DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment of 30 January 2026, in which claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 13, 17-20 have been amended, claims 3, 5, 7-12, 22-30 have been cancelled, and new claims 31-43 have been added, is acknowledged.
Claims 1-2, 4, 6, 13-21, 31-43 are pending in the instant application.
Claims 1-2, 4, 6, 13-21, 31-43 are being examined on their merits herein.
Response to arguments of 30 January 2026
In view of Applicant’s amendment of 30 January 2026, all the rejections and objections to claims 3, 5, 7-12, 22-30 are herein withdrawn. Claims 3, 5, 7-12, 22-30 have been cancelled.
In view of Applicant’s amendment of 30 January 2026, the objection to claims 22-30, 2, 6, 8, 12, 3 are herein withdrawn. Claims 22-30, 3, 8, 12 have been cancelled. Applicant has clarified claims 2, 6.
On 30 January 2026, in response to an objection to the Specification, Applicant has submitted an amendment to the Specification with incorrect numbering for the paragraphs amended. Specifically, what is presented in the amendment of 30 January 2026 as paragraph [0050] corresponds actually to [0052] in the original Specification; [0051] corresponds to original [0053]; and the same is the case for all paragraphs, including [0064] in the amended Specification of 01/30/2026, which corresponds to [0066] in the original Specification.
Importantly, not all paragraphs have been amended- for example, [0050] in the original Specification is not amended, even though it contains reference to at least one stereoisomer selected from (R)-b-ketopentanoate, and (S)-b-ketopentanoate (which do not exist, because beta-ketopentanoate does not have a chiral center).
Further, some of the paragraphs are deleted, without re-numbering the remaining paragraphs. Applicant is required to submit a replacement Specification, marked and clean-up version, indicating all the changes, with correct numbers for all paragraphs.
The objection to the Specification is herein maintained.
In view of Applicant’s amendment of 30 January 2026, the rejection of claims 3-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite, is herein withdrawn. Claim 3, 9-12 have been cancelled. Applicant has deleted from claim 4 recitations related to enantiomers of b-ketopentanoate, which is a compound that does not have a chiral center. New rejections are made below, based on Applicant’s amendment of 30 January 2026.
In view of Applicant’s amendment of 30 January 2026, the rejection of claims 1, 2 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) over Roe, C. (US 2006/0004099) is herein withdrawn. New rejections are made below, based on Applicant’s amendment of 30 January 2026.
In view of Applicant’s amendment of 30 January 2026, the rejection of claims 1-4, 13, 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Seebach is herein withdrawn.
New rejections are made below, based on Applicant’s amendment of 30 January 2026.
On 30 January 2026, Applicant has filed a terminal disclaimer over US patent 11,337,945. The terminal disclaimer has been disapproved (see reasons of 28 February 2026). The rejection of the claims on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,337,945 is herein maintained.
Applicant’s amendment of 30 January 2026 necessitated the following new and modified objections and rejections.
Objection to the Specification
The Specification is objected to because it recites [0050] A composition containing b-ketopentanoate may comprises at least one stereoisomer selected from (R)-b-ketopentanoate, and (S)-b-ketopentanoate. See also [0052], [0054], [0057], [0058], [0059], [0060], [0063], [0064], [0066]. This is incorrect, because there is no chiral center in b-ketopentanoate.
Applicant is required to correct the Specification by identifying and deleting all recitations of (R)-b-ketopentanoate, and (S)-b-ketopentanoate, or non-racemic b-ketopentanoate.
Applicant is required to correct all instances in the Specification that recite enantiomers or racemic b-ketopentanoate, and, when entire paragraphs are deleted, Applicant is required to make appropriate changes to the numbering of paragraphs in the Specification.
Claim Rejections- 35 USC 112
Claims 4, 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 is unclear because it recites “increased endogenous production of
”. It is unclear how the increase is to be measured, as the claim fails to establish a standard or threshold level. It is unclear what biological sample is used for the measurement. It is unclear what the reference sample, used in the comparison, is. In other words, it appears that claim 4 refers to measuring levels of biological molecules in two different biological samples and comparing said levels between the two different biological samples; however, the claim fails to clearly establish the origins of the two different biological samples, or the reference or standard by which one would make a comparison of levels of the one or more biological molecules. One wishing to practice the instantly claimed invention would thus not recognize the metes and bounds for which Applicant seeks protection.
Further, in claim 4, it is unclear what fatty acids and sterols result from the endogenous conversion of S-b-hydroxypentanoate.
The same analysis applies to claim 33.
Appropriate clarification is required.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 13-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 1 recites the broad recitation combinations of (R)-b-hydroxypentanoate, and (S)-b-hydroxypentanoate (in any relative ratio, thus including racemic or non-racemic b-hydroxypentanoate), and the claim also recites a non-racemic mixture of b-hydroxypentanoate, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 is unclear because it recites that the composition further comprises a non-racemic mixture of b-hydroxypentanoate. Yet, claim 1 already contains at least one C5 ketone body selected from R- or S- b-hydroxypentanoate, and combinations thereof. It is unclear whether the non-racemic mixture of b-hydroxypentanoate in claim 1 is in addition (“further comprises”) to the already present R- or S- b-hydroxypentanoate.
Claim 1 is further confusing with respect to the amounts of C5 ketone bodies and other ingredients present in the composition. Claim 1 recites that the composition comprises more than 0% and less than 100% wt. of at least one C5 ketone body; and a pharmaceutical carrier; and the composition further comprises non-racemic b-hydroxypentanoate. Since the at least one C5 ketone body is present at less than 100% wt. of the composition, say 99.99%, it is unclear what % wt. is left for the carrier, let alone for the non-racemic b-hydroxypentanoate.
Appropriate clarification is required.
Claims 13-20 are indefinite for a number of reasons. Claim 13 and dependent claims 14-20 are unclear because they depend on claim 1 and recite that the C5 ketone body is further selected from the group consisting of:
one or more salt of the C5 ketone body;
one or more amino acid salt of the C5 ketone body;
one or more ester of the C5 ketone body;
one or more acid of the C5 ketone body;
one or more polymer of the C5 ketone body; and combinations thereof.
Yet, claim 1 does not recite salts, esters, acids or polymers of a C5 keto body. As such, there is insufficient antecedent basis for the recitation salt, amino acid salt, ester, acid, or polymer of C5 ketone body of claim 13, in claim 1.
Furthermore, it is unclear what is meant by “further selected” in claim 13.
Appropriate clarification/correction of the claim language is required.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 13 recites the broad recitation “salt of C5 ketone body”, and the claim also recites “amino acid salt of C5 ketone body”, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 31-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 31 recites the broad recitation combinations of (R)-b-hydroxypentanoate, and (S)-b-hydroxypentanoate (in any relative ratio, thus including racemic or non-racemic b-hydroxypentanoate), and the claim also recites a non-racemic mixture of b-hydroxypentanoate, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 31 is unclear because it recites that the composition further comprises a non-racemic mixture of b-hydroxypentanoate. Yet, claim 31 already contains at least one C5 ketone body selected from R- or S- b-hydroxypentanoate, and combinations thereof. It is unclear whether the non-racemic mixture of b-hydroxypentanoate in claim 31 is in addition (“further comprises”) to the already present R- or S- b-hydroxypentanoate.
Claim 31 is further confusing with respect to the amounts of C5 ketone bodies and other ingredients present in the composition. Claim 31 recites that the composition comprises more than 0% and less than 100% wt. of at least one C5 ketone body; and a pharmaceutical carrier; and the composition further comprises non-racemic b-hydroxypentanoate. Since the at least one C5 ketone body is present at less than 100% wt. of the composition, say 99.99%, it is unclear what % wt. is left for the carrier, let alone for the non-racemic b-hydroxypentanoate.
Appropriate clarification is required.
Claims 35-42 are indefinite for a number of reasons. Claim 35 and dependent claims 36-42 are unclear because they depend on claim 31 and recite that the C5 ketone body is further selected from the group consisting of:
one or more salt of the C5 ketone body;
one or more amino acid salt of the C5 ketone body;
one or more ester of the C5 ketone body;
one or more acid of the C5 ketone body;
one or more polymer of the C5 ketone body; and combinations thereof.
Yet, claim 31 does not recite salts, esters, acids or polymers of a C5 keto body. As such, there is insufficient antecedent basis for the recitation salt, amino acid salt, ester, acid, or polymer of C5 ketone body of claim 35, in claim 31.
Furthermore, it is unclear what is meant by “further selected” in claim 35.
Appropriate clarification/correction of the claim language is required.
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 35 recites the broad recitation “salt of C5 ketone body”, and the claim also recites “amino acid salt of C5 ketone body”, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections- 35 USC 102
Claims 1, 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Roe, C. (US 2006/0004099, cited in PTO-892).
Roe teaches (claims 1, 2, 9) a composition comprising an odd carbon fatty acid and a carrier, wherein the odd carbon fatty acid comprises 3-hydroxypentanoate (BHP), 3-ketopentanoate (BKP) and mixtures and combinations thereof.
3-hydroxypentanoate (BHP) is a C5-ketone body of instant claims 1, 2.
3-ketopentanoate (BKP) is a C5-ketone body of instant claims 1, 2.
Roe teaches [0091] that the C5 ketone bodies BHP and BKP can be administered in the form of either free ketone bodies (as acids, X = H in instant claim 2) or in other forms, namely as a triglyceride (ester) form (X is alkyl in instant claim 2), a polymeric form or a salt form (X is a metal ion), capable of providing the free ketone in vivo after administration.
As such, instant claims 1, 2 are anticipated by Roe.
Claim Rejections- 35 USC 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 6, 13-21, 31-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roe, C. (US 2006/0004099, cited in PTO-892 of 27 August 2025) and Seebach et al. (Helv. Chim. Acta 1994, 77, 2007-2034, cited in PTO-892 of 27 August 2025).
Roe teaches (claims 1, 2, 9) a composition comprising an odd carbon fatty acid and a carrier, wherein the odd carbon fatty acid comprises 3-hydroxypentanoate (BHP), 3-ketopentanoate (BKP) and mixtures and combinations thereof.
3-hydroxypentanoate (BHP) is a 1:1 mixture/combination of R- and S- b-hydroxypentanoate as C5 ketone bodies of instant claims 1, 2, 31, 32.
3-ketopentanoate (BKP) is a C5-ketone body of instant claims 1, 2, 31, 32.
Roe teaches [0091] that the C5 ketone bodies BHP and BKP can be administered in the form of either free ketone bodies (as acids, X = H in instant claim 2, 32, acid in claims 13, 35, 20, 42) or in other forms, namely as a triglyceride (ester) form (X is alkyl in instant claim 2, 32, ester in claims 13, 35), a polymeric form (as in claims 13, 35) or a salt form (X is a metal ion in claims 2, 32, salt in claims 13, 35), capable of providing the free ketone in vivo after administration.
Roe does not teach non-racemic mixtures of R- and S- b-hydroxypentanoate in the composition added to 3-hydroxypentanoate (BHP) or to 3-ketopentanoate (BKP), as in the instant claims.
Seebach (Helv. Chim. Acta 1994, 77, 2007-2034) teaches preparation of enantiomerically pure (R)-3-hydroxypentanoic acid (13)
(page 2009, under point 2.2, Scheme 1), which is a C5 ketone body of instant claims 1, 2, 13, 31, 32, 35, and is a C5 ketone body of instant claims 2, 32 wherein X = H.
Seebach also teaches (Scheme 2) polymers of (R)-3-hydroxypentanoic acid
, which are polymers of instant claim 13.
It would have been obvious to add water as a pharmaceutical or dietetically acceptable carrier to compounds (13), (3), or to the polymers of (R)-3-hydroxypentanoic acid disclosed by Seebach, to arrive at the instantly claimed composition.
As such, claims 1-4, 13, 20 are rejected as prima facie obvious.
Double patenting
Claims 1-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable at least over claims 1-8, 10-14, 18-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,337,945 (cited in PTO-892). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-8, 10-14, 18-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,337,945 anticipate or render obvious the instant claims.
Claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,337,945 teaches orally administering a composition comprising about 1 g to about 50 g of at least one of: β-hydroxypentanoate, β-hydroxypentanoate salt, β-ketopentanoate, or β-ketopentanoate salt.
As such, the instant claims are rendered obvious by claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,337,945.
Conclusion
Claims 1-2, 4, 6, 13-21, 31-43 are rejected.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/IRINA NEAGU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1629