 ); capable of periodically purging the first portion of the plurality of solid particles from the centrifugal separator. In regard to claim 9 , Pan teaches the particula te filter includes a discharge pipe ( [0002]; [0004]-[0004]; [0007]; [0015]-[0018]; [0024]; Figure 2, outlet 8 ); capable of periodically purging the second portion of the plurality of solid particles from the particulate filter. In regard to claim 10 , Pan teaches a system ( [0002]; [0004]-[0004]; [0007]; [0015]-[0018]; [0024]; Figure 2; Figure 5 ); capable of mechanical separation of a fluid. Pan teaches a centrifugal separator ( [0002]; [0004]-[0004]; [0007]; [0015]-[0018]; [0024]; Figure 2; Figure 5, block 507, [0035] ); capable of receiving a flow of the fluid including a plurality of solid particles and utilizing centrifugal force to separate a first portion of the plurality of solid particles from the flow of the fluid. Pan teaches a cylindrical body ( [0002]; [0004]-[0004]; [0007]; [0015]-[0018]; [0024]; Figure 2 ). Pan teaches an inlet pipe offset from a center of the cylindrical body ( [0002]; [0004]-[0004]; [0007]; [0015]-[0018]; [0024]; Figure 2, air inlet 7 ); capable of creating a swirling pattern in the form of the fluid within the cylindrical body. Pan teaches a discharge pipe including a first end located within the cylindrical body and a second end projecting out of the cylindrical body and defining an outlet pipe of the centrifugal separator ( [0002]; [0004]-[0004]; [0007]; [0015]-[0018]; [0024]; Figure 2, outlet 8 ). Pan teaches a plurality of blades disposed upon an outer surface of the discharge pipe ( [0002]; [0004]-[0004]; [0007]; [0015]-[0018]; [0021]-[0025]; Figure 1, impeller 5 ); capable of directing flow of the fluid from the inlet pipe to the first end of the discharge pipe. Pan teahces a particulate filter including a filer body ([0002]; [0004]-[0004]; [0007]; [0015]-[0018]; [0024]; Figure 2; Figure 5, block 503, [0034]) ; capable of receiving the flow of the fluid from the centrifugal separator and utilizing the filter body to separate a second portion of the plurality of solid particles from the flow of the fluid. Pan teaches the filter body is conical shaped ( [0017] ). Pan teaches the filter body is oriented with a narrow end of the filter body in a vertically upward direction ([0017]; Figure 2, [0028]-[0030]). In regard to claim 11 , Pan teaches the filter body defines a first portion of the particulate filter below the filter body and a second portion of the particulate filter above the filter body ([0017]; Figure 2, [0028]-[0030]; [0004]-[0004]; [0007]; [0024]; Figure 5). ; capable of receiving the flow of the fluid within the first portion of the particulate filter. In regard to claim 15 , Pan teaches a system ([0002]; [0004]-[0004]; [0007]; [0015]-[0018]; [0024]; Figure 2; Figure 5); capable of mechanical separation. Pan teaches a centrifugal separator ( [0002]; [0004]-[0004]; [0007]; [0015]-[0018]; [0024]; Figure 2; Figure 5, block 507, [0035] ); capable of receiving a flow of the fluid including a plurality of solid particles and utilizing centrifugal force to separate a first portion of the plurality of solid particles from the flow of the fluid. Pan teaches a particulate filter including a filter body ([0002]; [0004]-[0004]; [0007]; [0015]-[0018]; [0024]; Figure 2; Figure 5, block 503, [0034]); capable of receiving the flow of the fluid from the centrifugal separator and utilizing the filter body to separate a second portion of the plurality of solid particles from the flow of the fluid. In regard to claim 16 , Pan teaches the filter body is conical shaped ( [0017] ). Pan teaches the filter body is oriented with a narrow end of the filter body in a vertically upward direction ([0017]; Figure 2, [0028]-[0030]). In regard to claim 17 , Pan teaches the filter body defines a first portion of the particulate filter below the filter body and a second portion of the particulate filter above the filter body ([0017]; Figure 2, [0028]-[0030]; [0004]-[0004]; [0007]; [0024]; Figure 5); capable of receiving the flow of the fluid within the first portion of the particulate filter. In regard to claim 18 , Pan teaches a cylindrical body ([0002]; [0004]-[0004]; [0007]; [0015]-[0018]; [0024]; Figure 2 ). Pan teaches an inlet pipe offset from a center of the cylindrical body ( [0002]; [0004]-[0004]; [0007]; [0015]-[0018]; [0024]; Figure 2, air inlet 7 ); capable of creating a swirling pattern in the flow of the fluid within the cylindrical body. Pan teaches a discharge pipe including a first end located within the cylindrical body and a second end projecting out of the cylindrical body and defining an outlet pipe of the centrifugal separator ( [0002]; [0004]-[0004]; [0007]; [0015]-[0018]; [0024]; Figure 2, outlet 8 ). Pan teaches a plurality of blades disposed upon an outer surface of the discharge pipe ([0002]; [0004]-[0004]; [0007]; [0015]-[0018]; [0021]-[0025]; Figure 1, impeller 5) ; capable of directing the flow of the fluid from the inlet pipe to the first end of the discharge pipe. Pan teaches the particulate filter is attached to the outlet pipe ( [0002]; [0004]-[0004]; [0007]; [0015]-[0018]; [0024]; Figure 2 ). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT KARA M PEO whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-9958 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT 9 to 5:30 . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Claire Wang can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-270-1051 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /KARA M PEO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777