DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-10, 13-14, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US20140304206), hereinafter referred to as ‘Lee’ and in further view of Ji et al. (CN109124666), hereinafter referred to as ‘Ji’.
Regarding to Claim 1, Lee discloses a method for radiation dose management, which is implemented on a computing device including at least one processor and at least one storage device, comprising (The following generally relates to imaging and more particularly to optimizing ionizing radiation dose of a scan based on the radiation dose utilized with previous scans and the radiologist reports corresponding to those scans [0001; A general-purpose computing system or computer serves as an operator console 120 [0019]]):obtaining scan information of a subject, wherein the scan information includes a scan mode, a scan region of the subject, and a radiation dose of the subject (The imaging system is configured to scan a patient based on predetermined scan parameters of a planned scan of a patient, wherein the predetermined scan parameters include at least one scan parameter that affects a dose delivered to the patient when the patient is scanned [0008]), wherein the scan mode is defined by a medical device that scans the subject, and the scan mode is one of a computed tomography (CT) scan (Initially referring to FIG. 1, an imaging system 100 such as a computed tomography (CT) scanner is schematically illustrated. It is to be understood that the imaging system 100 can be any imaging system which utilizes ionizing radiation to scan subjects [0014]; ); determining a record mode based on the scan mode and a relationship between the record mode and the scan mode (Information related to the scan that can be stored in the data repository 122 includes the imaging protocol, dose related imaging parameters (kVp, mAs, etc.), dose measurements (CTDI and/or DLP), clinical indications, an identification of the interpreting radiologist, the radiologist report, patient demographics, the scanned anatomy, etc. [0020]); recording the scan region and the radiation dose based on the record mode wherein the record mode refers to a presentation form of the radiation dose or a distribution of the radiation dose (A report and dose evaluator 124 evaluates content of the radiologist report and measured dose for one or more scans in the data repository 122 and/or other data repository. As described in greater detail below, the report and dose evaluator 124 determines, based on the evaluation, a relationship between a quality of the report and the measured dose and generates a signal or data indicative thereof. Generally, simply increasing dose, within a reasonable range, will improve image quality. However, simply increasing dose does not necessarily improve the rate of positive findings by the radiologists. The generated data allows for optimizing dose for a patient to be scanned based on the rate of positive findings in addition to or in alternative to optimizing dose for visual quality of the image [0021]), determining a radiation dose distributed along at least one direction of the scan region based on the radiation dose of the subject (A report and dose evaluator 124 evaluates content of the radiologist report and measured dose for one or more scans in the data repository 122 and/or other data repository. As described in greater detail below, the report and dose evaluator 124 determines, based on the evaluation, a relationship between a quality of the report and the measured dose and generates a signal or data indicative thereof. Generally, simply increasing dose, within a reasonable range, will improve image quality. However, simply increasing dose does not necessarily improve the rate of positive findings by the radiologists. The generated data allows for optimizing dose for a patient to be scanned based on the rate of positive findings in addition to or in alternative to optimizing dose for visual quality of the image [0021]); and recording the radiation dose corresponding to the position of the scan region based on the record mode (A report and dose evaluator 124 evaluates content of the radiologist report and measured dose for one or more scans in the data repository 122 and/or other data repository. As described in greater detail below, the report and dose evaluator 124 determines, based on the evaluation, a relationship between a quality of the report and the measured dose and generates a signal or data indicative thereof. Generally, simply increasing dose, within a reasonable range, will improve image quality. However, simply increasing dose does not necessarily improve the rate of positive findings by the radiologists. The generated data allows for optimizing dose for a patient to be scanned based on the rate of positive findings in addition to or in alternative to optimizing dose for visual quality of the image [0021]); and the record mode includes a radiation dose curve, a radiation dose model, a radiation dose table, or a radiation dose chart (Briefly turning to FIG. 3, the data of Table 1 is graphically depicted. In FIG. 3, a y-axis 302 represents quality of findings and an x-axis 304 represents dose. Using a sigmoid (logistic) function, the modeler 214, in this non-limiting example, fits a curve 306 to data points 308-318 corresponding to the data of Table 1 as follows: y=A/(1+exp(-(dose-B)/C)+D, where A, B, C, and D are variables such that D represents the minimum value of the fitted regression function [0033]); visualizing the scan region and the distribution of the radiation dose in a visualization model of at least a portion of the subject after a current scan is performed on the subject (A dose optimizer 216 determines an optimal dose value for the group defined by criteria 208 based on the mathematical model, the data used to generate the mathematical model and/or the raw data, and one or more optimization rules 218. By way of non-limiting example, an optimization rule may cause the dose optimizer 216 to find the CTDI dose value on the curve 306 of FIG. 3 that corresponds to 90% of the distance between a minimum and a maximum report quality. In this example, the dose value is approximately 20 mGy. The optimization rules 218 can be predetermined and/or user defined. The optimal dose value and/or the model can be stored in the data repository 122 and/or other storage device, and/or conveyed to another component such as the validation 126 and/or other device. In one instance, the optimal dose value and/or the model are conveyed to a computing system where one or more of the optimal dose value and/or the model are visually displayed via a monitor [0034]); determining or adjusting a scan protocol of a next scan of the subject based on the visualization model (In one non-limiting example, the validator 126 receives a planned image study from the imaging system and validates the estimated dose for the patient based on the generated optimal dose value. As discussed above, the grouping for the patient is first identified based on the grouping criteria 208. Then the optimal dose value for the grouping can be obtained and compared with the estimated dose [0035]); and performing the next scan by the medical device using the determined or adjusted scan protocol (…As noted above, where the accumulated dose of the patient is also known, a signal indicating whether the scan will increase the patient's dose beyond a predetermined recommended accumulated dose level may also be conveyed to the imaging system 100 [0035]).
However, Lee does not explicitly disclose wherein the scan mode is defined by a medical device that scans the subject, and the scan mode is one of a computed tomography (CT) scan and a digital radiography (DR) scan, determining a radiation dose corresponding to each position of a plurality of positions distributed along at least one direction of the scan region based on the radiation dose of the subject and recording the radiation dose corresponding to the each position of the plurality of positions of the scan region based on the record model.
Nevertheless, Ji discloses wherein the scan mode is defined by a medical device that scans the subject, and the scan mode is one of a computed tomography (CT) scan and a digital radiography (DR) scan (Medical imaging systems can be single-mode or multi-mode imaging systems. Single-mode imaging systems include PET (Positron Emission Tomography) equipment, SPECT (Single Photon Emission Computed Tomography) equipment, CT (Computed Tomography) equipment, MRI (Magnetic Resonance Imaging) equipment, and DR (Digital Radiography) equipment. [0046]), determining a radiation dose corresponding to each position of a plurality of positions distributed along at least one direction of the scan region based on the radiation dose of the subject (In some embodiments, the training unit 620 may obtain a training data set from a storage device (e.g., memory 150, disk 270, internal memory 360, storage module 430, external storage device). The training data set includes multiple sample CT images, multiple sample 3D images, and multiple sample positioning images. One of the plurality of sample CT images corresponds to one of the plurality of sample 3D images and one of the plurality of sample scout images. Here, the correspondence between the CT image, the 3D image, and the scout image indicates that these sample images represent the same region of the object to be scanned [0112]) and recording the radiation dose corresponding to the each position of the plurality of positions of the scan region based on the record model (In some embodiments, the training unit 620 may obtain a training data set from a storage device (e.g., memory 150, disk 270, internal memory 360, storage module 430, external storage device). The training data set includes multiple sample CT images, multiple sample 3D images, and multiple sample positioning images. One of the plurality of sample CT images corresponds to one of the plurality of sample 3D images and one of the plurality of sample scout images. Here, the correspondence between the CT image, the 3D image, and the scout image indicates that these sample images represent the same region of the object to be scanned [0112]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lee with the teachings of Ji to include sample images that represent the same region of the object to be scanned while improving the accuracy of the model and the scanning protocol .
Regarding Claim 3, Lee and Ji disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Lee discloses the scan mode includes a CT scan (Initially referring to FIG. 1, an imaging system 100 such as a computed tomography (CT) scanner is schematically illustrated. It is to be understood that the imaging system 100 can be any imaging system which utilizes ionizing radiation to scan subjects [0016]).
However, Lee does not explicitly disclose the scan mode includes a spiral CT scan, and the determining a record mode based on the scan mode comprises: determining the record mode as the radiation dose curve based on the spiral CT scan.
Nevertheless, Ji discloses the scan mode includes a spiral CT scan, and the determining a record mode based on the scan mode comprises: determining the record mode as the radiation dose curve based on the spiral CT scan (In some embodiments, the dose modulation line or regional dose modulation line may be discrete, including at least one discrete point, each discrete point corresponding to a radiation dose at a specific time or angle. In some embodiments, the dose modulation line or the regional dose modulation line may be a combination of at least one piecewise continuous curve, or a combination of at least one piecewise continuous curve and at least one discrete point. When a CT scan is performed on a subject to be scanned, data points of a dose modulation line or a regional dose modulation line may represent a degree of adjustment of the radiation dose (also referred to as radiation dose modulation, dose modulation, or tube current modulation). Radiation dose modulation may be achieved by adjusting the tube current of the radioactive scan source 113 based on the dose modulation line during CT scanning. For example, during a spiral CT scan, the radioactive scan source 113 may rotate in the X-Y plane as the table 115 moves along the Z axis. Radiation dose modulation can be achieved by adjusting the tube current of the radioactive scan source 113 in the X-Y plane and along the Z axis based on the dose modulation line during the spiral CT scan [0070]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lee with the teachings of Ji to rotate in the X-Y plane while improving the accuracy of the model and the scanning protocol.
Regarding Claim 4, Lee and Ji disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 3.
Lee discloses the recording the scan region and the radiation dose based on the record mode comprises (as discussed above).
However, Lee does not explicitly disclose determining a radiation dose of each layer of a plurality of layers of the scan region; determining the radiation dose curve based on radiation doses of the plurality of layers of the scan region; and recording the radiation doses corresponding to the plurality of layers of the scan region using the radiation dose curve.
Ji discloses determining a radiation dose of each layer of a plurality of layers of the scan region (As shown in FIG9 , the dose modulation line generation model may be a convolutional neural network (CNN) model. The CNN model includes an input layer, a hidden layer, and an output layer, and each node in FIG9 can simulate a neuron. The hidden layers include multiple convolutional layers, multiple pooling layers and/or multiple fully connected layers (not shown in FIG9 ). After the CNN model is trained by, for example, the process 800 shown in FIG8 , the CNN model is configured to generate a dose modulation line in response to its input. In some embodiments, the input of the CNN includes a scout image (e.g., an AP scout image or a lateral scout image) and a 3D image of the object to be scanned [0120]); determining the radiation dose curve based on radiation doses of the plurality of layers of the scan region (In some embodiments, the dose modulation line or regional dose modulation line may be discrete, including at least one discrete point, each discrete point corresponding to a radiation dose at a specific time or angle. In some embodiments, the dose modulation line or the regional dose modulation line may be a combination of at least one piecewise continuous curve, or a combination of at least one piecewise continuous curve and at least one discrete point. When a CT scan is performed on a subject to be scanned, data points of a dose modulation line or a regional dose modulation line may represent a degree of adjustment of the radiation dose (also referred to as radiation dose modulation, dose modulation, or tube current modulation). [0070]); and recording the radiation doses corresponding to the plurality of layers of the scan region using the radiation dose curve (As shown in FIG9 , the dose modulation line generation model may be a convolutional neural network (CNN) model. The CNN model includes an input layer, a hidden layer, and an output layer, and each node in FIG9 can simulate a neuron. The hidden layers include multiple convolutional layers, multiple pooling layers and/or multiple fully connected layers (not shown in FIG9 ). After the CNN model is trained by, for example, the process 800 shown in FIG8 , the CNN model is configured to generate a dose modulation line in response to its input. In some embodiments, the input of the CNN includes a scout image (e.g., an AP scout image or a lateral scout image) and a 3D image of the object to be scanned [0120]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lee with the teachings of Ji to include layers that represent regions of the object to be scanned while improving the accuracy of the model and the scanning protocol .
Regarding Claim 5, Lee and Ji disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Lee discloses the scan mode includes the CT scan (as discussed above), the determining a record mode based on the scan mode (as discussed above), and the first model being configured to reflect radiation doses (A modeler 214 models the evaluated data. By way of example, in one non-limiting instance, the modeler 214 employs a mathematical model to model quality of findings in a radiologist report as a function of dose. For example, a nonlinear regression curve may be computed for the data. Note that the individual studies may be placed in bins based on their dose, and the mean or median quality within that dose bin may be computed [0030]).
However, Lee does not explicitly disclose determining the record mode as a first model including a plurality of elliptical cylinders based on the CT scan, the first model being configured to reflect radiation doses corresponding to a plurality of layers of the scan region.
Ji discloses the scan mode includes the CT scan, and the determining a record mode based on the scan mode comprises: determining the record mode as a first model including a plurality of elliptical cylinders based on the CT scan (In some embodiments, the three-dimensional outline of the object to be scanned is a cylinder, an elliptical cylinder, or a cuboid [0013]), the first model being configured to reflect radiation doses corresponding to a plurality of layers of the scan region (as discussed above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lee with the teachings of Ji to rotate in the X-Y plane while improving the accuracy of the model and the scanning protocol.
Regarding Claim 6, Lee and Ji disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 5.
Lee discloses the scan information (as discussed above), and the recording the scan region and the radiation dose based on the record mode comprises (as discussed above): determining a radiation dose (as discussed above); generating the first model based (as discussed above).
However, Lee does not explicitly disclose the scan information further includes a thickness of each layer of the plurality of layers of the scan region, determining a radiation dose of the each layer of the plurality of layers of the scan region; generating the first model based on the thickness of the each layer of the plurality of layers of the scan region, and the radiation dose of the each layer of the plurality of layers of the scan region, wherein a height of each elliptical cylinder of the plurality of elliptical cylinders corresponds to a thickness of a corresponding layer of the plurality of layers of the scan region, and a cross-sectional area of the each elliptical cylinder corresponds to a radiation dose of the corresponding layer; and recording radiation doses corresponding to the plurality of layers of the scan region using the first model.
Ji discloses the scan information further includes a thickness of each layer of the plurality of layers of the scan region (The radiation dose on each slice (each slice corresponds to a specific scanning angle) of the object to be scanned can be determined based on the properties of the 3D contour (such as thickness, width [0042]), and the recording the scan region and the radiation dose based on the record mode comprises: determining a radiation dose of the each layer of the plurality of layers of the scan region; generating the first model based on the thickness of the each layer of the plurality of layers of the scan region, and the radiation dose of the each layer of the plurality of layers of the scan region, wherein a height of each elliptical cylinder of the plurality of elliptical cylinders corresponds to a thickness of a corresponding layer of the plurality of layers of the scan region (The radiation dose on each slice (each slice corresponds to a specific scanning angle) of the object to be scanned can be determined based on the properties of the 3D contour (such as thickness, width [0042]), and a cross-sectional area of the each elliptical cylinder corresponds to a radiation dose of the corresponding layer; and recording radiation doses corresponding to the plurality of layers of the scan region using the first model (As shown in FIG9 , the dose modulation line generation model may be a convolutional neural network (CNN) model. The CNN model includes an input layer, a hidden layer, and an output layer, and each node in FIG9 can simulate a neuron. The hidden layers include multiple convolutional layers, multiple pooling layers and/or multiple fully connected layers (not shown in FIG9 ). After the CNN model is trained by, for example, the process 800 shown in FIG8 , the CNN model is configured to generate a dose modulation line in response to its input. In some embodiments, the input of the CNN includes a scout image (e.g., an AP scout image or a lateral scout image) and a 3D image of the object to be scanned [0120]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lee with the teachings of Ji to include layers that represent regions of the object to be scanned while improving the accuracy of the model and the scanning protocol.
Regarding Claim 7, Lee and Ji disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Lee discloses the scan mode includes the CT scan (as discussed above), the scan region includes a reference region (The imaging system is configured to scan a patient based on predetermined scan parameters of a planned scan of a patient, wherein the predetermined scan parameters include at least one scan parameter that affects a dose delivered to the patient when the patient is scanned [0008]), and the determining a record mode based on the scan mode comprises (as discussed above): determining the record mode as a second model based on the CT scan and the reference region (as discussed above).
However, Lee does not explicitly disclose determining the record mode as a second model based on the CT scan and the reference region, wherein the second model includes a cylinder with a first curved surface, and the first curved surface corresponds to the reference region.
Nevertheless, Ji discloses the determining a record mode based on the scan mode comprises: determining the record mode as a second model based on the CT scan and the reference region, wherein the second model includes a cylinder with a first curved surface, and the first curved surface corresponds to the reference region (Each of the at least one region of interest corresponds to an anatomical region of the object to be scanned, such as the head, neck, chest, etc. In some embodiments, the segmentation unit 1220 may automatically segment the scout image into at least one region of interest based on an image segmentation algorithm. Exemplary image segmentation algorithms include threshold algorithms, clustering algorithms, histogram-based algorithms, region growing algorithms, etc., or any combination thereof. In some embodiments, an operator (e.g., a nurse, a radiologist) may manually segment the scout image into at least one region of interest [0142]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lee with the teachings of Ji to include curved surfaces that represent regions of the object to be scanned while improving the accuracy of the model and the scanning protocol.
Regarding Claim 8, Lee and Ji disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 7.
Lee discloses the scan information further includes a radiation dose of the reference region (as discussed above), and the recording the scan region and the radiation dose based on the record mode comprises (as discussed above): generating the second model by forming, based on the radiation dose of the reference region (as discussed above).
However, Lee does not explicitly disclose generating the cylinder based on the scan region and the radiation dose of the subject, wherein a longitudinal axis of the cylinder is perpendicular to a cross section of the subject; generating the second model by forming, based on the radiation dose of the reference region, the first curved surface on the cylinder; and recording radiation doses corresponding to a plurality of positions of the reference region using the second model.
Nevertheless, Ji discloses generating the cylinder based on the scan region and the radiation dose of the subject (The distance information of pixels in the 3D image can be used to determine the 3D contour of the object to be scanned. In some embodiments, the 3D contour includes a cylinder, an ellipsoid, a cuboid, etc. [0077]), wherein a longitudinal axis of the cylinder is perpendicular to a cross section of the subject (The workbench 115 can support an object to be scanned (e.g., a patient). The Z axis (also referred to as the Z direction) corresponds to the long axis direction of the object to be scanned. The X-Y plane (also called the cross-sectional or axial plane) corresponds to the plane perpendicular to the Z axis. During a CT scan, the radioactive scan source 113 and the detector 114 can rotate while maintaining their relative positions in the X-Y plane [0048]); generating the second model by forming, based on the radiation dose of the reference region, the first curved surface on the cylinder (The dose modulation line generation unit 630 may retrieve the dose modulation line generation model from the model library. The library includes several general and/or specialized dose modulation line generation models [0097]; In some embodiments, the dose modulation line generation model may be sent to a storage device (e.g., memory 150, disk 270, internal memory 360, storage module 430, external storage device) for storage. In some embodiments, the dose modulation line generation model may be a general model or a dedicated model. The general model can be used to generate dose modulation lines corresponding to various types of 3D images and scout images of multiple objects to be scanned or multiple regions of an object to be scanned [0095]); and recording radiation doses corresponding to a plurality of positions of the reference region using the second model (The workbench 115 can support an object to be scanned (e.g., a patient). The Z axis (also referred to as the Z direction) corresponds to the long axis direction of the object to be scanned. The X-Y plane (also called the cross-sectional or axial plane) corresponds to the plane perpendicular to the Z axis. During a CT scan, the radioactive scan source 113 and the detector 114 can rotate while maintaining their relative positions in the X-Y plane [0048]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lee with the teachings of Ji to determine the 3D contour of the object to be scanned while improving the accuracy of the model and the scanning protocol .
Regarding Claim 9, Lee and Ji disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Lee discloses the scan mode includes the CT scan, the scan region includes a reference region, and the determining a record mode based on the scan mode comprises (as discussed above).
However, Lee does not explicitly disclose determining the record mode as a third model based on the CT scan and the reference region, wherein the third model includes a plurality of elliptical cylinders with a second curved surface, the second curved surface corresponds to the reference region, and the third model is configured to reflect radiation doses corresponding to a plurality of layers of the scan region.
Nevertheless, discloses Ji discloses determining the record mode as a third model based on the CT scan and the reference region, wherein the third model includes a plurality of elliptical cylinders with a second curved surface (as discussed above), the second curved surface corresponds to the reference region, and the third model is configured to reflect radiation doses corresponding to a plurality of layers of the scan region (as discussed above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lee with the teachings of Ji to determine the 3D contour of the object to be scanned while improving the accuracy of the model and the scanning protocol.
Regarding Claim 10, Lee and Ji disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 9.
Lee discloses the scan information further includes a thickness of each layer of the plurality of layers of the scan region, and a radiation dose of the reference region (as discussed above), and the recording the scan region and the radiation dose based on the record mode comprises (as discussed above):determining a radiation dose of the each layer of the plurality of layers of the scan region (as discussed above); generating the model by forming, based on the radiation dose of the reference region (as discussed above).
However, Lee does not explicitly disclose the scan information further includes a thickness of each layer of the plurality of layers of the scan region, and a radiation dose of the reference region, and the recording the scan region and the radiation dose based on the record mode comprises: determining a radiation dose of the each layer of the plurality of layers of the scan region; generating the plurality of elliptical cylinders based on the thickness of the each layer of the plurality of layers of the scan region, and the radiation dose of the each layer of the plurality of layers of the scan region, wherein a longitudinal axis of the each elliptical cylinder of the plurality of elliptical cylinders is located on a same straight line, the longitudinal axis of the each elliptical cylinder of the plurality of elliptical cylinders is perpendicular to a cross section of the subject, a height of the each elliptical cylinder of the plurality of elliptical cylinders corresponds to a thickness of a corresponding layer of the plurality of layers of the scan region, and a cross-sectional area of the each elliptical cylinder corresponds to a radiation dose of the corresponding layer; generating the third model by forming, based on the radiation dose of the reference region, the second curved surface on the plurality of elliptical cylinders; and recording radiation doses corresponding to the plurality of layers of the scan region and a plurality of positions of the reference region using the third model.
Nevertheless, Ji discloses: determining a radiation dose of the each layer of the plurality of layers of the scan region (In some embodiments, the object to be scanned may be divided into a plurality of slices along the Z axis. [0072]); generating the plurality of elliptical cylinders based on the thickness of the each layer of the plurality of layers of the scan region (In some embodiments, the three-dimensional outline of the object to be scanned is a cylinder, an elliptical cylinder, or a cuboid [0013]), and the radiation dose of the each layer of the plurality of layers of the scan region (as discussed above), wherein a longitudinal axis of the each elliptical cylinder of the plurality of elliptical cylinders is located on a same straight line, the longitudinal axis of the each elliptical cylinder of the plurality of elliptical cylinders is perpendicular to a cross section of the subject (The scanning device 110 includes a gantry 111, a 3D depth camera 112, a radioactive scanning source 113, a detector 114 and a workbench 115. A three-dimensional Cartesian coordinate system is shown in FIG1 . The workbench 115 can support an object to be scanned (e.g., a patient). The Z axis (also referred to as the Z direction) corresponds to the long axis direction of the object to be scanned. The X-Y plane (also called the cross-sectional or axial plane) corresponds to the plane perpendicular to the Z axis. During a CT scan, the radioactive scan source 113 and the detector 114 can rotate while maintaining their relative positions in the X-Y plane [0048]), a height of the each elliptical cylinder of the plurality of elliptical cylinders corresponds to a thickness of a corresponding layer of the plurality of layers of the scan region, and a cross-sectional area of the each elliptical cylinder corresponds to a radiation dose of the corresponding layer (A pixel in a 3D image contains information related to a corresponding point on the object to be scanned. For example, a pixel in a 3D image includes information related to the distance from the 3D depth camera to a corresponding point on the object to be scanned, the grayscale value or color of the corresponding point, or any combination thereof. The distance information of pixels in the 3D image can be used to determine the 3D contour of the object to be scanned. In some embodiments, the 3D contour includes a cylinder, an ellipsoid, a cuboid, etc. The 3D profile includes surface structure or shape size information of the object to be scanned, such as width, thickness, etc., or any combination thereof [0077]); generating the third model by forming, based on the radiation dose of the reference region (The dose modulation line generation unit 630 may retrieve the dose modulation line generation model from the model library. The library includes several general and/or specialized dose modulation line generation models [0097]), the second curved surface on the plurality of elliptical cylinders; and recording radiation doses corresponding to the plurality of layers of the scan region and a plurality of positions of the reference region using the third model (Each of the at least one region of interest corresponds to an anatomical region of the object to be scanned, such as the head, neck, chest, etc. In some embodiments, the segmentation unit 1220 may automatically segment the scout image based on an image segmentation algorithm. Exemplary image segmentation algorithms include threshold algorithms, clustering algorithms, histogram-based algorithms, region growing algorithms, etc., or any combination thereof. In some embodiments, an operator (e.g., nurse, radiologist) can manually segment the scout image. In some embodiments, the scout image can be segmented semi-automatically, for example, the segmentation unit 1220 first automatically performs rough segmentation and then the operator manually adjusts it, or the operator first makes a preliminary manual selection and then the segmentation unit 1220 accurately segments it [0148]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lee with the teachings of Ji to include layers that represent regions of the object to be scanned while improving the accuracy of the model and the scanning protocol.
Regarding Claim 13, Lee and Ji disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Lee discloses obtaining one or more historical scan regions of the subject, one or more historical radiation doses of the subject, and one or more historical record modes; generating a subject model representing the subject (In another aspect, a system includes an imaging system, a report and dose evaluator and a validator. The imaging system is configured to scan a patient based on predetermined scan parameters of a planned scan of a patient, wherein the predetermined scan parameters include at least one scan parameter that affects a dose delivered to the patient when the patient is scanned. The report and dose evaluator determines an optimal dose for a scan of the patient based on a relationship between a quality of findings in radiologist reports and measured deposited dose of previously performed scans of patients. The validator compares an estimated dose value of the planned scan and the optimal dose value and generates a signal indicating whether the estimated dose value exceeds the optimal dose value. In response to the estimated dose value not exceeding the optimal dose value, the imaging system performs the scan based on the predetermined scan parameters [0008]); and causing a terminal device to display the subject model, the one or more historical scan regions and the one or more historical radiation doses according to the one or more historical record modes (The optimal dose value and/or the model can be stored in the data repository 122 and/or other storage device, and/or conveyed to another component such as the validation 126 and/or other device. In one instance, the optimal dose value and/or the model are conveyed to a computing system where one or more of the optimal dose value and/or the model are visually displayed via a monitor [0034]).
Regarding Claim 14, Lee and Ji disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 13.
Lee discloses the causing a terminal device to display the subject model (as discussed above), the one or more historical scan regions, and the one or more historical radiation doses according to the one or more historical record modes comprises (as discussed above): generating target image data by mapping the one or more historical scan regions and the one or more historical radiation doses on the subject model according to the one or more historical record modes (At 504, the planned scan is mapped to one of a plurality of different groups of scans. In one instance, the plurality of different groups is generated as described at 404 of FIG. 4 or otherwise [0046]); and causing the terminal device to display the target image data (as discussed above).
Regarding Claim 15, Lee and Ji disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 14.
Lee discloses the one or more historical scan regions are displayed in the subject model in different colors, or one or more colors of the one or more historical scan regions correspond to the one or more historical radiation doses of the one or more historical scan regions (as discussed above).
Regarding Claim 17, Lee and Ji disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Lee discloses the scan information includes historical scan information of at least one historical scan of the subject and displaying a current distribution of an accumulative radiation dose corresponding to the at least one historical scan of the subject in the model (as discussed above).
Regarding Claim 18, Lee and Ji disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 17.
Lee discloses the scan information further includes current scan information of a current scan of the subject, and the visualizing the scan region and the radiation dose using the model comprises (as discussed above): displaying an estimated distribution of an accumulative radiation dose corresponding to the at least one historical scan of the subject and the current scan of the subject in the model (A validator 126 can be used to validate, based on the data generated by the report and dose evaluator 124, imaging settings of planned scan selected and/or entered by an imaging technologist for a patient to be scanned. Such validation may include estimating and/or obtaining an estimated dose for the planned scan and comparing the estimated dose with an optimal dose for the scan as determined by the report and dose evaluator 124. In one instance, the estimated dose for the planned scan for the patient is obtained based on information of the patient extracted from the data repository 122 and the same criteria from the grouping criteria 208 that was used to group patients [0022]).
Regarding to Claim 19, Lee discloses a method for radiation dose management, which is implemented on a computing device including at least one processor and at least one storage device (The following generally relates to imaging and more particularly to optimizing ionizing radiation dose of a scan based on the radiation dose utilized with previous scans and the radiologist reports corresponding to those scans [0001; A general-purpose computing system or computer serves as an operator console 120 [0019]]), the method is performed before a CT scan is performed by a CT device, which includes a radiation source and a collimator (Initially referring to FIG. 1, an imaging system 100 such as a computed tomography (CT) scanner is schematically illustrated. It is to be understood that the imaging system 100 can be any imaging system which utilizes ionizing radiation to scan subjects [0014]); generating a rendered 3D model of a subject based on historical scan regions and historical radiation doses of the subject, wherein the historical scan regions are displayed in the rendered 3D model in different colors, each of the different colors corresponding to one of the historical radiation doses of the historical scan regions (In another aspect, a system includes an imaging system, a report and dose evaluator and a validator. The imaging system is configured to scan a patient based on predetermined scan parameters of a planned scan of a patient, wherein the predetermined scan parameters include at least one scan parameter that affects a dose delivered to the patient when the patient is scanned. The report and dose evaluator determines an optimal dose for a scan of the patient based on a relationship between a quality of findings in radiologist reports and measured deposited dose of previously performed scans of patients. The validator compares an estimated dose value of the planned scan and the optimal dose value and generates a signal indicating whether the estimated dose value exceeds the optimal dose value. In response to the estimated dose value not exceeding the optimal dose value, the imaging system performs the scan based on the predetermined scan parameters [0008]); obtaining scan information of the subject; performing scanning according to the at least one of the execution order and the position of the collimator for the different scanning regions (Information related to the scan that can be stored in the data repository 122 includes the imaging protocol, dose related imaging parameters (kVp, mAs, etc.), dose measurements (CTDI and/or DLP), clinical indications, an identification of the interpreting radiologist, the radiologist report, patient demographics, the scanned anatomy, etc. [0020]); determining, based on the scan information, a distribution of a radiation dose in at least one dimension of one of the different scan regions of the subject (A report and dose evaluator 124 evaluates content of the radiologist report and measured dose for one or more scans in the data repository 122 and/or other data repository. As described in greater detail below, the report and dose evaluator 124 determines, based on the evaluation, a relationship between a quality of the report and the measured dose and generates a signal or data indicative thereof. Generally, simply increasing dose, within a reasonable range, will improve image quality. However, simply increasing dose does not necessarily improve the rate of positive findings by the radiologists. The generated data allows for optimizing dose for a patient to be scanned based on the rate of positive findings in addition to or in alternative to optimizing dose for visual quality of the image [0021]), and displaying the distribution of the radiation dose in a visualization model, wherein the visualization model designates an accumulative radiation dose corresponding to one or more historical scans and the scanning of the one of the different scan regions of the subject after the scanning is performed on the subject (A dose optimizer 216 determines an optimal dose value for the group defined by criteria 208 based on the mathematical model, the data used to generate the mathematical model and/or the raw data, and one or more optimization rules 218. By way of non-limiting example, an optimization rule may cause the dose optimizer 216 to find the CTDI dose value on the curve 306 of FIG. 3 that corresponds to 90% of the distance between a minimum and a maximum report quality. In this example, the dose value is approximately 20 mGy. The optimization rules 218 can be predetermined and/or user defined. The optimal dose value and/or the model can be stored in the data repository 122 and/or other storage device, and/or conveyed to another component such as the validation 126 and/or other device. In one instance, the optimal dose value and/or the model are conveyed to a computing system where one or more of the optimal dose value and/or the model are visually displayed via a monitor [0034]).
However, Lee does not explicitly disclose the method is performed before a CT scan is performed by a CT device, which includes a radiation source and a collimator, generating a rendered 3D model of a subject based on historical scan regions and historical radiation doses of the subject, wherein the historical scan regions are displayed in the rendered 3D model in different colors, each of the different colors corresponding to one of the historical radiation doses of the historical scan regions obtaining scan information of the subject; and performing scanning according to the at least one of the execution order and the position of the collimator for the different scanning regions.
Nevertheless, Ji discloses the method is performed before a CT scan is performed by a CT device, which includes a radiation source and a collimator (In this application, tube voltage refers to the peak energy (e.g., in kilovolts) of X-ray photons in the X-ray energy spectrum. In this application, the pitch refers to the ratio of the stage translation (in centimeters, stage feed amount for 360° gantry rotation) in a spiral CT to the total nominal collimated X-ray beam width in the Z direction [0071]) generating a rendered 3D model of a subject based on historical scan regions and historical radiation doses of the subject, wherein the historical scan regions are displayed in the rendered 3D model in different colors, each of the different colors corresponding to one of the historical radiation doses of the historical scan regions obtaining scan information of the subject (The dose modulation line generation unit 630 can generate a dose modulation line based on the 3D image and localization image acquired by the acquisition unit 610 and the dose modulation line generation model trained by the training unit 620 [0096]; In another aspect, a system includes an imaging system, a report and dose evaluator and a validator. The imaging system is configured to scan a patient based on predetermined scan parameters of a planned scan of a patient, wherein the predetermined scan parameters include at least one scan parameter that affects a dose delivered to the patient when the patient is scanned. The report and dose evaluator determines an optimal dose for a scan of the patient based on a relationship between a quality of findings in radiologist reports and measured deposited dose of previously performed scans of patients. The validator compares an estimated dose value of the planned scan and the optimal dose value and generates a signal indicating whether the estimated dose value exceeds the optimal dose value. In response to the estimated dose value not exceeding the optimal dose value, the imaging system performs the scan based on the predetermined scan parameters [0008]) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lee with the teachings of Ji to include sample images that represent the same region of the object to be scanned while improving the accuracy of the model and the scanning protocol.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee and Ji, and further in view of Leghissa et al. (US20190274649) hereinafter referred to as ‘Leghissa’.
Regarding Claim 11, Lee and Ji disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Lee discloses the determining a record mode based on the scan mode comprises (as discussed above).
However, Lee does not explicitly disclose the scan mode includes a beam limited scan mode and determining the record mode as a fourth model based on the beam limited scan mode, wherein the fourth model includes a frustum.
Nevertheless, Ji discloses the scan mode includes a beam limited scan mode (The scanning protocol is related to the anatomical region of the subject to be scanned, such as the head, neck, chest, etc. For example, the scan protocol may include a head scan protocol, a neck scan protocol, a chest scan protocol, and the like. In some embodiments, the scan protocol includes scan parameters such as voltage of the radioactive scan source 113 , tube current-time product, beam width, gantry rotation time, reconstruction kernel, etc., or any combination thereof [0082]), and the determining a record mode based on the scan mode comprises: determining the record mode as a fourth model based on the beam limited scan mode, (Each of the at least one region of interest corresponds to an anatomical region of the object to be scanned, such as the head, neck, chest, etc. In some embodiments, the segmentation unit 1220 may automatically segment the scout image based on an image segmentation algorithm. Exemplary image segmentation algorithms include threshold algorithms, clustering algorithms, histogram-based algorithms, region growing algorithms, etc., or any combination thereof. In some embodiments, an operator (e.g., nurse, radiologist) can manually segment the scout image. In some embodiments, the scout image can be segmented semi-automatically, for example, the segmentation unit 1220 first automatically performs rough segmentation and then the operator manually adjusts it, or the operator first makes a preliminary manual selection and then the segmentation unit 1220 accurately segments it [0148]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lee with the teachings of Ji to estimate and/or regulate dose for subsequent imaging procedures by the same or different patient and improve management/accuracy of radiation dosage .
However, the combination does not explicitly disclose wherein the fourth model includes a frustum.
Nevertheless, Leghissa discloses the model includes a frustum ((In particular in the case of "measurement radiation" (for example X-ray radiation, CT radiation and the like), the model conformity of the radiation phantom device preferably relates to the conformity in the region of a detector means and/or to the conformity in a region in the form of an axially positioned disc and/or (especially in the case of a cone beam geometry) to the conformity in a cone-shaped (frustum-shaped) region [0018]), and a height of the frustum corresponds to the radiation dose of the subject (In particular in the case of "measurement radiation" (for example X-ray radiation, CT radiation and the like), the model conformity of the radiation phantom device preferably relates to the conformity in the region of a detector means and/or to the conformity in a region in the form of an axially positioned disc and/or (especially in the case of a cone beam geometry) to the conformity in a cone-shaped (frustum-shaped) region [0018])).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lee and Ji with the teachings of Leghissa to relate to the region of a detector and to improve radiation dosage.
Regarding Claim 12, Lee and Ji disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 11.
Lee discloses the recording the scan region and the radiation dose based on the record mode comprises (as discussed above).
However, Lee does not explicitly disclose wherein the scan information further includes a shape of a beam limiter of a medical device, and the recording the scan region and the radiation dose based on the record mode comprises: generating the fourth model based on the shape of the beam limiter and the radiation dose of the subject, wherein an axis of the frustum is perpendicular to a coronal plane of the subject, a shape of a surface of the frustum corresponds to the shape of the beam limiter, and a height of the frustum corresponds to the radiation dose of the subject; and recording the radiation dose of the subject using the fourth model.
Nevertheless, Ji discloses the scan information further includes a shape of a beam limiter of a medical device (In this application, tube voltage refers to the peak energy of an X-ray photon in the X-ray energy spectrum (e.g., in kilovolts). In this application, pitch refers to the ratio of the table translation (in centimeters, the table feed for 360° gantry rotation) to the total nominal collimated X-ray beam width in the Z direction in spiral CT [0071]), and the recording the scan region and the radiation dose based on the record mode comprises: generating the fourth model based on the shape of the beam limiter and the radiation dose of the subject (Each of the at least one region of interest corresponds to an anatomical region of the object to be scanned, such as the head, neck, chest, etc. In some embodiments, the segmentation unit 1220 may automatically segment the scout image based on an image segmentation algorithm. Exemplary image segmentation algorithms include threshold algorithms, clustering algorithms, histogram-based algorithms, region growing algorithms, etc., or any combination thereof. In some embodiments, an operator (e.g., nurse, radiologist) can manually segment the scout image [0148]), and recording the radiation dose of the subject using the fourth model (Each of the at least one region of interest corresponds to an anatomical region of the object to be scanned, such as the head, neck, chest, etc. In some embodiments, the segmentation unit 1220 may automatically segment the scout image based on an image segmentation algorithm. Exemplary image segmentation algorithms include threshold algorithms, clustering algorithms, histogram-based algorithms, region growing algorithms, etc., or any combination thereof. In some embodiments, an operator (e.g., nurse, radiologist) can manually segment the scout image [0148]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lee with the teachings of Ji to include sample images that represent the same region of the object to be scanned while improving the accuracy of the model and the scanning protocol .
However, the combination does not explicitly disclose wherein an axis of the frustum is perpendicular to a coronal plane of the subject, a shape of a surface of the frustum corresponds to the shape of the beam limiter, and a height of the frustum corresponds to the radiation dose of the subject; and recording the radiation dose of the subject using the fourth model.
Nevertheless, Leghissa discloses wherein an axis of the frustum is perpendicular to a coronal plane of the subject, a shape of a surface of the frustum corresponds to the shape of the beam limiter (FIG. 3 shows a magnet unit 20 forming a funnel 24 as a first region. The funnel 24 is in particular formed by the first housing 26 of the magnet unit 20. In this example embodiment, the funnel 24 is embodied in a prism shape with a rectangular base. However, the funnel 24 can also be embodied in a prism shape with a base of a different shape or as a pyramid frustum or cone frustum. In particular, it is possible for the funnel 24 to be cylindrical. The design of the funnel 24 can in particular take account of the necessary stability of the magnet unit 20 and the geometric shape of the beam path of the radiation 32 from the first radiation unit 30. In the example embodiment, the funnel 24 is filled with air. However it is also possible to fill the funnel 24 with another material which can be penetrated by the radiation emitted by the first radiation unit 30 [0079]); and recording the radiation dose of the subject using the fourth model.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lee and Ji with the teachings of Leghissa to relate to the region of a detector and to improve radiation dosage.
Claim 20-21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee and Ji, and further in view of Ma et al. (US20120294413) hereinafter referred to as ‘Ma’.
Regarding to Claim 20, Lee discloses a method for radiation dose management, which is implemented on a computing device including at least one processor and at least one storage device, comprising (The following generally relates to imaging and more particularly to optimizing ionizing radiation dose of a scan based on the radiation dose utilized with previous scans and the radiologist reports corresponding to those scans [0001; A general-purpose computing system or computer serves as an operator console 120 [0019]]):obtaining historical scan information of a plurality of historical scans of a subject (The imaging system is configured to scan a patient based on predetermined scan parameters of a planned scan of a patient, wherein the predetermined scan parameters include at least one scan parameter that affects a dose delivered to the patient when the patient is scanned [0008]); determining, based on the historical scan information, a current distribution of an accumulative radiation dose corresponding to the plurality of historical scans in at least one dimension of the subject (In another aspect, a system includes an imaging system, a report and dose evaluator and a validator. The imaging system is configured to scan a patient based on predetermined scan parameters of a planned scan of a patient, wherein the predetermined scan parameters include at least one scan parameter that affects a dose delivered to the patient when the patient is scanned. The report and dose evaluator determines an optimal dose for a scan of the patient based on a relationship between a quality of findings in radiologist reports and measured deposited dose of previously performed scans of patients. The validator compares an estimated dose value of the planned scan and the optimal dose value and generates a signal indicating whether the estimated dose value exceeds the optimal dose value. In response to the estimated dose value not exceeding the optimal dose value, the imaging system performs the scan based on the predetermined scan parameters [0008]), displaying the accumulative radiation dose in a visualization model of the subject corresponding to one or more historical scans (Briefly turning to FIG. 3, the data of Table 1 is graphically depicted. In FIG. 3, a y-axis 302 represents quality of findings and an x-axis 304 represents dose. Using a sigmoid (logistic) function, the modeler 214, in this non-limiting example, fits a curve 306 to data points 308-318 corresponding to the data of Table 1 as follows: y=A/(1+exp(-(dose-B)/C)+D, where A, B, C, and D are variables such that D represents the minimum value of the fitted regression function [0033]) and an estimation of a radiation dose of a current scan before the current scan is performed on the subject (Where the accumulated dose of the patient is also known, the signal may also indicate whether the scan will increase the patient's dose beyond a predetermined recommended accumulated dose level. The radiologist can determine whether to continue with the current dose level or change scan parameters to reduce the dose level based on the accumulated dose [0023]);performing the current scan on the subject whose radiation dose is less than or equal to a dose threshold (Otherwise, at 514, a validation confirmation can be conveyed to the imaging system. If the scan would increase the patient accumulated dose beyond a recommended threshold, a notification indicating this can also be conveyed to the imaging system [0051]); determining or adjusting a scan protocol of a next scan of the subject based on the current distribution of the accumulative radiation dose in the visualization model of the subject (Such validation may include estimating and/or obtaining an estimated dose for the planned scan and comparing the estimated dose with an optimal dose for the scan as determined by the report and dose evaluator 124. In one instance, the estimated dose for the planned scan for the patient is obtained based on information of the patient extracted from the data repository 122 and the same criteria from the grouping criteria 208 that was used to group patients [0022];A modeler 214 models the evaluated data. By way of example, in one non-limiting instance, the modeler 214 employs a mathematical model to model quality of findings in a radiologist report as a function of dose [0030]); and performing the next scan by the medical device using the determined or adjusted scan protocol (Such validation may include estimating and/or obtaining an estimated dose for the planned scan and comparing the estimated dose with an optimal dose for the scan as determined by the report and dose evaluator 124. In one instance, the estimated dose for the planned scan for the patient is obtained based on information of the patient extracted from the data repository 122 and the same criteria from the grouping criteria 208 that was used to group patients [0022]).
However, Lee does not explicitly disclose displaying the current distribution of the accumulative radiation dose in a visualization model of the subject corresponding to one or more historical scans and an estimated distribution of a radiation dose of a current scan before the current scan is performed on the subject.
Nevertheless, Ma discloses displaying the current distribution of the accumulative radiation dose in a visualization model of the subject (In some other implementations, the detector arrays may alternatively be implemented using volumetric detector arrays, which may record a radiation dosage distribution in 3-D [0058]) and an estimated distribution of a radiation dose of a scan performed on the subject (In some other implementations, the detector arrays may alternatively be implemented using volumetric detector arrays, which may record a radiation dosage distribution in 3-D [0058]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lee and Ji with the teachings of Ma to include dosage distribution in 3D that represents the object to be scanned while improving the accuracy of the model and the scanning protocol .
Regarding Claim 21, Lee and Ji disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Lee discloses the radiation dose in a visualization model of at least a portion of the subject includes (as discussed above): generating, based on a scan image of the subject, a subject model representing at least a portion of the subject (as discussed above); and generating the model by mapping the scan region and the radiation dose of the scan region on the subject model according to the record model (as discussed above).
However, Lee does not explicitly disclose the visualizing the distribution of the radiation dose in a visualization model of at least a portion of the subject includes: generating, based on a scan image of the subject, a subject model representing at least a portion of the subject; and generating the visualization model by mapping the scan region and the radiation dose of the scan region on the subject model according to the record model.
Nevertheless, Ma discloses the visualizing the distribution of the radiation dose in a visualization model of at least a portion of the subject includes (as discussed above) and generating the visualization model by mapping the scan region and the radiation dose of the scan region (as discussed above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lee and Ji with the teachings of Ma to include dosage distribution in 3D that represents the object to be scanned while improving the accuracy of the model and the scanning protocol.
Response to Arguments
35 USC § 103
Applicant' s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3-15 and 17-21 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
With regards to disclosing “Accordingly, Ji fails to disclose or suggest, inter alia, "recording the radiation dose corresponding to the each position of the plurality of positions of the scan region based on the record mode; and the record mode includes a radiation dose curve, a radiation dose model, a radiation dose table, or a radiation dose chart; visualizing the distribution of the radiation dose in a visualization model of at least a portion of the subject after a current scan is performed on the subject" recited in amended claim 1”.
Lee in combination with Ji was relied upon to disclose "recording the radiation dose corresponding to the each position of the plurality of positions of the scan region based on the record mode; and the record mode includes a radiation dose curve, a radiation dose model, a radiation dose table, or a radiation dose chart; visualizing the distribution of the radiation dose in a visualization model of at least a portion of the subject after a current scan is performed on the subject”.
Conclusion
/SHARAH ZAAB/Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/Catherine T. Rastovski/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857