DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on January 23, 2023 has been received and considered by the Examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 18/158041, filed on January 23, 2023.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: “on the rear surface thereof when the wearer” should read “on the rear surface thereof when worn by the wearer”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-9, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 20200315830 A1, hereinafter “Kim”).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim discloses: A joint structure (Paragraph 0002, The present disclosure relates generally to a combined structure of a wearable apparatus, more particularly, to a structure configured to be combined with a wearer to simulate the rotation of a wearer's shoulder joint through a cross four-bar linkage) comprising:
a first connection link configured to be fixed to one side of a wearer (Paragraph 0045, The fixed link 200 may be fixedly coupled to the torso fastening part 100 and extend toward the position above the wearer's shoulder. In particular, the fixed link may extend from the torso fastening part 100 to respective opposite sides of the shoulder of the wearer);
a second connection link (Figure 11, second link 400) coupled to the first connection link to be rotatable about a first rotation axis (Paragraph 0043, a first link 300 and a second link 400 being respectively coupled to the fixed link 200 to be laterally rotatable, and crossing each other while being vertically spaced apart from each other), (Paragraph 0066, the first point 210 and the second point 220 of the fixed link 200 may be spaced apart from each other in the forward and backward direction, and may be coupled to the first link 300 at the first point 210 and with the second link 400 at the second point 220);
a third connection link (Figure 11, first link 300) coupled to the first connection link to be rotatable about a second rotation axis spaced apart from the first rotation axis (Paragraph 0043, a first link 300 and a second link 400 being respectively coupled to the fixed link 200 to be laterally rotatable, and crossing each other while being vertically spaced apart from each other), (Paragraph 0066, the first point 210 and the second point 220 of the fixed link 200 may be spaced apart from each other in the forward and backward direction, and may be coupled to the first link 300 at the first point 210 and with the second link 400 at the second point 220);
and a fourth connection link (Figure 11, rotatable part 500),
a first side of which is coupled to the second connection link to be rotatable about a third rotation axis and a second side of which is coupled to the third connection link to be rotatable about a fourth rotation axis spaced apart from the third rotation axis (Paragraph 0068, the rotatable part 500 may be in the form of a plate extending parallel to the ground, be rotatably coupled to the first link 300 and the second link 400 respectively at a third point 510 and a fourth point 520 spaced apart from each other, and be coupled to the connecting part 600 at a fifth point 530 spaced apart from the third point 510 and the fourth point 520);
and wherein an imaginary first extension axis obtained by extending the first rotation axis, an imaginary second extension axis obtained by extending the second rotation axis, an imaginary third extension axis obtained by extending the third rotation axis, and an imaginary fourth extension axis obtained by extending the fourth rotation axis intersect each other in an intersection area (Paragraphs 0048-0049, The first link 300 and the second link 400 may be laterally rotatable about the fixed link 200 fixed to the wearer's torso, and the rotatable part 500 coupled to the first link 300 and the second link 400 to be laterally rotatable is rotated about an instantaneous center of rotation (ICR) 540 formed at the intersection of the first link 300 and the second link 400. In other words, the rotatable part 500 is rotated about the ICR 540 moved according to rotations of the first link 300 and the second link 400, so that the end of the rotatable part 500 can be rotated to simulate the movement of the end of the wearer's shoulder joint).
[Kim Annotated Figure 10]
[Kim Annotated Figure 11]
Regarding Claim 2, Kim discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Kim further discloses: wherein the second connection link and the third connection link intersect each other (Paragraph 0043, a first link 300 and a second link 400 being respectively coupled to the fixed link 200 to be laterally rotatable, and crossing each other while being vertically spaced apart from each other).
Regarding Claim 4, Kim discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Kim further discloses: wherein the intersection area is located on an acromioclavicular joint of the wearer when the joint structure is worn by the wearer (Paragraphs 0060-0062, When the shoulder joint rotates internally or externally on the horizontal plane, the sterno-clavicular joint and the acromio-clavicular joint simultaneously rotate, and thus, a complex rotation occurs in which the scapula and the clavicle rotate. Accordingly, the wearer's upper arm moves while the center of rotation thereof is changed. This rotational motion cannot be simulated with a single rotation axis, as described below. FIG. 5 is a view comparing a moving path of rotation according to the combined structure of a wearable apparatus according to an embodiment of the present disclosure with a moving path of rotation according to a single axis. With further reference to FIG. 5, the combined structure of a wearable apparatus according to an embodiment of the present disclosure has a four-bar linkage structure in which the first link 300 and the second link 400 cross each other, so the ICR 540 is rotated as the first link 300 and the second link 400 are laterally rotated, whereby an end (a fifth point 530 to be described below) of the rotatable part 500 can be moved to simulate the movement of the center of rotation of the upper arm that is the end of the wearer's shoulder).
Regarding Claim 5, Kim discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Kim further discloses: wherein the second connection link is located above the first connection link (Paragraph 0070, the second link 400 may be coupled to a position above the fixed link 200 and the rotatable part 500, and the reverse is also possible) in the first rotation axis about which the second connection link is coupled to the first connection link to be rotatable when the joint structure is worn by the wearer (Paragraph 0065, With further reference to FIGS. 6 to 10, the fixed link 200 may extend forward from the torso fastening part 100 to be disposed at a position above the wearer's shoulder, and may be rotatably coupled to the first link 300 and the second link 400 respectively at a first point 210 and a second point 220 spaced apart from each other).
Regarding Claim 6, Kim discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Kim further discloses: wherein the third connection link is located below the first connection link (Paragraph 0070, the first link 300 and the second link 400 are vertically spaced from each other, wherein the first link 300 may be coupled to a position under the fixed link 200 and the rotatable part 500) in the second rotation axis about which the third connection link is coupled to the first connection link to be rotatable when the joint structure is worn by the wearer (Paragraph 0065, With further reference to FIGS. 6 to 10, the fixed link 200 may extend forward from the torso fastening part 100 to be disposed at a position above the wearer's shoulder, and may be rotatably coupled to the first link 300 and the second link 400 respectively at a first point 210 and a second point 220 spaced apart from each other).
Regarding Claim 7, Kim discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Kim further discloses: wherein the fourth connection link is located below the second connection link (Paragraph 0070, the second link 400 may be coupled to a position above the fixed link 200 and the rotatable part 500, and the reverse is also possible) in the third rotation axis about which the fourth connection link is coupled to the second connection link to be rotatable when the joint structure is worn by the wearer (Paragraph 0068, the rotatable part 500 may be in the form of a plate extending parallel to the ground, be rotatably coupled to the first link 300 and the second link 400 respectively at a third point 510 and a fourth point 520 spaced apart from each other).
Regarding Claim 8, Kim discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Kim further discloses: wherein the fourth connection link is located above the third connection link (Paragraph 0070, the first link 300 and the second link 400 are vertically spaced from each other, wherein the first link 300 may be coupled to a position under the fixed link 200 and the rotatable part 500) in the fourth rotation axis about which the fourth connection link is coupled to the third connection link to be rotatable when the joint structure is worn by the wearer (Paragraph 0068, the rotatable part 500 may be in the form of a plate extending parallel to the ground, be rotatably coupled to the first link 300 and the second link 400 respectively at a third point 510 and a fourth point 520 spaced apart from each other).
Regarding Claim 9, Kim discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Kim further discloses: wherein a distance between the first rotation axis and the third rotation axis is larger than a distance between the second rotation axis and the fourth rotation axis (Paragraph 0083, FIGS. 8 and 9 show the movement of the first link 300 and the second link 400 according to the rotation thereof at the first point 210 to the fourth point 520. In particular, the first link 300 and the second link 400 form a trajectory such as the following equation).
Regarding Claim 18, Kim discloses: An exo-skeleton robot (Paragraph 0002, The present disclosure relates generally to a combined structure of a wearable apparatus, more particularly, to a structure configured to be combined with a wearer to simulate the rotation of a wearer's shoulder joint through a cross four-bar linkage) comprising:
a frame configured to be adhered to a back of a wearer (Paragraph 0089, Referring again to FIGS. 1 and 2, the torso fastening part 100 may be disposed at a wearer's back side, and may include: an upper plate 110 disposed at an upper portion of the torso fastening part 100 to be brought in contact with the wearer's back side; a lower plate 130 disposed at a lower portion of the torso fastening part to be brought in contact with the wearer's back side; and a rear side link 120 extending in the vertical direction to connect the upper plate 110 and the lower plate 130 together);
and a joint structure having one side coupled to the frame, wherein the joint structure is configured to be coupled to a shoulder and an upper arm of the wearer (Paragraph 0043, With reference to FIGS. 1 and 2, a combined structure of a wearable apparatus according to an embodiment of the present disclosure includes: a torso fastening part 100 fixedly fastened to a wearer's torso; a fixed link 200 extending from the torso fastening part 100 to a position above a wearer's shoulder […] and an upper arm module 700 coupled to be rotatable upward or downward about the connecting part 600 while an end thereof is coupled to the connecting part 600 at a position corresponding to an upper end portion of a wearer's upper arm, and fastened to the wearer's upper arm while extending in a longitudinal direction of the wearer's upper arm), and wherein the joint structure comprises:
a first connection link configured to be fixed to one side of the wearer (Paragraph 0045, The fixed link 200 may be fixedly coupled to the torso fastening part 100 and extend toward the position above the wearer's shoulder. In particular, the fixed link may extend from the torso fastening part 100 to respective opposite sides of the shoulder of the wearer);
a second connection link (Figure 11, second link 400) coupled to the first connection link to be rotatable about a first rotation axis (Paragraph 0043, a first link 300 and a second link 400 being respectively coupled to the fixed link 200 to be laterally rotatable, and crossing each other while being vertically spaced apart from each other), (Paragraph 0066, the first point 210 and the second point 220 of the fixed link 200 may be spaced apart from each other in the forward and backward direction, and may be coupled to the first link 300 at the first point 210 and with the second link 400 at the second point 220);
a third connection link (Figure 11, first link 300) coupled to the first connection link to be rotatable about a second rotation axis spaced apart from the first rotation axis (Paragraph 0043, a first link 300 and a second link 400 being respectively coupled to the fixed link 200 to be laterally rotatable, and crossing each other while being vertically spaced apart from each other), (Paragraph 0066, the first point 210 and the second point 220 of the fixed link 200 may be spaced apart from each other in the forward and backward direction, and may be coupled to the first link 300 at the first point 210 and with the second link 400 at the second point 220);
and a fourth connection link (Figure 11, rotatable part 500),
one side of which is coupled to the second connection link to be rotatable about a third rotation axis and an opposite side of which is coupled to the third connection link to be rotatable about a fourth rotation axis spaced apart from the third rotation axis (Paragraph 0068, the rotatable part 500 may be in the form of a plate extending parallel to the ground, be rotatably coupled to the first link 300 and the second link 400 respectively at a third point 510 and a fourth point 520 spaced apart from each other, and be coupled to the connecting part 600 at a fifth point 530 spaced apart from the third point 510 and the fourth point 520);
and wherein an imaginary first extension axis obtained by extending the first rotation axis, an imaginary second extension axis obtained by extending the second rotation axis, an imaginary third extension axis obtained by extending the third rotation axis, and an imaginary fourth extension axis obtained by extending the fourth rotation axis intersect each other in an intersection area (Paragraphs 0048-0049, The first link 300 and the second link 400 may be laterally rotatable about the fixed link 200 fixed to the wearer's torso, and the rotatable part 500 coupled to the first link 300 and the second link 400 to be laterally rotatable is rotated about an instantaneous center of rotation (ICR) 540 formed at the intersection of the first link 300 and the second link 400. In other words, the rotatable part 500 is rotated about the ICR 540 moved according to rotations of the first link 300 and the second link 400, so that the end of the rotatable part 500 can be rotated to simulate the movement of the end of the wearer's shoulder joint).
Regarding Claim 19, Kim discloses all of the limitations of Claim 18. Kim further discloses: wherein the second connection link and the third connection link intersect each other (Paragraph 0043, a first link 300 and a second link 400 being respectively coupled to the fixed link 200 to be laterally rotatable, and crossing each other while being vertically spaced apart from each other).
Regarding Claim 20, Kim discloses all of the limitations of Claim 18. Kim further discloses: wherein the intersection area is located on an acromioclavicular joint of the wearer when the joint structure is worn by the wearer (Paragraphs 0060-0062, When the shoulder joint rotates internally or externally on the horizontal plane, the sterno-clavicular joint and the acromio-clavicular joint simultaneously rotate, and thus, a complex rotation occurs in which the scapula and the clavicle rotate. Accordingly, the wearer's upper arm moves while the center of rotation thereof is changed. This rotational motion cannot be simulated with a single rotation axis, as described below. FIG. 5 is a view comparing a moving path of rotation according to the combined structure of a wearable apparatus according to an embodiment of the present disclosure with a moving path of rotation according to a single axis. With further reference to FIG. 5, the combined structure of a wearable apparatus according to an embodiment of the present disclosure has a four-bar linkage structure in which the first link 300 and the second link 400 cross each other, so the ICR 540 is rotated as the first link 300 and the second link 400 are laterally rotated, whereby an end (a fifth point 530 to be described below) of the rotatable part 500 can be moved to simulate the movement of the center of rotation of the upper arm that is the end of the wearer's shoulder).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20200315830 A1) in view of Carmichael et al. (WO 2015058249 A1, hereinafter “Carmichael”).
Regarding Claim 11-14, Kim discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Kim does not explicitly disclose the connection links having a curved shape. Carmichael does disclose:
wherein the second connection link has a shape that is curved to surround a shoulder of the wearer as it is located on a lower side as it goes from the first rotation axis to the third rotation axis when the joint structure is worn by the wearer.
wherein the third connection link has a shape that is curved to surround a shoulder of the wearer as it is located on a lower side as it goes from the second rotation axis to the fourth rotation axis when the joint structure is worn by the wearer
wherein an area of the first connection link which extends from the first rotation axis to the second rotation axis has a shape curved to surround a shoulder of the wearer when the joint structure is worn by the wearer.
wherein an area of the fourth connection link which extends from the third rotation axis to the fourth rotation axis has a shape curved to surround a shoulder of the wearer when the joint structure is worn by the wearer.
(As best seen in figures 7 to 9, the links are bent, curved or otherwise shaped such that the exoskeleton is contoured to conform generally to the external profile of the shoulder region and upper arm of the user, and such that the distal fourth link 28 moves in substantially side-by-side relationship with the upper arm of the user, within the normal range of arm and shoulder movement. Although the primary first, second, third and fourth links are shown in the illustrated embodiments as being curved through particular angles of approximately 45°, it should be appreciated that as another advantage of the inherent redundancy of the kinematic mechanism, this need not be the case. In particular, the removal of this constraint allows the size, shape and configuration of the links and joints to be tailored more closely and economically to the shoulder and arm profile of the user, while still achieving the full range of movement throughout the desired operational workspace)
Both Carmichael and Kim disclose similar robotic exoskeleton structure intended to provide assisted support for a user’s shoulder movements. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Carmichael with the structure disclosed by Kim so as to better accommodate the anatomy of a user without impeding the overall functionality of the kinematic structure.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3, 10, and 15 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding Claim 3, Kim discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Kim does not disclose: wherein the first connection link is configured to be fixed to a shoulder of the wearer on a rear surface thereof when [worn by] the wearer
Van Engelhoven et al. (US 20210290469 A1) does disclose a joint structure (Paragraph 0003, The present invention pertains to the art of supporting exoskeleton devices for the human body, and more particularly, a remote center joint that can create a passive degree of freedom while transferring supportive forces) wherein the first connection link is configured to be fixed to a shoulder of the wearer on a rear surface thereof when [worn by] the wearer (Paragraph 0067, In some embodiments, base segment 2 is fixed relative to persons lower torso and terminal segment 7 is fixed relative to persons upper torso. When person 90 performs a spinal twisting motion, terminal segment 7 tracks persons upper torso while base segment 2 remains fixed with persons lower torso. Persons upper torso may indicate motion of the rib cage, chest, shoulders, neck, or head. Persons lower torso may indicate motion of the pelvis or lumbar spine).
However, Van Engelhoven et al. does not disclose the kinematic arrangement detailed in Claim 1, regarding the first, second, third, and fourth connection links and rotational axes in relation to one another. None of the prior art of record (applied individually or in combination) teaches all of the limitations in Claim 1 and additionally “wherein the first connection link is configured to be fixed to a shoulder of the wearer on a rear surface”, nor does the prior art render said limitation obvious.
Regarding Claim 10, Kim discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Kim does not discloses: wherein the second rotation axis is located on a rear side of the first rotation axis and the fourth rotation axis is located on a front side of the third rotation axis when the joint structure is worn by the wearer.
The rotation axes demonstrated by Kim (Figures 10-11) are not located at rear or front sides in relation to one another, but instead are on the same general plane of arrangement. It be an obvious modification to restructure the entire kinematic arrangement in order to meet this limitation with an additional prior art. one of the prior art of record (applied individually or in combination) teaches all of the limitations in Claim 1 and additionally the above limitation of Claim 10, nor does the prior art render said limitation obvious.
Regarding Claim 15, Kim discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Kim does not disclose: wherein the second connection link and the third connection link are shaped such that an instantaneous center of rotation that is perpendicular to the second connection link and the third connection link always passes through the intersection area in an area in which the second connection link and the third connection link cross each other.
The connections links demonstrated by Kim (Figures 10-11) are not perpendicular to the ICR, nor would it be an obvious modification to restructure the entire kinematic arrangement in order to meet this limitation with an additional prior art. None of the prior art of record (applied individually or in combination) teaches all of the limitations in Claim 1 and additionally the above limitation of Claim 15, nor does the prior art render said limitation obvious.
Claim 16-17 are allowed. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding Claim 16, Kim discloses: A joint structure (Paragraph 0002, The present disclosure relates generally to a combined structure of a wearable apparatus, more particularly, to a structure configured to be combined with a wearer to simulate the rotation of a wearer's shoulder joint through a cross four-bar linkage) comprising:
a first connection link configured to be fixed to one side of a wearer (Paragraph 0045, The fixed link 200 may be fixedly coupled to the torso fastening part 100 and extend toward the position above the wearer's shoulder. In particular, the fixed link may extend from the torso fastening part 100 to respective opposite sides of the shoulder of the wearer);
a second connection link (Figure 11, second link 400) coupled to the first connection link to be rotatable about a first rotation axis (Paragraph 0043, a first link 300 and a second link 400 being respectively coupled to the fixed link 200 to be laterally rotatable, and crossing each other while being vertically spaced apart from each other);
a third connection link (Figure 11, first link 300) coupled to the first connection link to be rotatable about a second rotation axis spaced apart from the first rotation axis (Paragraph 0043, a first link 300 and a second link 400 being respectively coupled to the fixed link 200 to be laterally rotatable, and crossing each other while being vertically spaced apart from each other);
and a fourth connection link (Figure 11, rotatable part 500),
a first side of which is coupled to the second connection link to be rotatable about a third rotation axis and a second side of which is coupled to the third connection link to be rotatable about a fourth rotation axis spaced apart from the third rotation axis (Paragraph 0043, a rotatable part 500 disposed at a position above the wearer's shoulder, and coupled to the first link 300 and the second link 400 to be laterally rotatable),( Paragraph 0068, the rotatable part 500 may be in the form of a plate extending parallel to the ground, be rotatably coupled to the first link 300 and the second link 400 respectively at a third point 510 and a fourth point 520 spaced apart from each other, and be coupled to the connecting part 600 at a fifth point 530 spaced apart from the third point 510 and the fourth point 520);
and an upper arm module (Figure 6, an upper arm module 700) coupled to one side of the fourth connection link to be rotatable and configured to be attached to an upper arm of the wearer (Paragraph 0043, a connecting part 600 coupled to the rotatable part 500 to extend downward from the rotatable part 500; and an upper arm module 700 coupled to be rotatable upward or downward about the connecting part 600 while an end thereof is coupled to the connecting part 600 at a position corresponding to an upper end portion of a wearer's upper arm, and fastened to the wearer's upper arm while extending in a longitudinal direction of the wearer's upper arm), wherein the upper arm module comprises:
a first upper arm part, one side of which is coupled to the fourth connection link to be rotatable about a fifth rotation axis (Paragraph 0050, The upper arm module 700 may be coupled to the connecting part 600 to be rotatable upward or downward about an end of the upper arm module. In particular, the connecting part 600 may include: a first connecting part 610 extending downward from one point of the rotatable part 500; and a second connecting part 620 extending from the first connecting part 610 to a position corresponding to the upper end portion of the wearer's upper arm along the direction parallel to the ground), (Paragraph 0068, the rotatable part 500 may be in the form of a plate extending parallel to the ground, be rotatably coupled to the first link 300 and the second link 400 respectively at a third point 510 and a fourth point 520 spaced apart from each other, and be coupled to the connecting part 600 at a fifth point 530 spaced apart from the third point 510 and the fourth point 520);
and wherein an imaginary first extension axis obtained by extending the first rotation axis, an imaginary second extension axis obtained by extending the second rotation axis, an imaginary third extension axis obtained by extending the third rotation axis, and an imaginary fourth extension axis obtained by extending the fourth rotation axis intersect each other in an intersection area (Paragraphs 0048-0049, The first link 300 and the second link 400 may be laterally rotatable about the fixed link 200 fixed to the wearer's torso, and the rotatable part 500 coupled to the first link 300 and the second link 400 to be laterally rotatable is rotated about an instantaneous center of rotation (ICR) 540 formed at the intersection of the first link 300 and the second link 400. In other words, the rotatable part 500 is rotated about the ICR 540 moved according to rotations of the first link 300 and the second link 400, so that the end of the rotatable part 500 can be rotated to simulate the movement of the end of the wearer's shoulder joint).
Kim does not disclose: a second upper arm part, one side of which is coupled to the first upper arm part to be rotatable about a sixth rotation axis.
Kim et al. (US 20210161748 A1, hereinafter “Hyundai”) discloses a joint structure comprising a second upper arm part, one side of which is coupled to the first upper arm part to be rotatable about a sixth rotation axis.
However, Hyundai does not disclose the same kinematic arrangement detailed in Claim 16, regarding the first, second, third, fourth, and fifth connection links and rotational axes in relation to one another. None of the prior art of record (applied individually or in combination) teaches this particular limitation of a “a second upper arm part” and “sixth rotation axis” in addition to the remaining limitations of Claim 16, nor does the prior art render said limitation obvious. Subsequent dependent Claim 16 is also allowable in view of the amended claim language.
Conclusion
/MISHAL HUSSAIN/
Examiner
Art Unit 3785
/BRANDY S LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785