DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The rejections pursuant to 112(b) with respect to claims 8 and 9 are withdrawn in light of amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed on 06/16/2026 have been fully considered.
With regards to applicants’ argument under “Claim Rejections - 35 USC & 103” on pages 5-7 of Remarks for claims 7-8 and 10, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicants’ argument that the examiner must provide an adequate reason why a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have modified the reference or combination of references to arrive at the claimed invention and that the examiner failed to adequately articulate a reason for his position, that "it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify wherein aggregate local, cross-sectional area of all threads aligned along any axial cross-section along the axial centerline of the connector of Fontana to be less than twelve percent (12%) of that of corresponding local, axial cross-sectional area of the connector wall", examiner has provided an adequate reason, as set forth in the Non-Final Office Action. The Examiner relied upon MPEP 2144.04 IV A, which recognizes that a rationale supporting a conclusion of obviousness may be based on legal precedent. Therefore, the examiner has adequately articulated a reason for their position.
With regards to applicants’ argument under “Claim Rejections - 35 USC & 103” on pages 7-9 of Remarks for claim 9, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicants’ argument that Posiflush is a two-lead thread and not a four-lead thread as claimed, the rejection does not rely on Posiflush for teaching a four-lead thread. Rather, Posiflush is relied upon for teaching the dimensions of the helix angle, thread angle, thread depth, root axial width, and thread lead. The modification of Fontana does not require changing the four-lead thread disclosed by Fontana, but modifying Fontana’s four-lead, male external helical threads to comprise the same dimensions of the helix angle, thread angle, thread depth, root axial width, and thread lead as taught by Posiflush. In response to the argument that the examiner failed to adequately articulate a reason for his position, it is not persuasive due to the same reasons as stated above.
With regards to applicants’ argument under “Claim Rejections - 35 USC & 103” on pages 9-11 of Remarks for claim 11, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicants’ argument that Fontana does not disclose or suggest a connector that is a female and male Luer connector, nor does Fontana disclose or suggest the technical problem and benefit of incorporating a four-lead thread, Fontana does expressly disclose a connector that is a female and male Luer connector as stated in the Non-Final Office Action. Fontana discloses a female Luer connector defining an axial centerline (30 – Fig.1) and four-lead, male, external helical threads on the outer wall circumferential surface (36 – Fig.1, “four-start threads” – Para [0052]). The technical problem and benefit of incorporating a four-lead thread is not necessary to establish the teachings of Fontana since Fontana discloses a four-lead thread. There is no need to identify a technical problem and benefit since the four-lead thread is already provided by Fontana.
With regards to applicants’ argument under “Claim Rejections - 35 USC & 103” on pages 9-11 of Remarks for claim 12, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive due to the same reasons as stated above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fontana (US Pub No. 20220184369 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Fontana discloses a system comprising a monolithic, molded-polymer body (“formed in one piece from a medically acceptable thermoplastic, for example by injection molding” – Para [0051]) forming a female Luer connector defining an axial centerline (30 – Fig.1), the connector having inner (39 – Fig.1) and outer wall (Shown at 37 – Fig.1) circumferential surfaces, concentric with the axial centerline, which define a connector wall thickness therebetween relative to the axial centerline (See annotated Fig.1 below); four-lead, male, external helical threads on the outer wall circumferential surface (36 – Fig.1, “four-start threads” – Para [0052]), each helical thread having a respective, local, axial cross-section about the outer wall (Fig.1), the helical threads circumscribing a nested, concentrically aligned, frusto-conical, Luer-tapered, female mating surface that is formed in the inner wall circumferential surface (34 – Fig.1);
Fontana does not disclose wherein aggregate local, cross-sectional area of all threads aligned along any axial cross-section along the axial centerline of the connector is less than twelve percent (12%) of that of corresponding local, axial cross-sectional area of the connector wall.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify wherein aggregate local, cross-sectional area of all threads aligned along any axial cross-section along the axial centerline of the connector of Fontana to be less than twelve percent (12%) of that of corresponding local, axial cross-sectional area of the connector wall since it has been held that mere changes in size/proportion are obvious, MPEP 2144.04 IV A. the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In the instant case, the device of Fontana would not operate differently with the claimed size/proportion of the cross-sectional area of all threads aligned along any axial cross-section along the axial centerline of the connector. Further, applicant places no criticality on the size/proportion claimed, indicating simply, “in some embodiments, aggregate local, cross-sectional area of all threads aligned along any axial cross-section along the axial centerline of the connector is less than twelve percent (12%) of that of corresponding local, axial cross-sectional area of the connector wall” (Para [0014]).
Regarding claim 8, Fontana discloses the system as disclosed above, further comprising a syringe cap (Shown at 37 – Fig.1).
Regarding claim 10, Fontana discloses the system as disclosed above, further comprising a patient vascular port (Shown at 34 – Fig.1).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fontana in view of the recited prior art in applicants’ specification (POSIFLUSH®).
Regarding claim 9, Fontana discloses the system as disclosed above, further comprising each of the four-lead, male external helical threads having dimensions, but Fontana does not explicitly disclose wherein each of the four-lead, male external helical threads having the following local dimensions relative to the axial centerline (in millimeters and degrees):
an 11.98-degree helix angle;
a 46-degree thread angle;
a 0.43 thread depth;
a 0.53 root axial width;
a 0.37 crest axial width;
a 5.08 thread lead; and
a 1.27 thread pitch.
(POSIFLUSH®) teaches a two-lead, male external helical threads having the following local dimensions relative to the axial centerline (in millimeters and degrees):
an 11.98-degree helix angle;
a 46-degree thread angle;
a 0.43 thread depth;
a 0.53 root axial width;
a 5.08 thread lead;
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the four-lead, male external helical threads of Fontana to comprise the same dimensions of the helix angle, thread angle, thread depth, root axial width, and thread lead taught by POSIFLUSH® since POSIFLUSH® teaches that these dimensions are well known, typical axial, cross-sectional dimensions of a Luer connector portion of a syringe cap.
It would also be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the crest axial width to be 0.37mm and the thread pitch to be 1.27mm since it has been held that mere changes in size/proportion are obvious, MPEP 2144.04 IV A. the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In the instant case, the device of Fontana would not operate differently with the claimed size/proportion of the local dimensions relative to the axial centerline. Further, applicant places no criticality on the size/proportion claimed, indicating simply, “Therefore, the four-start thread, syringe cap of the present disclosure reduces axial, cross-sectional area of each helical rib by approximately 66 percent, compared to that of the helical rib of the known two-start syringe cap” (Para [0039]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fontana in view of Davis et al. (US Pub No. 20130046287 A1, herein, Davis).
Regarding claim 11, Fontana discloses a connector comprising:
a monolithic, molded-polymer, tubular body (“formed in one piece from a medically acceptable thermoplastic, for example by injection molding” – Para [0051]), defining an axial centerline, and a female Luer connector on a proximal end of the tubular body (30 – Fig.1);
respective inner (39 – Fig.1) and outer walls (Shown at 37 – Fig.1), and respective inner and outer wall circumferential surfaces of the female Luer connector defining a connector wall thickness therebetween relative to the axial centerline (See annotated Fig.1 above);
four-lead, male, external helical threads on the outer wall circumferential surface (36 – Fig.1, “four-start threads” – Para [0052]) of the female Luer connector each helical thread having a respective, local, axial cross-section about the outer wall (Fig.1); and
a frusto-conical, Luer-tapered, female mating surface, formed in the inner wall circumferential surface of the female Luer connector, in nested, coaxial alignment with the helical threads (34 – Fig.1);
Fontana does not disclose the tubular body incorporating an annular grip surface on a distal axial end thereof and the respective inner and outer wall circumferential surfaces of the annular grip surface defining a grip wall thickness therebetween relative to the axial centerline and wherein aggregate local, cross-sectional area of all threads aligned along any axial cross-section along the axial centerline of the connector is less than twelve percent (12%) of that of corresponding local, axial cross-sectional area of the connector wall.
Davis teaches a tubular body (106 – Fig.1) incorporating an annular grip surface on a distal axial end thereof (“griping surface” – Para [0031]).
It would be obvious to one in the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the tubular body of Fontana to incorporate an annular grip surface as taught by Davis since Davis teaches that ridges provide a gripping surface that enables a user to hold or grasp on to while positioning the tubular body about male tubing fitting (Davis, Para [0031]).
it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify wherein aggregate local, cross-sectional area of all threads aligned along any axial cross-section along the axial centerline of the connector of Fontana to be less than twelve percent (12%) of that of corresponding local, axial cross-sectional area of the connector wall since it has been held that mere changes in size/proportion are obvious, MPEP 2144.04 IV A. the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In the instant case, the device of Fontana would not operate differently with the claimed size/proportion of the cross-sectional area of all threads aligned along any axial cross-section along the axial centerline of the connector. Further, applicant places no criticality on the size/proportion claimed, indicating simply, “in some embodiments, aggregate local, cross-sectional area of all threads aligned along any axial cross-section along the axial centerline of the connector is less than twelve percent (12%) of that of corresponding local, axial cross-sectional area of the connector wall” (Para [0014]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fontana in view of Davis and further in view of the recited prior art in applicants’ specification (POSIFLUSH®).
Regarding claim 12, Fontana discloses the system as disclosed above, further comprising each of the four-lead, male external helical threads having dimensions, but Fontana does not explicitly disclose wherein each of the four-lead, male external helical threads having the following local dimensions relative to the axial centerline (in millimeters and degrees):
an 11.98-degree helix angle;
a 46-degree thread angle;
a 0.43 thread depth;
a 0.53 root axial width;
a 0.37 crest axial width;
a 5.08 thread lead; and
a 1.27 thread pitch.
(POSIFLUSH®) teaches a four-lead, male external helical threads having the following local dimensions relative to the axial centerline (in millimeters and degrees):
an 11.98-degree helix angle;
a 46-degree thread angle;
a 0.43 thread depth;
a 0.53 root axial width;
a 5.08 thread lead;
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the four-lead, male external helical threads of Fontana to comprise the same dimensions of the helix angle, thread angle, thread depth, root axial width, and thread lead as taught by POSIFLUSH® since POSIFLUSH® teaches that these dimensions are well known, typical axial, cross-sectional dimensions of a Luer connector portion of a syringe cap.
It would also be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the crest axial width to be 0.37mm and the thread pitch to be 1.27mm since it has been held that mere changes in size/proportion are obvious, MPEP 2144.04 IV A. the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In the instant case, the device of Fontana would not operate differently with the claimed size/proportion of the local dimensions relative to the axial centerline. Further, applicant places no criticality on the size/proportion claimed, indicating simply, “Therefore, the four-start thread, syringe cap of the present disclosure reduces axial, cross-sectional area of each helical rib by approximately 66 percent, compared to that of the helical rib of the known two-start syringe cap” (Para [0039]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARISSA TAYLOR/ Examiner, Art Unit 3783 /LAURA A BOUCHELLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783