DETAILED ACTION
Applicants' arguments, filed 02/12/2026, have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Status
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12, 21-25 and 27-35, are pending and under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12, 21-25 and 27-35, stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baek et al (CA 3046296 A1), in view of Maleki et al (Res in Pharm Sci, 2015, 10(2), pp 95-108), and Eswariah (WO 2017/025981), as evidenced by Merriam-Webster (dose, retrieved 2026).
Baek et al teach an orally disintegrating tablet, the tablet containing an active compound of formula 2 (abs, end of pg 1, tables 1 and 2). The tablets comprise the active formula 2 at 5.0 and 10.0 wt%, crospovidone (disintegrant) at 6.35 wt%, magnesium stearate (lubricant) at 0.9 wt%, mannitol (hydrophilic excipient and diluent) at 69.75 and 67.25 wt%, pregelatinized starch (diluent) at 12.5 and 10 wt% (table 1, pg 6, pg 18). The tablets of example 2, following disintegration in saliva, have a particle size of several microns where comparative example 2 had a particle size of 100 microns or more (pg 26 last ¶). In examples 1 and 2, the carbamate compound of formula 2 was sieved through a 30 mesh sieve, resulting in a particle size of at least less than 595 microns (pg 21). The immediate release tablets comprising the active of formula 2 comprises a dose of 200 mg (ex 1 and 2). As evidenced by Merriam-Webster, dose is a defined by the measured quantity of a therapeutic agent to be taken at one time. The dosage of the carbamate compound can vary depending on the severity of disease, body weight, and the metabolic status of the subject (pg 19). The therapeutically effective amount of the compounds (i.e., the carbamate compound) is 50-400 mg, etc. (pg 19). The tablets were formulated with a tablet press (pg 21). The tablets of example 2, following disintegration in saliva, have a particle size of several microns where comparative example 2 had a particle size of 100 microns or more (pg 26 last ¶). The dissolution of example 1 is shown in figure 1 (fig 1). The particle sizes indicate there will be almost no foreign body sensation and residual feeling (pg 26). The reference further teaches the tablets may further comprise hydroxypropyl cellulose (a suitable surfactant as evidenced by ¶ 49 of the instant specification) (claim 1, pg 16 1st ¶). The content of the disintegrant is 1-10 wt%, and preferably 2-5 wt%, and the carbamate compound is 2.5-25 wt% (pg 7). Baek et al note that other formulations in the prior art were disadvantageous in that dissolution rate in the oral cavity was low, and it was necessary to formulate a tablet with the carbamate compound of formula 2 that that were fast disintegrating for patients who are afraid to swallow the tablets or try to avoid ingestion of the tablets (pp 3-4). The hydrophilic excipients include microcrystalline cellulose, lactose, etc. (pg 16). The disintegrant may be one or more of sodium starch glycolate, crospovidone, etc. (pg 17). The orally disintegrating tablet may be used for the treatment of anxiety, depression, convulsion, epilepsy, migraine, bipolar disorder, drug abuse, smoking, attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD), obesity, sleep disorders, neuropathic pain, stroke, cognitive disorders, and neurodegeneration or muscle spasm (pg 19).
Maleki et al teach that it was known that particle size and shape are important in every stage of solid oral dosage form (tablets are mentioned) and fabrication; in the body, dissolution rate is a function of solubility and particle size; the simplest way to increase the dissolution rate is particle size modification (micronization and nanosizing) of both actives and excipients (pg 96 2nd col last ¶). When particle size is reduced, the total effective surface area is increased and thereby dissolution rate is enhanced (pg 96 2nd col last ¶). Solubility, bioavailability and dissolution rate of drugs are important for achieving in vivo efficacy (abs). A mean particle size of 2-5 microns are exemplified (pg 97 1st col 1st ¶).
Maleki et al do not specifically teach the particle size distribution as instantly claimed.
Eswariah teaches carbamate compounds may undergo conventional size reduction techniques in order to provide the desired solubility profile based on different forms of pharmaceutical composition requirements. In an exemplary embodiment, D(0.5) was measured at 23.5µm and D(0.9) at 46.3µm.
Regarding the composition of claim 1, it would have been obvious to formulate the pharmaceutical compositions of examples 1 and 2 of Baek et al, which comprises the active agent of instant formula 2 and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (i.e., disintegrant, lubricant, and diluent).
Regarding the amount of active ingredient of claim 1, where the tablets of examples 1 and 2 of Baek et al comprise a dosage of 200 mg, and a dose is defined by Merriam-Webster as the amount of therapeutic agent, it appears that the 200 mg dose refers to the amount of the active ingredient, rather than the total weight of the tablet. The skilled artisan would reasonably recognize that when a dose of a composition comprising an active agent is disclosed, the dosage refers to the amount of the active agent, rather than the total tablet weight. This is further supported by Baek et al were “the dosage” is used in the context of the amount of carbamate compound, which can vary, rather than the total tablet weight.
Purely arguendo, even if the 200 mg dose is the total weight of the tablet, Baek et al teaches the tablets may comprise 25 wt% of the active agent, and accordingly, it would have been obvious for the skilled artisan to modify the amount of active in the tablets up to 25 wt%, thereby resulting in a tablet comprising 50 mg (25% of 200 mg = 50 mg) of instantly claimed formula 2, falling within the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding the particle size of claims 1, 2, and 3, where Baek et al teach that formulations with low oral dissolution were disadvantageous and that it was necessary to formulate a tablet with fast disintegration with immediate release for patients afraid to swallow or try to avoid ingestion of tablets, it would have been obvious for a skilled artisan to optimize the dissolution rate of the active agent in order to minimize the time it takes for the active to dissolve in the mouth of a patient that cannot or is trying to avoid taking the medication. As such, it would have been obvious to turn to known methods of improving dissolution rate, such as particle size reduction, as taught by Maleki et al, to sizes that were known to be suitable for other carbamate compounds, such as a d(0.5) at 23.5 microns and a d(0.9) at 46.3 microns, falling within the claimed ranges.
In addition to the above, a skilled artisan would also have motivation to optimize particle size where Baek et al teach it is desirable to formulate compositions without limited residual mouth feel and foreign body sensation. A skilled artisan would recognize from the teachings of Baek et al that smaller particle sizes would result in less residual mouth feel and foreign body sensation, improving the patient experience when taking the orally disintegrating tablet.
Regarding the dissolution of claims 1, 27, 28, and 29, example 1 and comparative example 1 both had about 100% dissolution within 10 minutes. Further, where the composition of Baek et al comprises the same components instantly claimed, and in the claimed amounts, and has a dissolution profile that falls within those instantly claimed, the particle size of the actives would be expected to be the same as instantly claimed, where Applicants appear to assert that the particle size is critical to achieving this dissolution profile.
Regarding claim 5, the examples of Baek comprise a diluent, a disintegrant, and a lubricant.
Regarding claim 6, it would have been obvious to further include hydroxypropyl cellulose, a suitable surfactant as evidenced by the instant specification, as taught by Baek et al.
Regarding claim 7, the dilutant in the composition made obvious above is pre-gelatinized starch.
Regarding claim 8, the composition made obvious above comprises crospovidone.
Regarding claims 9 and 32, the composition made obvious above comprises magnesium stearate.
Regarding claims 10 and 21, it would have been obvious to modify the amount of components in the composition of Baek et al, such as the amount of disintegrant from 1-10 wt%, as taught by Baek et al. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 12, the tablets were formulated with a tablet press (i.e., compressed tablet).
Regarding claims 22-25, it would have been obvious for a skilled artisan to adjust the average particle size within those ranges taught to be suitable in order to achieve desired body sensation, mouth feel, dissolution, etc.
Regarding claim 30, it would have been obvious to substitute the diluent in the examples Baek et al with other suitable diluents, including microcrystalline cellulose and lactose monohydrate, as taught by Baek et al.
Regarding claim 31, it would have been obvious to substitute the disintegrant in the examples of Baek et al with other suitable disintegrants, including sodium starch glycolate, as taught by Baek et al.
Regarding claim 33, it would have been obvious to substitute the diluent in the examples of Baek et al with microcrystalline cellulose, with those of claim 33, for the same reasons discussed above by Baek et al.
It would have been obvious to substitute the disintegrant in the examples of Baek et al with sodium starch glycolate, for the same reasons discussed above by Baek et al.
Regarding claim 34, it would have been obvious to administer to a subject in need thereof the pharmaceutical composition made obvious above for the method of treating a disease selected from anxiety, depression, convulsion, epilepsy, migraine, bipolar disorder, drug abuse, smoking, attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD), obesity, sleep disorders, neuropathic pain, stroke, cognitive disorders, and neurodegeneration or muscle spasm, as taught by Baek et al.
Regarding claim 35, it would have been obvious to administer to a subject in need thereof the pharmaceutical composition made obvious above for the method of treating epilepsy, as taught by Baek et al.
Response to Arguments
First, Applicants assert the cited references fail to describe at least the range of the amount of active ingredient as recited in claim 1. Applicants assert Baek merely describes that the tablets of Examples 1 and 2 weigh 200 mg, rather than that the tablets comprise 200 mg of the active ingredient. Further, Applicants assert Baek expressly describes that the active ingredient is comprised between 2.5-25 wt% per tablet, and in another embodiment the tablet may comprise active ingredient in an amount from 1-30 mg or 10-20 mg. Applicants assert the Office’s interpretation of 200 mg of the active ingredient would result in a tablet weighing 2,000 mg or 4,000 mg, which is inconsistent with Baek.
Second, Applicants assert that Baek’s description regarding a therapeutically effective amount is irrelevant to the tablet size of the actual amount of active ingredient in the tablets because a therapeutically effective amount merely corresponds to how much of a compound is needed for efficacy, and multiple tablets can be taken to achieve this amount.
Third, Applicants assert modifying the tablet size of Baek without explicit technical guidance would defeat the purpose of Baek as the reference describes a specific method of preparation with specific amounts of components to arrive at orally disintegrating tablets. Applicants assert there is no indication that changing tablet size or amounts of components outside of Baek’s disclosure would result in a tablet with similar properties. Applicants assert neither Maleki nor Eswariah provides any teaching or suggestion that modifying Baek’s method of preparation and component concentrations can still lead to tablets with rapid disintegration in the oral cavity, and asserts the skilled artisan would not have had a reasonable expectation of success.
First, respectfully, this argument is not persuasive. Applicants assert the 200 mg disclosed in examples 1 and 2 of Baek et al are the total weight of the tablet, however, dosages are typically used to describe the amount of active agent to be administered, rather than the total tablet weight. As evidenced by Merriam Webster, dose is defined as the measured quantity of a therapeutic agent to be taken at one time. Accordingly, where Baek et al teaches “an immediate-release tablet of 200 mg dose per tablet,” it appears that the dose is referring to the amount of the active ingredient per tablet, rather than the total tablet weight. This is further supported by Baek et al, as discussed above, which recites “the dosage of the carbamate compound of Formula 1 or 2… may typically vary…” (see pg 19 last ¶). Here, the term “dosage” explicitly refers to the amount of the active carbamate compound, rather than the total formulation weight. The examiner recognizes that Baek et al teaches from 1-30 mg of the active agent, however, this appears to simply be a preferred embodiment. Even so, purely arguendo, if the 200 mg is the total tablet weight, Baek et al teaches the active may also be up to 25 wt%, and 25 wt% of 200 mg is 50 mg of active, falling within the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I). Applicants assert a tablet weighing 2,000 mg or 4,000 mg is inconsistent with Baek et al, but Baek et al does not appear to limit the total weight of the tablet.
Second, respectfully, this argument is not persuasive. The examiner disagrees that the teachings of a therapeutically effective amount are irrelevant to the amount of active in the tablets. The skilled artisan would reasonably look to the known therapeutically effective amounts of the active agent when formulating an oral tablet comprising the active for therapeutic uses. While the examiner agrees that multiple tablets can be taken to achieve a therapeutically effective amount, by knowing the therapeutically effective amounts of the active, the skilled artisan could reasonably adjust the amount of active for a single tablet to meet the therapeutically effective dose. Nevertheless, as discussed above, even applying Applicants’ own interpretation where 200 mg is the total tablet weight, 25% of 200 mg is 50 mg, falling within the therapeutically effective amounts with a single tablet.
Third, respectfully, this argument is not persuasive. Applicants assert that modifying the tablet size of Baek et al would defeat the purpose of the reference where the preparation of the tablets require specific amounts, however, it appears that a tablet comprising 200 mg of the active agent is disclosed, for the same reasons discussed above, and therefore does not require tablet size modification. Purely arguendo, applying Applicants’ interpretation of 200 mg as the total tablet weight, Baek et al explicitly teaches the active may be 25 wt% of the tablet, and 25 wt% of 200 mg results in 50 mg of active agent, falling within the claimed range. The skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success in including 25 wt% (or 50 mg) of active agent in the tablets of the disclosed examples, where Baek et al explicitly teaches these amounts are suitable for fast disintegrating oral tablets. The examiner notes that Maleki et al and Eswariah where not cited for adjusting the preparation method and component concentrations.
Claim 6 stands rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baek et al (CA 3046296 A1), Maleki et al (Res in Pharm Sci, 2015, 10(2), pp 95-108), and Eswariah (WO 2017/025981), as applied to claims 1-3, 5-10, 12, 21-25 and 27-35 above, and in further view of Sheth (US 20170368031).
Baek et al, Maleki et al, and Eswariah are discussed above and while teaching hydroxypropyl cellulose, if it would not have been obvious to include as a surfactant, the following applies.
Sheth teaches a carbamate compound and an oral composition for administering the carbamate compound. The compositions may also include a surfactant (¶ 66). The compositions comprise diluents, disintegrants, and lubricants (¶ 65-66).
It would have been obvious to further include a surfactant to the combination of Baek et al, Maleki et al, and Eswariah, as taught by Sheth, where both are drawn to oral compositions comprising a carbamate compound, diluents, disintegrants, and lubricants.
Response to Arguments
Applicants assert Sheth fails to cure the above mentioned deficiencies.
This argument is not persuasive. The claims stand rejected for the same reasons above and of record.
Nonstatutory Double Patenting
Claim 1-3, 5-10, 12, 21-25 and 27-35, stand provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of copending Application No. 17/778,450 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims recite a method for preparing pharmaceutical composition comprising the active of instant formula 2 in an amount from 5 mg to 400 mg, further comprises a carrier, and has a particle diameter d(0.9) of less than 300 microns. A person having ordinary skill in the art following the claims of the reference applications would have found it prima facie obvious to choose from among the suitable components to arrive at the instant claims. MPEP 2143.
It would have been obvious to formulate the compositions of ‘450 with an amount of active from 50-400 mg, as disclosed by the claims of ‘450. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicants request the double patenting request be held in abeyance until allowable subject matter is indicated.
Examiner acknowledges applicants assertion. The claims stand rejected for the same reasons above and of record.
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12, 21-25 and 27-35, stand provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of copending Application No. 16/469,268 (reference application), hereinafter referred to as ‘268, in view of Baek et al (CA 3046296 A1), Maleki et al (Res in Pharm Sci, 2015, 10(2), pp 95-108), and Eswariah (WO 2017/025981). Although the claims are not identical they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘268 discloses a tablet comprising a carbamate compound of formula 2, and a hydrophilic excipient selected from starch, microcrystalline cellulose, lactose, etc., a disintegrant selected from crospovidone, etc. The carbamate compound is 2.5-25 wt%, the hydrophilic excipient is 65-90 wt%, and the disintegrant is 1-10 wt% of the tablet. The tablet can be used for the treatment of epilepsy, etc.
‘268 does not disclose the amount in milligrams of the active, the particle diameter of the compound of formula 2, a lubricant and its amounts, the inclusion of a surfactant, nor the method of treating the diseases of claims 34 and 35.
It would have been obvious to modify ‘268 based on the teachings above.
It would have been obvious to include known amounts of active, such as those amounts taught by Baek et al.
It would have been obvious to adjust the particle size, for the same reasons discussed above and of record by Baek et al, Maleki et al, and Eswariah.
It would have been obvious to include a lubricant and a surfactant in known amounts suitable for tablets comprising a carbamate compound, as taught by Baek et al and for the same reasons discussed above and of record.
It would have been obvious to use the composition to treat epilepsy, as motivated by ‘268.
Response to Arguments
Applicants request the double patenting request be held in abeyance until allowable subject matter is indicated.
Examiner acknowledges applicants assertion. The claims stand rejected for the same reasons above and of record.
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12, 21-25 and 27-35, stand provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of copending Application No. 18/019,856 (reference application), hereinafter referred to as ‘856, in view of Baek et al (CA 3046296 A1). Although the claims are not identical they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘856 discloses an oral solid dosage form comprising a carbamate compound of formula 2 (same as instantly claimed) from 25-65 wt%, a diluent (carrier) from 5-50 wt%, a lubricant from 0.1-2 wt%, and a disintegrant from 0.5-10 wt%, wherein the particle diameter of the active ingredient is 300 microns or less.
‘856 does not disclose the amount in milligrams of the active, the composition in the form of a tablet, the weight percent of the diluent as instantly claimed, nor a method for treating a disease from those recited in claims 34 and 35.
Baek et al are discussed above and in the prior Office Action.
It would have been obvious to modify ‘856 based on the teachings above and in the prior Office Action.
It would have been obvious to include known amounts of active, such as those amounts taught by Baek et al.
It would have been obvious to formulate ‘856 in the form of a tablet, as taught by Baek et al.
It would have been obvious to adjust the amount of diluent of ‘856 to those known to be suitable oral compositions comprising a carbamate compound, such as those taught by the Baek et al. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
It would have been obvious to use the composition of ‘856 for the method of treating epilepsy, etc., as taught by Baek et al, where both comprise the same active.
Response to Arguments
Applicants request the double patenting request be held in abeyance until allowable subject matter is indicated.
Examiner acknowledges applicants’ assertion. The claims stand rejected for the same reasons above and of record.
Conclusion
/JOSHUA A ATKINSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1612
/SAHANA S KAUP/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612