DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et Al. (US PGPUB 20220335139) in view of Dunn (US PGPUB 20120216052), in view of Magowan et al. (US PGPUB 20230068221), and further in view of Kon (Performance Improvement of File Operations on OverlayFS for Containers), each listed reference was cited in the PTO-892 issued on 6/11/2025.
As per Claim 1, Yang teaches A method comprising:
identifying, by an agent(container engine) running in a trusted execution environment, an encrypted first disk image comprising data associated with an executable container, wherein the encrypted first disk image was stored in the TEE by a container engine(registry) executing outside of the TEE (par. 0019; par. 0022, lines 1-6; par. 0027; figure 2-3, container engine is the agent identify or requesting for specific image (first disk) from the registry is the container engine in the claim which returns/stores the image to the TEE, figure 2, element 2 and figure 3, element 7);
storing, in the TEE, an empty second disk image that is separate from the first disk image(par. 0030.; par. 0037; par. 0043; each layer of the container image acts as a layer as each can be downloaded as an image, creation of the new layer is the second image which is empty as its new);
receiving, by the agent
encrypting,
decrypting, by the agent, the encrypted first disk image to generate a decrypted first disk image (par. 0022, lines 6-13); and
generating, by the agent, an overlay between the decrypted first disk image and the encrypted second disk image (par. 0020, lines 1-7; par. 0038, Par. 0043; par. 48; image is a layer based image and new layers for adding changes to the image are added over the existing layers making previous layers immutable or read-only which implies overlayer writable layers over the existing layers, figure 1 also shows how layers added or overlayed on the existing layers).
Yang do not specifically disclose(bolded) storing, in the TEE by the container engine, an empty second disk image that is separate from the first disk image; encrypting, by the agent, using one or more keys generated by the agent, the second disk image to generate an encrypted second disk image; and creating, by the agent, a file system on the second disk image and generating, by the agent, an overlay between the decrypted first disk image and the encrypted second disk image to generate a single directory structure that contains files and subdirectories from the decrypted first disk image and the encrypted second disk image.
However Dunn teaches storing, in the TEE by the container engine(cloud controller), an empty second disk image(image specific area 78) that is separate from the first disk image(base image 72) (par. 0024, par. 0026, par. 0039; if base image is modified only then modifications or delta files are stored in the image specific area 78 which implies that the second disk image is initially empty and generated by container engine/cloud controller within the VM, a virtual machine a isolated container or an enclave);
encrypting, by the agent(disk encryptor), using one or more keys generated by the agent, the second disk image to generate an encrypted second disk image(par. 0023,); and
creating, by the agent (disk encryptor), a file system on the second disk image (par. 0026,par. 0039; data and changes are stored in specific area 76 which implies creation of file system by the agent).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the invention to implement the function of Dunn into the method of Yang to have disk image encrypted by agent and creating file system in the disk image. The modification would have been obvious because one of the ordinary skills of the art would be motivated to utilize the feature of Dunn as all the references are in the field of container/VM deployment in the cloud/distributed environment. A person of ordinary skill of the art would have been motivated to perform the combination for being able to utilize the teaching to maintain an efficient local encryption system of the disk storage to have data privacy and have appropriate file system to store local changes/data for efficient retrieval.
Yang and Dunn do not specifically disclose receiving, by the agent from the container engine, an instruction to initiate the executable container and generating, by the agent, an overlay between the decrypted first disk image and the encrypted second disk image to generate a single directory structure that contains files and subdirectories from the decrypted first disk image and the encrypted second disk image.
However Magowan teaches receiving, by the agent(secure agent) from the container engine(Kubenet), an instruction to initiate the executable container (par. 0005; par. 0078; par. 0091, lines 1-5; par. 0010; Secure agent residing inside the trusted execution environment received initiation instructions from Kubenet).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the invention to implement the function of Magowan into the combined teaching of Yang and Dunn to receive an instruction to initiate the executable container by the agent from the container engine. The modification would have been obvious because one of the ordinary skills of the art would be motivated to utilize the feature of Magowan as all the references are in the field of container/VM deployment in the cloud/distributed environment. A person of ordinary skill of the art would have been motivated to perform the combination for being able to utilize the teaching to receive notification that the container has been stored in the secure location and should be initiated for execution for efficient operation of the container.
Yang, Dunn and Magowan do not specifically disclose generating, by the agent, an overlay between the decrypted first disk image and the encrypted second disk image to generate a single directory structure that contains files and subdirectories from the decrypted first disk image and the encrypted second disk image.
However Kon discloses generating
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the invention to implement the function of Kon into the combined method of Yang, Dunn and Magowan to have merging data into a single directory from the decrypted first disk image and the encrypted second disk image. The modification would have been obvious because one of the ordinary skills of the art would be motivated to utilize the feature of Yang and Dunn as all the references are in the field of container/VM deployment and migration in the cloud environment. A person of ordinary skill of the art would have been motivated to perform the combination to merge the VDISK of the base OS and application/data area into a single merged directory utilizing the teaching of Kon to have a unified file system of public image and secure private data of a secure container to preserve efficient data access without having security risk or corrupting data of the base image.
As per claim 2, Yang teaches granting, to another agent running in another trusted execution environment, access to the encrypted first disk image (figure 1, par. 0010; par. 0022; each container engine has access to image registry and can request image from the registry which implies granting access to other container engines in each container; Also Dunn teaches in par. 22-23 that tenants include VM which is an instance from the base image library which implies agents having access to image library to request and download images) .
As per claim 3, Yang teaches further comprising: providing, to the another agent, cryptographic data to decrypt the encrypted first disk image (figure 1, par. 0010; par. 0022; each container engine has access to image registry and can request image and key from the registry/security services;).
As per claim 4, Kon teaches wherein generating the overlay comprises merging data from the decrypted first disk image and the encrypted second disk image (page 298, II. OVERLAYFS, left column, par. 2-3, right column last paragraph; figure 4).
As per claim 5, Dunn teaches granting, to the executable container, write access to the empty second disk image (par. 26, lines 4-6; data being stored in the image specific area which implies having write access).
As per claim 7, Yang teaches wherein the encrypted first disk image comprises one or more read-only layers (par. 0020, lines 1-7).
As per claim 7, Dunn teaches further comprising: presenting, to the agent, the encrypted first disk image and the second disk image as virtual block devices (par. 0024, lines 1-4, par. 0032, images are virtual disk volumes).
As per claim 8, is a system claim having similar limitations of method claim 1, therefore it is rejected under the same rational as of claim 1. Additionally claim 8 includes additional limitations below that are rejected in view of Yang.
Yang teaches a system comprising:
a memory (par. 0056, figure 5);
a processing device, operatively coupled to the memory, to (par. 0056, figure 5).
As per claims 9-11 and 12-14, they are system claims having similar limitation of method claims 2-4 and 5-7 as rejected above. Therefore, they are rejected under the same rational.
As per claim 15, is a program product claim having similar limitations as of method claim 1, therefore it is rejected under the same rational as of claim 1. Additionally claim 15 includes additional limitations below that are rejected in view of Yang.
Yang teaches a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium storing executable instructions which, when executed by a processing device, cause the processing device to ((par. 0056, figure 5).
As per claims 16-18 and 19-20, they are computer program product claims having similar limitation of method claims 2-4 and 5-6 as rejected above. Therefore, they are rejected under the same rational.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are not persuasive.
Argument regarding 103 Rejection:
Cited reference Yang fails to disclose “wherein the encrypted first disk image was stored in the TEE by a container engine executing outside of the TEE” since the container engine is in Yang is disclosed in the TEE. Applicant also argues that container engine and registry are well know in the art and performs distinct function than cited in the claim mapping. Applicant also argues Yet, the Patent Office now asserts that Yang's container registry discloses Applicant's recited container engine, even though both Yang and Applicant's specification distinguish container engines from container registries (e.g., repositories). Even under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), a container registry cannot reasonably be interpreted as a container engine when the reference itself treats the two as distinct architectural components that serve different functions. BRI must be consistent with how a PHOSITA would understand the reference.
Applicant also argues that the cited references do not disclose the newly amended limitation “receiving, by the agent from the container engine, an instruction to initiate the executable container”.
In remarks applicant also argues “The Patent Office acknowledges that Yang fails to teach or suggest these features, but asserts that paragraphs 0023, 0032, and 0033 of Dunn disclose these features (Office Action, p. 4). Applicant respectfully disagrees. Dunn discloses a key manager 44, which executes external to the virtual machines that execute on the servers 24 (Dunn, Figure 1, paragraph 0021). Thus, nowhere does Dunn teach or suggest the generation of keys by an agent running in a TEE. Rather, Dunn discloses that a virtual machine may use an encryption key that is stored in a key manager executing outside of the VM (Dunn, para. 0032). Applicant submits that a VM using an encryption key stored in a key manager outside of the VM fails to teach or suggest an agent executing in a TEE that generates encryption keys, because the two concepts have little to do with one another.
Applicant submits the dependent claims are in condition for allowance based on the based on the reasoning stated for the independent claims.
Response to argument:
Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant. Applicant supports argument disclosing the container engine is different from registry as disclosed in the specification of applicant’s specification which has other functionality(not claimed in the claim language) than the cited registry(registry of Yang treated as container engine) does not and are similar to the functionality of the container engine(treated as agent in cited Yang) in the cited reference Yang, therefore the claimed limitation is not taught by the cited reference. Applicant also argues that claims should be given broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification. However applicant’s argument is not persuasive as the functionality that is argued by applicant in view of the support of the instant application specification for the claimed container engine is not disclosed in the claim language. Moreover the argument fails to address any specific claimed functional difference between the cited registry and the container engine in office action mapping rather argues based on the specification support only for the unclaimed functionality of the element. The claimed container engine and agents are mapped based on the claimed functionality of the elements with registry and container engine(agent) from in the cited reference Yang. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features(i.e. container engines are systems that may be used for performing deployment, scaling, and management of containers across a containerized cluster) of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). As recited in the claim identifying by the agent an encrypted first disk image in the TEE which was stored by the container engine residing outside the TEE which is taught by the registry of Yang as residing outside of the TEE and storing disk image inside the TEE that is identified by the container engine of Yang residing inside the TEE as claimed (Yang: par. 0019; par. 0022, lines 1-6; par. 0027; figure 2-3, container engine is the agent identify or requesting for specific image (first disk) from the registry is the container engine in the claim which returns/stores the image to the TEE, figure 2, element 2 and figure 3, element 7).
The argument is related to newly amended limitation which has not been previously rejected and in the instant office action is being rejected in combination of Yang, Dunn and newly now added reference Magowan in view of Kon as disclosed in the office action as a new ground of rejection which was necessitated by the amendment. Accordantly applicant’s argument is moot in view of the new ground of rejection.
Applicant’s argument related to the Dunn reference is persuasive and the mapping to the claim limitation has been updated with updated mapping and interpretation of the Dunn reference which discloses having a image specific area 78 which is encrypted by a disk encryptor(agent) residing within the secure container/VM and the image specific area is only for storing modification or delta files of the base image if any modifications are performed which implies the specific area is initially empty (Dunn: par. 0023, par. 0026 and par. 0039).
Similarly, applicant’s argument the cited references fails to teach the limitations of the dependent claims are not persuasive.
Conclusion
/ABDULLAH AL KAWSAR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2127