Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species A1 and species B4 in the reply filed on 12/3/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0242804 by Pan (Pan).
It is noted that claims 1-18 are directed to a “system”, which does not clearly set forth the statutory category to which the invention belongs to. It has been determined that the claims are directed to an apparatus and the appropriate principles for interpreting claims for that particular category of invention have been applied.
Regarding limitations recited in the claims which are directed to a manner of operating disclosed system for mechanical separation, it is noted that neither the manner of operating a disclosed device nor material or article worked upon further limit an apparatus claim. Said limitations do not differentiate apparatus claims from prior art. See MPEP § 2114 and 2115. "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). Claim analysis is highly fact-dependent. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements. Thus, "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935). This applies to the following limitations: “receiving a flow of the fluid including a plurality of solid particles and utilizing centrifugal force to separate a first portion of the plurality of solid particles from the flow of the fluid” (claim 1); “receiving the flow of the fluid from the centrifugal separator and utilizing the filter body to separate a second portion of the plurality of solid particles from the flow of the fluid” (claim 1); “configured for separating the first portion…large particle sizes” (claim 2); “configured for separating…relatively large masses” (claim 3); “configured for enabling…particulate filter” (claim 4); “configured to receiving the flow of the fluid within the first portion of the particulate filter” (claim 6); “configured for creating a swirling pattern in the flow of the fluid within the cylindrical body” (claim 7); “configured for directing the flow of the fluid from the inlet pipe to the first end of the discharge pipe” (claim 7); “configured for periodically purging the first portion of the plurality of solid particles from the centrifugal separator” (claim 8); “configured for periodically purging the second portion of the plurality of solid particles from the particulate filter” (claim 9); “for mechanical separation of a fluid” (claim 10); “configured for receiving a flow of the fluid including a plurality of solid particles and utilizing centrifugal force to separate a first portion of the plurality of solid particles from the flow of the fluid” (claim 10); “configured for creating a swirling pattern in the form of the fluid within the cylindrical body” (claim 10); “configured for directing flow of the fluid from the inlet pipe to the first end of the discharge pipe” (claim 10); “configured for receiving the flow of the fluid from the centrifugal separator and utilizing the filter body to separate a second portion of the plurality of solid particles from the flow of the fluid.” (claim 10); “configured for receiving the flow of the fluid within the first portion of the particulate filter” (claim 11); “configured for separating the first portion of the plurality of solid particles from the flow with relatively large particle sizes; and wherein the particulate filter is configured for separating the second portion of the plurality of solid particles from the flow with relatively small particle sizes which are smaller than the relatively large particle sizes” (claim 12); “configured for separating the first portion…large masses” (claim 13); “configured for enabling …filter” (claim 14); “for receiving a flow of the fluid including a plurality of solid particles and utilizing centrifugal force to separate a first portion of the plurality of solid particles from the flow of the fluid” (claim 15); “for receiving the flow of the fluid from the centrifugal separator and utilizing the filter body to separate a second portion of the plurality of solid particles from the flow of the fluid” (claim 15); “wherein the centrifugal separator is configured….particulate filter” (claim 15); “configured for receiving the flow of the fluid within the first portion of the particulate filter” (claim 17); “configured for creating a swirling pattern in the flow of the fluid within the cylindrical body” (claim 18); “configured for directing the flow of the fluid from the inlet pipe to the first end of the discharge pipe” (claim 18).
In regard to claim 1, Pan teaches a system ([0002]; [0004]-[0004]; [0007]; [0015]-[0018]; [0024]; Figure 2; Figure 5); capable of mechanical separation of a fluid. Pan teaches a centrifugal separator ([0002]; [0004]-[0004]; [0007]; [0015]-[0018]; [0024]; Figure 2; Figure 5, block 507, [0035]); capable of receiving a flow of the fluid including a plurality of solid particles and utilizing centrifugal force to separate a first portion of the plurality of solid particles from the flow of the fluid. Pan teaches a particulate filter including a filter body ([0002]; [0004]-[0004]; [0007]; [0015]-[0018]; [0024]; Figure 2; Figure 5, block 503, [0034]); capable of receiving the flow of the fluid from the centrifugal separator and utilizing the filter body to separate a second portion of the plurality of solid particles from the flow of the fluid.
In regard to claim 5, Pan teaches the filter body is conical shaped ([0017]). Pan teaches the filter body is oriented with a narrow end of the filter body in a vertically upward direction ([0017]; Figure 2, [0028]-[0030]).
In regard to claim 6, Pan teaches the filter body defines a first portion of the particulate filter below the filter body and a second portion of the particulate filter above the filter body ([0017]; Figure 2, [0028]-[0030]; [0004]-[0004]; [0007]; [0024]; Figure 5).
In regard to claim 7, Pan teaches the centrifugal separator includes a cylindrical body ([0002]; [0004]-[0004]; [0007]; [0015]-[0018]; [0024]; Figure 2). Pan teaches an inlet pipe offset from a center of the cylindrical body ([0002]; [0004]-[0004]; [0007]; [0015]-[0018]; [0024]; Figure 2, air inlet 7); capable of creating a swirling pattern in the flow of the fluid within the cylindrical body. Pan teaches a discharge pipe including a first end located within the cylindrical body and a second end projecting out of the cylindrical body and defining an outlet pipe of the centrifugal separator ([0002]; [0004]-[0004]; [0007]; [0015]-[0018]; [0024]; Figure 2, outlet 8). Pan teaches a plurality of blades disposed upon an outer surface of the discharge pipe ([0002]; [0004]-[0004]; [0007]; [0015]-[0018]; [0021]-[0025]; Figure 1, impeller 5); capable of directing the flow of the fluid from the inlet pipe to the first end of the discharge pipe. Pan teaches the particulate filter is attached to the outlet pipe ([0002]; [0004]-[0004]; [0007]; [0015]-[0018]; [0024]; Figure 2).
In regard to claim 8, Pan teaches the centrifugal separator includes a discharge pipe ([0002]; [0004]-[0004]; [0007]; [0015]-[0018]; [0024]; Figure 2, outlet 8); capable of periodically purging the first portion of the plurality of solid particles from the centrifugal separator.
In regard to claim 9, Pan teaches the particulate filter includes a discharge pipe ([0002]; [0004]-[0004]; [0007]; [0015]-[0018]; [0024]; Figure 2, outlet 8); capable of periodically purging the second portion of the plurality of solid particles from the particulate filter.
In regard to claim 10, Pan teaches a system ([0002]; [0004]-[0004]; [0007]; [0015]-[0018]; [0024]; Figure 2; Figure 5); capable of mechanical separation of a fluid. Pan teaches a centrifugal separator ([0002]; [0004]-[0004]; [0007]; [0015]-[0018]; [0024]; Figure 2; Figure 5, block 507, [0035]); capable of receiving a flow of the fluid including a plurality of solid particles and utilizing centrifugal force to separate a first portion of the plurality of solid particles from the flow of the fluid.
Pan teaches a cylindrical body ([0002]; [0004]-[0004]; [0007]; [0015]-[0018]; [0024]; Figure 2). Pan teaches an inlet pipe offset from a center of the cylindrical body ([0002]; [0004]-[0004]; [0007]; [0015]-[0018]; [0024]; Figure 2, air inlet 7); capable of creating a swirling pattern in the form of the fluid within the cylindrical body. Pan teaches a discharge pipe including a first end located within the cylindrical body and a second end projecting out of the cylindrical body and defining an outlet pipe of the centrifugal separator ([0002]; [0004]-[0004]; [0007]; [0015]-[0018]; [0024]; Figure 2, outlet 8). Pan teaches a plurality of blades disposed upon an outer surface of the discharge pipe ([0002]; [0004]-[0004]; [0007]; [0015]-[0018]; [0021]-[0025]; Figure 1, impeller 5); capable of directing flow of the fluid from the inlet pipe to the first end of the discharge pipe. Pan teahces a particulate filter including a filer body ([0002]; [0004]-[0004]; [0007]; [0015]-[0018]; [0024]; Figure 2; Figure 5, block 503, [0034]); capable of receiving the flow of the fluid from the centrifugal separator and utilizing the filter body to separate a second portion of the plurality of solid particles from the flow of the fluid. Pan teaches the filter body is conical shaped ([0017]). Pan teaches the filter body is oriented with a narrow end of the filter body in a vertically upward direction ([0017]; Figure 2, [0028]-[0030]).
In regard to claim 11, Pan teaches the filter body defines a first portion of the particulate filter below the filter body and a second portion of the particulate filter above the filter body ([0017]; Figure 2, [0028]-[0030]; [0004]-[0004]; [0007]; [0024]; Figure 5).; capable of receiving the flow of the fluid within the first portion of the particulate filter.
In regard to claim 15, Pan teaches a system ([0002]; [0004]-[0004]; [0007]; [0015]-[0018]; [0024]; Figure 2; Figure 5); capable of mechanical separation. Pan teaches a centrifugal separator ([0002]; [0004]-[0004]; [0007]; [0015]-[0018]; [0024]; Figure 2; Figure 5, block 507, [0035]); capable of receiving a flow of the fluid including a plurality of solid particles and utilizing centrifugal force to separate a first portion of the plurality of solid particles from the flow of the fluid. Pan teaches a particulate filter including a filter body ([0002]; [0004]-[0004]; [0007]; [0015]-[0018]; [0024]; Figure 2; Figure 5, block 503, [0034]); capable of receiving the flow of the fluid from the centrifugal separator and utilizing the filter body to separate a second portion of the plurality of solid particles from the flow of the fluid.
In regard to claim 16, Pan teaches the filter body is conical shaped ([0017]). Pan teaches the filter body is oriented with a narrow end of the filter body in a vertically upward direction ([0017]; Figure 2, [0028]-[0030]).
In regard to claim 17, Pan teaches the filter body defines a first portion of the particulate filter below the filter body and a second portion of the particulate filter above the filter body ([0017]; Figure 2, [0028]-[0030]; [0004]-[0004]; [0007]; [0024]; Figure 5); capable of receiving the flow of the fluid within the first portion of the particulate filter.
In regard to claim 18, Pan teaches a cylindrical body ([0002]; [0004]-[0004]; [0007]; [0015]-[0018]; [0024]; Figure 2). Pan teaches an inlet pipe offset from a center of the cylindrical body ([0002]; [0004]-[0004]; [0007]; [0015]-[0018]; [0024]; Figure 2, air inlet 7); capable of creating a swirling pattern in the flow of the fluid within the cylindrical body. Pan teaches a discharge pipe including a first end located within the cylindrical body and a second end projecting out of the cylindrical body and defining an outlet pipe of the centrifugal separator ([0002]; [0004]-[0004]; [0007]; [0015]-[0018]; [0024]; Figure 2, outlet 8). Pan teaches a plurality of blades disposed upon an outer surface of the discharge pipe ([0002]; [0004]-[0004]; [0007]; [0015]-[0018]; [0021]-[0025]; Figure 1, impeller 5); capable of directing the flow of the fluid from the inlet pipe to the first end of the discharge pipe. Pan teaches the particulate filter is attached to the outlet pipe ([0002]; [0004]-[0004]; [0007]; [0015]-[0018]; [0024]; Figure 2).
Conclusion
/KARA M PEO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777