DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I (claims 1-9 and 29) in the reply filed on 12/04/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 10-28 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/01/2023 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
The claims recite the intended use of the agricultural product in soil for growing plants (e.g. claims 6-9). The intended use of the claimed product is non-limiting because the limitations directed to intended use only describe the purpose of the product. The recitation of the product for use in soil or for growing plants describes the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regard to claim 6, the term “a set time period” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “a set time period” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-2 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a natural product without significantly more. The claims recite a composition comprising calcium carbonate. This composition describes merely a natural product (e.g. limestone). Limestone is a naturally occurring sedimentary rock that is composed almost entirely of calcium carbonate (CaCO3). The claimed agricultural product is not markedly different from its naturally occurring counterpart in its natural state (e.g. limestone) because it comprises the same product components as claimed. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims are not in a formulation that differs from the naturally occurring counterpart. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the natural product is capable of being used as an agricultural product (e.g. applied to soil, etc.) [See Limestone – PUB2902, 2020].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Spender et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2019/0323177).
In regard to claim 1, Spender et al. teach a calcium carbonate agricultural product (e.g. the composition is made from renewable agricultural resources) [para. 0038], the calcium carbonate agricultural product comprising calcium carbonate (e.g. 70% precipitated calcium carbonate) [0213; Example 17].
In regard to claims 2 and 4-5, Spender et al. teach the calcium carbonate agricultural product of claim 1, further comprising a binder, wherein the binder comprises a polymer and the polymer comprises polyvinyl alcohol (PVOH) [0213].
In regard to claims 2-3 and 6, Spender et al. teach the calcium carbonate agricultural product of claim 1, further comprising an additive (e.g. kraft paper) [0213] where the additive accelerates decomposition of the calcium carbonate agricultural product (e.g. kraft paper is highly biodegradable). The calcium carbonate agricultural product is configured to release the calcium carbonate to soil during a set time period (e.g. kraft paper biodegrades quickly, typically breaking down in a few weeks to a few months under soil conditions).
In regard to claims 7-8, Spender et al. teach the calcium carbonate agricultural product of claim 6, wherein the calcium carbonate agricultural product is inherently configured to control a pH of the soil by releasing the calcium carbonate to the soil by being physically mixed with soil (e.g. calcium carbonate is an alkaline material and it will necessarily effect the pH of soil if applied to soil).
In regard to claim 29, Spender et al. teach a calcium carbonate agricultural product (e.g. the composition is made from renewable agricultural resources) [para. 0038], the calcium carbonate agricultural product comprising: calcium carbonate (e.g. 70% precipitated calcium carbonate) [0213; Example 17], wherein the calcium carbonate agricultural product is a mulching film (e.g. weed-block/barrier fabric or film, mulching film) [0017].
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Simmons (decoist, 2015).
In regard to claims 1 and 9, Simmons teaches a calcium carbonate agricultural product (e.g. gravel garden) [pg. 17], the calcium carbonate agricultural product comprising calcium carbonate (e.g. limestone is naturally composed of calcium carbonate), wherein the calcium carbonate agricultural product has a plurality of apertures for respective plants to grow through (e.g. plants growing within openings between a fine limestone gravel) [pg. 17].
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 and 29 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 5-11 and 16-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,415,666.
Claims 1-9 and 29 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,415,666.
Claim s 1-9 and 29 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of copending Application No. 18/157,666 (reference application). This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-9 and 29 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-29 of copending Application No. 18/314,724 (reference application). This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the application under examination are different, but not patentably distinct, from the subject matter claimed in a prior patent or a copending application. The claim under examination is not patentably distinct from the reference claims because the claims under examination are anticipated by the reference claims. See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 1052, 29 USPQ2d 2010, 2015-16 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The claims being examined are generic to a species or sub-genus claimed in a conflicting patent or application, i.e., the entire scope of the reference claim falls within the scope of the examined claim.
Conclusion
/JENNIFER A SMITH/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1731 December 10, 2025