DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to Application No. #18/158,216 filed on January 23, 2023. Claims 1-18 are subject to examination.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 3 and 12, none of the art cited discloses, and an obvious manner, the combination of the limitations: wherein the K selected frequency domain bases of each of the P ports correspond to K angle-delay pairs, and … obtaining a first weight of each of the K angle-delay pairs in an nth frequency domain unit, wherein the nth frequency domain unit is one of frequency domain units for sending the precoded reference signal;
obtaining a space-frequency weight of the nth frequency domain unit on each of the P ports based on K first weights and the K selected frequency domain bases, so that the K virtual ports are mapped to each of the P ports through beamforming; and
performing precoding based on the space-frequency weight of the nth frequency domain unit and a downlink signal, to generate the precoded reference signal corresponding to each of the P ports.
Claim Objections
Claims 10-15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claims 10-15, the claims are directed at a “communication apparatus”; for consistency, all occurrences of “communications apparatus” and “apparatus” should be changed to “communication apparatus” (Emphases added).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-7, 10-11, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)() as being anticipated Hao et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20230163911, hereinafter, “Hao”).
Regarding claim 1, Hao teaches:
A method comprising:
sending, by a network device, a precoded reference signal and indication information indicating K selected frequency domain bases, wherein the precoded reference signal is generated on P ports by mapping K virtual ports associated with the K selected frequency domain bases to each of the P ports through beamforming, wherein K is an integer greater than 1, and wherein the P ports are precoded channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) ports of the network device and user equipment (Hao: [0145] ... In the many-to-one mapping technique, each CSI-RS port is precoded (or beamformed) via multiple virtual ports (e.g., SD-FD bases pairs), and the UE may select the CSI-RS ports within one of the plurality of CSI-RS resources to report the CSI ... In another non-limiting example, each CSI-RS resource of the plurality of CSI-RS resources may be mapped to multiple virtual ports (e.g., multiple pairs of SD and FD bases) … [0146] In some examples, the UE may receive a first number of CSI-RS ports within a CSI-RS resource of the plurality of CSI-RS resources ... In some cases, the UE may determine whether each of the first number of CSI-RS ports [i.e., P ports] is mapped to more than one of the second number of virtual CSI-RS ports [i.e., K virtual ports] (e.g., pairs of SD and FD [frequency domain] bases). When each of the first number of CSI-RS ports may be mapped to more than one of the second number of virtual CSI-RS ports (e.g., SD-FD bases pairs), the UE make select one or more virtual CSI-RS ports (e.g., SD-FD bases pairs) from the second number of virtual CSI-RS ports (i.e., SD-FD bases pairs) …); and
receiving, by the network device, a linear superposition coefficient sent by the user equipment, wherein the linear superposition coefficient corresponds to M frequency domain bases in the K selected frequency domain bases and T ports in the P ports, wherein 1<=T<=P, and 1<=M<=K (Hao: [0157] In a first aspect, a method for wireless communication by a user equipment (UE) includes selecting one or more channel state information reference signals (CSI-RS) ports, of a plurality of CSI-RS ports, for the UE to report CSI … computing at least wideband linear combination coefficients for the selected CSI-RS ports; and providing the selected one or more CSI-RS ports and the computed wideband linear combination coefficients to a base station (BS) in a CSI report … [0158] In a second aspect, alone or in combination with the first aspect, the wideband linear combination coefficients are computed across all frequency domain (FD) units for each selected CSI-RS port …).
Regarding claim 5, Hao teaches:
A method comprising:
receiving, by user equipment, indication information domain bases and a precoded reference signal, wherein the precoded reference signal is generated on P ports by mapping K virtual ports associated with the K selected frequency domain bases to each of the P ports through beamforming wherein K is an integer greater than 1, and wherein the P ports are precoded channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) ports of a network device and the user equipment (Hao: [0145] ... In the many-to-one mapping technique, each CSI-RS port is precoded (or beamformed) via multiple virtual ports (e.g., SD-FD bases pairs), and the UE may select the CSI-RS ports within one of the plurality of CSI-RS resources to report the CSI ... In another non-limiting example, each CSI-RS resource of the plurality of CSI-RS resources may be mapped to multiple virtual ports (e.g., multiple pairs of SD and FD bases) … [0146] In some examples, the UE may receive a first number of CSI-RS ports within a CSI-RS resource of the plurality of CSI-RS resources ... In some cases, the UE may determine whether each of the first number of CSI-RS ports [i.e., P ports] is mapped to more than one of the second number of virtual CSI-RS ports [i.e., K virtual ports] (e.g., pairs of SD and FD [frequency domain] bases). When each of the first number of CSI-RS ports may be mapped to more than one of the second number of virtual CSI-RS ports (e.g., SD-FD bases pairs), the UE make select one or more virtual CSI-RS ports (e.g., SD-FD bases pairs) from the second number of virtual CSI-RS ports (i.e., SD-FD bases pairs) …);
obtaining, by the user equipment, a linear superposition coefficient based on the indication information and the precoded reference signal, wherein the linear superposition coefficient corresponds to M frequency domain bases in the K selected frequency domain bases and T ports in the P ports, wherein 1<=T<=P, and 1<=M<=K; and
sending, by the user equipment, the linear superposition coefficient to the network device (Hao: [0157] In a first aspect, a method for wireless communication by a user equipment (UE) includes selecting one or more channel state information reference signals (CSI-RS) ports, of a plurality of CSI-RS ports, for the UE to report CSI … computing at least wideband linear combination coefficients for the selected CSI-RS ports; and providing the selected one or more CSI-RS ports and the computed wideband linear combination coefficients to a base station (BS) in a CSI report … [0158] In a second aspect, alone or in combination with the first aspect, the wideband linear combination coefficients are computed across all frequency domain (FD) units for each selected CSI-RS port …).
Regarding claim 10, Hao teaches:
A communication apparatus, comprising:
a transceiver;
at least one processor; and
one or more memories coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to cause the communications apparatus to:
send a precoded reference signal and indication information indicating K selected frequency domain bases, wherein the precoded reference signal is generated on P ports by mapping K virtual ports associated with the K selected frequency domain bases to each of the P ports through beamforming, wherein K is an integer greater than 1, and wherein the P ports are precoded channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) ports of the communication apparatus and user equipment (Hao: [0145] ... In the many-to-one mapping technique, each CSI-RS port is precoded (or beamformed) via multiple virtual ports (e.g., SD-FD bases pairs), and the UE may select the CSI-RS ports within one of the plurality of CSI-RS resources to report the CSI ... In another non-limiting example, each CSI-RS resource of the plurality of CSI-RS resources may be mapped to multiple virtual ports (e.g., multiple pairs of SD and FD bases) … [0146] In some examples, the UE may receive a first number of CSI-RS ports within a CSI-RS resource of the plurality of CSI-RS resources ... In some cases, the UE may determine whether each of the first number of CSI-RS ports [i.e., P ports] is mapped to more than one of the second number of virtual CSI-RS ports [i.e., K virtual ports] (e.g., pairs of SD and FD [frequency domain] bases). When each of the first number of CSI-RS ports may be mapped to more than one of the second number of virtual CSI-RS ports (e.g., SD-FD bases pairs), the UE make select one or more virtual CSI-RS ports (e.g., SD-FD bases pairs) from the second number of virtual CSI-RS ports (i.e., SD-FD bases pairs) …); and
receive a linear superposition coefficient sent by the user equipment, wherein the linear superposition coefficient corresponds to M frequency domain bases in the K selected frequency domain bases and T ports in the P ports, wherein 1<=T<=P, and 1<=M<=K (Hao: [0157] In a first aspect, a method for wireless communication by a user equipment (UE) includes selecting one or more channel state information reference signals (CSI-RS) ports, of a plurality of CSI-RS ports, for the UE to report CSI … computing at least wideband linear combination coefficients for the selected CSI-RS ports; and providing the selected one or more CSI-RS ports and the computed wideband linear combination coefficients to a base station (BS) in a CSI report … [0158] In a second aspect, alone or in combination with the first aspect, the wideband linear combination coefficients are computed across all frequency domain (FD) units for each selected CSI-RS port …).
Regarding claim 14, Hao teaches:
A communication apparatus comprising:
a transceiver;
at least one processor; and
one or more memories coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to cause the communications apparatus to:
receive indication information indicating K selected frequency domain bases and a precoded reference signal, wherein the precoded reference signal is generated on P ports by mapping K virtual ports associated with the K selected frequency domain bases to each of the P ports through beamforming, wherein K is an integer greater than 1, and wherein the P ports are precoded channel state information reference signal (CSI- RS) ports of a network device and the communication apparatus (Hao: [0145] ... In the many-to-one mapping technique, each CSI-RS port is precoded (or beamformed) via multiple virtual ports (e.g., SD-FD bases pairs), and the UE may select the CSI-RS ports within one of the plurality of CSI-RS resources to report the CSI ... In another non-limiting example, each CSI-RS resource of the plurality of CSI-RS resources may be mapped to multiple virtual ports (e.g., multiple pairs of SD and FD bases) … [0146] In some examples, the UE may receive a first number of CSI-RS ports within a CSI-RS resource of the plurality of CSI-RS resources ... In some cases, the UE may determine whether each of the first number of CSI-RS ports [i.e., P ports] is mapped to more than one of the second number of virtual CSI-RS ports [i.e., K virtual ports] (e.g., pairs of SD and FD [frequency domain] bases). When each of the first number of CSI-RS ports may be mapped to more than one of the second number of virtual CSI-RS ports (e.g., SD-FD bases pairs), the UE make select one or more virtual CSI-RS ports (e.g., SD-FD bases pairs) from the second number of virtual CSI-RS ports (i.e., SD-FD bases pairs) …);
obtain a linear superposition coefficient based on the indication information and the precoded reference signal, wherein the linear superposition coefficient corresponds to M frequency domain bases in the K selected frequency domain bases and T ports in the P ports, wherein 1<=T<=P, and 1<=M<=K; and
send the linear superposition coefficient to the network device (Hao: [0157] In a first aspect, a method for wireless communication by a user equipment (UE) includes selecting one or more channel state information reference signals (CSI-RS) ports, of a plurality of CSI-RS ports, for the UE to report CSI … computing at least wideband linear combination coefficients for the selected CSI-RS ports; and providing the selected one or more CSI-RS ports and the computed wideband linear combination coefficients to a base station (BS) in a CSI report … [0158] In a second aspect, alone or in combination with the first aspect, the wideband linear combination coefficients are computed across all frequency domain (FD) units for each selected CSI-RS port …).
Regarding claims 2, 6, 11, and 15, Hao discloses on the features with respect to claims 1, 5, 10, and 14 as outlined above.
Hao further teaches:
wherein the indication information further indicates at least T (Hao: [0146] In some examples, the UE may receive a first number of CSI-RS ports within a CSI-RS resource of the plurality of CSI-RS resources …).
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Hao discloses on the features with respect to claims 5 and 14 as outlined above.
Hao further teaches:
wherein the obtaining a linear superposition coefficient based on the indication information and the precoded reference signal comprises:
determining the K selected frequency domain bases based on the indication information (Hao: [0146] … When each of the first number of CSI-RS ports may be mapped to more than one of the second number of virtual CSI-RS ports (e.g., SD-FD bases pairs), the UE make select one or more virtual CSI-RS ports (e.g., SD-FD bases pairs) from the second number of virtual CSI-RS ports (i.e., SD-FD bases pairs) ...);
determining, based on the precoded reference signal, the T ports and the M frequency domain bases for obtaining the linear superposition coefficient;
obtaining an equivalent channel of each of the T ports in the nth frequency domain unit based on the precoded reference signal (Hao: [0157] In a first aspect, a method for wireless communication by a user equipment (UE) includes selecting one or more channel state information reference signals (CSI-RS) ports, of a plurality of CSI-RS ports, for the UE to report CSI, wherein the port selection includes selecting any of the plurality of CSI-RS ports to report the CSI or selecting CSI-RS ports based on a grouping of the plurality of CSI-RS ports, determining a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) formed by a linear combination of the one or more selected CSI-RS ports; computing at least wideband linear combination coefficients for the selected CSI-RS ports ... [0158] In a second aspect, alone or in combination with the first aspect, the wideband linear combination coefficients are computed across all frequency domain (FD) units for each selected CSI-RS port.); and
obtaining, based on the equivalent channel and an index of the M frequency domain bases, the linear superposition coefficient on the M frequency domain bases corresponding to each of the T ports (Hao: [0158] … the wideband linear combination coefficients are computed across all frequency domain (FD) units for each selected CSI-RS port.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 8, 13, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hao in view of Li et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20190326974, hereinafter, “Li”).
Regarding claims 4, 8, 13, and 17, Hao discloses on the features with respect to claims 1, 5, 10, and 14 as outlined above.
Hao does not explicitly teach:
receiving/sending the linear superposition coefficients in a port sequence before receiving/sending a frequency domain basis sequence.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Li teaches:
receiving/sending the linear superposition coefficients in a port sequence before receiving/sending a frequency domain basis sequence (Li: [0420] … or the receiving unit 620 is further configured to receive, before receiving the s first linear combination coefficient groups transmitted by the terminal device, fourth configuration information of each of the n port groups, transmitted by the terminal device; where the fourth configuration information is used to indicate at least one of a frequency domain granularity of phases and a frequency domain granularity of amplitudes of first linear combination coefficients of each port group ...).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hao to include the features as taught by Li above in order to improve channel feedback precision. (Li, ¶ [0006]).
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hao in view of Hajri et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20230361842, hereinafter, “Hajri”).
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Hao discloses on the features with respect to claims 5 and 14 as outlined above.
Hao does not explicitly teach:
sending the codebook to the network device, wherein the codebook comprises a port selection matrix W1, a frequency domain matrix Wf, and a linear superposition coefficient matrix W~2 , wherein a dimension corresponding to W1 is P*T, Wf comprises M columns selected from K columns in a discrete Fourier transform DFT matrix, and wherein W~2 is a matrix comprising T*M linear superposition coefficients.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Hajri teaches:
sending the codebook to the network device, wherein the codebook comprises a port selection matrix W1, a frequency domain matrix Wf, and a linear superposition coefficient matrix W~2 , wherein a dimension corresponding to W1 is P*T, Wf comprises M columns selected from K columns in a discrete Fourier transform DFT matrix, and wherein W~2 is a matrix comprising T*M linear superposition coefficients (Hajri: [0105] For example, in Rel.16 type II CSI, the UE may feedback to the gNB: Grid-of-beam matrix W1, FD basis subset Wf, and linear combination coefficients (LCC) {tilde over (W)}2. At the UE side, {tilde over (W)}2 can be computed as … {tilde over (W)}2=W2Wf … [0108] In type II port selection CB, compared with the Type II CB, the selected spatial beam matrix W1 is replaced with a port selection matrix indicating the selected ports. It has been agreed that the same DFT-based compression scheme in Rel.16 may be extended to the Type II port selection codebook. Thus, when feeding back, the UE may only need to feedback the indices of the selected port selection, instead of feeding back the indices of strongest beams from a fixed DFT based codebook … [0104] Where {tilde over (W)}2 is a 2L×M matrix of linear combining coefficients, Wf is an N3×M FD compression matrix (analogous to W1 in frequency domain), where M is the number of frequency domain (FD) components …).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hao to include the features as taught by Hajri above in order to overhead. (Hajri, ¶ [0002-0005]).
Conclusion
/LIEM H. NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416