DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 02/19/2024 has been entered. Claims 1-20 are pending, claims 4 and 12 are amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claim 1 have been fully considered but are found to be unpersuasive.
The applicant asserts that “At best, Abdelrahman describes permanently and physically arranging the first dipole antenna to have its phase offset from a second dipole antenna. Yet, this is not the same as having actual phase shifters configured to set the respective phase difference of the RF signal at each respective radiating element. Because Abdelrahman does not appear to disclose at least one or more phase-shifters as recited in claim 1” and the examiner disagrees with this assertion.
In the section of illustrative embodiments, Abdelrahman states “In an embodiment, the adjustment of the signals fed to the composite antenna elements is performed in the digital domain, where both the phase and the magnitudes of the signals may be adjusted. As an example, the phase, the magnitude, or the phase and the magnitude of the signals is adjusted using digital signal processing. In an embodiment, the adjustment of the signal feeds to the composite antenna element is performed in the analog domain, where the phase of the signals may be adjusted. As an example, the phase of the signals is adjusted using phase shifting circuitry.”. This shows that Abdelrahman’s disclosure include phase shifters, therefore Abdelrahman discloses all the limitations of claim 1 that are based on phase shifters. The rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102 is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 8, 10-13 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Abdelrahman (WO2020140130A2).
Regarding claim 1 Abdelrahman teaches : An antenna device (Figure 3), the antenna device comprising: an array of N radiating elements arranged on a common axis (Figure 4C, elements 400 and 430; [antenna elements are on a common axis]), each respective radiating element of the N radiating elements being configured to radiate a radio wave based on a radio frequency (RF) (Description of drawings: “Figures 5C-5D illustrate plots of E-plane and H-plane directivity or beam pattern of the composite antenna element of Figure 4C with different relative phase differences according to example embodiments presented herein”); signal being fed to the respective radiating element (Summary: “According to a first aspect, a composite antenna is provided. In general, a composite antenna element is an antenna element formed from a small number of radiating elements that can be independently driven, but are tightly integrated together either physically or electrically. The composite antenna comprising: a first antenna element disposed above a ground plane, the first antenna element being operatively coupled to a first signal source providing a first signal, the first antenna element being configured to radiate a first signal provided by the first signal source”); a reflector arranged on the common axis and configured to reflect the N radio waves from the N radiating elements into a main radiating direction (Illustrative embodiments: “Although the discussion focusses on a composite antenna element with two parallel antenna elements that are independently fed, the example embodiments presented herein are operable with two or more antenna elements. Therefore, the discussion of two parallel antenna elements should not be construed as being limiting to the scope of the example embodiments. Additionally, the composite antenna element is presented as having only antenna elements that are being fed with a signal. The example embodiments are operable with additional antenna elements that are not fed, such as antenna elements operating as reflectors or directors.”); a feed structure configured to feed an RF signal to each of the respective radiating elements (Illustrative embodiments: “First antenna element 305 is fed by a first signal feed 325 and second antenna element 310 is fed by a second signal feed 330. The signal feeds may be positioned below ground plane 315, as shown in Figure 3. Alternatively, one or both of the signal feeds may be positioned above the ground plane.”), the RF signal at respective radiating element having a respective phase difference relative to the RF signal at a first radiating element of the N radiating elements (Illustrative embodiments: “Figure 5A illustrates a plot 500 of co-polarized directivity or beam pattern of composite antenna 470 with about a 60 degree relative phase difference between signals. Plot 500 displays the co-polarized directivity or beam pattern of composite antenna element 400 with about a 60 degree relative phase difference between signals at the first port and the third port. Figure 5B illustrates a plot 520 of co-polarized directivity or beam pattern of composite antenna 470 with about a 180 degree relative phase difference between signals. Plot 520 displays the co-polarized directivity or beam pattern of composite antenna 470 with about a 180 degree relative phase difference between signals at the first port and the third port.”), wherein the feed structure comprises one or more phase shifters configured (Figure 12), for one or more or all N radiating elements- of the array (Illustrative embodiments: “According to an example embodiment, a composite antenna element with parallel dipole antenna elements is provided. In an embodiment, each antenna element comprises a dipole antenna element. The parallel dipole antenna elements are fed with separate signals to enable the controlling of the beamwidth and directivity of the beam pattern of the composite antenna element. In an embodiment, the parallel dipole antenna elements are parallel to each other. In an embodiment, the dipole antenna elements are offset from each other. In other words, one dipole antenna element is shifted parallel to the ground plane relative to the other dipole antenna element. As an example, the top dipole antenna element is shifted by less than l/ 4 from the other dipole antenna element.”), to set the respective phase difference of the RF signal at the each respective radiating element (Figure 12; Illustrative embodiments: “The communicating device adjusts the weighting factors for signals used to feed the composite antenna (block 1207). The weighting factors may be adjusted for the signals used to feed the individual antenna elements of the composite antenna. As an example, the weighting factors are adjusted to that a relative phase difference between the signals meet a desired relative phase difference so that the composite antenna will produce beam patterns with the intended beamwidth or directivity. As an example, the weighting factors are adjusted so that a relative magnitude difference between the signals meet a desired relative magnitude difference so that the composite antenna will produce beam patterns with the intended beamwidth or directivity. As another example, the weighting factors are adjusted so that a relative phase difference and a relative magnitude difference between the signals meet a desired relative phase difference so that the composite antenna will produce beam patterns with the intended beamwidth or directivity. “).
Claim 20 recites limitations that are similar to those of claim 1, therefore claim 20 is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 2 Abdelrahman discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Abdelrahman further teaches: wherein the array of N radiating elements and the reflector are positioned (Illustrative embodiments: “Although the discussion focusses on a composite antenna element with two parallel antenna elements that are independently fed, the example embodiments presented herein are operable with two or more antenna elements. Therefore, the discussion of two parallel antenna elements should not be construed as being limiting to the scope of the example embodiments. Additionally, the composite antenna element is presented as having only antenna elements that are being fed with a signal. The example embodiments are operable with additional antenna elements that are not fed, such as antenna elements operating as reflectors or directors.”), and the phase shifters are configured (Figure 12), such that the radio waves radiated by the radiating elements interfere constructively in the main radiating direction (Figure 5A; Illustrative embodiments: “Figure 5B illustrates a plot 520 of co-polarized directivity or beam pattern of composite antenna 470 with about a 180 degree relative phase difference between signals. Plot 520 displays the co-polarized directivity or beam pattern of composite antenna 470 with about a 180degree relative phase difference between signals at the first port and the third port. The co-polarized directivity or beam patterns shown in Figures 5A and 5B are shown in dB, with different shading representing different dB value ranges. Differences in maximum and minimum values shown in Figures 5A and 5B are due to different antenna beams shown in the figures. Comparing plots 500 and 520, the co-polarized directivity or beam pattern becomes wider with less directivity as the relative phase difference increases to about 180 degrees. Actual values are not as important (because different beams are being shown) as the changes in the beam shapes, which show that the directivity or beam pattern becomes less directional as the relative phase difference increases to about 180 degrees.”).
Regarding claim 3 Abdelrahman discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Abdelrahman further teaches: wherein the main radiating direction is a direction away from the reflector along the common axis (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 5 Abdelrahman discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Abdelrahman further teaches: wherein: each of the N radiating elements is arranged in a different plane (Figure 4C, elements 400 and 430).
Regarding claim 6 Abdelrahman discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Abdelrahman further teaches, wherein: the N radiating elements are arranged concentrically on the common axis (Figure 4B, elements 450-453).
Regarding claim 8 Abdelrahman discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Abdelrahman further teaches: wherein: the feed structure comprises a respective feed line for each of the N radiating elements (Figure 4C elements 400 and 430); and each respective feed line has a different length than the other feed lines (Figure 4C, the lengths of feed lines for elements 400 and 430 are different).
Regarding claim 10 Abdelrahman discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Abdelrahman further teaches: the RF signal at one or more of the N radiating elements has a respective amplitude difference relative to the RF signal at the first radiating element (Illustrative embodiments: “In an embodiment, the adjustment of the signals fed to the composite antenna elements is performed in the digital domain, where both the phase and the magnitudes of the signals may be adjusted. As an example, the phase, the magnitude, or the phase and the magnitude of the signals is adjusted using digital signal processing.”).
Regarding claim 11 Abdelrahman discloses all the limitations of claim 10. Abdelrahman further teaches: wherein the feed structure further comprises: one or more power splitters, for one or more or all of the N radiating elements (Illustrative embodiments: “The composite antenna element enables the dynamic control of the beamwidth and/or directivity of the beam pattern of the composite antenna element. In an embodiment, the composite antenna element comprises two parallel antenna elements disposed at different heights above a ground plane, with each of the antenna elements being fed with a separate signal. Therefore, each antenna element radiates different individual beam patterns. In an embodiment, the two beam patterns are combined by providing, to the independent signal feeds, signals with controlled relative phases and weighting factors.”), to set the respective amplitude difference of the RF signal at the respective radiating element (Illustrative embodiments: “In an embodiment, the adjustment of the signals fed to the composite antenna elements is performed in the digital domain, where both the phase and the magnitudes of the signals may be adjusted. As an example, the phase, the magnitude, or the phase and the magnitude of the signals is adjusted using digital signal processing.”).
Regarding claim 12 Abdelrahman discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Abdelrahman further teaches: the feed structure is configured to feed two or more radiating elements of the N radiating elements from from the same source (Illustrative embodiments: “The composite antenna element enables the dynamic control of the beamwidth and/or directivity of the beam pattern of the composite antenna element. In an embodiment, the composite antenna element comprises two parallel antenna elements disposed at different heights above a ground plane, with each of the antenna elements being fed with a separate signal. Therefore, each antenna element radiates different individual beam patterns. In an embodiment, the two beam patterns are combined by providing, to the independent signal feeds, signals with controlled relative phases and weighting factors.”).
Regarding claim 13 Abdelrahman discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Abdelrahman further teaches: the feed structure is configured to feed the N radiating elements in parallel (Illustrative embodiments: “The composite antenna element features a small number of antenna elements that are independently fed, and the beamwidth of the antenna pattern of the composite antenna element is controllable by changing the signals being fed to the individual antenna elements.”).
Regarding claim 15 Abdelrahman discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Abdelrahman further teaches: one or more radiating elements of the N radiating elements are, respectively, surrounded by a conductive ring: a conductive structure (Summary: “In a second implementation form of the method according to the first aspect or any preceding implementation form of the first aspect, the first antenna element being coupled to the first signal source by a first signal feed path, the first signal feed comprising: a first support structure comprising two support members, with each support member supporting a bowtie antenna of the first dual-polarized bowtie antenna; a first electrical conductor disposed within a first support member of the first support structure”), arranged between two adjacent radiating elements of the array (Summary: “In a second implementation form of the method according to the first aspect or any preceding implementation form of the first aspect, the first antenna element being coupled to the first signal source by a first signal feed path, the first signal feed comprising: a first support structure comprising two support members, with each support member supporting a bowtie antenna of the first dual-polarized bowtie antenna; a first electrical conductor disposed within a first support member of the first support structure, the first electrical conductor electrically coupled to a first bowtie antenna of the first dual-polarized bowtie antenna and the first signal source, the first electrical conductor configured to provide the first signal at a first polarity to the first bowtie antenna; and a second electrical conductor disposed within a second support member of the first support structure, the second electrical conductor coupled to a second bowtie antenna of the first dual-polarized bowtie antenna and the first signal source, the second electrical conductor configured to provide the first signal at a second polarity to the second bowtie antenna.”).
Regarding claim 16 Abdelrahman discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Abdelrahman further teaches: a radiating element of the N radiating elements that is closer to the reflector has a larger radiating area than a radiating element of the N radiating elements further away from the reflector along the common axis (Figure 3 elements 305 and 310).
Regarding claim 17 Abdelrahman discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Abdelrahman further teaches: the array of the N radiating elements is an end-fire array (Figure 4C elements 400 and 430 form an end-fire array).
Regarding claim 18 Abdelrahman discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Abdelrahman further teaches: a support structure configured to hold each respective radiating element of the N radiating elements such that the N radiating elements are all arranged on the common axis (Figure 3; Illustrative embodiments: “Composite antenna element 300 includes a first antenna element 305 and a second antenna element 310 arranged in parallel with respect to each other. First antenna element 305 and second antenna element 310 are arranged above a ground plane 315. Supports 320 and 322 maintain the separation and orientation of first antenna element 305, second antenna element 310, and ground plane 315.”).
Regarding claim 19 Abdelrahman discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Abdelrahman further teaches: each of the N radiating elements has a different defined distance from the first radiating element of the N radiating elements (Figure 4C elements 400 and 430 are at defined distance from each other).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Abdelrahman (WO2020140130A2) in view of Marumoto (US6535168B1).
Regarding claim 4 Abdelrahman discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Abdelrahman does not teach “wherein the feed structure comprises a phase shifter for each of the N radiating elements, and wherein each phase shifter includes a one or more controllable phase shifters, configured to adjust the phase difference of the RF signal at each corresponding radiating element of the array”.
However, Marumoto in the analogous arts teaches: wherein the feed structure comprises a phase shifter for each of the N radiating elements (Figure 2, elements 17), and wherein each phase shifter includes a one or more controllable phase shifters (Figure 2, element 42), configured to adjust the phase difference of the RF signal at each corresponding radiating element of the array (Best mode of carrying out the invention: “(6) FIG. 1 is a view for explaining the arrangement of the phased array antenna 1. Referring to FIG. 1, the phased array antenna 1 is made up of a multilayered substrate unit 2 on which antenna radiating elements, phase control circuits, and the like are mounted on a multilayered substrate, a feeder 13 for feeding RF power to the multilayered substrate unit 2, a control unit 11 for controlling the phase of each radiating element of the multilayered substrate unit 2, and a driver unit 12 for individually driving phase shifters.”) .
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Abdelrahman with Marumoto to incorporate the feature of: wherein the feed structure comprises a phase shifter for each of the N radiating elements, and wherein each phase shifter includes a one or more controllable phase shifters, configured to adjust the phase difference of the RF signal at each corresponding radiating element of the array. Abdelrahman and Marumoto are all considered analogous arts as they all disclose the design of antennas. However, Abdelrahman fails to disclose a feature of a dedicated phase shifter for every radiation element. This feature is disclosed by Marumoto. It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Abdelrahman with Marumoto to incorporate the feature of wherein the feed structure comprises a phase shifter for each of the N radiating elements, and wherein each phase shifter includes a one or more controllable phase shifters, configured to adjust the phase difference of the RF signal at each corresponding radiating element of the array as such a feature would allow for better control of the radiation beam thereby increasing the efficiency of the system.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Abdelrahman (WO2020140130A2) in view of Le (WO2019070947A1).
Regarding claim 7 Abdelrahman discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Abdelrahman further teaches, wherein: each of the N radiating elements comprise a respective dipole (Summary: “In a first implementation form of the method according to the first aspect, the first antenna element comprising a first dual-polarized bowtie antenna arranged in a first plane parallel to the ground plane, and the second antenna element comprising a second dual-polarized bowtie antenna arranged in a second plane parallel to the ground plane, the first plane being positioned between the second plane and the ground plane. In general, a bowtie antenna is a dipole antenna with each arm of the dipole being in the form of an isosceles triangle with its apex oriented towards the center of the dipole antenna. The dipole antenna has the appearance of a bowtie or an hourglass.”).
Abdelrahman does not teach “and the feed structure further comprises one or more rotated baluns, wherein each of the one or more rotated baluns is associated with one of the N radiating elements and is configured to contribute a phase offset of 1800 to the phase difference of the one of the N radiating elements relative to the RF signal at the first radiating element of the array”.
However, Le in the analogous arts teaches: and the feed structure further comprises one or more rotated baluns (Paragraph (10): “Another aspect of the present invention involves a dipole that comprises four dipole arms arranged in a cross configuration, and a dipole stem having a plurality of microstrip baluns and microstrip ground plates disposed thereon, wherein each of the microstrip ground plates is coupled to a corresponding dipole arm, wherein the microstrip baluns and microstrip ground plates are arranged such that each microstrip ground plate receives a directly coupled RF signal corresponding to one of a +45° polarization signal and a −45° polarization signal and a capacitively coupled RF signal corresponding to the other of the +45° polarization signal and the −45° polarization signal”), wherein each of the one or more rotated baluns is associated with one of the N radiating elements and is configured to contribute a phase offset of 1800 to the phase difference of the one of the N radiating elements relative to the RF signal at the first radiating element of the array( Paragraph (43): “FIG. 6b illustrates the LB dipole stem 400 at the same orientation as in FIG. 6a. However, FIG. 6b illustrates the feedline and balun circuitry for the -45° polarization LB dipole signal. Illustrated are -45° signal feedline 510b, power divider 520b, and first trace 540b. First trace 540b couples directly to microstrip balun 620b at connection point 610b, whereby microstrip balun 620b electrically couples to corresponding microstrip ground plate 630b, which is disposed on a stem plate orthogonal to the stem plate on which microstrip balun is disposed as it traces from connection point 610b. Second trace 530b proceeds from power divider 520b and meanders before electrically coupling to opposite microstnp balun 650b via connection point 640b such that the signal arriving at connection 640b has a 180° phase delay- relating to the signal arriving at connection point 610b. Microstrip balun 650b further couples to opposite microstnp ground plate 660b, which is disposed on the dipole stem plate orthogonal to the dipole stem plate on which connection point 640b is disposed.”).
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Abdelrahman with Le to incorporate the feature of: and the feed structure further comprises one or more rotated baluns, wherein each of the one or more rotated baluns is associated with one of the N radiating elements and is configured to contribute a phase offset of 180 to the phase difference of the one of the N radiating elements relative to the RF signal at the first radiating element of the array. Abdelrahman and Le are all considered analogous arts as they all disclose the design of antennas. However, Abdelrahman fails to disclose a feature of rotated baluns. This feature is disclosed by Le. It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Abdelrahman with Le to incorporate the feature of: and the feed structure further comprises one or more rotated baluns, wherein each of the one or more rotated baluns is associated with one of the N radiating elements and is configured to contribute a phase offset of 180 to the phase difference of the one of the N radiating elements relative to the RF signal at the first radiating element of the array as such a feature would increase the efficiency of the system.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Abdelrahman (WO2020140130A2) in view of Wu (CN202695727U).
Regarding claim 9 Abdelrahman discloses all the limitations of claim 8. Abdelrahman does not teach “one or more of the feed lines each comprises a meandering line portion”.
However, Wu in the analogous arts teaches, wherein: one or more of the feed lines each comprises a meandering line portion (Paragraph [0028]:” The utility model claims a feeding power network of the antenna array, in the feed line network using meander transmission line having special shape and extending direction instead of conventional straight-extending feed line, under the premise of the length of effective control antenna array feeding power network, so that the each output port generates the changeable phase shift value of the variation range increases exponentially, and the shift size and movement value of the insulating sheet position linearly related.”).
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Abdelrahman with Wu to incorporate the feature of: one or more of the feed lines each comprises a meandering line portion. Abdelrahman and Wu are all considered analogous arts as they all disclose the design of antennas. However, Abdelrahman fails to disclose a feature of feed structure with a meandering line portion. This feature is disclosed by Wu. It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Abdelrahman with Wu to incorporate the feature of: one or more of the feed lines each comprises a meandering line portion to adjust the phase of a feeding signal.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Abdelrahman (WO2020140130A2) in view of Segador (US20180294550A1).
Regarding claim 14 Abdelrahman discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Abdelrahman does not teach “one or more radiating elements of the N radiating elements are, respectively, surrounded by a conductive ring”.
However, Segador in the analogous arts teaches: one or more radiating elements of the N radiating elements are, respectively, surrounded by a conductive ring (Paragraph [0022]: “With reference to any one of the foregoing implementation manners of the first aspect, in a seventh possible implementation manner of the first aspect, the antenna element further comprises on the support structure an electrically closed ring and a non-conducting gap, wherein the electrically closed ring surrounds the first radiating element; and the non-conducting gap isolates the first radiating element and the electrically closed ring from each other. An electrically closed ring should be understood as a metallized ring which is for signals radiated by the antenna elements (i.e. having a certain frequency) conductive. Hence, the ring may be a continuously closed metal trace, but could also be consisting of several small metal elements arranged in a ring but having non-conducting gaps between them. The gaps are chosen such that for the signals radiated by the antenna element the ring is still conducting. Of course the ring does not necessarily need to be round, it could also be square, rectangular, elliptic, etc.”).
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Abdelrahman with Segador to incorporate the feature of: one or more radiating elements of the N radiating elements are, respectively, surrounded by a conductive ring. Abdelrahman and Segador are all considered analogous arts as they all disclose the design of antennas. However, Abdelrahman fails to disclose a feature of a radiating elements that are surrounded by a conducting ring. This feature is disclosed by Segador. It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Abdelrahman with Segador to incorporate the feature of: one or more radiating elements of the N radiating elements are, respectively, surrounded by a conductive ring as such a feature would improve the radiation characteristic of the system.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BONGANI JABULANI MASHELE/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/ROBERT W HODGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645