DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment/Status of Claims
Claims 1, 4-5, 8, 11-13, 15, and 18-20 were amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending and examined herein.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8, filed 4/30/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claims 1-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claims 1-20 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 4/30/2026 with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection of claims 1-20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, see pages 10-12, "Applicant respectfully submits that the independent claims are similar to the claim of example 39 in that the claims do not recite any mathematical relationships, formulas, or calculations and, while some of the limitations may be based on mathematical concepts, those mathematical concepts are not recited in the claims. Furthermore, the Action identifies on the identifying feature of the claim as allegedly being a mental process, but Applicant respectfully disagrees. Applicant notes that the identifying feature depends on a penalty determined by a differentiable regularization function and analysis of potentially billions of neural network parameters."
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Identifying neurons based on auxiliary parameters and a regularization penalty can be practically performed in the human mind. Additionally, the claims do not require billions of neural network parameters. However, given enough time, the human mind could still perform this process on a larger set of data.
MPEP 2106.04(a) states "A claim that recites a mathematical calculation, when the claim is given its broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification, will be considered as falling within the "mathematical concepts" grouping. A mathematical calculation is a mathematical operation (such as multiplication) or an act of calculating using mathematical methods to determine a variable or number, e.g., performing an arithmetic operation such as exponentiation. There is no particular word or set of words that indicates a claim recites a mathematical calculation. That is, a claim does not have to recite the word "calculating" in order to be considered a mathematical calculation. For example, a step of "determining" a variable or number using mathematical methods or "performing" a mathematical operation may also be considered mathematical calculations when the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim in light of the specification encompasses a mathematical calculation."
Determining the regularization penalty according to a differentiable regularization function is determining a variable or number using mathematical methods. Paragraph [0024] of the specification states that the regularization term [function] is a part of the loss function. Therefore, determining the penalty using the function is, in the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification, is a mathematical calculation.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-10, filed , with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 3-8, 10-15, and 17-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and claims 2, 9, and 16 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Xiao (“AutoPrune: Automatic Network Pruning by Regularizing Auxiliary Parameters”, 2019) and Guo (“GDP: Stabilized Neural Network Pruning via Gates with Differentiable Polarization” 2021).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 8, and 15 recites the limitation "the respective sets of auxiliary parameters" in the second to last paragraph of each claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Dependent claims 2-7, 9-14, and 16-20 fail to resolve the issue and are rejected with the same rationale.
Claims 2, 9, and 16 recite "the respective auxiliary parameters" and “the respective sets of weighting factors” in the second to last paragraph of each claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claims 3, 10, and 17 recite "the respective auxiliary parameters" in the second to last paragraph of each claim and "the respective sets of weighting factors of the neurons" in the last paragraph of each claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Dependent claims 4-6, 11-13, and 18-20 fail to resolve the issue and are rejected with the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
MPEP § 2109(III) sets out steps for evaluating whether a claim is drawn to patent-eligible subject
matter. The analysis of claims 1-20 in accordance with these steps, follows.
Step 1 Analysis:
Step 1 is to determine whether the claim is directed to a statutory category (process, machine,
manufacture, or composition of matter. Claims 1-7 are directed to a process, claims 8-14 are directed to an article of manufacture, and claims 15-20 are directed to a machine. All claims are directed to statutory categories and analysis proceeds.
Step 2A Prong One, Step 2A Prong Two, and Step 2B Analysis:
Step 2A Prong One asks if the claim recites a judicial exception (abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon). If the claim recites a judicial exception, analysis proceeds to Step 2A Prong Two, which asks if the claim recites additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. If the claim does not integrate the judicial exception, analysis proceeds to Step 2B, which asks if the claim amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception. If the claim does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, the claim is not eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
None of the claims represent an improvement to technology.
Regarding claim 1, the following are abstract ideas:
identifying one or more neurons for deletion according to the respective sets of auxiliary parameters and a regularization penalty for the neural network, the regularization penalty determined according to a differentiable regularization function; and (Identifying a neuron for deletion according to parameters and a regularization penalty can be practically performed in the human mind, which is a mental process. Determining the regularization penalty according to a differentiable regularization function is a mathematical calculation, which is a mathematical concept.)
The following claim elements are additional elements which, taken alone or in combination with the other additional elements, do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application nor amount to significantly more than the judicial exception:
A method comprising:
training a neural network comprising a plurality of neuron layers, the training comprising performing, for a training batch of a plurality of training batches: (This recites generic machine learning components and processes; this amounts to mere instructions to apply an exception.)
training respective layers of the plurality of layers according to the training batch, wherein individual ones of the respective layers respectively comprise one or more neurons individually comprising a set of auxiliary parameters and a set of weighting factors, and wherein training a layer of the respective layers updates the set of auxiliary parameters and the set of weighting factors of the one or more neurons of the layer; (This recites generic machine learning components and processes; this amounts to mere instructions to apply an exception.)
deleting the identified one or more neurons from the neural network prior to completion of the training batch. (This describes the generic machine learning process of structured pruning; this amounts to mere instructions to apply an exception.)
Regarding claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Further, the following is an abstract idea:
integrating, subsequent to completion of training of the plurality of training batches, the respective auxiliary parameters into the respective sets of weighting factors for individual ones of the one or more neurons in the respective layers; and (Combining the auxiliary parameters into the weighting factors can be practically performed in the human mind, i.e. performing multiplication of the weighting factors by the value of the auxiliary parameters. This is a mental process.)
The following claim elements are additional elements which, taken alone or in combination with the other additional elements, do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application nor amount to significantly more than the judicial exception:
removing the respective auxiliary parameters from the neural network. (This describes the generic machine learning process of unstructured pruning; this amounts to mere instructions to apply an exception.)
Regarding claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Further, the following are abstract ideas:
deriving respective gating parameters for inputs to respective neurons of the layer according to the respective sets of auxiliary parameters; and (Deriving gating parameters can be practically performed in the human mind, i.e. performing a calculation to derive a gating parameter from the auxiliary parameters. This is a mental process.)
multiplying the respective gating parameters to the inputs to respective neurons to generate gated inputs to be applied to the respective sets of weighting factors of the neurons. (This is a mathematical calculation, which is a mathematical concept.)
Regarding claim 4, the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated herein. The following claim elements are additional elements which, taken alone or in combination with the other additional elements, do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application nor amount to significantly more than the judicial exception:
wherein training the respective layers of the plurality of layers is performed using a stochastic gradient descent technique. (This is a generic machine learning process; this amounts to mere instructions to apply an exception.)
Regarding claim 5, the rejection of claim 4 is incorporated herein. Further, the following is an abstract idea:
wherein the stochastic gradient descent technique employs a loss function comprising a differentiable regularization term which favors a lesser total number of auxiliary parameters in the network. (A loss function is a mathematical equation/formula, which is a mathematical concept.)
Regarding claim 6, the rejection of claim 4 is incorporated herein. The following claim elements are additional elements which, taken alone or in combination with the other additional elements, do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application nor amount to significantly more than the judicial exception:
wherein the respective gating parameters are non-stochastic. (This is the insignificant extra-solution activity of ‘Selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated’. See MPEP 2106.05(g), ‘Selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated’, ex. i-iv.)
Regarding claim 7, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. The following is an abstract idea:
identifying the one or more neurons for deletion (Identifying neurons for deletion can be practically performed in the human mind. This is a mental process.)
The following claim elements are additional elements which, taken alone or in combination with the other additional elements, do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application nor amount to significantly more than the judicial exception:
wherein training the respective layers, … and deleting the identified one or more neurons is performed for more than one of the plurality of training batches (Training in batches is a generic machine learning concept. Iterative pruning during training, meaning that the neurons are deleted for more than one training batch, is also a generic machine learning concept. This amounts to mere instructions to apply an exception.)
Regarding claim 8, the following claim elements are additional elements which, taken alone or in combination with the other additional elements, do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application nor amount to significantly more than the judicial exception:
One or more non-transitory computer-accessible storage media storing program instructions that when executed on or across one or more computing devices cause the one or more computing devices to implement: (This recites generic computer components and processes. This amounts to mere instructions to apply an exception.)
The remainder of claim 8 recites substantially similar subject matter to claim 1 and is rejected with the same rationale, mutatis mutandis.
Claims 9-14 recite substantially similar subject matter to claims 2-7 respectively and are rejected with the same rationale, mutatis mutandis.
Regarding claim 15, the following claim elements are additional elements which, taken alone or in combination with the other additional elements, do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application nor amount to significantly more than the judicial exception:
A system, comprising: one or more processors; and a memory storing program instructions that when executed by the one or more processors cause the one or more processors to implement a machine learning system configured to (This recites generic computer components and processes. This amounts to mere instructions to apply an exception.)
The remainder of claim 15 recites substantially similar subject matter to claim 1 and is rejected with the same rationale, mutatis mutandis.
Claims 16-20 recite substantially similar subject matter to claims 2-6 respectively and are rejected with the same rationale, mutatis mutandis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao (“AutoPrune: Automatic Network Pruning by Regularizing Auxiliary Parameters”, 2019) and Guo (“GDP: Stabilized Neural Network Pruning via Gates with Differentiable Polarization” 2021).
Regarding claim 1, Xiao teaches
A method comprising: (The abstract states “Our method can automatically eliminate network redundancy with recoverability, relieving the complicated prior knowledge required to design thresholding functions, and reducing the time for trial and error.”)
training a neural network comprising a plurality of neuron layers, the training comprising performing, for a training batch of a plurality of training batches: (Page 7 states “We first use MNIST dataset to evaluate the performance. Layer structure of LeNet-300-100 is [784, 300, 100, 10] and of LeNet5 is two [20-50] convolution layers, followed by two FC layers. The total number of trainable parameters of LeNet-300-100 and LeNet5 are 267K and 431K, respectively. Similar to previous works, we train reference models with standard training method with SGD optimizer, achieving accuracy of 1.72% and 0.78% respectively.” Page 6, Algorithm 1 states “12: Sample a mini batch from
X
t
r
a
i
n
; 13: Compute
g
r
a
d
w
with
L
1
; 14: Update
W
with
g
r
a
d
w
;”. These lines are surrounded by a while loop, meaning the training is performed for a plurality of training batches.)
training respective layers of the plurality of layers according to the training batch, wherein individual ones of the respective layers respectively comprise one or more neurons individually comprising a set of auxiliary parameters and a set of weighting factors, and wherein training a layer of the respective layers updates the set of auxiliary parameters and the set of weighting factors of the one or more neurons of the layer; (Page 6, Algorithm 1 states “12: Sample a mini batch from
X
t
r
a
i
n
; 13: Compute
g
r
a
d
w
with
L
1
; 14: Update
W
with
g
r
a
d
w
;”. These lines are surrounded by a while loop, meaning the training is performed for a plurality of training batches. Page 3 states "Without losing generality, our method is formulated on weight pruning, but it can be directly extended to neuron pruning." Note that the method is performed for neuron pruning on page 7. Page 3 states "Instead of designing an indicator function for each
W
i
j
manually, we propose to parameterized a universal indicator function by a set of trainable auxiliary parameters
M
." Therefore, as one of ordinary skill in the art would understand, when performing this method for neuron pruning, the auxiliary parameters would be for the neurons, which are comprised in layers, instead of the weights. The weights of the neurons are interpreted as the weighting factors. Page 6, Algorithm 1 states “7: while iter!=0 do 8: Sample a minibatch from
X
v
a
l
; 9: Compute
g
r
a
d
w
with
L
1
; 10: Compute
g
r
a
d
m
and
g
r
a
d
m
r
by Eq. 7; 11: Update
M
with
g
r
a
d
m
and
g
r
a
d
m
r
; 12: Sample a mini batch from
X
t
r
a
i
n
; 13: Compute
g
r
a
d
w
with
L
1
; 14: Update
W
with
g
r
a
d
w
; 15: Update iter:
λ
,
μ
(if scheduling); 16: end while”. Therefore, the weights
W
, interpreted as weighting factors and the auxiliary parameters
M
are updated.)
identifying one or more neurons for deletion according to the respective sets of auxiliary parameters and a regularization penalty for the neural network, … ; and (Page 5 states "In other words, the auxiliary parameter
m
i
j
tracks the changing of the magnitude of
w
i
j
. For the pruning task, when the absolute value of a weight/neuron keeps moving towards zero, we should accelerate the pruning process of the weight/neuron." Therefore, the auxiliary parameter identifies neurons for pruning, interpreted as deletion. Page 4 states “The update rule of
m
i
j
is defined as
m
i
j
:
=
m
i
j
-
η
∂
L
a
c
c
∂
t
i
j
s
g
n
w
i
j
∂
h
m
i
j
∂
m
i
j
=
μ
(
∂
h
m
i
j
∂
m
i
j
)
(
7
)
where
L
a
c
c
denotes
L
(
f
x
i
,
W
⨀
h
M
,
y
i
,
η
is the learning rate of
m
i
j
,
t
i
j
=
w
i
j
⨀
h
(
m
i
j
)
, the second term can be considered as the gradient of
m
i
j
,
t
i
j
∂
m
i
j
, and the third term is related to the sparse regularizer. Therefore, as the auxiliary parameters have a regularizer, the neurons are identified for deletion according to the regularization penalty. As the auxiliary parameters are for the neural network, the regularization penalty is for the neural network.)
deleting the identified one or more neurons from the neural network prior to completion of the training batch. (Page 6, Algorithm 1 states “7: while iter!=0 do 8: Sample a minibatch from
X
v
a
l
; 9: Compute
g
r
a
d
w
with
L
1
; 10: Compute
g
r
a
d
m
and
g
r
a
d
m
r
by Eq. 7; 11: Update
M
with
g
r
a
d
m
and
g
r
a
d
m
r
; 12: Sample a mini batch from
X
t
r
a
i
n
; 13: Compute
g
r
a
d
w
with
L
1
; 14: Update
W
with
g
r
a
d
w
; 15: Update iter:
λ
,
μ
(if scheduling); 16: end while” Page 4 states “The update rule of
m
i
j
is defined as
m
i
j
:
=
m
i
j
-
η
∂
L
a
c
c
∂
t
i
j
s
g
n
w
i
j
∂
h
m
i
j
∂
m
i
j
=
μ
(
∂
h
m
i
j
∂
m
i
j
)
(
7
)
where
L
a
c
c
denotes
L
(
f
x
i
,
W
⨀
h
M
,
y
i
,
η
is the learning rate of
m
i
j
,
t
i
j
=
w
i
j
⨀
h
(
m
i
j
)
, the second term can be considered as the gradient of
m
i
j
,
t
i
j
∂
m
i
j
, and the third term is related to the sparse regularizer.” Page 3 states “We relax this problem by introducing a indicator function defined as:
h
i
j
=
0
,
i
f
w
i
j
i
s
p
r
u
n
e
d
1
,
o
t
h
e
r
w
i
s
e
.
” Page 3 also states “We also denote the element-wise product
T
=
W
⨀
h
M
as the weight matrix after pruning.” Page 3 states "Without losing generality, our method is formulated on weight pruning, but it can be directly extended to neuron pruning." Note that the method is performed for neuron pruning on page 7. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that
w
and
W
would represent neurons for neuron pruning. As the loss function includes
W
⨀
h
M
, which represents the pruned neurons, and the loss function is implemented before the completion of the training batch, the neurons are deleted from the neural network prior to completion of the training batch.)
Xiao does not appear to explicitly teach
the regularization penalty determined according to a differentiable regularization function
However, Guo—directed to analogous art—teaches
the regularization penalty determined according to a differentiable regularization function (Page 5341 states "To ensure the stability and effectiveness of model pruning, the desired gate should have following properties: 1. be differentiable for back-propagation with simpler tricks than complicated sampling mechanism; 2. the values are better to range in [0, 1]; 3. the distribution of values should be two modes, one mode keeps exact zeros while others stay away from zeros obviously." Eq. (2) on page 5242 shows the regularization function that satisfies the above conditions, including differentiability.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the teachings of Xiao with the teachings of Guo because, as Guo states on page 5241, "Previous gate-based methods usually use some optimization tricks to make the gate differentiable, such as Gumbel-Softmax trick used in sampling-based method and L1-norm penalty in regularization based method and so on. These methods either cause unstable training process or cannot obtain exact zero values. To ensure the stability and effectiveness of model pruning, the desired gate should have following properties: 1. be differentiable for back-propagation with simpler tricks than complicated sampling mechanism; 2. the values are better to range in [0, 1]; 3. the distribution of values should be two modes, one mode keeps exact zeros while others stay away from zeros obviously."
Regarding claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Xiao does not appear to explicitly teach
integrating, subsequent to completion of training of the plurality of training batches, the respective auxiliary parameters into the respective sets of weighting factors for individual ones of the one or more neurons in the respective layers; and
removing the respective auxiliary parameters from the neural network.
However, Guo—directed to analogous art—teaches
integrating, subsequent to completion of training of the plurality of training batches, the respective auxiliary parameters into the respective sets of weighting factors for individual ones of the one or more neurons in the respective layers; and (The abstract states "During the training process, the polarization effect will drive a subset of gates to smoothly decrease to exact zero, while other gates gradually stay away from zero by a large margin. When training terminates, those zero-gated channels can be painlessly removed, while other non-zero gates can be absorbed into the succeeding convolution kernel, causing completely no interruption to training nor damage to the trained model." The gates are interpreted as the auxiliary parameters. One of ordinary skill in the art would realize that absorbing the gates into the kernels means that the weights of the kernel, interpreted as the neuron, will be integrated with the gates.)
removing the respective auxiliary parameters from the neural network. (The abstract states "During the training process, the polarization effect will drive a subset of gates to smoothly decrease to exact zero, while other gates gradually stay away from zero by a large margin. When training terminates, those zero-gated channels can be painlessly removed, while other non-zero gates can be absorbed into the succeeding convolution kernel, causing completely no interruption to training nor damage to the trained model." Absorbing the gates means that the gates, interpreted as the auxiliary parameters, are removed from the neural network.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the teachings of Xiao with the teachings of Guo for the reasons given above in regards to claim 1. Also, as Guo states on page 5241, "Then we can safely remove channels corresponding to the zero-gates, and absorb the others to the successive convolution kernel. By this way, the sub-net can be got with performance same to the super-net."
Regarding claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Further, Xiao teaches
deriving respective gating parameters for inputs to respective neurons of the layer according to the respective sets of auxiliary parameters; and (Page 3 states “We relax this problem by introducing a indicator function defined as:
h
i
j
=
0
,
i
f
w
i
j
i
s
p
r
u
n
e
d
1
,
o
t
h
e
r
w
i
s
e
.
” Page 3 also states “We also denote the element-wise product
T
=
W
⨀
h
M
as the weight matrix after pruning.” Page 4 states "The indicator function
h
i
j
contains only zero and one values and thus is non-smooth and nondifferentiable. Inspired by Hubara et al. [2016] where binary weights are represented using step functions and trained with hard sigmoid straight through estimator (STE), we use a simple step function for indicator function
h
i
j
with trainable parameter
m
i
j
." As the auxiliary parameter is
m
i
j
, the indicator function
h
i
j
, interpreted as the gating parameter is derived from the auxiliary parameters.)
multiplying the respective gating parameters to the inputs to respective neurons to generate gated inputs to be applied to the respective sets of weighting factors of the neurons. (Page 3 states “We also denote the element-wise product
T
=
W
⨀
h
M
as the weight matrix after pruning.”
h
M
is the gating parameter and
W
is the weighting factor of the neuron. One of ordinary skill in the art would realize that the resulting weight matrix
T
is multiplied by the inputs, meaning that the inputs are also multiplied by the gating parameter.)
Regarding claim 4, the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated herein. Further, Xiao teaches
wherein training the respective layers of the plurality of layers is performed using a stochastic gradient descent technique. (Page 7 states “We first use MNIST dataset to evaluate the performance. Layer structure of LeNet-300-100 is [784, 300, 100, 10] and of LeNet5 is two [20-50] convolution layers, followed by two FC layers. The total number of trainable parameters of LeNet-300-100 and LeNet5 are 267K and 431K, respectively. Similar to previous works, we train reference models with standard training method with SGD optimizer, achieving accuracy of 1.72% and 0.78% respectively.” One of ordinary skill in the art would realize that SGD stands for stochastic gradient descent.)
Regarding claim 5, the rejection of claim 4 is incorporated herein. Further, Xiao teaches
wherein the stochastic gradient descent technique employs a loss function comprising a differentiable regularization term which favors a lesser total number of auxiliary parameters in the network. (Page 7 states “We first use MNIST dataset to evaluate the performance. Layer structure of LeNet-300-100 is [784, 300, 100, 10] and of LeNet5 is two [20-50] convolution layers, followed by two FC layers. The total number of trainable parameters of LeNet-300-100 and LeNet5 are 267K and 431K, respectively. Similar to previous works, we train reference models with standard training method with SGD optimizer, achieving accuracy of 1.72% and 0.78% respectively.” One of ordinary skill in the art would realize that SGD stands for stochastic gradient descent. Pages 3-4 state “The training set will be split into
X
t
r
a
i
n
and
X
v
a
l
, and we can further re-formulate the problem from minimizing a single loss function to minimizing the following loss functions iteratively.
min
w
L
1
=
min
w
∑
i
=
1
N
L
(
f
x
i
,
W
⨀
h
M
,
y
i
+
λ
R
W
,
x
i
∈
X
t
r
a
i
n
4
min
w
L
1
=
min
m
∑
i
=
1
N
L
(
f
x
i
,
W
⨀
h
M
,
y
i
+
μ
R
W
,
x
i
∈
X
v
a
l
(
5
)
"
Page 6 states “In order to accelerate the pruning process, we bring in regularizers to force the mask values to approach zero. The sparse regularizer is defined as:
R
h
M
=
∑
i
,
j
|
h
(
m
i
j
)
|
=
c
o
u
n
t
h
M
.
(
12
)
“Note that the L1 regularizer applied on
h
(
M
)
directly counts the number of gates that are open, which is equivalent to applying L0 regularizer on
h
(
M
)
.” The number of open gates is equivalent to the number of auxiliary parameters, as when the gate is closed, the value is 0, which is multiplied by the respective auxiliary parameter, meaning that the result would also be 0. As the loss function is minimized and the regularization term
R
h
M
counts the number of open gates, which is also the count of auxiliary parameters, it favors a lesser total number of auxiliary parameters on the network. As the function will evaluate to a number of gates, the function is differentiable.)
Regarding claim 6, the rejection of claim 4 is incorporated herein. Xiao teaches
wherein the respective gating parameters are non-stochastic. (Page 4 states, in reference to the gating parameters, "The output of each weight is the output of the hard sigmoid binary function." As the gating parameter is the output of a function, the parameters are non-stochastic.
Regarding claim 7, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Xiao teaches
wherein training the respective layers, identifying the one or more neurons for deletion and deleting the identified one or more neurons is performed for more than one of the plurality of training batches (Page 6, Algorithm 1 states “7: while iter!=0 do 8: Sample a minibatch from
X
v
a
l
; 9: Compute
g
r
a
d
w
with
L
1
; 10: Compute
g
r
a
d
m
and
g
r
a
d
m
r
by Eq. 7; 11: Update
M
with
g
r
a
d
m
and
g
r
a
d
m
r
; 12: Sample a mini batch from
X
t
r
a
i
n
; 13: Compute
g
r
a
d
w
with
L
1
; 14: Update
W
with
g
r
a
d
w
; 15: Update iter:
λ
,
μ
(if scheduling); 16: end while” Page 4 states “The update rule of
m
i
j
is defined as
m
i
j
:
=
m
i
j
-
η
∂
L
a
c
c
∂
t
i
j
s
g
n
w
i
j
∂
h
m
i
j
∂
m
i
j
=
μ
(
∂
h
m
i
j
∂
m
i
j
)
(
7
)
where
L
a
c
c
denotes
L
(
f
x
i
,
W
⨀
h
M
,
y
i
,
η
is the learning rate of
m
i
j
,
t
i
j
=
w
i
j
⨀
h
(
m
i
j
)
, the second term can be considered as the gradient of
m
i
j
,
t
i
j
∂
m
i
j
, and the third term is related to the sparse regularizer.” Page 3 states “We relax this problem by introducing a indicator function defined as:
h
i
j
=
0
,
i
f
w
i
j
i
s
p
r
u
n
e
d
1
,
o
t
h
e
r
w
i
s
e
.
” Page 3 also states “We also denote the element-wise product
T
=
W
⨀
h
M
as the weight matrix after pruning.” Page 3 states "Without losing generality, our method is formulated on weight pruning, but it can be directly extended to neuron pruning." Note that the method is performed for neuron pruning on page 7. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that
w
and
W
would represent neurons for neuron pruning. As the loss function includes
W
⨀
h
M
, which represents the pruned neurons, and the loss function is implemented before the completion of the training batch, the neurons are deleted from the neural network prior to completion of the training batch. As the identification and deletion of the neurons occurs within the while loop, which has a new training batch each time, it is performed for more than one training batch.)
Regarding claim 8, Xiao teaches
One or more non-transitory computer-accessible storage media storing program instructions that when executed on or across one or more computing devices cause the one or more computing devices to implement: (Page 7 states "Our models are implemented by Tensorflow and run on Ubuntu Linux 16.04 with 32G memory and a single NVIDIA Titan Xp GPU." One of ordinary skill in the art would realize that, in order to perform the method, a non-transitory computer-accessible storage media storing program instructions would be required for the GPU, interpreted as the computing device, to implement the method.)
The remainder of claim 8 recites substantially similar subject matter to claim 1 and is rejected with the same rationale, mutatis mutandis.
Claims 9-14 recite substantially similar subject matter to claims 2-7 respectively and are rejected with the same rationale, mutatis mutandis.
Regarding claim 15, Xiao teaches
A system, comprising: one or more processors; and a memory storing program instructions that when executed by the one or more processors cause the one or more processors to implement a machine learning system configured to (Page 7 states "Our models are implemented by Tensorflow and run on Ubuntu Linux 16.04 with 32G memory and a single NVIDIA Titan Xp GPU." One of ordinary skill in the art would realize that, in order to perform the method, a memory storing program instructions would be required for the GPU, interpreted as the processor, to implement the machine learning method.)
The remainder of claim 15 recites substantially similar subject matter to claim 1 and is rejected with the same rationale, mutatis mutandis.
Claims 16-20 recite substantially similar subject matter to claims 2-6 respectively and are rejected with the same rationale, mutatis mutandis.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.T.P./Examiner, Art Unit 2121
/Li B. Zhen/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2121