DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
Claim 14 is pending and is currently amended and claims 1-13 and 15-21 are canceled.
Status of Previous Rejections
The previous rejection of claim 14 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Usui et al. (US 5,437,746) is withdrawn in view of the Applicant’s amendment to claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anyalebechi et al. (Effects of Cooling Rate and Grain Refining on Constituent Phase Particle Size in As-Cast 3004 Alloy).
In regard to claim 14, Anyalebechi et al. discloses continuous casting aluminum base alloys to a thickness of 6 to 12 mm thick strips, which overlaps the range of the instant invention thereby establishing prima facie obviousness (page 482, right column). MPEP 2144.05 I.
With respect to the recitation “primary phase of solid aluminum” in claim 14, the matrix phase in Anyalebechi et al. would be aluminum and thus would read on this limitation as being the “primary phase”.
With respect to the recitation “a secondary phase including an alloying element” in claim 14, Anyalebechi et al. teaches that as the cooling rate is increased more of the Al6(Fe,Mn) phase is formed (Table IV). The secondary phase would include alloy elements manganese and iron.
With respect to the recitation “wherein the alloying element is supersaturated in the primary phase by fast cooling freshly-solidified metal to a temperature at or below 100°C within ten seconds” in claim 14, Anyalebechi et al. teaches as cooling immediately prior to pouring (page 484, left column) and as the rate of cooling is increased, the average constituent particle length, µm would decrease (Figure 27). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing of the instant invention to modify the cooling rate in order to achieve the desired average particle size. MPEP 2144.05 II. Additionally, dendrite arm spacing is reduced by higher cooling rates and it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing of the instant invention to modify the cooling rate in order to achieve the desired dendrite arm spacing (page 485, right column and Figure 7). MPEP 2144.05 II. Further, aluminum melts at approximately 660°C and Anyalebechi et al. teaches forming fine intermetallic particles with diameter or length of 0.5 to 2 micrometers by cooling at a rate of 300 to 2000°C/second (page 482, right column). Thus, it would take no more than 2 seconds to achieve a temperature of at or below 100°C.
With respect to the recitation “intermediate metal product” in claim 14, Anyalebechi et al. teaches sectioning and polishing the castings (page 484, left column). Thus, castings that have not been sectioned and polished would be considered intermediate products whereas the sectioned and polished samples would be final products.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered, but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
/JESSEE R ROE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759