DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamaga et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0284923), hereinafter “Yamaga”.
With respect to Claim 1, Yamaga, Figures 1-17, teaches a magnetic tape cartridge 10A comprising:
a case 10B in which a magnetic tape 10 is accommodated; and
a storage medium 211 provided in the case,
wherein the storage medium 211 stores tension allowable range related information regarding an allowable range of tension applied to the magnetic tape (See Paragraph [0355], lines 4-10),
a read-out device that reads out the tension allowable range related information stored in the storage medium; and
a control device that controls an operation of a tension applying mechanism to apply tension within the allowable range represented by the read-out tension allowable range related information to the magnetic tape See Paragraph [0346],
wherein the tension allowable range related information is any one of upper and lower limit values of the allowable range, or a pair of a median value of the allowable range and a difference of the upper and lower limit values of the allowable range with respect to the median value(See Paragraph [0355], lines 7-17).
With respect to Claim 2, Yamaga further teaches wherein the tension allowable range related information is regarding the allowable range of tension applied to the magnetic tape during data recording and/or reading operations (See Paragraph [0355], lines 4-10).
With respect to Claim 5, Yamaga further teaches wherein the storage medium includes an internal storage medium 211 incorporated in a noncontact communication medium where reading-out and writing-in of information are performed by a noncontact reading and writing device 30.
With respect to Claim 6, Yamaga further teaches wherein the tension allowable range related information is stored in a storage block in which information is unrewritable, the storage block being provided in the internal storage medium. See Paragraph [0346].
With respect to Claim 7, Yamaga further teaches wherein the storage medium 211 includes a region of a part of the magnetic tape (See Figure 15).
With respect to Claim 8, Yamaga further teaches a magnetic tape drive in which the magnetic tape cartridge according to claim 1 is loaded, the magnetic tape drive comprising: a tension applying mechanism; and a processor that controls an operation of the tension applying mechanism to apply tension within the allowable range represented by the tension allowable range related information to the magnetic tape. See Paragraph [0346].
With respect to Claim 9, Yamaga further teaches a method of operating a magnetic tape drive 110, comprising: reading out the tension allowable range related information stored in the storage medium provided in the magnetic tape cartridge according to claim 1; and controlling an operation of a tension applying mechanism to apply tension within the allowable range represented by the read-out tension allowable range related information to the magnetic tape. See Paragraph [0346].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 15, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to applicants’ remarks on Page 5 regarding the Yamaga reference, it is the applicants position that Yamaga fails to teach the tension allowable range related information as specified in Claim 1.
In the instant case, it is the examiner’s position that the Yamaga reference teaches that any tension adjustment information can be included. See Paragraph [0055], lines 7-8. It should further be noted that applicants set forth three alternatives, e.g., “identification information corresponding to any one of the upper and lower limit values of the allowable range”. One of ordinary skill could reasonably deduce that “tension adjustment information includes a distance between adjacent servo bands” as taught in Paragraph [0055], lines 11-15 would read on the limitation of “identification information corresponding to any one of the upper and lower limit values of the allowable range”.
Conclusion
/WILLIAM A. RIVERA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3654