DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination
Any rejections and/or objections made in the previous office action and not repeated below are hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9-15 and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (WO2019/060658, ‘658 hereafter) in view of Krebs et al (US 5,965,662, of record, ‘662 hereafter) and Regan et al (US 5,290,853, of record, ‘853 hereafter).
Regarding claims 1-2, 4-6, 9-14 and 18-21, ‘658 discloses a moisture reactive hot melt adhesive polyurethane composition ([0008]-[00021]), comprising a product of a mixture comprising a polyisocyanate being MDI in a content of 5 to 40 wt% based on the total adhesive weight, satisfying present claims 11 and 18 ([0014], [00015], [00037]); one or more polyol being polyester polyols satisfying Formula 1 and Formula 2 as in the present claim 2, which include poly(alkyldiol adipate) with R1 being a residue of a glycol of 1.4-butanediol, 1,5-hexanediol or ethylene glycol, and number average molecular weight being 2,000 to 10,000, in a content range of 10 to 35 wt% based on the total adhesive weight, satisfying instant claims 2 and 4-6 ([0008]-[0009], [00031]-[00032], Examples, Table 1 and 3, polyester polyol A to N); an inorganic filler being calcium carbonate in a content of 10 to 50 wt% ([00016], [00017], [0036]) as in the present claims 12 and 19; a thermoplastic polymer being an acrylic polymer having a weight average molecular weight 30,000 to 80,000, Tg from 35 to 85 °C, a hydroxyl number less than 8, and in a content of 10 to 40 wt%, satisfying present claims 9-10 and 20 ([00012], [00013], [00038]); and one or more additives including additional filler, plasticizer, catalyst, colorant, rheology modifier, flame retardant, UV pigment, nanofiber, defoamer, tackifier, curing catalyst, anti-oxidant, adhesion promoter, stabilizer, a thixotropic agent or mixtures thereof as in present claims 13 and 20 ([00018], [0041]). The composition also comprises a catalyst being dimorpholinodiethylether ([00040]) as in the present claim 14. ‘658 dose not specifically set forth that the adhesive composition further comprises a MA-SCA acid having a content as recited in the present claims 1 and 21. However, it known in the art that a MA-SCA acid such as phosphoric acid can be used in a polyurethane composition to reduce the reactivity in order to stabilize the polyurethane composition before being applied, as evidenced by ‘662 and ‘853 (C7/L50-L55 of ‘662 and C4/L24-L35 of ‘853); wherein the content range of the acid can be 50 to 500 ppm based on total amount of the polyurethane composition (C4/L33 of ‘853), which falls within the presently claimed range as in claims 1 and 21. In light of these teachings, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use a MA-SCA acid as known in the art, to modify the polyurethane hot-melt adhesive of ‘658, in order to render an polyurethane hot-melt adhesive having better stability.
Regarding claim 3, modified ‘658 teaches all the limitations of claim 1, but ‘658 does not specifically set forth that the composition comprising both polyester diol of Formula 1 and a polyester diol of Formula 2. However, since ‘658 teaches each of the polyester diols can be used to form the holt melt polyurethane composition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to further use these polyester diols together in the adhesive composition of ‘658. It is well settled that it is prima facie obvious to combine two ingredients each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose. The idea of combining them flows logically from having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (See MPEP 2144.06).
Regarding claim 15, modified ‘658 teaches all the limitations of claim 1, ‘658 also discloses that the adhesive can be used to make an article ([00042]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 04/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection in light of Applicant's amendment.
Conclusion
/RUIYUN ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782