DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11 and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,560,931. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claims 1 and 2 include all the limitations of Patent claims 11 and 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-10, 12, 14, 16, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Aston (US 2010/0284554).
Re claim 1, Aston et al. discloses a device for reducing impact forces upon a surface and capable of inhibiting breakage, comprising: a base (11) comprising a contact portion, the contact portion comprising an adhesive for securing the base to the surface ([0030]); a contact member (7) adjacent the contact portion, the contact member being movable away from and toward the surface; and a biasing member (4) biasing the contact member toward the surface; wherein a first portion of an impact force upon the surface is transferred from the contact member to the biasing member as the contact member moves away from the surface, and a second portion of the impact force is subsequently returned to the surface, the second portion being less than the first portion. (Fig. 1-6)
Re claims 2, 9 and 17, Aston et al. disclose wherein movement of the contact member (7) away from the surface temporarily separates the contact member from the surface.
Re claims 3 and 18, Aston et al. disclose wherein the contact portion (11) is annular. (See o-ring 12.)
Re claims 5 and 10, Aston et al. disclose wherein the biasing member is adjustable. ([0014])
Re claims 7, 12 and 20, Aston et al. disclose wherein the biasing member (4) is a magnet.
Re claim 8, Aston et al. discloses a device for inhibiting breakage, consisting of. a housing (1) having a contact end (11) and a distal end, the contact end having adhesive for securing the contact end to a surface ([0030]); a contact member (7) at least primarily disposed inside the housing, the contact member being movable inside the housing; and a biasing member (4) biasing the contact member toward the contact end and away from the distal end; wherein a first portion of an impact force upon the surface is transferred from the contact member to the biasing member as the contact member moves away from the surface, and a second portion of the impact force is subsequently returned to the surface, the second portion being less than the first portion. (Fig. 1-6)
Re claim 14, Aston et al. discloses wherein the adhesive is disposed on the contact end (11) in an annular configuration. ([0030])
Re claim 16, Aston et al. discloses a device for inhibiting a surface from breaking, comprising: a housing (1) having a contact end (11, 15) and a distal end, the contact end having adhesive for securing the contact end to the surface ([0030]), the housing having a cavity; a contact member (7) at least primarily disposed inside the cavity, the contact member being movable inside the housing toward and away from the contact end; and a biasing member (4) biasing the contact member toward the contact end and away from the distal end; wherein the housing has means for preventing the contact member from fully exiting the cavity ([0029]); and wherein a first portion of an impact force upon the surface is transferred from the contact member to the biasing member as the contact member moves away from the surface, and a second portion of the impact force is subsequently returned to the surface, the second portion being less than the first portion. (Fig. 1-6)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 20120127383 A.
Re claim 1, KR ‘383 teaches a device for reducing impact forces upon a surface (130) and capable of inhibiting breakage, comprising: a base (120) comprising a contact portion; a contact member (111) adjacent the contact portion, the contact member being movable away from and toward the surface; and a biasing member (112) biasing the contact member toward the surface; wherein a first portion of an impact force upon the surface is transferred from the contact member to the biasing member as the contact member moves away from the surface, and a second portion of the impact force is subsequently returned to the surface, the second portion being less than the first portion.
KR ‘383 does not teach the contact portion comprising an adhesive for securing the base to the surface. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use adhesive for securing the base to the surface since adhesives are well known means for connecting components.
Re claim 2, KR ‘383 as modified teaches wherein movement of the contact member (111) away from the surface temporarily separates the contact member from the surface. Based on the amount of impact, the contact member is capable of temporarily separating from the surface.
Re claim 3, KR ‘383 as modified teaches wherein the contact portion is annular (121, 122a).
Re claim 4, KR ‘383 as modified teaches wherein the contact member (111) is spherical.
Re claim 6, KR ‘383 as modified teaches wherein the biasing member (112) is a helical spring.
Claims 5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 20120127383 A in view of Stubbs (US 1383582).
Re claim 5, KR ‘383 as modified does not teach wherein the biasing member is adjustable. Stubbs teaches a biasing member (22) biasing a contact member toward a surface wherein the biasing member is adjustable via threads (13, 19, 25). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide an adjustable configuration as taught by Stubbs in order to allow for the desired pressure.
Claims 4, 6, 11, 13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aston (US 2010/0284554) in view of KR 20120127383 A.
Re claims 4, 6, 11, 13 and 19, Aston does not teach wherein the biasing member is a helical spring or wherein the contact member is spherical. KR ‘383 teaches a impact absorbing device wherein the biasing member is a helical spring or wherein the contact member is spherical. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the helical spring and spherical contact member as taught by KR ‘383 in order to simplify the invention and provide impact absorption at a lower cost.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aston (US 2010/0284554).
Re claim 15, Aston does not teach wherein the surface is glass. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the device on glass in order to reduce vibration as taught by Aston.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hartel, Van Loan, Jr., Salice, Schaefer et al., KR ‘120, Song and JP ‘446 teach similar devices.
/MELANIE TORRES WILLIAMS/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3616
MTWDecember 23, 2025