Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim [1, 3, 4-8, 10, 12, 18, 20-21, 23, 24-25 and 27-30] are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Stoica (US 20250184049 A1) in view of Raith (US 20050246417 A1) further in view of Bergquist (US 20160150433 A1).
In regards to claims 1, 21, 29 and 30 Stoica teaches a user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more processors; memory coupled with the one or more processors; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the one or more processors to cause the UE to: [0046] FIG. 2 depicts one embodiment of an apparatus 200 that may be used for configuring based on NC. The apparatus 200 includes one embodiment of the remote unit 102. Furthermore, the remote unit 102 may include a processor 202, a memory 204, an input device 206, a display 208, a transmitter 210, and a receiver 212, and one or more second parameters for a second feedback mode associated with hybrid-automatic request reporting and a second set of resources; [0105] In some examples, the NC-aware HARQ feedback is explicitly enabled by a configuration field within at least one of semi-static RRC signaling, protocol data control channel (“PDCCH”) DCI signaling, PDCCH DCI scheduling of one or more PUSCH and/or PDSCH transmissions, [0106] the NC-aware HARQ feedback is multiplexed in a HARQ-ACK codebook that is different than the HARQ-ACK codebook associated with non-NC-aware HARQ feedback, receive, via carrier aggregation, one or more downlink messages from the network entity in accordance with an outer coding transmission scheme;[0083] outer coding with HARQ disabled can result in both latency and power benefits compared to the HARQ enabled case with no added redundancy in certain cases; and/or 3) for XR and cloud gaming traffic in FR2 with carrier aggregation, the NC with HARQ disabled can result in both latency and power benefits compared to the HARQ enabled case with no added redundancy in all cases, deactivate a retransmission protocol associated with the one or more downlink messages based at least in part on application of the outer coding transmission scheme to the one or more downlink messages; [0088] the NC architecture outlined in FIG. 6 is enabled for DL and applied at a ADU level (e.g., for each ADU burst of PDCP PDUs), whereas the prior art baselines may consist of: 1) complete HARQ disablement for network-coded transmissions; and/or 2) 5G NR RAN HARQ, and transmit a feedback message corresponding to the one or more downlink messages via the first set of resources or the second set of resources according to the selected feedback mode. [0094] a non-acknowledgement (“NACK”) otherwise, as a NC-aware HARQ ACK/NACK; and/or 5) feeding back the NC-aware HARQ ACK/NACK and the HARQ quality report information bits as an NC-aware HARQ feedback to the gNB.
Stocia does not teach receive, from a network entity, control signaling indicating one or more first parameters for a first feedback mode associated with radio link control reporting and a first set of resources, select, based at least in part on application of the outer coding transmission scheme to the one or more downlink messages and based at least in part on the one or more first parameters, the one or more second parameters, or both, at least one of the first feedback mode or the second feedback mode.
However Raith does teach a first set of resources,[0033] The network may transmit a repair parameter that determines the time that the mobile station will send the repair request… Alternatively, the network may schedule the time when each mobile station 100 sends the repair request so that the repair requests are spread out over time, select, based at least in part on application of the outer coding transmission scheme to the one or more downlink messages [0045] If the source object is divided into multiple source blocks as shown in FIG. 2 and each source block is independently FEC encoded, the error metric used to predict download failures can be computed after outer decoding. In some circumstances, outer decoding may be completely successful in spite of some errors in the source packets. In this case, no repair will be required, and based at least in part on the one or more first parameters, the one or more second parameters, or both, [0047] The mobile station reads this information in the object description, fetches user preferences entered by the user and/or stored in the mobile station and, based on these two indications, may or may not use the repair service, at least one of the first feedback mode or the second feedback mode [0035] If the amount of missing data is more than 50 percent of the total, it may be more efficient to report only those segments that were correctly received rather than the segments not received. As the amount of missing data gets closer to 100 percent, repair services may become cumbersome and inefficient.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Stoica and Raith before him or her, to modify the method of Stoica to include feedback configuration as taught by Raith.
The motivation to do so would be to improve broadcast communication reliability. (0020 by Raith).
Stocia and Raith do not teach receive, from a network entity, control signaling indicating one or more first parameters for a first feedback mode associated with radio link control reporting.
However, Bergquist does teach receive, from a network entity, control signaling indicating one or more first parameters for a first feedback mode associated with radio link control reporting. [0005] The pollPDU and pollByte are optional thresholds which are configured by the radio resource layer in the evolved nodeB (eNodeB), using Radio Resource Control (RRC) signalling to configure the transmitter in the user equipment (UE). These thresholds are set per each RLC AM entity.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Stoica, Bergquist and Raith before him or her, to modify the method of Stoica and Raith to include feedback configuration as taught by Bergquist.
The motivation to do so would be to improve network load efficiency. (0040 by Bergquist).
In regard to claims 4 and 24 Stoica, Raith and Bergquist teach the limitation of the parent claims
Stoica also teaches select the at least one of the first feedback mode or the second feedback mode based at least in part on one or more conditions being satisfied, [0081] In some embodiments, placing network and/or outer coding sub-layer between PDCP and RLC layers allows one to: 1) take advantage of segmentation function of the RLC layer; 2) adapt network and/or outer coding parameters, such as the redundancy level, based on channel conditions; and/or 3) apply network/outer coding on specific radio bearers, wherein the one or more conditions are associated with a power status at the UE, a threshold latency corresponding to the one or more downlink messages, or a combination thereof. [0080] a) PHY retransmissions rely on hybrid ARQ (e.g., HARQ) mechanism with soft combining embedding FEC channel coding with ARQ retransmissions for a highly robust and adaptive retransmission scheme ensuring high reliability, b) PHY retransmissions are controlled by individual HARQ processes within a HARQ entity as part of the MAC and are scheduled accordingly by the latter given the HARQ feedback of a receiver indication non-acknowledgement (e.g., NACK) (or equivalently HARQ-NACK), c) PHY retransmission delays may vary between 2-10 ms based on the scheduling, SCS and MCS configurations.
In regard to claim 5 Stoica, Raith and Bergquist teach the limitation of the parent claims
Stoica also teaches select a combination of the first feedback mode and the second feedback mode, wherein the first feedback mode corresponds to a first periodicity [0178] In some embodiments, an RLC ARQ procedure is enabled only in AM operation and relies on retransmissions upon receival of RLC status reports indicating from a receiver side the failure to receive an RLC PDU based on the RLC sequence numbering, and the second feedback mode corresponds to a second periodicity, wherein the first periodicity is greater than the second periodicity. [0071] The RLC PDUs are then processed over the logical channels interfaces by the medium access control (“MAC”) layer which handles the logical channels multiplexing, hybrid automatic repeat request (“HARQ”), scheduling, and scheduling retransmission functions. Lastly, the MAC PDUs are combined over the transport channel into transport blocks (“TBs”) at the level of physical (“PHY”) layer.
In regard to claims 6 Stoica, Raith and Bergquist teach the limitation of the parent claims
Stoica also teaches activate a first resource of the second set of resources according to the second periodicity; [0138] When a transmission takes place for the HARQ process, one or two (in case of downlink spatial multiplexing) TBs and the associated HARQ information are received from the HARQ entity, and transmit, via the activated first resource of the second set of resources, a block error report, an indication of a missed message via a physical downlink control channel, or a combination thereof. [0173] In various embodiments, HARQ ACK/NACK reporting for DL transmissions may be multiplexed over UCI and transported over physical uplink control channel (“PUCCH”) or PUSCH.
In regard to claims 7 Stoica, Raith and Bergquist teach the limitation of the parent claims
Stoica also alternate between transmission via respective resources associated with the first set of resources [0178] In some embodiments, an RLC ARQ procedure is enabled only in AM operation and relies on retransmissions upon receival of RLC status reports indicating from a receiver side the failure to receive an RLC PDU based on the RLC sequence numbering, and the second set of resources according to the first periodicity and the second periodicity. [0173] In various embodiments, HARQ ACK/NACK reporting for DL transmissions may be multiplexed over UCI and transported over physical uplink control channel (“PUCCH”) or PUSCH. The encoding of HARQ ACK/NACK may be organized in codebooks.
In regard to claims 8 and 25 Stoica, Raith and Bergquist teach the limitation of the parent claims
Stoica also transmit a radio link control status report [0178] In some embodiments, an RLC ARQ procedure is enabled only in AM operation and relies on retransmissions upon receival of RLC status reports indicating from a receiver side the failure to receive an RLC PDU based on the RLC sequence numbering, via the first set of resources according to the first feedback mode based at least in part on detection of a missed radio link control packet data unit,[0178] The triggering of RLC status reports is determined by a transmitter by explicit polling or by a receiver by event-based detection of misreception, wherein a hybrid automatic repeat request protocol associated with the second feedback mode is deactivated [0176] 3) no HARQ-ACK feedback: UE does not send any feedback for received data, according to selection of the at least one of the first feedback mode or the second feedback mode. [0232] In various embodiments, the method further comprises dynamically enabling the NC-aware HARQ feedback report, disabling the NC-aware HARQ feedback report, or a combination thereof by: a semi-static RRC signaling; a dynamic indication by a DCI scheduling at least one PDSCH transmission.
In regard to claims 10 Stoica, Raith and Bergquist teach the limitation of the parent claims
Stoica also include, in the radio link control status report, [0178] In some embodiments, an RLC ARQ procedure is enabled only in AM operation and relies on retransmissions upon receival of RLC status reports indicating from a receiver side the failure to receive an RLC PDU based on the RLC sequence numbering, an indication of a quantity of segments associated with the outer coding transmission scheme that have been successfully received by the UE. [0078] In various embodiments, NC may be used as outer coding for the XR DL unicast transmission link between the next generation node B (“gNB”) and a UE, whereby the network code applied at the RLC layer (e.g., on the PDCP PDU) spanning over an ADU, as shown in FIG. 6.
In regard to claims 12 and 27 Stoica, Raith and Bergquist teach the limitation of the parent claims
Stoica also generate the feedback message according to a hybrid automatic repeat request codebook type, [0173] The encoding of HARQ ACK/NACK may be organized in codebooks, such as: 1) Type-1 HARQ-ACK codebook (e.g., Semi-static)-a semi-static codebook determined by the RRC configuration of HARQ timing offset, CBG-based HARQ, CCs or simultaneous TBs in transit and dynamic scheduling decisions—the number of bits to send in an ACK/NACK report is thus fixed and could be potentially large-if many component carriers are configured for instance but only a few are scheduled, this is inefficient; wherein transmission of the feedback message is based at least in part on generation of the feedback message. [0166] 2> instruct the physical layer to generate acknowledgement(s) of the data in this TB.
In regard to claims 18 Stoica, Raith and Bergquist teach the limitation of the parent claims
Stoica also teaches receive control signaling that triggers [0138] When a transmission takes place for the HARQ process, one or two (in case of downlink spatial multiplexing) TBs and the associated HARQ information are received from the HARQ entity, aperiodic feedback signaling via the first set of resources or the second set of resources, [0173] In various embodiments, HARQ ACK/NACK reporting for DL transmissions may be multiplexed over UCI and transported over physical uplink control channel (“PUCCH”) or PUSCH. The encoding of HARQ ACK/NACK may be organized in codebooks wherein transmission of the feedback message is based at least in part on reception of the control signaling [0217] configuring, for each TB of the at least one TB, a NC-aware HARQ process as a HARQ process with the CB threshold; using the CB threshold to determine a NC-aware HARQ feedback report; and feeding back the NC-aware HARQ feedback report to a transmitting device.
In regard to claims 20 Stoica, Raith and Bergquist teach the limitation of the parent claims
Stoica also a packet data convergence protocol distribution outer coding scheme [0078] In various embodiments, NC may be used as outer coding for the XR DL unicast transmission link between the next generation node B (“gNB”) and a UE associated with a threshold link quality [0098] DCI indicated scheduling, the UE further determines the necessary minimum number of CBs to be received correctly out of a TB post FEC decoding required for correctly receiving the transmission at the higher NC sublayer post NC decoding.
In regard to claims 28 Stoica, Raith and Bergquist teach the limitation of the parent claims
Stoica also refrain from transmission of one or more additional downlink messages based at least in part on receipt of the feedback message; [0110] if the total number of correct CBs is lower than the NC-aware minimum number of correctly received CBs threshold, then: a) the NC-aware HARQ process sorts in descending order the CBGs given the number of CB errors they each contain in the TB receive buffer and refrain from monitoring for one or more additional feedback messages during at least a portion of the first set of resources, the second set of resources, or both. [0110] if the total number of correct CBs is greater or equal than the NC-aware minimum number of correctly received CBs threshold, then: the HARQ process completes with all CBGs being acknowledged, otherwise, the process repeats steps 1.a-1.e; 2) otherwise: the HARQ process completes with all CBGs being acknowledged.
In regard to claims 3 and 23 Stoica, Raith and Bergquist teach the limitations of the parent claims.
Stoica and Raith do not teach select the at least one of the first feedback mode or the second feedback mode based at least in part on one or more conditions being satisfied, wherein the one or more conditions are associated with a power status at the UE, a threshold latency corresponding to the one or more downlink messages, or a combination thereof.
However, Bergquist does teaches select the at least one of the first feedback mode or the second feedback mode based at least in part on one or more conditions being satisfied, wherein the one or more conditions are associated with a power status at the UE, a threshold latency corresponding to the one or more downlink messages,[0065] This new poll bit enables different types of status reporting schemes to be used in different scenarios. Additionally, to handle cases where a response message is not sent, a maximum wait time may be defined, after which the status transmission is triggered regardless of AMD PDU transmission, or a combination thereof.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Stoica, Bergquist and Raith before him or her, to modify the method of Stoica and Raith to include feedback configuration as taught by Bergquist.
The motivation to do so would be to improve network load efficiency. (0040 by Bergquist).
Claim [11 and 26] are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Stoica in view of Bergquist further in view of Raith further in view of Berggren (US 20160205690 A1).
In regard to claims 11 and 26 Stoica, Bergquist and Raith teach the limitations of the parent claims.
Stoica, Bergquist and Raith do not teach transmit a plurality of feedback messages via the first set of resources of a primary component carrier for a first cell group and via the second set of resources of the primary component carrier for the first cell group, the plurality of feedback messages comprising the feedback message.
However, Berggren teaches transmit a plurality of feedback messages [0015] four downlink subframes for each uplink subframe, the receiver has to provide HARQ feedback for all the four downlink subframes in one single uplink subframe, as illustrated in FIG. 1B. When doing so, the HARQ feedback may occupy a significant amount of the uplink communication resources, via the first set of resources of a primary component carrier for a first cell group [0025] PUCCH format 1b with channel selection assumes that a set of channels (i.e., sequences, or PUCCH resources) are reserved for the UE and as a way of encoding the HARQ message, it selects one of the channels, which is then modulated with a QPSK symbol, and via the second set of resources of the primary component carrier for the first cell group, [0025] With up to 4 channels reserved, at most 4 HARQ-ACK bits (i.e., 16 unique states of HARQ information) can be provided. The PUCCH resource reservation can be performed implicitly by a mapping from the time-frequency resources occupied by the PDCCH/EPDCCH to the PUCCH resources. Implicit resource reservation is used when the PDCCH/EPDCCH is located on the PCell the plurality of feedback messages comprising the feedback message [0015] Generally, one HARQ message is associated with each downlink subframe in TDD, since a data packet (e.g., transport block in LTE) is transmitted in one subframe. This implies that HARQ messages from multiple downlink subframes may need to be transmitted in a single uplink subframe, which requires allocation of multiple unique uplink resources for HARQ.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Stoica, Bergquist, Raith and Berggren before him or her, to modify the method of Stoica, Bergquist and Raith to include feedback configuration as taught by Berggren.
The motivation to do so would be to improve wireless communication. (0031 by Berggren).
Claim [15] are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Stoica in view of Bergquist further in view of Raith further in view of Nimbalker (US 20220053529 A1).
In regard to claims 11 Stoica, Bergquist and Raith teach the limitations of the parent claims.
Stoica, Bergquist and Raith do not teach transmit receive from the network entity based at least in part on transmission of the feedback message, an indication that no additional downlink messages are pending, wherein the sleep mode is entered based at least in part on reception of the indication.
However, Nimbalker teaches receive, from the network entity based at least in part on transmission of the feedback message, an indication that no additional downlink messages are pending, [0051] According to one aspect of the disclosure, the DCI comprises a GTS signal that instructs the UE 30 to enter a sleep mode or low power mode. DCI-based or L1 based GTS signaling performs better in presence of confirmation from the UE 30. For example, the UE 30 can send an acknowledgement (ACK) to the base station 20 indicating that the downlink control message carrying the GTS signal has been received by the UE 30 ,wherein the sleep mode is entered based at least in part on reception of the indication [0051] Feedback is present if the GTS signal is contained in a downlink control message scheduling a DL transmission on the PDSCH. If the DCI comprises a GTS signal only, an ACK can still provide benefit in case of missed assignments (e.g., otherwise the UE 30 will stay awake until the inactivity timer expires) and the reliability requirements for GTS can be bit relaxed.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Stoica, Bergquist, Raith and Nimbalker before him or her, to modify the method of Stoica, Bergquist and Raith to include sleep mode as taught by Nimbalker.
The motivation to do so would be to the improved UE power consumption. (0186 by Nimbalker).
Claim [19] are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Stoica in view of Bergquist further in view of Raith further in view of Shi (US 20200366551 A1).
In regard to claims 11 Stoica, Bergquist and Raith teach the limitations of the parent claims.
Stoica, Bergquist and Raith do not teach receive control signaling that indicates a carrier aggregation mode, an instruction to deactivate radio link control retransmissions, or a combination thereof.
However, Shi teaches receive control signaling that indicates a carrier aggregation mode, [0028] In the scenario of carrier aggregation, a PDCP entity can support a data replication function. That is, the data replication function of the PDCP is used, so that the replicated data is transmitted to two radio link control (Radio Link Control, RLC) entities an instruction to deactivate radio link control retransmissions, or a combination thereof. [0032] S110: In a case that data of a first radio bearer reaches a maximum number of retransmissions on the first radio link control RLC entity corresponding to the first radio bearer, a terminal device deactivates a replication data transmission function of the first radio bearer.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Stoica, Bergquist, Raith and Shi before him or her, to modify the method of Stoica, Bergquist and Raith to include RLC configurations as taught by Shi.
The motivation to do so would be to improve data transmission. (0028 by Shi).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9,13,14,16 and 17 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base
claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
NPL “on the Capability of QoE improvement Based on the Adjustment of RLC Parameters” teaches timers expiring and timers associated with RLC status signaling but does not teach that the expiring as a deliberate action being chosen and does not teach based at least in part on selection of the first feedback mode. US 9042279 B2 teaches entering a sleep mode due to the feedback message but fails to teach deactivating the carrier aggregation.
Conclusion
/SHEHAB A ALAWDI/Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/JAY P PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466