DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rangel et al. (GB 2545137) in view of Ruha (US 7319385) and Abrahamsson et al. (WO 2013/068873).
Regarding to claims 1, 14, 16, 18-20:
Rangel discloses a system comprising a device and a further device for determining a concentration of a target gas in a mobile application (FIG. 1, elements 26, 28, 30), the device comprising:
a measurement module configured for obtaining measurement information about a concentration measurement of a target gas (FIG. 1: Sensors 29, 29’, 29”. Page 1, lines 15-20: The sensor arranged to sense environment parameters such as the level of components in the atmosphere (such as CO2, O2, O3, and other contaminants)),
a communication module (FIG. 1, elements 40, 40’, 40”: The communication interface comprises a wired/wireless interface such Bluetooth RTM (page 5, lines 15-18 and page 20, lines 1-6)) in the same mobile device as the measurement module (FIG. 1, elements 29, 29’, 29”), the communication mode being configured for communicating with at least one further device via a direct wireless communication path, (FIG. 1: The mobile devices (26, 28, 30) are in communication with each other via the wide area communication network (24) such as a cellular telephone network (page 20, lines 1-6)),
wherein the system comprises a calibration module configured for using calibration information for determining a calibrated measurement value on a basis of the measurement information (FIG. 2, step 52: The first sensor data reads on the claimed measurement information), and revising the calibration information by using the received information about the further concentration measurement (FIG. 2: The second sensor data (56) reads on the claimed further concentration measurement. Page 21, lines 25-20: The revised, updated, calibration takes account of the first calibration data and also the second sensor data).
Rangel however does not teach wherein the communication module of the device is configured for receiving information about a further concentration measurement of the target gas from the further device, and wherein the information about the further concentration measurement comprises: an indication of a further calibrated measurement value of the concentration of the target gas determined by the further device, or an indication of further measurement information obtained by the further device, and wherein the calibration module is in the same mobile device as the measurement module and the communication module.
Ruha discloses an operating of two or more mobile devices in an interactive session, wherein each mobile device is provided with one or more sensors (Abstract and FIG. 4 shows two mobile devices, and wherein during the interactive session, the data captured by the sensors of a mobile device is send via a wireless connection to the other mobile devices (Abstract). In other words, the mobile device is configured to receive sensing data captured (or measurement information obtained by the other device, in other words) and sent from another mobile device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rangel’s system to configure the mobile devices so that they can share the sensing data directly to each other by short range radio according to the Bluetooth standard as disclosed Ruha (column 6, lines 25-31).
Abrahamsson et al. discloses a mobile device comprising a communication module comprising short-range and long-range transceivers (FIG. 2, elements 20, 22), a measurement module having one or more sensors for providing sensing data (FIG. 2, elements 18), and a calibration module for calculating a calibration value to utilize in calibrating one or more the sensors in the remote devices, or in or more other devices (FIG. 2, element 12 and page 7, lines 18-20 and Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mobile device in Rangel’s system to also include the calibration module calibration module for calculating a calibration value to utilize in calibrating one or more the sensors in the remote devices, or in or more other devices as disclosed by Abrahamsson et al. (Abstract).
Rangel also discloses the following claims:
Regarding to claim 2: wherein the information about the further concentration measurement comprises: an indication of a time instance to which the further concentration measurement refers (page 7, lines 10-15: The time information at when the sensor data is measured/obtained is weighted in the calibration. The more recently obtained sensor data may be given a greater weight than older data).
Regarding to claims 15, 17: wherein the at least one further device is part of a further mobile apparatus (FIG. 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAM S NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853